You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2014 01 24Article 298594

Is there any hope for Obuasi after the Mine closure?

Read Comments Comments (19)

• Sell out for a Knighthood! 10 years ago

The evil than men do lives after them.

• Ananse 10 years ago

He sold out very badly.

• ELINAM 10 years ago

Until the Chinese hit town with their bulldozers to galamsey their way to riches, stupid Ghanaians mined gold and diamod with their hands and believed only the white man could use big machines to mine.
    The white man brought ...

• ELINAM 10 years ago

True we've been brainwashed that government has to stay away from business, and due to our own fictitious character, we bought in to it so that we can collide with dubious foreigners as investors as if only whites have monop ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

STOP EXPENDING YOUR ENERGIES POINTING FINGERS...COME AND BE PART OF THE SOLUTION!!! IF YOU CAN'T STEP UP THEN SHUT THE HELL UP!!!

• ELINAM 10 years ago

True we've been brainwashed that government has to stay away from business, and due to our own fictitious character, we bought in to it so that we can collide with dubious foreigners as investors as if only whites have monop ...

• Patriot 10 years ago

They Knighted Him and gave him a cut of the fortunes of the great Obuasi.But having familiarised himself with the social and economic development of Johanesburg,Pretoria and all other mining cities of South Africa,my million ...

• Isaac Kusi, Bronx, NY. 10 years ago

Select Language?? Previous | Next
    In the mid sixties when I attended Obuasi Secondary and Technical School, life was very good. In the spring you would see mist showering down the surrounding green mountains that ran from ...

• ANGRY DAD. 10 years ago

Isaac well spoken, its a nice article

• ANGRY DAD. 10 years ago

Isaac well spoken, its a nice article

• HOLY SINNER. 10 years ago

Somebody enlighten me since this is the first time I am hearing of the intending closure of AGA.Sad news and for what reasons?Is there no more going to be no more gold mining in Ghana?I think that was our second source of inc ...

• Paa Kojo 10 years ago

Yes, very sure it is a news to me as well. If no one knows what this is all about and the reason in what our brother is coming with we should look at DERIOT in the USA how that town died out

• Adongo Tongo 10 years ago

Below is the Chronicle Article:
    OBUASI MINE FACES CLOSURE … Over 1000 Workers To Be Laid-Off … Negotiations Underway To Avert Calamity

Date published: January 17, 2014

From Albert Nana Asante, Obuasi

FEAR AND P ...

• True talk 10 years ago

Months ago the MP from Obuasi suggested taxing prostitution. Obuasi can take advantage of this timely opportunity to generate revenue

• Tete Quashie 10 years ago

Dear writer,as a son of Adansi,the depth of your knowledge of the land and your your seeming indepth foresight and concern for the future of Obuasi as it ties up to the future development of Adansi is highly commendable.The o ...

• Attah Kay, New Jersey 10 years ago

Baffour, your piece is very insightful and I only hope that good ears will hear and act. Ghana needs people like you in leadership positions so that your creative imaginations could be tapped and developed to propel our dear ...

• Yfeaceli 10 years ago

It is always open, and you treat them the same industry conference as Bailey, said change was accompanied by a white homeowner during a financial calamity., flm loans, 8-(,

• frank obuasi/miner 10 years ago

Current managers are cause, becos de hide de truth, yes almighty will punish them.

• Boakye Emmanuel 9 years ago

I personally this there is hope for Obuasi after closing the mine........I HAVE AN A PLAN THAT OBUASI CAN BE KNOWN FOR...How do I convey this message and who are the right people i can contact?