You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 12 26Article 497043

Live from the Woods: Akufo-Addo’s ‘dirty little secret’ that got him president

Read Comments Comments (132)

• AKUA OPAREBEA 7 years ago

Silly article!

• Omanbabea 7 years ago

The major difference between this election and the last is the fact that the electoral commission could not tamper with the results. Stop looking for reasons and stop making bogus analysis for the results.

• Onasis 7 years ago

Good observation, but it did not explain the loss in GAR,CR,BR.

• Kwesi Kwansah 7 years ago

The elections were decided on clean figures alone as against doctored figures in the past. As for JOY FM don't think Ghanaians failed to see that at some point you were reporting cooked figures on your screens. What made you ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

THE WHOLE THING IS, THERE WAS NO WAY THE NDC AND THE EC COULD MANIPULATE THE RESULTS, NPP WERE SUPER VIGILANT, SO YOU SEE IT MEANS NPP DID SURELY WON THE 2012 ELECTIONS BUT ALLOWED EC TO CHANGE FIGURES,,, 27- O AND MANY MORE, ...

• Nana Danso 7 years ago

Omanbebea,you have said it all. Every plan by the EC to alter figures in favor of Mahama as usual failed. The bloated voter register which was to become the basis for the rigging was not useful. The figures obtained by each ...

• Bomfaboy 7 years ago

The votes of 2016 showed the ACTUALvoter rolling places like Volta, and the Three Northern Regions, where NDC cooked up a 600,000 votes. It also showed the NPP claim of Ivorians and Togolese on the register was real. Those To ...

• Chuck Wayo, Washington, DC 7 years ago

Unitellectual, plebeian analysis by a benighted journalist. Waste of time and quack analysis from a sore loser! Get a grip, and get over it. NPP won this election fair and square. NDC can't get over the shock that their attem ...

• Asukooko 7 years ago

The most stupid analysis on the 2016 election. This guy is an ASS suffering from Acute Stupidity Syndrome.

• Adom Nti 7 years ago

This journalist didn't do a good job of why NDC lost the elections. Fact is, NDC has never won any election in this country, never!! Their slogan, Ey3 ZU Ey3 ZA, explains it. They use 'ways and means' thru the EC to cheat all ...

• Kodzo 7 years ago

The writer made a good analysis that can be disputed without his being insulted. People are insulting him because his title sounds antagonistic. It doesn't even reflect the contents of the piece. The title gives the impressio ...

• Osbon 7 years ago

Stupid heading. The election over let Nana start governance and stop another electioneering. Foolish article.

• Benito. 7 years ago

Nonsense is understatement....it's 'live' garbage cooked from a bed room of a lazy journalist.

• PlainPlainTruth 7 years ago

And Akuffo-Addo will now tell the whole nation where he went to Law School, when he graduated, names of some living classmates,when he was called to the Bar and the originals of the relevant certificates.

• Kwame Ansah 7 years ago

Still talking about where Nana read his law? You have a long way to go

• Bobobribri 7 years ago

Not soo sily the rented foreign voters were prevented from voting this time. If you spent money on foreigners and you ignore ghanaians, the ghanaians will one day get wise and prevent foreign object reaching their ballot box ...

• nsk 7 years ago

My sentiments exactly. Couldn't have said it better

• XxxxxxxxxxxX 7 years ago

Nana won. As simply as that.

• KB 7 years ago

This is a bogus analysis. Yes, JM and NDC have lost the elections, so you are not happy. NDC voters outside the perimeters of Ghana decided to stay out of Ghana's internal affairs, and this is the outcome. Any voter statisti ...

• Asphyxiation 7 years ago

This is a bogus analysis. Yes, JM and NDC have lost the elections, so you are not happy. NDC voters outside the perimeters of Ghana decided to stay out of Ghana's internal affairs, and this is the outcome. Any voter statistic ...

• Kwabena Gyamfi 7 years ago

In 2012, the NDC cheated their way to victory because NPP agents were not vigilant enough. How can Mahama receive over 500,000 more votes than all the NDC parliamentarians put together in 2012? This clearly shows how the NDC ...

• Villager 7 years ago

Have the NPP and its UP-tradition ever accepted the results of any election they have not won? Stolen, boycotts etc have always been their war songs

• garbeben 7 years ago

Spot on, my brother

• 1 Loaf 7 years ago

This article confirms what some of us have been gnawing at all along. I simply love it.

• TWEAAA dc. 7 years ago

YOU CAN CALL NANA'S VICTORY IN WHATEVER WAY YOU LIKE.....WHAT WE KNOW IS, NANA WILL BE SWORN IN ON 7TH JANUARY, 2017 AS PRESIDENT....JOHN MAHAMA WAS WHIPPED IN SIX OUT OF TEN REGIONS, ...THE GHOST REGISTERED VOTERS COULD NOT ...

• Osono Ba 7 years ago

My dear Austin I will advise you to stop being dishonest to Ghanaians and reality. The voter register used is bloated and that's the reason for the presumed ' LOW VOTER TURNOUT'. The other fact is that there was massive riggi ...

• Prof. Issifu, USA 7 years ago

Let me prove to you that your analysis is FALSE. In fact the real voter turnout for the 2016 election was very high. The problem is that the 15 million captured on the voters register is bloated. Ghana's population growth rat ...

• Czar k. 7 years ago

If this will make you feel good then that is ok. I can tell you that the Npp won the 2012 elections and allowed the Ndc to steal it because they weren't vigilante. This time as you can see the Npp were very vigilante so the N ...

• Nana Darko-Obiri 7 years ago

Brakopowers is playing a dirty game for the NDC. His arithmetical logic makes sense only when u buy into the NDC VICIOUS DENIAL PROPAGANDA! with the collusion,deliberately or out of sheer incompetence, of the EC. This is a DE ...

• adomakoh froboo 7 years ago

This man is very stupid

• Okponglo Guy 7 years ago

I hope that you are being sarcastic because the evidence is that the inflation of figures failed to materialize this year thanks to the vigilance.

The EC must be overhauled before 2020.

• Samuel (London ) 7 years ago

Very bad analysis don't forget that people have criticised the voter population and for that matter the overblotted register.

• Simple 7 years ago

Nana won simply because NDC could not rig the election this time. How were they going to rig when the Supreme Court ordered the EC to give copies of the collation sheets to the polling agents, when the serial numbers on the ...

• Mawuli Kobla 7 years ago

Oh my! There were no voters, they were all ghosts. In some constituencies outside the Volta Region, Mahama lost over 12,000. These were not people. Only vigilance stopped them in the night.
    Whilst we went to sleep after voti ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

The writer is simple an NDC bootlick.This time there was no Finger of God,twenty seven zero and 4,800 international vote turn 480,000 to favour Ford John Dramani Mahama.

• Ritewing 7 years ago

The writer, an Ndc supporter, is perhaps still shedding tears from his eyes. How could he then see clearly, what has hit the Ndc and President Mahama at the polls? The analysis has come too soon to be given any credibility. I ...

• Mama 7 years ago

Good to do all the analysis, but have you also considered that proper vigilance could have accounted for the declaration of correct figures. Can we say that there was no twenty-seven zero this time. Let's not forget abou ...

• Sam 7 years ago

Every win is a win and every loss a loss.No matter your analysis the reality is that Nana is president against your wish.
    Go to hell

• nsk 7 years ago

Hahahaha u said it!!

• T.T 7 years ago

What make you think that those who did not vote should have automatically voted for NDC? ur article doesn't add up. ( Mean, i doesn't make sense.

• Kwaane Ametepe/Kumasi 7 years ago

The figure represents the Togolese who sneak into the Volta Region to vote for N.D.C. If you go through the region you will realize that there are not many people there compared to those figures they used to obtain. Ask Asied ...

• K Anim. 7 years ago

Your so called post elections analysis is pure sour grapes and baloney. Nana and his victorious NPP won their majorities on their own merit,clean and square whether you like it or not. The NPP was right on message and the maj ...

• GOWAN 7 years ago

If the NDC does not confront and fix their problems boldly, as predicted before the elections it would remain the largest monolithic unattractive political organization in this country forever.
    As Ghana pushes strongly for m ...

• xxyz 7 years ago

somebody told this fool to make a research on good nutrition for himself

• kwame 7 years ago

Austin, if you used a word processor to write this nonsense at least let it help you to check your spelling.

• RUMALLO 7 years ago

First, God intervened. Then, most Ghanaians were suffering, and in fact, for the constitution of Ghana bestowed on us by his Excellency, former president J. j. Rawlings, a bold Ghanaian would have been expected to undertake a ...

• shame 7 years ago

jj is nobody like a fool tday he is forgotten wat is pass if he helps u people to betray his own party then we wil help anderson to win his daughter next four year is just around de corner judas jj foolish jj

• ME 7 years ago

I am really happy. Ask why. When your enemy falls and doesn't realize what really caused his downfall but blames it on things that don't matter, you know he can never rise cos a problem identified is half solved. I pray the n ...

• Pius 7 years ago

U are far from the truth...its a fact that Ghanas electoral roll is over bloated, the EC is on the record to hv said that figures were being changed in their system as they came in frm the constituencies. To whose benefit? Ur ...

• Joeson 7 years ago

I'm a sympathizer of the NDC but this article is just nothing to write home about. It's a lazy and capricious. Pls next time do a bit of research to make your work valuable

• kooob 7 years ago

After reading this article I can confidently deduce that the 2012 election was stolen. How can 79% vote in 2012 as against 69% in 2016. How can NDC loose more than a million vote between 2012 and 2016. Vigilance won the 2016 ...

• KING SOLOMON. 7 years ago

This is an excellent piece of painstaking academic analysis. For the uninitiated it is Utter Nonesense !!!!! But This is Food for Thought to the very serious enquiring, & analytical mind !!! Bravo !!! I love this effort.

• Asukooko 7 years ago

Your brain must be filled with grease and sawdust to appreciate this analytical rubbish.

• George N.Debrah 7 years ago

Political campaigns have always sought to exploit all avenues that will endear their policies or ideas to electorates,
    No matter how good their policies sell, there will always be those who will not appreciate this effort.

• Nana Agyemang 7 years ago

Please be very optimistic about the issue,the policies by the npp went on very well by electorate so don't come and deceive us.If indeed the promises made by the incumbent auger well why their votes reduce by that margin.If y ...

• Chabba 7 years ago

Even the writer's name suggests he is an idiot so why waste your time on this article from an imbecile mind?

• Nack 7 years ago

Useless article, why are we so pretencious,as matter of fact if you could remember that Asiedu Nkatia made it clear through proclamation that NDC should come out and vote in numbers,failure to do so would compel NPP to sack t ...

• shame 7 years ago

God wil punish him for murder dat he cause for innocent people he wil paid wth paid coin

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

I enjoyed your analysis but do not forget that a lot of the votes you claim did not get to NDC and Nana were the votes which NPP stopped from being added illegally. Look in 2012 NDC dumped a lot of votes in illegally. Nana re ...

• EFO SNR 7 years ago

NDC AS A PARTY HAS NEVER WON ELECTION IN GHANA BEFORE.
    IT ALL MANIPULATION OF FIGURES.
    IT TIME FOR THEM TO WORK FOR THE VOTES THEY HAVE ENJOYED ALL THIS WHILE.
    GOD WILL PUNISH THEM. AMEN

• kwame peter 7 years ago

KB, I think you need proper education,not Nana's free education. The writer expressed his views . If you disagree, explain ,if not why the insults. For me, it's the same point I was making after the election. If nana won, it' ...

• University of Winneba student perspec 7 years ago

Please what are u saying? Those students who failed to go and vote form Winneba University that u claimed u knew could be more than a million and they were all going to vote for JM

• vincent 7 years ago

I wonder why NDC and its so called pollsters or political analyst can simply accept the fact that they could not satisfy Ghanaians and for that matter Ghanaians exhibited sense of wisdom by voting them out but try to use that ...

• OWEN NEW YORK 7 years ago

WHAT STUPIDITY IS THIS . NDC MEMBERS WILL NEVER LEARN FROM THIS SHAMEFUL AND WIDE MARGIN DEFEAT . NO WONDER A MAN OF GOD HAS MADE IT PUBLIC THAT NDC IN BE IN OPPOSITION FOR 40 SOLID YEARS. HE EVEN SAID THEY MAY NOT RETURN TO ...

• Ben 7 years ago

No amount of analysis will justify Mahama loss. Ghanaians were just fed up with him and his NDC.

• Kofi K 7 years ago

Mahama lost the election because his Togolese voters were prevented from voting through the eagle eye of the NPP youth in the Volta region.

• GUTTER JOURNALISM 7 years ago

2008 - FAILED, 2012 - FAILED, 2016 - PASSED. YOUR CHILD CAME HOME WITH THIS DISMAL REPORT CARD HOW WOULD YOU FEEL?FOR NPP USE ONLY. 2-F'S 1-PASS JUST LIKE HIS 1- DISTRICT, 1- COCAINE FACTORY MANTRA.

• Ataabinuu 7 years ago

Nonsensical views: foolish and untrue ideas

applesauce, balderdash, baloney, beans, bilge, blah- blah-blah, blarney, blather, blatherskite, blither, bosh, bullshit, bunk, bunkum, claptrap, crapola, crock, drivel, drool, f ...

• adro 7 years ago

I pity the writer from the bottom of my heart. What he should be saying is the NDC NEVER the chance to fill the ballot boxes with ballot papers. We shall all find out in due course who these 5 million people (who did not vote ...

• garbeben 7 years ago

Master, I have drawn the conclusion from the study of the poll results.
    NPP has a lot to do to consolidate it's win in 2020. The EC itself sealed a lot of the potential rigging options Secondly don't understand why some po ...

• ll 7 years ago

IF WHAT YOU ARE SAYING TRUE THAT THE EC OFFICIALS FILLED NEW PINK SHEETS.WAS IT DIFFERENT FTOM YOUR POLLING(NDC) AGENTS SENT TO YOU.AND TOLD YOU THAT SHORTAGE IS NDC MEMBERS.WHY DID YOU LOOSE PALIAMENTARY SEATS.

• garbeben 7 years ago

It makes a lot of sense my dear!

• Kwesi Kwarteng 7 years ago

This article does not make sense. Don't forget there are a lot of first time voters who were not eligible to vote in the 2012 elections, so all if them voted for Nana Addo cos of the incompetency of your govt.

• Potential 7 years ago

Bogus analysis, the 2012 figures were massaged by the NDC. Take that into account. The next election will be worse for the NDC.

• BB 7 years ago

Ghanaians cannot be deceive by John Mahama again and thus why wee voted masively against him.Take ur bogus article away..May God bless Nana.

• Dan 7 years ago

childish article, so why other's came out to vote? d Togolese, Burkinabe's n the Ivorian's didn't get d chance to vote, period

• Your Auntie-Cece 7 years ago

I ALWAYS WONDER WHY GHANA PEOPLE ARE ALWAYS INTOLERANT OF EACH OTHER'S VIEWS. DO YOU HAVE TO ALWAYS INSULT SOMEBODY OF HIS VIEWS? I PRAY GOD WILL TOUCH THE PEOPLE OF GHANA TO REPENT OF THIS BAD ATTITUDE IN 2017. AMEN.

• Togbega 7 years ago

The simple truth is that the extra vigilance of NPP reduced ballot box stuffing and ghost voter participation to the barest minimum.

I dont know where you driving to. The election was won by NPP. The voter turn out not low. Do you remember LMVA claim that register is blotted? Do you NPP pitition? Over voting?
    These are the issues that was cured the prope ...

• Kwabena Boadu 7 years ago

The elections were for the NDC to win or to lose. The NPP was only the beneficiary. The npp did not win the elections but it was the NDC which lost the elections and ceded power to the NPP.

• Kote 7 years ago

Playing the ostrich! What warp analysis! The ghost voters decided to rest peacefully, thank God.

• Essum 7 years ago

This is trash. Your analysis is bogus. NDC and JDM lost because of incompetence, corruptiion,'cronyism, create loot and share. Economic down turn, favoritism et al.
    The low turn out was largely due to the bloated register a ...

• Kote 7 years ago

Playing the ostrich. The ghost voters decided to rest this time. Aren't you ashamed with such warp analysis being yourself a journalist!

• Kanawu 7 years ago

Stupid analysis. This nonsense should stop. Bitter ewe guy. Kwasea kwa.

• K Asumadu 7 years ago

At least be magnanimous in defeat else stop the nonsense, arrogance and propaganda that got the NDC to where they are now, in the first place.

This even is an insult to discerning Ghanaians who voted in their number for ch ...

• Atinga 7 years ago

Ghosts don't vote!

• Georgee 7 years ago

Did he study the mood of Ghanaians before the elections. It is a useless piece.

• todey 7 years ago

Its very unfortunate that the so called educated minds that is supposed to educate the less fortunate ones are engaging in dishonesty. its very sad. Please came again with a sensible article

• Havana @ Ada 7 years ago

It is interesting nd laughable reading this shit from the so call writer,nd let me ask that so we now believe it is not God the maketh a king but rather people nd for that matter voters especially from the Volta bcos Ghana be ...

• Ghana must know. 7 years ago

Dead goat president Mahama and his incompetent thieves in government lost the elections because of the unprecedented thievery and corruption in their create, loot and share governance. Their diabolic agenda conniving with the ...

• jim 7 years ago

I do not think that there was voted apathy thst accounted for low turn out. my need is that ndc use to stuff the boxes with ballot thumb printed bullot peppers, but this year's election was policed so much so that there was ...

• Naniama I 7 years ago

simpletons will reject this analysis. our mathematical literacy n analytical skills in ghana is low. some people are stuck with 1+1=2 without looking at what is behind the numbers;no wonder our students perform so bad on inte ...

• H.E Nana Addo 7 years ago

Just tell those who didn't vote to go and vote at the EC's office. Their votes will then be counted and added to Mahama's votes
    Besides Nana Addo will be President 07/01/17.

• Peal 7 years ago

"Any idiot can win an election". didn't you hear Sammy ewuku or what ever. He said they won the elections the African way. The point here is that the African is not intelligent enough to sieve through lies, empty promises and ...

• evans, Germany 7 years ago

Blatant lier, NDC is very lucky because due to hardship, most of has traveled from the country, the gap would have widen. blotted register was the reason and i thank the Togolese for deciding that they cannot impose incompete ...

• Emmanuel ato 7 years ago

Ghanaians will remember mahama and they will never see good president like him , as same like kwame Nkrumah did

• Afia.Sika Gomoa.Nkran 7 years ago

So What's Dirty About The Enthusiasm Of Supporters Rallying Behind Their Presidential Candidate?The NDC Under Rated The Efficiency And Capability Of The Opposition In Winning This Year's Elections.They Also Took The Citizens ...

• SAleem 7 years ago

Ndc lost bcoz they were not able to
    Steal . Absence of Togolese. Ivorians
    And burkinas and snatching and stuffing of ballot boxes were the causes of ndc defeat. Thieves do not
    Deceive yourselves. Ndc can never win ...

• Kofi Boat. Kaduna, Nigeria. 7 years ago

The so-called votes Mahama lost were those from over voting which Justice Atuguba called ballot stuffing and yet accepted during the election court case in 2013. If NPP agents are vigilant, no more NDC in power.

• Branaboy 7 years ago

The simple answer is that this tome round, 2016, due to the clear pronouncements of the Supreme Court in the 2013 petition, the NPP and ALL Ghanaians understood how the NDC rigged elections by
    1. Over Voting in the form chan ...

• Ben 7 years ago

What is the little secret that Nana supposedly had?

• kwasi 7 years ago

I have said this before. NDC cannot win elections without rigging. They stuff ballot boxes and massage the result with the help of the electoral commission.This time around NPP was vigilant and none of those things happened h ...

• ADANKO 7 years ago

THE HOTTEST HEAT REGION IS VOLTA REGION. IS IT ALSO NOT POSSIBLE THAT PAST VOTES WERE FAKE AND STOLEN FOR NDC? CHECK KETU SOUTH AND KETU NORTH TURN OUT COMPARED TO 2012 RESULTS! MORE RESEARCH HAS TO BE DONE!!!

• Maxwell 7 years ago

2012 was as a result of the EC manipulations. the Register is bloated!

• Okatakyie 7 years ago

Are Togolese Ghanaians to be allowed to participate in our election proccess?

• Nene 7 years ago

NDC could not use the already inputted 1 M votes bcos NPP became to smart n blocked it.
    In the next 5 elections NDC votes will continue to decline.

• eXODUS 7 years ago

animal

• NDC ZONGO BOY 7 years ago

Look at another y3y3 man!!,what do you think JM has done that he deserve another term of office?what campaign messeges that ndc gave that they deserve another term?their messages were (1)Nana is short,(2)Nana is not the taste ...

• Osono 7 years ago

Do you think Ghanaians are fools :were you happy with the way prez Mahama was ruling

• NDC ZONGO BOY 7 years ago

If one take your article into consideration,then we are convinced that JM defferences is those that were caught already thumped printed ballot papers for JM accross before and during the election not that Nana had any dirty t ...

• Bobobribri 7 years ago

1 million votes for Mahama in 2012 elections were foreign objects of ballot stuffing by foreigners, not Ghanaians. Ghana Voter Register was pregnant with ndc foreign bastard babies with protruding sharp teeth.

• Paradiso Sunkwa. 7 years ago

Corruption is what destroy ndc.if nana allow corruption in his governance he will serve 4yrs if not impeach b4 then.the people believe he is incorruptible and he can retrieve stolen money by ndc members.he should not d ...

Hello Mr Joy FM man,
    Please allow me to do a better analysis of the figures you have used to make your unimpressive analysis. If your figures for both 2012 and 2016 votes for both presidential candidates stand to be correct, ...

• acoustic 7 years ago

Aden

just go to court wai

• jabir 7 years ago

Ndc next time use better
    Register. And when they call
    For new register next time u will not
    Be the spoke person for the
    EC. Again. People voted well
    But ur fake register is deceiving YOU
    Guy. Hahaha

• Digitata 7 years ago

Its obvious the NDC lost, massa your analysis do not hold. Ghanaians were sick and tired of the hardship they were going through. I am a staunch NPP guy but love JM not for his position as a president but his personality and ...

• Hannah 7 years ago

Nana is our prayer that 2017 will bring peace prospective to our country as we all believe Nana can bring change N.D.C will never come to power again God help Ghana.

• Kwaku Charles 7 years ago

This analysis is a clear case of someone who has not come to terms with the huge defeat suffered by an incumbent President. This is an elementary analysis. All the one thing that writer failed to acknowledged was that in 2012 ...

• ok 7 years ago

Keep deceiving yourselves. NDC have been cheating but were unsuccessful this year. Period!!!

• ok 7 years ago

How many people do you know that are ndc supporters who did not vote. ndc should stop deceiving themselves. The era of adding thump printed ballot papers is over!!!

• Cruisefox 7 years ago

Useless and senseless,unfounded article.We have blotted voter register and number that voted is right number.You need to admit that the president has lost it convincingly.Stop making unnecessary excuses,Ghanaians are not fool ...

• Pk 7 years ago

Pls joy fm journalist review your analysis by exercising pstiebcevto conduct an open door research and relax in your comfort at your news room to conclude on the way you did.

• sarfo Samuel 7 years ago

Ghanaians have spoken and there is nothing the NDC can do. NPP won this election on clean sheet.

• Qwamy 7 years ago

So what is your analysis on the Parliamentary too? So you want to say that although the NPP win almost 170 seats, Akufo Addo should have lost because he is not a better candidate?

Please come again. Ghanafo are discerning.

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

The background intimidation of voters to get them stay off voting the NDC to power may be true. But the larger issue has to do with the gross nose-thumbing by the Mahama Administration to the Public on their cries against cor ...

• Doggie 7 years ago

Beneficial of V8

• nsk 7 years ago

EC was not interested in result tampering. Reason why Mahama called to concede. Everything was on the up and up. Everybody got the same results and EC let it run till there was no choice for Mahama bit to concede. He did the ...

• Marcus ucc 7 years ago

Bogus article. I ev wasted my time reading this good for nothing article. Fool.

• costy 7 years ago

pls writer go back to e drawn board n think hard
    if u don't lyk npp pls don't call them thieves
    your article is bogus

• KOJO BADU 7 years ago

This is perhaps the most stupid, lazy and diabolical analysis of the 2016 elections.

• PROF 7 years ago

Look at his face like a watch man of galamsey site.If he is among his colleagues president he cannot be seen I pray he pass away by 6th January b4 the inauguration comes on the 7th, I mean Akoda kitiwa the short ugly dwarf.Th ...