You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 01 06Article 499009

Akufo-Addo’s appointments improperly made – Anyenini

Read Comments Comments (125)

• Paapidi 7 years ago

Foolish lawyers abound in Ghana.

I didn't know that this Ayenini guy is so bereft of legal reasoning that much.SMH

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

IN THE RULING OF THE GBA VS PRESIDENT OF THE REPUBLIC 2016 RELATING MAHAMA'S APPOINTMENT OF JUDGES, SUPREME COURT RULED THAT THE ADVICE OF COUNCIL OF STATE IS NOT BINDING AS IT WILL AMOUNT TO ABSURDITY. THE SAME PRINCIPLE APP ...

• debxy 7 years ago

oyiwa ..lets get ready to .....

• Dr. Amoako Baah, P.hD 7 years ago

Justice Kpegah was right afterall. Akufo-Addo doesn't know anything about LAW. Ghanaians; you been wanred ooo but you failed to listen.

• Manu 7 years ago

Ayeneni stated his informed opinion based on law. What is your expertise except insults? Little minds discuss and insult people but great minds like Ayeneni discuss ideas as he has done. This is the beginning if intolerance t ...

• Akans Prophecies 7 years ago

Shut your simplemind. How many times did Mahama appoint fake ministers without the consent of the council of state.?They only approve when the announcement is communicated .Where was your master brain Ayeneni and his dirty l ...

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

Unless there is a written down modus operanda for how incoming presidents ought to appointment their cabinet. Just shut up. If the public services commission etc are unable to vet Akuffu addos appointees and he is unable to c ...

• Koo Nimo 7 years ago

If you ask 3 lawyers for their opinion, they will give you 5.
    Only yesterday legal luminary Sam Okudjeto was saying all the new appointments are legally sound.
    Please stop wasting our ears and go to court.

• Big Ben 7 years ago

**Kooooool, the chickens are now coming home to roost, Negro!!**

The problems with the interpretations of some sections of the constitution are because the constitution was POORLY WRITTEN by some Nit-wit, egomaniac, selfis ...

• Akans Prophecies 7 years ago

Very good points here,but remember , this toilet manuscript called our constitution was prepared under the gun-point of the usurper jj Rawlings under his influence of toxic ganja for his protection and those of his annointe ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Nana Addo have no power until Parliament approve them.Obama appointment by Mary Lynch as Security advisor but was denied by republican Senate because of bi-partisan politics Obama let it stayed where it was and appoint someo ...

• kwami 7 years ago

NANA HAVE ARIGHT TO FORM ANY GOVRENMENT HE WANTS

• AKUA DONKOR 7 years ago

We plead with Nana Addo to put etwe in the opposition goal posts so that Jordan will have interest in scoring. He is renowned of scoring with Amanda as number 1 keeper.

• HUGO 7 years ago

Akufo ADDO cannot even maintain GREEN GRASS in his house. See where his appointees sat and where he stood during his announcement. POOR OLD Nana Addo !

• ERIC 7 years ago

GOAT, GO AND EAT THE GRASS.OFUI.

NO, I THINK THIS COULD HAVE BEEN DONE IN A MORE DIGNIFIED ENVIRONMENT. REMEMBER, THESE ARE THE FOLKS GOING TO RUN THE HIGHEST OFFICE OF THE LAND!
    AKUFO ADDO COULD HAVE BEEN ASSIGNED A GOV'T OFFICE,TEMPORARY, TO PUT HIS TEAM ...

• yash kugmoor17 7 years ago

Nothing but a rubber stamp.....

• Kofi - USA 7 years ago

DOES HE NOT KNOW THAT NANA ADDO HAS TO GET HIS OWN MEMBERS FOR THE COUNCIL OF STATE? IS THIS NOT THE SAME GUY WHO ARGUED THAT THE COUNCIL OF STATE SHOULD BE ABOLISHED BECASUE THEY ARRE BEING PAID TO DO NOTHING. COME ON MAN, B ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

President can't appoint council of state with parliament approval

• pocket lawyer 7 years ago

The lawyers are entitled to their opinions so where are these insults coming from an attacking who? Oh!Please.

• $martphonesSupportBiz 7 years ago

Everyday, just solve people's numerous phone problems operating within a chosen area...even an estate within a city. Be known as Mr. FixIt...and see how much you make daily! Learn SMARTPHONE Devices Repair Techniques! Very Lo ...

• Kwesi ampong 7 years ago

Samson, you totally got it wrong this time around. The law says "the President" shall "appoint"....... in consultation with the council of state. Is Nana Addo the president as I write?? Nana Addo is currently the "president- ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

change heading nowhere

• skippy 7 years ago

Samson is right.Why is he in a hurry?
    Hei s just copying Trump.
    The constitution sys he 'shall' consult these entitities.
    How long will it take him to constitute / compose these entitites.
    He cant for instance appoint ne ...

There is nothing unlawful being in a hurry. Yes, Ghana needs to hurry up. We must have a sense of urgency.

• Kwesi ampong 7 years ago

You just don't know what you talking about. Has the president-elect appointed any minister or staff. The man has just made announcements as president-elect, not as president. Are you telling me as I write we have two presiden ...

• Manu 7 years ago

Why can't Nana wait till he becomes president? Who is forcing him to come out with these names? The campaign is long gone so who does he want to impress? Hasty climbers have sudden falls.

• Dessie 7 years ago

Kwasi flagstaff appointment is different from Cabinet ministerial..just like White House Obama can appoint his chief of staff without approval from house or congress but for foreign secretary it has to go house then senate. ...

• Yendi boy 7 years ago

Why are you using America as an example. Ghana is a sovereign country no affiliation with any country.Don'the be idiot.

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

MAHAMA SWORE IN NEW CHRAJ BOSS AT A TIME COUNCIL OF STATE HADNT MET TO EVEN DISCUSS IT

• Dessie 7 years ago

This is different:.this is institutional appointment even Nana has no jurisdiction on Mahama appointment until that appointment term is over just like gov. Of BOG is 4yr term no one can remove him until his term is over unl ...

• Ghana 7 years ago

Ghana has the worst lawyers

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

ONCE NANA ADDO HASNT BEEN SWORN IN YOU CANT CALL HIS NOMINATIONS AS ILLEGAL. AT BEST IT CAN BE DESCRIBED AS AN INTENTION. ALSO ONCE THE NOMINEES HAVENT BEEN SWORN INTO OFFICE YOU CANT CALL IT AS ILLEGAL. AYENI SHOULD BE MINDF ...

• Otaniiba 7 years ago

ANYENINI IS A BIG FOOL WITHOUT ANY BRAIN.NANA HAS JUST MADE KNOWN THOSE HE IS GOING TO WORK WITH.THEY ARE NOT YET IN GOVT.WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS.OH GET AWAY OFUI

• Abena 7 years ago

Otaniba this shows how ignorant and stupid you are everything goes. You have to listen to ideas and learn. dumb head,

• Ea 7 years ago

Dogs life you have no place in civil discourse. A lunatic like you can't even pass shs let alone law school. If you new what law is you will shut your rotten mouth

• Dr. Richie 7 years ago

Oh boy, this is too harsh. Why this insult?
    So can't we express our displeasure to other people's views without being insulting? This in my view is below belt.

• truth on Jemuary 5:2917:1840 7 years ago

Otaniiba. you wish you were TANII .atliest you would have have some manners. you would have some respect to humanity. you have been lucky to be bourn after mareage ok.

• BUILD MORE PRISONS 7 years ago

THINK.

• Paa Nii - Teshie 7 years ago

Anyenini can fuck off! There is absolutely no substance to his foolish claim. All the names Nana has put forward are "proposed". This guy is an educated illiterate!

• Abena 7 years ago

Dumb head everything Nana is gospel.You don't want to learn. He bring his reasons another bring his then we learn from it. No wonder Owusu Bempah rules in your life.

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

Nor when reason is political faith aka partisanship! That can be dismissed as stupid.

• Ea 7 years ago

Oh ABENA you're too much
    These fetish people have gone through tongo antua digari prophet one and all deitys to come to power when they begin to ask for pay back. They will end up at kwaku bomsam shrine.

• Tony 7 years ago

Can't u express yourself without insult

• appeatus 7 years ago

You see two astute lawyers have flawed you.Go and come back....ha ha interesting tymes ahead

• Mr Know ALL 7 years ago

Hypocrisy is Ace ankomah who have started justifying any thing that this government will do

• CHE 7 years ago

Were there appointment letters issued to these appointees on stationery of the state? Were they sworn in? A lot of legalities go into presidential appoIntments of public servants. IF THOSE PROTOCOLS HAVE NOT TAKEN PLACE, THEN ...

• At00 7 years ago

I do not agree with Ace Ankomah and Dadzie. Common sense tells me that what if he decides to now send these names to the Council of state and Public services and one of these bodies say the person is not suitable Will he come ...

• Kyei 7 years ago

Common sense tells me that it's a process so act wisely and chill.

• Theo... 7 years ago

The Council of State has no power to reject as they only serve as an advisory body with no legal impact on the executive. This is why their advise are non binding and have no effect if the executive choose to ignore the said ...

• Adu Phillips (Toronto) 7 years ago

Then lets abolish Council of state from our constitution period because it's of no use as you have said. This is capital wrong and people defending it must chill and accept that it was wrong.

• kobooh 7 years ago

Abolish the Council of State because it has no binding power? Then we should also abolish the Auditors General Department because they exist to make recommendations to address issues and have no binding power. All this is 'b ...

• skippy 7 years ago

Good point

If someone is nominated by the president and we find something unfavourable about him, he can always be withdrawn.

• So Funny 7 years ago

did you say common sense? lol... common sense should tell you Nana hasn't made any appointments. He's brought out list of people who are going to be subjected to due processes.. Common sense should tell you you are not being ...

• lAdamu 7 years ago

ndc AND THEIR USELESS LIES: yOU WILL ROT IN OPPOSITION

• Abena 7 years ago

Cry your own cry. idiot

• Ataa 7 years ago

The names Nana put out are not a wish list. The only wish in that list was Kan Dapaah whom he said pending the approval of parliament. All the others he was categorical and never even mentioned the fact that he will consult w ...

• Naaba Abdulai, Ouagadougou 7 years ago

Ataa, is Nana Addo the president yet? Can he make an appointment? You see where useless and stupid technicalities can lead? By your own argument, Nana is even not the president yet, why do you stress over his appointments?

• So Funny 7 years ago

that's why she loves NDC... as dumb as where her heart is

• nana 7 years ago

that council of state do they reason
    they are corrupt why should he inform them they are useless.these people told mahama to released that motie 3 and it cause his failure.so why should nana contact them that is absolute non ...

• oluu 7 years ago

we live to see those who found everything wrong with what government did only yesterday are now finding everything right with what government will be doing today. hypocrisy will not make Africa develop.let us learn to speak t ...

• TWEAAA dc. 7 years ago

OH! ,THESE LAWYERS.......AKUFO ADDO IS RIGHT...AKUFO ADDO IS WRONG...GHANAIANS WE CAN TALK OO. THE SAME LAW AND DIFFERENT INTEPRETATIONS.

• drewss. 7 years ago

Of course ,you can name them first and then ask for approval...although it is more sensible (at least for the appointees ) to do it the other way round. These people do not have their jobs yet. They must wait for approval. It ...

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

How would you he rather make them: pick all from his tribe like Maaama did!

• Adam 7 years ago

Did you see any of Mahama's people in the list?

• Apuu 7 years ago

LLOK AT THIS STUPID PERSON

• Asante 7 years ago

We already said Nana Addo is a dictator not a prez. Let us wait and see. Hahahaha we re watching !

• Tony S. 7 years ago

Why are they sitting in dirt? No better place for them to perform this important function? Hmmm.

• zombie police 7 years ago

Is a normination not appointment.The place is a compound in Nana Addo's house at Nima,Accra.

• DELA/KPANDU 7 years ago

AYENINI NAME SOUNDS LIKE YORUBA 'ALATA' TO ME, IS HE A REAL GHANAIAN OR TRYING TO FIT IN?
    A LOT OF 'NIJA' PEOPLE ARE BUYING OUR PASSPORT SO IMMIGRATION SHOULD CHECK OUT THE REAL BIRTH CERTIFICATE

• Amidini 7 years ago

I am sorry to whether you re Ghanaian or you never travelling before. The name Ayenini is a Ghanaian traditional name from UER of Ghana. amson Lardy Ayenini is 200% Ghanaian.

• HONESTY 7 years ago

You northerner are foreigners, ahohwo.
    You gullibles lost the chance to fight for your share of Ghana.
    Let dogs lie in peace.

• hhhhhhhhhhhhhhh 7 years ago

black magic prophet from indian ni ghana foro244908520 all rituals of getting luck position money black spell casting

• UK man 7 years ago

Good technical and legal comments

• Mark 7 years ago

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT FROM AN APPRENTICED LAWYER LIKE AKUFO-ADDO? INCOMPETENCE AT ITS HIGHEST PEAK TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

• Kingsley Agyei 7 years ago

HAHAHAHA HAHAHAHA AKUFFO ADDO ECONOMICS THIRD CLASS APPOINTMENT BE THAT OOO HMMM,THIS IS JUST THE BEGINNING OOOO,THERE IS MORE TO COME. HAHAHAHAHAHAJA.

• Kwadwo Akosah 7 years ago

I think my friend lawyer fired too early, legally Nana Addo has not made any appointment. This could best be described as grapevine. question to authenticate appointement are
    1. letter of appointment
    2. who signed and in wh ...

• Agyengo 7 years ago

This guy Anyenini need to shut up. Law is common sense not only legality. Nana Addo used common sense which is supreme than legality.

• Tony 7 years ago

Bediatuo lied in all the info he provided in his profile. There is no university called Newyork university of law.he has 5 children not 4 and he is not 53 but 57

I thing Ayenini graduated from Wansamire college. Even if you don't understand the simple procedure for appointing Ministers of state turn to US, Europe etc.

• KKO 7 years ago

That is what happens when a nation trains second rate lawyers in its markets. Where in the Constitution does it say the President should appoint his domestic staff, let alone Cabinet in consultation with a bunch of clueless p ...

• GOOD FATHER 7 years ago

Since he is angry to be President,he has no time.Leave Mahama alone and fight among yourself.

• M10 7 years ago

Bogus lawyers who have no knowledge to interpretation laws!!!!!

• Bobobribri 7 years ago

YOU COULD HAVE STOOD FOR THE PRESIDENT POSITION IN THE ELECTION, YOU WOULD THEN HAVE DONE YOUR OWN THING. DONT CRITICISE WHAT YOU CANT DO. IS IT AGAINST THE CONSTITUTION TO SAY THAT THESE ARE THE PEOPLE I WILL WORK WITH IF MY ...

• EFO 7 years ago

Where were you when Mahama was in power?

• Gyeabour 7 years ago

Which council of state are you guys talking about? Is it the one that recommended that Mahama should free the Montie three? Where was council of state when Mahama was appointing CHRAJ boss, NCCE Boss, Auditor general? Doesnt ...

• OKOROMANSA 7 years ago

THAT MUSHROOM LAWYER ALSO WANTS TO BE HEARD. UNFORTUNATELY FOR HIM, THERE ARE THOSE OTHER LAWYERS TOO WHO NOW WANT TO PUT HIM RIGHT. OTHERWISE LET ANYENINI LEAVE NANA ADDO ALONE.

• ONE GHANA 7 years ago

TWEAA!!

• RASPUTIN 7 years ago

Mr. Anyenini get some life and stop your legal gymnastics. Does announcements mean appointments? What Council of State? The rubber stamped committee that Mahama used only in name? You should give the President elect credit f ...

• Say your mind John 7 years ago

NDC lawyers hv just began....lol. they don't knw anything self yet they wan talk law....what are u waiting for?? If your claims are valid go to court...Hypocrisy at it's best.....

• ekekevor 7 years ago

some members of the council stood on ndc platforms to opposed npp

• DON 7 years ago

Herr Sampson wo abon roff.go back and read our constitution again!!!

• CATAPULT 7 years ago

Presidential Office Act 1993 Act 463 states;
    (1) The President shall, acting in consultation with the Council of State appoint such persons as he considers necessary to hold office as presidential staff in the Office.

(2) ...

• CATAPULT 7 years ago

Sorry for all mistakes.

• Ghana must know. 7 years ago

Which council of state are we talking about. Ghanaians must be serious for once. They have been useless and zombies to the ruling party. Nonsense .

• MM 7 years ago

@Dr Truth

You the best,is unfortunate some of our lawyers dont read.

• not a begger 7 years ago

The president elect will officially become the president of Ghana tomorrow. He starts working as soon as He sworn in. If he doesn't appoint any body who is he going to work with.

• Else 7 years ago

Senators will vet subsequently

• Fair comment. 7 years ago

The imperfect human nature.When Dr.Nkrumah Ghana's first President was in power he was hailed as a demi-god.At the end of the day President Nkrumah was chased out of Ghana.When former President Rawlings first came on to the ...

• Essum 7 years ago

Thank God lawyers are not doctors. They would have killed may patients wrongly. Look at the arguments of Sampson. They are so flimsy and inotellogent. How would he call nominees appointed officials. Akufo Addo himself is not ...

• Else 7 years ago

You're not fucky better in law than Nana and his team. Nana was Chief Justice and a practice International lawyer. Basic law of contract principle s has been narrated to you. Shameful. Keep your ignorance to yourself

• Else 7 years ago

Keep your daft law view to yourself. Invitation to treat is not a contract. Watch my fingers as I type. Any of the appointees can reject his or her nomination. And cannot be sued. I'm only JSS student learning online. Swallow ...

• Peace. i. kumasi 7 years ago

Fact many Man of God so also many lawyer this men are too fast to seek à point ment

• Peace. i. kumasi 7 years ago

Everything is step by step God bless you all.

• PEKI TUMU 7 years ago

They come over in the photo as disorganized. Hope it is not a clue to their future performance

• AKUFO, ALL DIE BE DIE UGLY DWARF. 7 years ago

SUCH A 3RD CLASS HOLDER IN HIS EDUCATION, WHAT GHANAIANS EXPECTED?.. THIS UGLY DWARF, AKUFO FOOLISH OLD MAN CAN'T THING. HE IS A SICKNESS TO THOSE WHO VOTED FOR THIS UGLY DWARF.

• Joe Blay 7 years ago

WHAT WRONG WITH THAT APPOINTMENT. ARE YOU GOD TO STOP SOMEONE TO DO WHAT IS WRIGHT FOR THE NATION.

• Joe Blay 7 years ago

God is all for us.

• Dessie 7 years ago

Folks; this just nomination;then went through vetting committee than submit to parliament .It doesn't take effect till Parliament approve them individually therefore therefore their appoints are not legitimate until they appr ...

• zombie police 7 years ago

Nana is not the President yet so which act has he breached.A whole General is a member of Council of State when Mahama was wearing military uniform all over the place like a militia ,he is not a subject to the Militarey dress ...

• THE VOICE 7 years ago

THE SO CALLED COUNCIL OF STATE MY FOOT.WHY NANA HAS CONSULT NDC COUNCIL OF STATE B4 HE NANA MAKE ANY NORMINATION.NDC IS IN MOLE LAGOON.WITH THE DISGRACED COUNCIL OF MY ARSE.

• KILL ME SOFTLY 7 years ago

tweeeaaaaa

• AKAJATAME 7 years ago

NPP come as if nobody can control them,they think they can do anything they like. Common processe Akufo Addo did,t know what a president my God.

• Abudu 7 years ago

I never knew this lawyer is so useless.So the President shouldn't work until there is a Council of State?

• pee uk 7 years ago

This useless and tribalalism journalist should give us a break. What does he know.

• Bobobribri 7 years ago

GET TO THE POSITION OF PRESIDENT AND DO IT YOUR PROPER WAY. UNTIL THEN SHUT YOUR STINKING MOUTH UP.

• BJ 7 years ago

SO WHO AND WHO CONSTITUTES THE NATIONAL SECURITY COUNCIL BEFORE THEY COULD BE CONSULTED? THERE ARE CERTAIN THINGS YOU CANNOT FIND IN BLACK AND WHITE IN THE LAW SO YOU DO NOT STRETCH IT. IT IS THE ISSUE OF THE EGG AND THE HEN. ...

• Frimpo 7 years ago

This guy thinks he knows the law more than Nana Addo- I think the law professor has bovine do cheap that any fool can just enrol

Please Nana is ready to serve so leave him with peace to govern Ghana we should all help him to move Ghana forward not pull him down

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

I thought this man was smart. No more.

• kojo 7 years ago

Sampson is my name why do you insult people who wanted say anything wrong about Akofo Ado

• Yaw Owusu Sai-Boateng 7 years ago

The council of state is a useless entity
    and it must be scrap off.

Nana Addo has gone through alot even his house is not cemented or paved.