You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2017 01 04Article 498666

Flagstaff House renamed Golden Jubilee House

Read Comments Comments (136)

• senyo 7 years ago

Good idea. You build it so you every right to name it. Kudos

• BB 7 years ago

HOW CAN GHANAIANS TO ALLOW THIS CROOKED AKUFO ADDO THE MADMAN THEORY TO BE YOUR PREZ.?

• HAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAA 7 years ago

CALL IT WHATEVER YOU CHOOSE. HEHEHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

• Mawushie 7 years ago

Dreaming of changing it in 2021? Start taking some koolaid now to cool yourself down wai.

• X-ray 7 years ago

Golden Jubilee does not sound right to me. What about Ghana House, Black Star House or Independence House or Ghana Flag House or Republican House? Golden Jubilee when Ghana had its 50th anniversary, what about when Ghana cele ...

• SARPONG 7 years ago

We will make sure Ndc is destroyed. Either PPP or CPP will become alternative to NPP. Ndc will never see power again under that name.

• HUGO 7 years ago

YOU DONT UNDERSTAND WHAT YOU SAYING YOU SAYING... You cant destroy NDC. If wishes were horses..... Now you have guys like WONTUMI in power..GALAMSEY PRESIDENT. NPP days are numbered !

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

name change

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

If Akufo-Addo goes through with changing the name of the Flagstaff House, he would have given himself up as not being smart after all his big talk. Any progressive government that replaced NPP will change the name of the fac ...

• GLORY OF GHANA. 7 years ago

You NDC thieves and nation wreckers will never come to power again. Ghanaians have bury your notorious power. Your NDC stealing machinery party is in its grave forever.

You think Ghanaians have short memory. You NDC thieve ...

• CHARLES KOOLIE 7 years ago

Who built that house, and what name was given to that house? Ask yourself before you talk your NDC bull shits.

• A T 7 years ago

Tanks b b

• vsdrt 7 years ago

If u don't stop those nonsense, I'll send your phone number on where u connect your internet to those u insult to take appropriate action against you. This must be your last warning.

• Ewurade Kasa 7 years ago

What is Golden Jubilee House? This is not the name of a place since it sounds perfectly like the name of an event or occasion. Akufo-Addo must focus on important things and stop this childish name changes. That will not creat ...

• DR KUFFOUR 7 years ago

So BB can't speak his mind again? Who do you think you are to warn BB? F**k off!!!

• DR KUFFOUR 7 years ago

Why the threat? So BB can't speak his mind again or what? Who do you think you are to be waring others? F**k off you lot!!!

• Abena Addo Kweikrom 7 years ago

Not phone number

• Agyenim 7 years ago

Fuck you BB or what you call your self. I'm not supporting an insult on elderly person but when you people insult prez Mahama was that right? Addo will insulted till he leaves office as was done on Mahama. You can go and kick ...

• Sansan 7 years ago

Fool, motherfucker whom do u think u are, tjat guy has express his opinion and if u don't agree with him go hang urself .

• Citizen 7 years ago

On the contrary the day you BB were born in this country was the saddest day for Ghana.

• Omanba Pa, lslington - London 7 years ago

Read your country's history and stop being fooling yourself. You are evil and if also you are one of the idiots among us then l am telling you that we are going to deal with you fools very well. Mark my words?

• KG student 7 years ago

So did we go or did we come. We are back to square one!!! Come NDC even if after 2024 and the name comes back to flag staff how the world look at us. Our politics is just a disgrace. Disappointing!!!!

• Citizen 7 years ago

Tell it to NDC

• ADANKO 7 years ago

NPP built a palace said to be the 10th most beautiful palace for $50,000,000, but NDC built a similar home in Burkina Faso costing them $250,000,000. Ghanaians, compare and contrast. NDC, are really ARM ROBBERS.

come again, you are not making any sense

• Nana Boyz 7 years ago

You a twerp, Adanko. Are you an architect? What do you know about building? I don't even know Burkina, material used or cost of those things. Wa gyimi paa. A clown with decimated brain like olu Nana the dwarf and certificatle ...

• Gbedao. 7 years ago

U see how stupid ndc folks r.A wall was built by Mahama around gh embassy in Burkina.it cost almost the same as the jubilee house.think about that.ndc people don't love Ghana else u will see the harm ur useless Mahama has don ...

• Myles 7 years ago

get ur facts right mr. Adanko

change is coming

• Larbi-Teshie 7 years ago

There are many serious and important business to do than this change of name Nana. please show maturity and stop the change of name. Don't make Ghana a laughing stock.

• ABA 7 years ago

I think Nana is showing maturity here. If you name your child, and you are not there, and somebody comes to change his/her name, will you leave the matter to rest?

• Say no to old age for president 7 years ago

You are not making any sense bro why Tetteh Quashie wasn't rename and Nkrumah cycle anyway one factory that so let enjoy it

• koppong 7 years ago

stop This.

• Onipaba Of Akyem Maase 7 years ago

Nana Addo said being consistent is integrity. Till date no Mils/Mahama appointees gave answers to the question of who embossed the flagstaff house inscription on the facility. Was it a ghost? Nana Addo will correct what Mills ...

• GEORGE 7 years ago

This is no news, NDC will re-change it again. NPP should concentrate on the numerous promises

• Norgbedzie, Ketu 7 years ago

NDC is not coming back so soon. Earliest is 2048, may be

• SARPONG 7 years ago

Your ndc is on life support. You will never taste power again. Fragmented ndc is dead.

• mr amin 7 years ago

Geogle, ndc is gone forever.

• mr amin 7 years ago

Geogle, ndc is gone forever.

• Citizen 7 years ago

This is one of the promises

• Fritz Andoh 7 years ago

The name is more dignifying than the colonial name

• KK 7 years ago

Then maybe you should change your name because the last time I checked Fritz was not Ghanaian. Who knows, maybe it's changed since then.

• JOHN 7 years ago

THIS CHANGE WILL NOT DO ANYTHING FOR GHANA. JUST KEEP YOUR PROMISES. THATS ALL

• Adoley 7 years ago

Is good idea. The Flagstaff house only remind us of colonialism.

WHAT REMINDS US OF COLONIALISM IS OUR INABILITY TO FEND FOR OURSELVES. ALWAYS GOING BACK TO THE COLONIALISTS FOR HAND OUTS TO BALANCE OUR BUDGETS. HOW MUCH IS IT GOING TO COST TO CHANGE THE NAME ON ALL GOV'T STATIONARY, PROTO ...

• K. Baah 7 years ago

So this greedy politicians used tax payers money of $50,000,000.00 to built the 10th beautiful and most expensive palace while the people wallow in extreme poverty.

• Kotakopia 7 years ago

Do those tribes whose daughters we forced to be impregnated by HUMAN BEINGS from the North, etc give Northern names to those kids? Are they allowed to know their fathers ? Unless "mi mami, mi mami" upgraded dwarfs. Pathologic ...

• KWASI APONKYE 7 years ago

TYPICAL FANTI MAN ..ALWAYS AFRAID OF HIS OWN SHADOW.
    NO WONDER FANTIS STILL CALL THEMSELVES MILLS, CRENTSIL, BAIDEN, FERGUSON AGGREY AND COLMAN..
    NKWASIAFUO..
    FANTES NEED TO BE ENSLAVED..AFTER ALL their brains tell them th ...

Whoever wrote abt mills and fantis might come from a mad tribe, he or she together with the king of his of tribe shd see a psychiatrist to treat them

• Original Ghanaba 7 years ago

Please, we don't need politics of tribalism. We are one. Respect the Fantis.

WOW, COMING FROM ABUA APONKYE, I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO SAY BUT THINK OF PEPPER SOUP! LOL!!!!

• Prempeh 7 years ago

Gyimii.stop ur useless talk.tribalistic idiot with no brains.we Ashanti's thefantis r our brothers.we love them.their women r sweet too.

• Pastor 7 years ago

Kwasi may God forgive u for making such a statement.God help us

• yaa dua 7 years ago

Thanks be to the fantis for voting that dwarf to power. I keep reminding my friends to look at a good mature person like Ndoum and stop voting for this tribal party . the end results are name calling as we read here. Another ...

You are right why they voted for you to have all the courage to insult them but don't stop there do it again so that the entire central region will no how foolish they are thanks.

• joe,boston 7 years ago

Sorry to say but before Nana Addo starts to fulfill his long list of promises, Ghanaians are saddled with additional cost of printing new stationary with "Golden Jubilee House" on it. The more things change, the more they mo ...

• Odikro 7 years ago

Who appointed you to speak for Ghanaians?

• Villager 7 years ago

Astronomical costs await us, jobs for the boys. This is how it begins and there will be no money for the 1 district 1 factory. A bad way to start

• K K 7 years ago

But the question is,who even authorize the ndc to print dairies for the state house?

• No Mercy 7 years ago

Ghanaians must be careful with Chinese.This Chinese are after the Mineral resources.Chinese must leave the country,or we will be Slaves under them

• Youli 7 years ago

Chinese own every thing in Ghana.
    They own the lands.
    Now they own the parliament.

• Benny 7 years ago

Why keep on With shifting of names. Yesteryears it was Flagstaff HOUSE, then Jubilee and then Flagstaff yesterday but it is to be JUBILEE,why continue With shifting of names. Name it CROWNHOUSE and stop soiling the house Wit ...

• Victor Hugo 7 years ago

Call it "Pendulum House" because come 2021, the NDC will rename it Flagstaff House.Flagstaff House was the seat of Government during Nkrumah's era and for the aversion to Nkrumah, the Dankwa-Busia tradition party does not wan ...

Correction: " a feature of" not "feature if"

• the lone Prophet of Jehovah 7 years ago

Who build it nonsense not Npp or Ndc it is Ghanaians tax payers money,,you and I so stop the fuss,changing of names is not the issue,focus on the promises of filling the pocket of Ghanaians.Shalom peace

• the lone Prophet of Jehovah 7 years ago

CHANGING OF NAME FIRST KNOCKOUT BLOW,GHANAIANS WATCH OUT

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

If the name is still the Fragstaff house it is okay then for not be be disterbances another critisem for for being name the name as Golden Jubelee House ,it must be at his name the Fragstaff house and that is no need and....M ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Ignorancy ,shallow minds, that we can't live with it

• Bempah 7 years ago

Welcome. The idiocy has started.

• Adoley 7 years ago

Good idea. Flagstaff house has no significant unless remaining us of colonialism

• Fritz Andoh 7 years ago

You are right my Brother

• Adoley 7 years ago

Is good idea. The flagstaff house only remind as of colonialism. It should be changed.

• Ewurade Kasa 7 years ago

You are wrong. I can tell you that if Ghana is still called the GOLD COAST, the country will have more global recognition, more direct foreign investment via tourism, and more prosperity than the name GHANA

• JC 7 years ago

Is the country a 'coast' ? Doesn't it stretch from the sea to Burkina and from Togo to Cote d' Ivoire? With all the gold, diamond, manganese, bauxite, oil, forests, grassland, rivers, natural foods, great people but with corr ...

• OMANBA 7 years ago

Just a temporay change of name .It will revert to Flagstaff when the NPP and the 'kaakaamotobi' president are no more in power.TheY just do not want to associate Osagyefo with it.THEY CAN EVEN NAME IT DANQUAH HOUSE.

• onipanua 7 years ago

The foolishness of Akuffo-Addo on display.They are changing the name because Osagyefo lived in Flagstaff House.

• crusader 7 years ago

Re name it and 100yrs to come it will be named again as flagstaff hse. No pettiness. If you want to be petty, you will have it.

• BBC 7 years ago

Those who are talking of colonisation have forgotten that we are still under them. very soon nana will ran to them for help. We still travel there for hard labour. And device a modern way of colonising us by using a method c ...

• Kasapa 7 years ago

Simply put it a referendum , changing names not political maturity

• Allen the Moron, Liar and a Rogue 7 years ago

Name change does not matter to me. Please Ghanaians are yearning for greater things: jobs, available and affordable utility bills, low interest rates, fraud and corruption reduction, health insurance, adequate communication n ...

• Edward 7 years ago

Do you want the opportunity to join an exclusive travel club allowing you to travel all over the world at discount rates whilst also giving you the opportunity to make very good and grow a business? Be your own boss and live ...

• the capitalist 7 years ago

Late Mills was very stupid for changing the name.
    Golden Jubilee House will be the name forever.

• TRC; BRO DAN 7 years ago

BLESSED PEOPLE OF THE NATIONS OF THE WORLD, DIGNIFIED PEOPLE OF AFRICA, NOBLE PEOPLE OF GHANA; BEHOLD!! IT IS WRITTEN; “UPON ALL THY GETTING GET UNDERSTANDING”. WHY? THAT –‘IF’ YOU READ YOU WILL UNDERSTAND. THEREFOR ...

• tory 7 years ago

THE LAST THING TO CONCERN YOURSELF IS RENAMING. GHANSIAN LEADRRS ARE IMMATURE AND USELESS! YOU ARE ONLY INTEREST IN YOUR EGOS! I FEEL SORRY FOR YHIS COUNTRY!

• Kodjo 7 years ago

THIS IS ALL POLITICAL TACTIC. JUST TO SHY AWAY FROM THE FACT THAT IT WAS NAMED BY THE PRIOR PARTY. DON'T THROW DUST INTO GHANAIAN EYES.

• OneGH 7 years ago

i wont be surprised an NDC government in the future no mater how it take will change the name back to flag staff house. Stupid politicians

• JOHN 7 years ago

YOU PEOPLE OF KASEWA ARE FOOLS TO VOTE NPP. YOUR INTERCHANGE AND ALL THE FACILITIES ARE HISTORY.

• JOHN 7 years ago

OBITSEBI LAMPTEY INTERCHANGE IS HISTORY. TRAFFIC WILL BE WORSE. YOU FOOLS AND TRIBAL IDIOTS

• Runnable,US 7 years ago

Why did Mills change the Original name in the first place? What name was given to it when it was built? These are the questions one needs to ask.

The place was called Flagstaff house that we all no why all the changes Kuffour made during his tenure never change the name but only I mean only that place that is what you have to ask yourself to get the answer you need bro ...

• JAY 7 years ago

NANA ADDO you are wrong,what white house are you talking of?Ghanaians are black people not white

• Betty 7 years ago

Jay listen well when people speak and don't be in a hurry to display idiocy he was making reference to the USA when he said the elephant is going to the white house.You people were clapping when Nkrumah circle was called Duba ...

• HAI HAI 7 years ago

Nana Addo dey come like Kakai, hai, hai, hai, hai, Nana Addo dey come like kakai forever and ever....

• Raymond Abbiw 7 years ago

I honestly think that this guy's are completely crazy if they ahead and rename the Flagstaff House.
    What are trying to achieve here? Instead of focusing on thing that matter this one track minded people are beginning to sho ...

• GhanaMassai. 7 years ago

Ooohhh, heey!!! Nana seem's to under-estimate the gargantuan task that awaits him as Ghana's Président. This is not the time to jubilate &sleep it off in a "Jubilee Palace".Bet you all, Ghanaians will not give any chance to ...

• HMMMN 7 years ago

It is instructive to note, the said edifice came into being, through the instrumentality of Nana Akufo Addo working in concert with his Indian counterpart when he was the Foreign Min under the Kufuor administration.
    Eight ye ...

• minladder 7 years ago

It's tell how stupid Ghanaians r as people

• Bodat 7 years ago

The name Flag Staff House sounds presidential than this idiotic name "Golden Jubilee" that sounds more like a hotel. Backward Ashantis

• kofi how 7 years ago

The truth is twisted by the writer. Flagstaff house was not the colonial seat of government. The name is still the title of the chief of the military in UK. Nkrumah avoided the OSU Castle and lived here. The military still de ...

We will change it again in 2020 if npp change it.so jubilee house for npp flagstaff house for NDC

• mr amin 7 years ago

Ndc will not come again Insha Allah .

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Mills, though dead, was the most stupid president ever. Why? Because he allowed himself to be toyed by JJ and as a professor, why did he even think of following JJ? That is a question I cannot understand till the end of the w ...

• Fire to Fire 7 years ago

Pericles, you took the words from my mouth. Thank you so much. Atta Mills was such a fool!

• kelewele- Lawra 7 years ago

Flagstaff house is the name given by Nkrumah

• Say the TRUTH 7 years ago

FLAGSTAFF HOUSE IS A COLONIAL NAME GIVEN TO THE QUARTERS THAT WERE USED BYE THE BRITISH MILLITARY COMMANDER AND HIS MILITARY ENTOURAGE.....DON'T DISTORT THAT HISTORY!!! NKRUMAH JUST DECIDED TO USE THAT AT THE RESIDENCE OF THE ...

If Ghanaians should have the opportunity to vote on whether we should revert to Colonialism, l bet you 80% will vote yes.Colonialism will ensure that we get free entry to Britain and how many Ghanaians will reject the offer?

• James 7 years ago

He is not president yet but see the financial lost he has started coursing the state already? Money that can do something meaningful for the country will now be used to change everything from flagstaf house to jubilee house. ...

• Robert 7 years ago

What will this do or bring to our mother Ghana? Indeed, this is an African politics.

• AMATX USA 7 years ago

What do you expect a human being called animal to do you know where education stated nd the first pple to be civilized in the country go nd check it b4 you come out toinsult fantes if you are one of us you will have be ...

• Michael K. Tettevi. 7 years ago

Out of sight, out of mind.

• mr amin 7 years ago

Is good to change the name to jubilee house to go with all the jubilee parks in all the regions n the jubilee oil field. Ndc is brainless. What is flag staff house, even pronouncing it not easy. Golden Jubilee House is what w ...

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

Npp madness have begun, drug addicts and peddles, banana Republic with the monkey and dwarf incharge, good luck to the syndicate but don't forget the day of reckoning.

• okukuseku 7 years ago

Is that the change I voted for? Hmmmm

• Gbedao. 7 years ago

Masa stop the lies.u never voted for Nana anyway.

• john mahama 7 years ago

will the change of name bring some development into the country? then go ahead.

• Kojo Ebre 7 years ago

Democrats come and go, Republicans come and go. White House remains unchanged.
    Tackle serious issues and refrain from these petty non scoring jabs.

• fc 7 years ago

Name changing will not help the poor in mother Ghana. Enough of this childish politics

• George 7 years ago

This will not put food on our table

• Ibn Batuta 7 years ago

What is this infantile tantrum for? The original name was Flagstaff House and it must remain so. Instead of focusing on moving Ghana forward the dead brains are engaging in trivialities.

• Gbedao. 7 years ago

Ofui how did kuffuor called it? The man John Mahama killed changed the name.now it's back to its original name.period.go hug transformer if u don't agree.

• kk 7 years ago

NDC is confused and embarrassed over their defeat and subsequent handover power to npp hence their silly utterances even when the new administration hasn't been sworn into office.

• kk 7 years ago

silly utterances from NDC out of confusion and embarrassment after December 7

• Truth 7 years ago

Call it whatever you choose the place will still be called Flag Staff House.
    When Prez Kuffour changed the name for Sankara interchange is the place still not called Sankara by Ghanaians?

• Agbey 7 years ago

well done. make sure you change the electoral commission logo too. it doesn't have the spirit of Ghana in it at all

• JEFF-US 7 years ago

Am out of words;after reading through the article ,as well as the various comments... Let us be serious here,how will changing the name of a palace benefit Ghanaian's? Let us talk about changing policies that will help all Gh ...

• Nur 7 years ago

Carry on new king new law.

• Myles 7 years ago

Ghana is indeed a joke of a country. so the next NDC government shd change it when they come to power ?

• Marcol 7 years ago

No need to change the name.

• AGYENKWANUA 7 years ago

People who build assign names to what they build. Constructing a new block from the scratch is different from renovating an old block. The presidential palace is a new building built from the scratch by the NPP government and ...

• Mansa Musa 7 years ago

Why do Ghanaians need to go through this kind of pettiness. It costs money to change things. Now, all letterheads, envelopes and stationery that have Flagstaff House on them can no longer be used, and thrown away. Then the ...

• Skuffour 7 years ago

Can l read the article l just posted ,PS it's very important.Samuel

• Matete 7 years ago

Are these changes of names necessary when Ghanaians are awaiting for the numerous promises. Bad start old boy. BEWARE!!!

• Obuasi 7 years ago

we donated Ghana entirely to NDC,we jst need the ill gotten wealth back, those in Dubai, in South African, investigate them n probe them now,if only u say u re an anti corrupt crusader.

• Nii 7 years ago

The original Flagstaff building has not been demolished. It was therefore not right to rename the Jubilee House since it is not replacing the Flagstaff which has been preserved near the Jubilee House.

• Macus G 7 years ago

If the flag staff house is renamed it will mean that everything that the NDC did the NPP will try to change it and that is tragic stupidity. Only a fool will do that. Nana Addo we are watching

• SAQ 7 years ago

fools - drunk with absolute nonsense.
    What is this;
    "THE FLAGSTAFF HOUSE Location: Accra Inaugurated: November 2008 Cost: $30-50 million Ranking: World’s 10th most beautiful Presidential palace"

You still do not have ...