You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 09 17Article 470422

The vexing matter of the misspelling of ‘Ata’

Read Comments Comments (41)

• Concerned Citizen 7 years ago

CEGENSA erred in misspelling her name, and she should have taken it up with them, fine,but ever since this incident, I see no attempt of Ama Ata Aidoo to apologise to those who sacrificed their time to come and attend the eve ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Concerned Citizen,
    You have a valid point there!

By leaving the event before it started, the distinguished Professor herself needlessly compounded the error. As a result, she deprived the "innocent" audience, including th ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Can we now simply repeat/add...?

Surely, the audience mattered.

Well done, Professor Audrey Gadzekpo!

• Jordys 7 years ago

I understand your takes on this, and I recommend you for this very enlightening comment. But this is just giving her too much credit; do you think she is intelligent enough to see from your perspective? If she was, we would n ...

• AAA 7 years ago

Very much on point Ms. Gadzekpo. This is a very clever analysis of that unfortunate situation.

• Brit 7 years ago

Ata and her daughter are petty and stuffy, full of boisterous arrogance signifying useless VANITY!

• OpinionMan 7 years ago

It was rather unfortunate that Prof. Ama Ata Aidoo chose to walk out on countless young of women whom the professor had inspired, and were looking forward to meetting her. She could've chastised the organizers In private,BUT ...

• kwame 7 years ago

The woman Ama Ata Aidoo has failed everybody, She has not demonstrated maturity at all. l guess the emotion she has not been able to manage privately is what has exposed her publicly. I am sorry, I don't think the most uneduc ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

How do you teach a people who are reckless in their disposition and lack attention to detail? Let's face it, we Ghanaians are predisposed to lackadaisical attitude and carelessness without giving much thought to the things we ...

• AMA ATTA I DO 7 years ago

She can go to hell. Fuck her a million times!

I expect intelligent people like you to be mindful of their words. Peace.

• Brit 7 years ago

Sir, "booklong" refers to the "post-graduates" who are always quoting from books, e.g. Adam Smith, instead of using APPLIED, TRIED, TESTED and REWARDED "principles and practical solutions!

It has nothing to do with "envy t ...

In my view, "booklong" is a generic term in Ghanaian parlance as "too known", which is an euphemism for knowing too much.

Instead of learning from people in society who through dint of hard work, rob shoulders with their c ...

• Presto 7 years ago

Quote: "Oh, by the way, yes, multiple degrees define success not for me alone, but for the smart people who earn them and also for the institutions that issue them."

Compare your "successful multiple-degree booklongs" to t ...

With all due respect, my bruda, all the people you mentioned tried and failed. Granted, they are successful now because they had the will to succeed in some other areas of endeavours. Read their backgrounds.

• Presto 7 years ago

I have read their backgrounds, and their ACCOMPLISHMENTS demonstrate the big LIE of "multiple-degrees" are essential to success.

That bogus "success" is worth only on paper in backward "galamsey beach-shitting nations"!

You should state your views with decorum, my friend. You will never get me to sink low to the gutter as you have just done.

• Don 7 years ago

Do you think that of all the millions of alternatives that could have been used to chastize the event organisers, walking out was the best option?

There has never been million alternatives solution to any problem under the sun, my friend. If that was the case, there will be no problem in the world. When you flip a coin, you get only two possible outcomes; head or tail. ...

• Kwame Nim 7 years ago

It is unfortunate that when people are celebrated it can go too much in the 'head'. Ama is cerebrated because she is one of the earliest female achievers but will not remain the best forever. Those girls there may surpass her ...

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

Massa Kwabena, your speculative thinking is infantile. Read yourself : "...The prudent answer to the question would be, she had warned the organizers of the event concerning the spelling of her name before hand, and may have ...

• Jordys 7 years ago

Spot on, buddy!

If she is wise, she WILL be looking at herself in the mirror.

In fact, I hold belief she is not a patient person. She must be very volatile and angry person.

Nii, I like you a lot, and urge you to control your anger when debating the issues. This is a forum for ideas, not a contest by any stretch of the imagination. We don't come here to win at all cost; rather, we come here to de ...

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

Massa Kwabena, your speculative thinking is infantile. Read yourself : "...The prudent answer to the question would be, she had warned the organizers of the event concerning the spelling of her name before hand, and may have ...

The woman over-reacted and showed gross disrespect to the audience by walking away when others have travelled from all walks of life to come and honour her. She disrepected them and dishonoured their presence and the time and ...

Your previous rants show you are part of the problem not the solution

Fuck you. Did I misspell your fucking name?

• BB Brown 7 years ago

This misspelling of names has become cancerous in Ghanaian life. From the making of birth certificates to passports and even on schools has become a neglected phenomenon that some times become worried and wonder that are peop ...

Interesting point, BB Brown. But looks like you misspelled her name too, twice. So it's not always about being sloppy, as the other Prof. tried to explain.

• Don 7 years ago

Hello!! Hahahaha
    Did you check how you spelt her name yourself at all? If she were to read your post, she would get you arrested. 'Ama At Audio'? Yet you have the audacity to lambast the event organisers for adding just a 't ...

• Akua 7 years ago

I guess she will walk out on your comment too at the rate your spelling her name wrong ... I guess it's a Ghanian thing ????????????

• Jordys 7 years ago

Look, my friend, this happens everywhere, and it happen to me in the UK, US and elsewhere. I was frustrated because those who misspelt my name had my docs in front of them! Should I have picked quarrel with them?

You see, ...

• Jordys 7 years ago

I didn't tell you a case in point is you mispelling the lady's name twice. Is this so easy? Were you focused? You see how nature behaves? You're accusing people but you just did the same thing twice...

• NL 7 years ago

Win what? At where? What she won is what closed that day! The daughter should read the word of God and she will note that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. The same good book will tell her, the way the foolish ...

• Massif 7 years ago

We all came to know the spelling of that name as "ATTA". She made a mistake in the spelling right from the onset, and instead of accepting her own error, she had the fiat of rejecting an event held in her honour. So sad the w ...

• Nana Asenso 7 years ago

The organizers should have inquired certain information from her before but what she did is not good at all.

• Akua 7 years ago

Actually the only place the name was spelled wrong was the program and the banner.... I guess you didn't read the article before commenting

• Boss 7 years ago

Brilliant piece. The prof and her daughter need to apologise

• Ama 7 years ago

Although I strongly believe her reasons for walking out of the event in her honour was wrong, I also believe your excuse for getting the banner wrong is pathetic.

You just didn't need to make a public mockery of your inco ...

• Kabang 7 years ago

Brilliant piece, Prof

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

It is very disgusting that this Author made the same mistake that Ama Atta Aidoo got peace off for writing her name.This author either deliberate want to mock at Ama Atta Aidoo for walkout or expected Ama Atta Aidoo to change ...