You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 06 12Article 312499

Is This The Year That USA Beat Ghana?

Read Comments Comments (35)

• Ikemens Nambro 9 years ago

Stop your silly analysis please.How did the Czech republic rank when we beat them 2-0 in 2006? These fifa rankings do not correlate team performance. It is about how many matches the team played the previous month(s) and how ...

• RAS -VULTURE 9 years ago

It is true Ghana could laugh at the wrong side of their mouth when Black stars underrate U.S National team.

Black stars have played U.S on two occasions and Ghana won 1 game and drew 1 in full time thus 90 minutes .O ...

• Avogadro 9 years ago

I know the writer thinks he is writing after looking at the facts. But whose facts are these? In 2006, Ghana was in the same group with USA (ranked 5 not 31), Chech Republic (2) and Italy (13). In 2010 Ghana was ranked 32 ...

• OBG- Diatuo 9 years ago

Thanks the writer does not have his facts. He was wrong, wrong , and wrong about the rankings in both WC. They team have been traveling for some time now but will get the time to settle in in Brazil

• CEREBRAL 9 years ago

Rankings are not a perfect metric for judging the outcome of future matches. Please research most of the other teams we won against such as Czech Rep, Serbia, etc. Mind you AA did not play his first 11 when we played The Net ...

• SEIDU JOHNSON 9 years ago

THIS GUY DON´T KNOW TOO MUCH ABOUT FOOTBALL

• Qwame 9 years ago

Why don't you explain how the Black Stars ranked 16 in 2006 beat Czech ranked 2. Don't start writing about something you know much about. USA may beat Ghana not because you say so. You might as well buy the US jersey in prepa ...

• mpanimfuo usa 9 years ago

Czech republic were 2nd but Ghana still beat them.who is German or Portugal? Stop this clap and do more research b4 posting anything on internet.

• OZA 9 years ago

Statictics 101: Correlation does not create cause! Just because every murderer sucked their mother's milk as children does not mean a chlid who fed on his mother's milk will be a murderer in future!

• Ikemens 9 years ago

Thanks bro. You have hit it at the right spot.

• YES, WE CAN! 9 years ago

I feel so bad that Warris is out.
    But whatever, we will beat the United States on Monday.
    We will see Round Two.

Gyan, Dede, Jordan, Boateng, please push very, very haaaaaaaaaard for goals for us.
    Make it happen!

• Soweto London 9 years ago

The FiFa ranking has always been based on the number of internaional graded friendly matches and the quality of teams you play in a given period and as Ghana has not played that much, we are definitely going to be ranked low. ...

• Odapagyan 9 years ago

I must say I am very uncomfortable With this match. The problem is not rankings but the preparation. Lots point to the fact that the US have really prepared for the game and seem to be streets ahead with the tactical approach ...

• anokwale 9 years ago

I think that we are mistakenly buying into the stereotype...At the end of the day, the game is played by the players on the field and they must adjust to the situations. I think the main issue with Ghana is simply. Take as ...

• AdwenKwame 9 years ago

Kwasea...is this the year your kortibortor father finally develops gbatonga? Stupid arse-hole, you go eat on Ghana budget and write stupid things because you are worried we do not have a white man for coach. And stop lying, m ...

• Me4U 9 years ago

Please read all the other comments and see how uncultured and intensely vulgar your contribution has been. I am sorry for the family that brought you up but then again, it is obvious you are a very young person who thinks he/ ...

• Me4U 9 years ago

I was the view that the USA was very highly ranked in 2006, even ahead of Italy. Someone should correct me if I am wrong.

• Avogadro 9 years ago

In 2006, USA was ranked 5, Czech Republic 2 and Italy 13. Ghana has never been ranked higher than USA! Go figure!! Football is played on the field!!! Not on paper!!!!

• koo nti-LIVERPOOL 9 years ago

Even in league matches where the teams play each other,a relegation-threatened team may beat a top team making your mathematics look absurd.Nigeria won the AFCON when they were not the best in Africa.Anyway,your views and wis ...

• NJ 9 years ago

Regardless of putting your hopes above your fears, there is a time you have to be realistic about the group Ghana is in order to make an honest assessment of the challenges we face. There is no way I see Ghana progressing to ...

• Avogadro 9 years ago

Ghana's WC achievements are not because of our great coaches. Seriously, Ghana is only a 'midfield machine'. A well oiled midfield machine. We really have no strikers but if the coach puts that right players on the field a ...

• NJ 9 years ago

I guess I'll not hear anything from you about what the coach should or shouldn't have done when the Ghana Black Stars come home early. Since you even said that if the coach puts the right players on the field Ghana would win ...

• K. JOHN 9 years ago

Fifa ranking is a crooked way of robbering Africa. 2 hell with Sepp Blatter n his crue

• SANTACLAUSIAN, Croydon 9 years ago

Thank God you are not one of our players nor part of our technical team. You are a chicken with a defeatist attitude. You really think this is the time to be so negative, pessimistic and try to dampen fans' hope and expectati ...

• Light to darkness 9 years ago

I think this meeting with the US will be the toughest of all, simply because the US has practiced non-stop and has been preparing for this meeting since day 1. More so than any other match at the World Cup, they have prepare ...

• Asare 9 years ago

I agree with SANTACLAUSIAN.

• mugu yaro 9 years ago

go back to page 66 and pronouns the word kai me!!! Klinsmann or US eleven come 16 June the trumpet will sound and the food will be ready for BS to eat.we are going heaven knows where we are going we know we will, we will get ...

• TEE 9 years ago

stupid ideology, if world cup performance are to be judged by FIFA ranking, then why play the tournament in the first plays. dude you are not making any sense. check yourself before you wreck your self fool

• TonyPM 9 years ago

I expected the criticism and the insults. I pray that I am wrong too. The town that I work for is offering watching the game on a 38ft X 20ft screen free at a stadium to cheer the US. I am afraid to go because I will be th ...

• Kwamz 9 years ago

TonyPM, I too questioned the dinner at the Embassy. I am surprised the people reigning insults simply elect to ignore that one.

• ike 9 years ago

no never,kai

• Great 9 years ago

My friend. FIFA Ranking does not mean anything.if you afraid you can stop watching the game ok. Remember the Little Boy David and the Gaint Goliath.We will beat them(USA).

• Prince Marcls 9 years ago

massa,if the rankings of fifa is anything to by,in the same year of 2006 when we beat the us while we ranked ahead of them,be reminded we also beat the chech republic who were send ranked in the world.we dont need to be ranke ...

• GIWA 9 years ago

ARE YOU FOR US OR AGAINST US ,WHERE STANDS YOUR TRUE INTENT.

• Amu 9 years ago

Amen god with us