You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2016 07 09Article 454052

We don’t need expatriates to handle Black Stars – Sports Minister

Read Comments Comments (82)

• Once Govina KojoLee 7 years ago

But Mr. Minister, we do need expatriate to teach us how to behave that's all, but not how to play.

Haaa I daff, Black man has a long way to go. The colour of the sun is not white, but the Africans see it as white.

• kutsi 7 years ago

Sir, my teabofr3 education (physics) taught me that the sun emits only chromatic WHITE light. Teabofr3, huh?! With all due respect to Ghfuo. Wanna mend your claim, Kojo Lee? Ask Ghfuo for the meaning of "chromatic" before you ...

Haaa Bro. Kutsali, you made me daff paa. I still stand on my point but before you come back to prove me wrong. Check your resolution from NASA SPACE documentrries about the colour of the sun, before you come back to silence ...

• nana ama 7 years ago

My dear did you really meant what you wrote that we need the white man to teach us how to behave?Or you are joking? Because the whiteman is the most lawless,greed and envious human bewing on earth.You think I am kidding?Loo ...

• PatriotsRock! 7 years ago

Ama, you are dead wrong. White are much disciplined than Bkacks unfortunately. The records are there for all to see. Yes they introduced slave trade,but then was there are a law on human rights that bar such trades ?, the ans ...

Haaa Aunty Ama, I have been trained by Prof. Sarskobeta, so I don't speak straight but in reverse. Haha I daff to myself.
    The maturity in life is learning from your own mistakes and try to make correction by collecting ideas ...

• michael 7 years ago

Nana Ama"Waka asem papa" you deserve a
    Nobel prize

• Mike from Ho. 7 years ago

The difficulty am beginning to have with this guy is that he TALK plenty. Is he working? How about the Brazil 2014 THIEVES? Can we know the latest development?

• FABU THE BEST & GREATEST 7 years ago

Yes, Kwasi Appiah was doing well until the politicians interfered and hijacked the World Cup trip to Brazil. Let the Afriyie Ankrahs and Nii Lantes keep off football and leave it to the FA and we shall succeed in football.

• Mark 7 years ago

If you look at what happened in Brazil, you will know why we have an expatriate coach. Have you forgotten what led to Kwasi Appiah's dismissal and Avram Grant's appointment? Kwasi Appiah could not maintain order in the camp. ...

• Tet.. 7 years ago

You still haven't made a case for preferring an expatriate.

• Mark 7 years ago

Tet, I'm not making a case for preferring an expatriate coach. I explained what lead to the hiring of an expatriate coach and suggested that if anyone want's a local coach instead, they must explain how that local coach will ...

• Lixo 7 years ago

Painful reality

• KK Dumfries US 7 years ago

I strongly i advocate the minister Ghana this type of a leader one day FIFA will initiate some law like local coches coach their national team as long as there are no foreigners in national teams dare we shall see who is who ...

• PASTOR,,OGOGLO QUARTER,,!!! 7 years ago

NO FOREIGN COACH IN FOREIGN NATIONAL TEAMS,OR THEY COACHES SHOULD ALSO GO THROUGH THE SWITCHING PROCESS JUST LIKE THE PLAYERS,,

• Son Of Man 7 years ago

How dumb can the Ghanaian be. You want a FIFA law to tell you what you can do? Mexico, US, Egypt, England, Japan have had foreign coaches. Out of 10 South American countries, only 4 are coached by a national of the country ( ...

FOREIGN COACHES NEVER BEEN HELPFUL TO US.WHAT HAVE THEY WON FOR GHANA APART FROM MILO WHO MADE A BIG NAME AT THE 2010 JUST BCOS OF OUR TALENTS,,

• Son Of Man 7 years ago

So coaching can't take you anywhere. Didn't coaching take Wales to the semi-finals of Euro 2016. Look at Belgium. One of the most talented teams in the world. Coaching is dragging them down. Talent is good and you need a go ...

• real quebecois mtl 7 years ago

Thank sir!! Let's call a spade a spade!! You've said it all. The media also create that kind of atmosphere for the local coaches.

• Watchman 7 years ago

Nii Lante must show me which FA will retain a coach that got 1 point out of 9?

• kutsi 7 years ago

I don't think you're considering Saint Ghfuo for the job. He is a Canadian citizen by birth. And neither are you thinking of reinstating Akwasi Appiah, aren't you, Sir? Ghanaians would have your coconut head. Beware, Mr Minis ...

HIS HOUSE WAS BURNED DOWN LAST FEW WEEKS AGO BY A CANADIAN WILD FIRES.HE'S A TAXI DRIVER NOW AT CIRCLE.A SPARE DRIVER.HE RUNS CIRCLE MADINA.

• Saint Ghfuo: Mediocrity Stinks!!! 7 years ago

I beg, I'm knowledgeable but not a certified coach. Mayele was not a seasoned coach and after yrs of training he was still making juvenile, confused decisions. Naija is investing in their coaches by sending them to Germany. W ...

• Osei Boakye 7 years ago

Groom Asamoah Gyan, or Andre Ayew to be Ghana's Black Star coach and pay them well.

• Jake, Amsterdam 7 years ago

Are you crazy, Kutsi? No wonder you had a teabofr3 education (apologies to Ghfuo). Ask Ghfuo if he ever came across the line " . . but the pig has a curly tail" in a poem throughout his "A straight "A" student and a graduate ...

I know smthing trust me. I've watched boxing and soccer long enuff. I gave mayele the free advice to play 433 counter attack vs. Germany at the wcup. France also used the same formula to beat them. I gave floyd mayweather the ...

• Ben, Osu. 7 years ago

When asked about his national security experience, hear Trump: "I watch a lot of tv". Now hear Ghfuo: "I've watched boxing and soccer long enuff". Therefore, he knows much to make him an expert in soccer and boxing. Make him ...

Only a fool like you will believe anything that comes out of Trumps mouth. A rich person os only after money and will say anything to sell more newspapers, news etc...don't u know that Trump even donates to Obama and clinton' ...

MR MINISTER, IT IS NOT ANYTHING IN THE WHITE MAN, IT IS THE NEPOTISM, FAVORITISM PLUS INDECISION ON THE PART OF A HOME BREWED COACH. APPIAH SHOWED LOTS OF THAT IN BRAZIL. CAN YOU IMAGINE SOMEBODY AND BOYE TELLING GRANT TO DRO ...

• Nokwarehene 7 years ago

This man doesn't know how to deliver a message even when he has a good message. He always speak like a military officer or a dictator. Nonetheless, a minister is none of that. He must be diplomatic about his public pronouncem ...

• not where you're from but where you'r 7 years ago

It's not about colour or national identity. That is a ridiculous line if you want to be a winner. TO be the best you have to train with the best and have the best. If you look at all the successful athletes they switch up a ...

• Joe Pasasa 7 years ago

What's wrong with Nii Lante? He talks 'by heart' without thinking. Always making noise. Too known. NDC minister indeed.

Yes, he is too known and yet is hollow and knows nothing. Truly empty barrels make the most noise.

Compared with great achieving Kufuor's Ministers of Sports like Osafo Maafo, BAAH Wiredu and Owusu Ankamah NDC Ministers of Sports are nonentities. Oh Ghana! It's sad.

• Paaate 7 years ago

Well said

• JOE ATISO 7 years ago

YOU ARE ABSOLUTELY CORRECT THIS TIME CLUELESS NII LANTEY. IT'S BEEN A WASTE OF OUR SCARCE RESOURCES AND TIME WITH OUR OBSESSION WITH THESE DISCARDED FOREIGN COACHES. OUR SOCCER ADMINISTRATORS COULD DO BETTER BY GIVING OUR LOC ...

• say it loud 7 years ago

The issue is simple. The players dont accord same respect to the black coach. Boateng, Muntari, Wakaso etc are trained abroad by a white coach/manager, paid by a white CEO, and so seeing a black manager sometimes tickled them ...

• matthew Atiah 7 years ago

i don't side with your view.expatriates are ahead of the local coaches

• Sly 7 years ago

This is the best Sports Minister so far. I support him 100% at leaset we will be able to save dollars. Ghana is poor and we continue spending a lot of Dollars on only football

• o boy micky 7 years ago

Van u r a visionary leader..n u know wat u talk about..

• nanagy 7 years ago

if this minister was in charge in the last eight years I bet Ghana would have won a cup by now.I'm for Npp but can't help than to admire NII lante as the sports minister,he is truly the kind of minister Ghana needs from this ...

• ABOLGA 7 years ago

I agree with you 100per for all what you said but you forget one thing that is RESPECT for the local coaches from players and from you the minister thanks.

• KWASHIE ADJAH 7 years ago

NII LANTE, BEING THE LOUD MOUTH THAT, HE ALWAYS IS. SHOOTING HIS MOUTH OFF AND MEDDLING IN FOOTBALL, WHICH HE SHOULD NOT INTERFERE WITH, BECAUSE THERE ARE OTHER SPORTS LIKE ATHLETICS, BOXING, TABLE TENNIS, LAWN TENNIS ETC, WH ...

• kofi Gyamfi 7 years ago

mr minister of football name three best locial in Ghana. We dont have, or do you want players agents pay money to locial coaches to salect their players?

• Nii Lantey Vander 7 years ago

Nii Lantey is more of a commidien than a sports minister. This epitomises the reality of Mahama administration.

• Nokwarehene 7 years ago

Is he the best NDC can offer us? hmmm.

• Sergio dela 7 years ago

Hon don't allow so call GFA to destroy the good work you want to do for mother Ghana

• Nyorngmor Stephen 7 years ago

The problem with Ghanaians is that they don't believe they can do anything by themsevlves. Our black mentality has been over blackened that we have made ourselves to believe that everything Western is better.

• kojo 7 years ago

Th emInister i right but the problem is that it's not about whehter you are black or white. The problem is that even if there are brilliant coaches or potetial in Ghana for a good coach to grow and develop, the whole situati ...

• Toffey 7 years ago

The nail has been hit right on the head by Nii Lante! These guys simply don't respect us but we worship them. Take the current coach for example. We pay him so much to just holiday around the globe in the name of player monit ...

• ajoro 7 years ago

You n who dnt need expatriat, we need expatriat, u wnt return frm all this ghana coaches right, I beg keep quit ok

• Jama 7 years ago

We always need a foreigner because out of jealousy from our own people we never help a local coach,a foreign coach is allowed to loose a game or two but a local must unrealistically win every match once you loose one all the ...

• Ama 7 years ago

I absolutely agree with him, foreign coaches haven't changed much. If we need a foreigner it will be better for the GFA itself. they are full of thieves.

• Kwetteh 7 years ago

The Black Stars compete in the global market place and we need the best coach we can afford. The nationality of the coach is irrelevant. If the best person is a Ghanaian, so be it but we want the best qualified person.

• kwame kwaku 7 years ago

true

• Opana 7 years ago

Don't tell us what we already know.
    Everyone knows the players are good but will the GFA allow a Ghanaian coach the peace if mind to achieve ?
    This is why we keep going for forei9 coaches even if theyou can't add anythin ...

• kay 7 years ago

If not politics Hon Nii wouldn't have been a minister in the first place. he Shd rather advice his govt to have awarded the circle interchange to local contractors like consar and rest. they are also local companies who can d ...

• Ken 7 years ago

Ghanaians are complecent people,and it's deep in our minister,he is given a bottle water to drink from but he prefers to drink from the streams because it is cheap

• Kenneth Anaafi 7 years ago

Its all said and done, Mr.Minister. local coach is more than a disaster looking or judging from what happened in 2014 world cup I'm saying this no foreign coach will fire a player in a tournament whatever the outcome is but t ...

• Victor A. Young 7 years ago

Nii Lantey Vanderpuije is a fool! Get him out. Even the Europeans who brought football, some of them hire the services of coaches from outside their country when necessary. After mismanaging the economy there's no money to p ...

• Kwasi 7 years ago

C'omon this guy is always talking crap.If says local coaches are prone to bribes,doesnt he answer himself right there?Let the job go to the best candidate,whether local or expatriate,PERIOD !
    Some of his comments make me won ...

• Bobo Dialoso 7 years ago

We may have good footballers but we don't have a tradition of good managers. The game has changed a lot. The best managers in the game are found in Europe -- that is a fact. This minister is over-simplifying the matter. Af ...

• Skains 7 years ago

This sports minister is saying such things about foreign coaches. Meanwhile, the current coach of the Black Stars is an expatriate. How do you think he will feel? Some of you are simply not wise. You don't have to say such ...

• Kofi Kyei- Baffour Kantanka 7 years ago

It is difficult for local coaches to command the needed respect from his employers, players and supporters, as we saw during AA's tenure, otherwise he was a wonderful coach.

• TT 7 years ago

You are right my brother.
    What at all do these expatriates know that Mr.Kwasi Appiah or any of the local coaches do not know?
    I will be glad if you could replace the current foreign coach with a local coach.

• ben 7 years ago

If the players will respect him and if authorities will give him the needed support.Finally will those to be appointed be that good and be diligent?

• master data 7 years ago

Mr minister tell president to stop selling ECG if you believe yourself that we can do our own things .

• N. Kofi 7 years ago

I agree with Nii Lante that we don't need a foreign coach for Black Stars but I don't accept the notion that this obsession with foreign coaches is a problem for all Ghanaians. It's the fault of a few gfa officials with acut ...

• Astute 7 years ago

I agree 100% wit Mr. Minister, like the late president Dr. Kwame Nkrumah,may He RIP said, the blackman is capable of managing his own affairs. So be it.

• jam 7 years ago

FOR ONCE AM TENDED TO BE ON ALL FOURS WITH THE MINISTER. BLACK STARS NEED A LOCAL COACH. THE ONLY PROBLEM I THINK IS THE ATTITUDE OF OUR PLAYERS TOWARDS A LOCAL COACH. DONT FORGET ABOUT SABOTAGE OF LOCAL COACH APPOINTED BY FE ...

• cool j 7 years ago

Football don't know colors or race,who is more white than the English country England? Yet they had foreign coach es before. It about competency not Ghanaian or white.

• James 7 years ago

Ideally it is true, but in practice no. A Ghanaian coach will only come and divide the team into two raval groups

• Kwame Twumasi-Fofie 7 years ago

Under normal circumstances it shouldn't be about the origin of a coach. But to say that a coach's contribution to a team's success is only 5% is erroneous. Available evidence totally disproves this. Otherwise some teams could ...

• bio kotey 7 years ago

Mr minister your ministry is not just about football ,please focus on the other areas too and let nyantakyi have peace of mind.any case which local coach do you have in mind. Even England is looking for a non British coach.yo ...

• inercycl 7 years ago

Problem with us is we don't do what we do best, but attempt to do what we have no idea about.Look at the players Ghana has produced over the years and we believe we can't get a coach for our national team? The math does not ...

• Twist 7 years ago

Long life Mr Minister

• For all 7 years ago

It is not about teaching them how to play football. Football coaching is just not about kicking the global leather around. It is more about being confident and competent enough to manage them. Sadly many local coaches feel i ...

• Al 7 years ago

These sports minister talks too much with no substance.It is an issue of competence and not about nationally. Aftet England failed in Europe 2016, they are contemplating of hiring Klinsmann

• Araba Mirekua 7 years ago

This is the first sensible idea from an ndc minister.

• WofaYaw Kwakye 7 years ago

You guys still don't get it. At the National level, it's all about management, and not coaching. The minister once said that his daughter can coach the Black Stars. Really? ??. Ok. how come Really Madrid, Barcelona, Chelse ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

Great!

• odensi 7 years ago

The ghanaian governments cause am. Not only in sports but in anything we do in Ghana. We have our construction companies but the government will give most contracts to foreign companies. Think of the parliament chairs, the ci ...