You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 10 14Article 288801

Wo ye Ghananii, enna wonte Twi?

Read Comments Comments (206)

• Old Dirty Bastard 10 years ago

They can hardly speak English, bush people. And they think Ghana is for them.

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

What we are seeing is the result of former President Kuffuor's nepotism: giving government positions to his family members and distant relatives to move to Accra, disserting their villages. Now Twi has become a manace, as its ...

These bush people are so backward that they don't know Twi won't get them any education.

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

Let them go to the British embassy and insist on speaking twi.

• Massa, mesee hmmmmmmmmmm! 10 years ago

Ataa naanwomo eeiii.

Charlie minisane koraaa?

We the right correct proper Ga people, we dey like we no dey, aloo?

Na gbeshie do them make them bring themselves like that ooooo, yooooo.

So Cameroon and Tunisia drew ...

• asallamalleikum 10 years ago

It is better to stop English than broken twi because it gives different interpretations example woho tesen? bokoo. Mihuu wo tw3 wopim no y3 kokoo!
    Meaning: I saw your vagina.. and your cretolis is red.But he means: its long ...

• Dziwornu, Jasikan 10 years ago

If all Ghanaians could speak one language, would that not be a blessing? Consider the advantages in all Ghanaians speaking one language. Tribalism would be reduced, no one can differentiate between us and nepotism would be re ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

Racial identity is also important. In the western democracies, new migrants are funded to keep their culture and language. Kenya speak one national language (swahili) and Somalia speak one language only but that did not stop ...

• Chief 10 years ago

One language will help with trade but may not necessarily result in unity and lessen triblism. Even b4 all the tribes were forced into one country what was story among the Akans who supposedly speaks the same language?

Th ...

• PK 10 years ago

Kenyans may have one national language but there are much smaller ethnic groups, the perceived suppression of which contributed to the election-related violence in 2007. Moreover, Swahili was a regional language project. In c ...

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

PK I take your point but you need to understand that fundamentalism in islam has its head embedded in old and useless native culture which has nothing to do with religion itself.Female circumcision practiced overwhelmingly i ...

• Sydney 10 years ago

HI PK,
    I think you got it wrong on Kenya.the largest ethinic group in Kenya is Kikiyu and they have their own language.Swahili is more often pidgin spoken by Nigerias. in the sense most of the Swahili words are coined from t ...

• Krikri,, 10 years ago

In 2000 when the narcotic peddlars party won the election, their first victory song was "NKRANFUO YE DA MU ASEOOOO, Y3 DZI Y3 MAN". This focus is not only narrow, it is PRIMITIVE, so I will not rush to learn the Twi language

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

They never learn to speak other languages and even English. In UK they still speak twi in work places where Englisg language ought to have been sopken.

They find themselves in such predicament that they hardly could write ...

• kwapea 10 years ago

Those of you who claim mastery over the English language did not get the import of Amenyo's article so, you launched your impish selves on the usual trajectory of Akan bashing. How many English people speak French, German,or ...

• KOLA,LONDON MAIN 10 years ago

The English man speaks French when he is France and when he finds himself in Ghana speaks Ghanaina language depending which region he finds himself however the same cannot be said of those who speak Twi.

Learn to speak oth ...

• TEACHER 10 years ago

Illiterate fool, read your first sentence on this comment. Do you even read or write proper English? Is that how you write "broaden? BRAODEN

How many white people have you seen in Ghana especially English people who have l ...

• KOLA INSIDE LONDON 10 years ago

MR. "CHAILD RAPIST".... AKA "ESTERMINATOR"...AKA "ENSNARLED"....AKA "POLITICAL DISCOMPENSATION"...HAHAHAHAHHAHAHHEHEH
    HEHEHESTSTTSTSTSTSTKRRRYTY=JAHAHAHAH

HEI!!!....MR. ABUDUCTION....AKA "AN ONCE OF BRAIN".....HAHAHAHAHAH ...

• Ben 10 years ago

The ability to understand and speak other languages other than one's mother tongue is an asset! This is not an issue that should divide and bring the worst out of us. As/when we make an effort to master the English language, ...

• TEACHER 10 years ago

This dumb villager from trokosi region has no idea what he is talking about. Even in USA, there are many factories where Spanish is used as the language. In some of the Electronic and phone manufacturing companies like Flextr ...

• Trokosi Basher 10 years ago

You are funny and smart, Teacher. Kola is like a trapped animal.

• TEACHER 10 years ago

In work places? Write At work places.

" In work places where English language ought to have been spoken"

What kind of English is that? WRITE

At work places where. English ought to be spoke.

Listen to this dum ...

• KOLA INSIDE LONDON 10 years ago

Illiterate Sarpong now calls himself a Teacher........hahahahahahahaha!!

No wonder India was engulfed in a strongest Tornado ever, a sign of the end time. Jesus, stay there and never come down because we are not ready yet ...

• Chief 10 years ago

It seems he is teaching you to write proper English as he is pointing out your mistakes and correcting them, London boy.

• John Quaye 10 years ago

I agree with your comments,Lola London Main
    It is time those Two speaking people of GHANA. Kept their big mouths shut for ever.
    The fact that they have all left their Homelands to Accra does not give them the right to order ...

• Gbeho 10 years ago

You can speak Russia or French or Arab in Ghana and nobody cares so long as it makes you convenient. Mind you nobody is forcing the Twi language upon Ghanaians, the language is spreading naturally even to Togo Burkina Faso an ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

I really didn't want to comment on this subject not only cos of lack of time but I had done so sufficiently in the past. But seeing the simplistic assumptions being paraded, and the dearth of critical insight being expressed, ...

• F. Boadu 10 years ago

those of you who are insulting Akans of speaking their language i will say you should think again. you don't need to speak english to be educated, chinese, germans, france, netherlands, etc spoke their own language and they h ...

• Ganyobi Ayitey 10 years ago

well said efo Dziwornu,i think todia Amenyo and shadow minded tribalistic commentators on this issue should all listin to your wise advice,one should travelled to EAST AFRICA and see the benefit of speaking a single language, ...

• Mr. Figure-Out 10 years ago

English speaking Gas and Trokosi men, in this modern times, defecates, alongside their women in the wide open at the beaches. Better be a shoe shine or dog chain seller than an ignorant educated buffoons who brag with the adu ...

• ASHANTI TRIBALISTS 10 years ago

There are RATS in Ho because WE DONT EAT THEM. There are No RATS and RAT SHIT in Kumasi because YOU EAT THEM!!!

The whole volta region has been taken over by rats not because you don't eat them because you do. The problem is that cats that check the population of mice have been exterminated by trokosis who eat cats.

• Vodoo Xebieso 10 years ago

Which explains the animal shit odour peculiar to your stock!!

• Mr Figure-Out 10 years ago

.......better lives in Kumasi, the Kookoase capital. There was this Efo Kuravi and wife,Daavi Ajovi, who lived in storeroom and worked as washman and yorko-gari seller respectively in Asawasi, a suburb in Kookoase. And the fu ...

• guitar boy 10 years ago

I was born and raised at Asawasi and I know this family you are talking about.

• Mensah 10 years ago

I can't stop laughing

• Busumru 10 years ago

Fantastic article. well balanced. speaking English must not to be the yardstick of civility. not all English people are civil although they speak perfect English. in the UK African (accent) flavoured English from even a PhD b ...

You are a blatant liar. Where have you seen Gas and Trokosi men defecating alongside their womenfolk? Maybe in your dirty and wild dreams.

Have you ever seen one million cats in your life? And how do you know Ho has mill ...

• CORNEY 10 years ago

Don't blame these people insulting Ewes when it comes to this article but this Kofi Ameyo guy who wrote this article perhaps to get favor from these idiots insulting Ewes.

What is the reason for writing this article, to pr ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Corney, learn to chill. Those of you who are castigating Amenyo are the tribalists among us. This article should not cause anyone to insult Amenyo or any Ewe. Amenyo has written worse article than this. In this article, he is ...

• Biko 10 years ago

It has been such a long time since I read in full some of these articles posted on the ghanaweb. This one is good. Amenyo wrote it for enlightenment. I am not an Akan, but I can say with certainty that other tribes in Ghana a ...

• CORNEY 10 years ago

Amenyo and the likes can play Agbadza in Twi as he is advocating but those of us who are proud of who we are will not be part of that senseless thing.

Only fools will say they have to be fluent in the language of their bos ...

• F. Boadu 10 years ago

ZoRRo go to British embassy and explain to them your view of speaking of English language and you will know how fool you're because british people knows that speaking their language does not make you wise

• Kwadwo NJ 10 years ago

Its unfortunate you are biased and disrespectful to the Ashantis like that. what we have seen is the constant hatred for this ethnic group. The jews went through the same predicament. In Luanda the tutsis went through similar ...

• John Quaye 10 years ago

II AGREE WITH YOUR COMMENTS Dirty Bastard 100 Percent.
    THIS FOOLISH , ETHNOCENTRIC and DANGEROUS Article by this IIGNORANT, CLUELESS man. (AMENYO) is ONLY FIT For the DUSTBIN.
    We don't want any TRIBALWAR in GHANA
    Like we h ...

• Gbeho 10 years ago

Don't make mistakes, the Twi language is not Asante language. Twi language is spoken by the Akans, notably, the Ashantis, the Fantes, the Brones, the Akwapims, the Akins, some Ewes and some Guans. It is therefore wrong to s ...

• Askantwi 10 years ago

ENGLISH IS NOT OUR LANGUAGE, IDIOT. Go to the white man's country and try to speak your language to him and see what happens. Putting English before your language is the reason why it is being phased out, idiot.

That is why Ashantis in Accra are selling dog chains, they can't speak English, and can't get any serious education in Twi.

• JOE ATISO 10 years ago

ASANTES AND OTHER TWI SPEAKING AKANS DOMINATE ALL ECONOMIC ACTIVITIES IN ACCRA PERIOD!THE ASANTES SELLING DOG CHAINS ARE MAKING AN HONEST LIVING AND DO YOU HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THAT?THESE ASANTES MUST BE ENCOURAGED THAN TO JOI ...

• okofo 10 years ago

Time out Joe: you're speaking to a person with colonized mindset who thinks that speaking English language rather than a native one makes one "civilized". How far can you go on with such a damaged soul?

• KWAME, BELGIUM 10 years ago

This Atiso you wrote here is not your name but please, don't insult people. Insults will not help you send your wise message across.

• JOE ATISO 10 years ago

THERE ARE PROGRESSIVE MINDED EWES AND THERE ARE EWES WHO ARE NATURALLY BORN TO HATE ASANTES/AKANS. IF YOU WERE EXPECTING THIS JOE ATISO TO TOW THE LINE OF INWARD-LOOKING AND ANTI-ASANTE/AKAN EWES, YOU'RE GOING TO WAIT TILL TH ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

It is sad that well-educated Ewes, albeit masons, etc. hav always rented homes, even uncompleted houses from Asante dog-chain-sellers.

• Dog Chain Sellers don't Shit In The O 10 years ago

English speaking Gas and Trokosi men, in this modern times, defecates, alongside their women in the wide open at the beaches. Better be a shoe shine or dog chain seller than an ignorant educated buffoons who brag with the a ...

• Houdini 10 years ago

The so called educated Ewes still slave for Akans as Watchmen and cocoa farm laborers.

While your men folk are busy carrying Ewe shit at the Grande Marche in Lome and Dantokpasime in Cotonou, and your women are still practising prostitution in Lome. Just check it out.

• Houdini 10 years ago

If you are carrying shit in Lagos or selling gari and beans at Agege, do your own thing but don't drag any Akan to the menial jobs you trokosis do. No Akan will migrate to a poor place like Cotonou much less engage in shit ca ...

You are a fool. It is only the tortoise who never rents a house.

Thanks for proving my point: tortoise have permanent homes, while Ewes live in Akan-built rented homes!

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

I said it before that your folks are sleeping rough in lotto kiosks everywhere in Accra.
    How many houses have you idiot built in your miserable life?

You are the only one who would use such a stupid word here!

• Nutsudeka Justice 10 years ago

Is lack of proper upbringing and an uncouth behaviour for some to think they are more of Ghanaians than the others!! Bloody Fools of bush akan extraction

• Man of God 10 years ago

This a good article that needs appropriate discussion, not the insult from u. I dont think the writer will be proud of this.

Thank You

He wants to show that Ashantis are not semi-literates who can't speak English and other languages. But that is what they are.

• Ayanya 10 years ago

Ayigbefuo are failures in our country that is why they hate, they go into politics to create, loot and share to enrich themselves.we work hard to become rich not by stealing thank God our northeners have seen the difference ...

• KOO MININI 10 years ago

Kofi Amenyo??? "Wheiar"(Ewe english) did you get the name KOFI from Ayegbe boy? You should be very very grateful to the AKANS and therefore the TWI language!

• Ami 10 years ago

I wonder why we have similar names. Mine is not Ashanti in origin, it is Ami.

• JJ LAWLINGS (Twi for RAWLINGS) 10 years ago

No-I got my name fLom Liver Volta (Ashanti English of- fRom River Volta-)

• rabbit 10 years ago

This is an excellent piece.the writer did not seem to have problem with the dominance of the twi language, its only an observation and an emphasis that one needn't be a twi speaker to be a Ghanaian, just that. im an Akan, but ...

• joseph ganyobi 10 years ago

THE ASHANTIS WHO SPEAK THE GA LANGUAGE ARE PROUD THAN THEIR FELLOW ASHANTIS WHO NEVER KNOW A WORD IN GA. THEY ARE THE BUSH ONCE ....

• Ayanya 10 years ago

You call yourself ganyobi? And you have the audacity to insult Ashantis when you go to ease yourselves at the beach, a place that should be preserved for tourists attraction to give revenue , aboabi kwa. If Ashanti were to b ...

USELESS GA PEOPLE. THE MOST STUPID TRIBE EVER TO IMMIGRATE TO AKAN LAND WITH FULL STUPIDITY!!!

THEY EAT BESIDES TOILETS! I ONCE FUCKED A MOTHER AND HER TWO DAUGHTERS AND THEY WERE ALL GAS AND THAT'S WHAT THEY DO BEST! SERV ...

"THEY ARE THE BUSH ONCE"

Sad you cannot even write proper English but a tribalist illiterate.

You meant BUSH ONES not ONCE.

While we are it, don't forget your heavy-accented English even as Asantes speak Twi!

When a typical Trokosi man from Togo pronounce three, the ending e-e letters resonates like a concord air plane trying to land at Trokosi Kwabena Kotoka Airport in Accra. If that is what they call good English then I would al ...

• Brute 10 years ago

hahahahahaha. my ribs. a landing concord airplane paa? agyeei!.

• ranger 10 years ago

Well done Kofi. You need to publish this in the Daily Graphic or the Ghanaian Times. it is a good academic exercise, well done.

• zongo president 10 years ago

YES GHANA IS FOR US,,,,,IF HAVE PROBLEM GO BACK TO YOUR COUNTRY,YES WE ARE ASHANTIS ,YES WE ARE AKYEMS, YES WE ARE FANTIS,YES WE ARE AKUAPEMS,YES WE ARE BRONGS ,ETC ETC. WE ARE ORIGINAL GHANAIANS AND WE ARE PROUD OF OURSELVE ...

• Akua 10 years ago

I really find it hard to believe that in this day and age intellectuals will argue and make nasty comments about each others tribe. I'm an Ashanti and my husband is Ewe, but never have we had any argument based on our tribe. ...

• AFIA SERWAA 10 years ago

YOUR NAME TELLS IT ALL-IDIOT YOU ARE. DID KUFOUR FORCE RAWLINGS TO SPEAK TWI? WHAT OF MAHAMA? WE TWI SPEAKERS ARE DOMINANT IN GHANA AND THE WISEST.
    EWE'S ARE NOT PROUD OF THEIR LANGUAGE NEITHER THE NORTHERS. KUFOUR IS NOT T ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!! 10 years ago

Bawumia is the only idiot from the north,does he think he will get a chance in "Y3N AKANFO" PARTY? He should go and ask the late ALIU MAHAMA THIEF KUFOUR'S VICE. When kufour was travelling allover the world, vice president AL ...

• Asem nono 10 years ago

Bawumia is never an idiot. He is more intelligent than every one in mahama's government that is why we Akans love and respect him. We will not sit down and allow a "Gyini, Gyimi president to rule us.

• Isaiah N 10 years ago

Although Twi is widely spoken in Ghana, the manner in which those who cannot speak the language are viewed is very nauseating. I was insulted on legon campus for my inability to speak twi, another trader asked whether i was t ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Isaiah, you are comfortable speaking English, yet you take issue with those who would expect you to speak Twi.

Those with whom you take issue got it wrong, but that should not be an excuse for you to refuse to learn Twi. L ...

• ranger 10 years ago

Well done Sankofa. You have hit the nail on the the head. When I was in Nigeria, UK, and USA, I met several Togolese, Malians, Burkinabes, Beninois, and Nigeria, who could speak, very little or good Twi, and we were like brot ...

• Kojo! 10 years ago

They're only trying to project their laziness as virtue.

They can't pronounce words correctly in other language except twi and no matter how hard you try to teach them. The're retards, that's what they truely are and not ...

The bush Ashantis cannot speak English and cannot learn other languages.

• Kojo! 10 years ago

You can take that to the bank

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

//Mede m'asem ma Nyame loo oo, wobe ka mame oo,
    Mede m'asem ma Nyame loo oo, wobe ka me me o.//
    //Agyanka m'anya 'sem mu, whana beka ma me,//
    Aoo, mede m'asem ma Nyame lo oo, wobe ka mame oo.
    Mede m'asem ma Nyame lo oo, w ...

• Alan 10 years ago

We all know most Northern Voltarians are mixed Ewes/Akans/and Guans but at the end of the day they all identify thmeselves as Ewes so whats the big deal?

• GAWUKO 10 years ago

Isaiah N, I had the same problem when I came to Accra to sttart secondary school. On the third day after my arrival in accra I started saying my first words in Ga. then at school I said something which was definitely wrong an ...

• Kojo Antwi 10 years ago

If the boss is Twi speaking then all have to speak Twi? How about if the boss speaks Gonja? Some of these Ewes want to be accepted so much that they will abandon common sense.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Kofi Amenyo, is it not even more shocking for Ghanaians to be using English, a foreign language imposed on us through colonial rule, as our official language?

Is it not welcome that Twi is now being spoken more by many Gha ...

• JOE ATISO 10 years ago

STOP SPREADING THE KOFI AWONNOR'S ETHNOCENTRIC DOCTRINE BECAUSE THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH TWI BEING THE PREDOMINANT LANGUAGE. I DON'T BELIEVE THAT THERE IS AN IOTA OF TRUTH THAT ANYONE IMPOSED TWI ON NON-SPEAKING GHANAIANS. ...

Leave Awoonor out of this? Can you speak good English with L and R?

• JOE ATISO 10 years ago

THE TRUTH CUTS ACROSS TRIBES SO LEARN TO EMBRACE IT. YOU DON'T HAVE TO BE AN ASANTE TO ACCEPT THE HARD FACT THAT TWI IS THE DRIVING FORCE BEHIND EVERY ECONOMIC ACTIVITY IN GHANA. JUST AS AMENYO ADMITTED,TWI IS NOT ONLY DOMINA ...

Fucking bastard JOE ATISO!! Why can't you use your animal shit name instead of adopting a Trokosi name? Are you ashamed of your real name?

• JAK- USA 10 years ago

Some people try to learn and speak other languages for levelness others refuse to learn other languages for self-conceitedness hatred and what have you, but the almighty created life, and in his wisdom, CAN WIPE AWAY LIFE an ...

• Sankofa 10 years ago

JAK, how can you say Twi is a foreign language?

Are Akans not your own fellow countrymen? Is Twi not an indigenous Ghanaian language?

All our people hold certain values, philosophies, mores, culture and norms in commo ...

• kofi kofi 10 years ago

Stupid man hiding behind an ewe name to start a civil war. I do not speak twi and will never speak it. You little monkey.

He is another primitive Ashanti fool pretending to be Ewe.

• OGYANI 10 years ago

AMENYO"S ARTICLE IS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! AT LEAST THE HATED BRITISH LEFT US A SIMPLE TOOL FOR ALL GHANAIANS TO COMMUNICATE AMONGST OURSELVES.NOT BAD EH!

• Nana Yaw, U.S. Navy 10 years ago

Wow you sound so jealous right now...

• Kojo! 10 years ago

Hello= yelo
    Propaganda= Koploganda
    Freedom= Flidon

and many many blunders that only a retard would make. They are stool possessed retards.

• Askantwi 10 years ago

KOFI AMENYO, IF SOMEONE ASKS YOU "WOYE GHANANII NA WONTE TWI? it only means that TWI language is so dominant and spoken by almost everyone in ghana now, so it is almost natural or even more easiar for people to speak it. so ...

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Wow,i'm Akan but still i wish we in Ghana were like in East Africa where swahili is the lingua franca.The beauty of swahili is it doesn't belong to a particular tribe.At least east africans don't have this tribal overhung of ...

• Alan 10 years ago

What are u talking about Agyemang? Have u heard of Rwanda, Burundi, Kenya, Uganda, DR Congo? Tribalism is a cancer everywhere in Africa

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Yes ,you're right but at least their tribalism is not about language.Their issues are about power (political & economic) about land and about spreading govt funding equally.They never fight about language.

• PK 10 years ago

"... at least their (East African) tribalism is not about language" (Agyeman).

Uncle Agyeman, so how do they know one person is from this tribe and the other is not if tribalism is not about language differences? Can you a ...

• G. Dart. (US) 10 years ago

How about a Fanti who speaks fluent Ewe and an Ewe who speaks fluent Fanti? PEOPLE ARE RUNNING INTO A VERY CONFUsED SITUATION WITH SUCH IRRELEVANT MATTERS Habba! Just be proud you are a faithful product of GOD and live peacef ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

The spread of Twi in Ghana is a natural phenomenon. The tribe that is the largest always has advantage over the others. If Ewes are the majority, I think we will see a surge of that language in Ghana and I will have no pro ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Normally, I don't comment on tribal tosh like this. However, I find this article to be both funny and sad.

Funny, because I realize that, Amenyo writes better in TWI and I believe he speaks Twi very well. I will encourage ...

• KK 10 years ago

It seems you're confused about the article. You don't know if it's a satire or something else. The guy says nobody is forcing Twi down their throats and then gives the example of Ewes playing borborbor in Twi. Then he invites ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Read that again, this time slowly.

• KK 10 years ago

I've read the part again slowly. I urge u to also re-read it. I am sure the guy brought the borborbor in to show that it's good for Ewes to play borborbor in Twi. I don't think he was laughing at them, as u think.

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

Don't you get me? My only problem with the article was trying to bring Gamei (Accra) into this. I don't have problem with this article. He told the "unpleasant truth" however sad it may be. I have read worse article from him. ...

Twi will spread to every corner of Ghana! It is that simple.

• KK 10 years ago

Pelicles, your points are just exactly what amenyo is saying.

Twi is spreading because it has the advantage of being the largest language.

Nobody can stop the spread of Twi because it is spreading naturally.

He sa ...

• Kasha 10 years ago

It beats my imagination that anyone worth his kind like Amenyo will seek to make mountain out of an ant's hill.What is wrong with people speaking twi in Ghana and elsewhere? And what is wrong with the question",If you say you ...

• Agyeman 10 years ago

Did you know there's another tribe in Zambia also called Bisa just like your folks?

• ASHANTI TRIBALISTS 10 years ago

NONSENSE!!! How may Ewes do you know? Can you speak Ewe? GET THE FUCK OUTTA here before I bark at you!!!

• AMOH 10 years ago

I pity all those who are jealous of Twi speakers. they wanted to be like us but they could not be. I have never seen any Akan hiding his/her identity in any part of this world but i can tell you with proves the number of peop ...

• JojoD 10 years ago

You claim, among other things, that, "The Gas, themselves, are now speaking better Twi (which they used to call "Fante")than they ever did."
    The implicit implication, when you punctuate Fante in quotation marks is that no su ...

• kofikooko 10 years ago

I can see some jealousy on the Amenyo. If you cannot stop the Twi,stop accussing speakers.Nobody force anyone to speak twi language.

• Pumpuni 10 years ago

"Yes, meye Ghananii na enso mente Twi."
    Wo te Twi paa!!!

• Ayanya 10 years ago

What is the problem of this writer? Still they haven't got a place in Ghana? They can't fit into Ghanaian society? Look, even some Nigerians speak Twi to show to people that they know Ghana , So many west African states nat ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

They are against anything that does not service or satisfy their narrow selfish ethnocentric parochial agenda.

They are a dangerous bunch.

• ranger 10 years ago

Ayanya, please be informed that, the original Gold Coast Colony, was made up of (1.) Eastern Region including Anlo or Keta and Accra (2.) Central Region (3.) Western. Ashanti, the Northern Territories, and Northern Volta, whi ...

• COM'DE-VA 10 years ago

You have done well by giving the facts about the trend even you as an Ewe having the name Kofi which is typical akan spelling said it all.But, I don't think there is any tribal sentiments or motives behind your writtings.Keep ...

• Ghanaian Patriot 10 years ago

I do not see the reason for insulting Mr. Amenyo. Is it because of his Ewe second name?

The reason for Dr, Nkrumah for establishing Berau of African Languages was to parashoot a Ghanaian language over English. If he surv ...

• Boss 10 years ago

This article is very well written but what's the point? Twi is widely spoken in Ghana so?

• Joe Turkey 10 years ago

Do some thinking; you'll get the point. Lazy reader and thinker

This is rubbish! Just say what you wish to say without this foolish caveat:

"I wish to state at the outset that I, personally, do not think the increasing use of Twi in Ghana is a bad thing. It is not."

They are against anything that does not service or satisfy their narrow selfish ethnocentric parochial agenda.

They are a dangerous bunch.

They live in fear, insecurity, envy and jealousy.

Just plain evil.

• Kofi Amenyo 10 years ago

I am not in any way worried about Akans. I have absolutely no reason to be. I've lived closely with them all my life and I will continue doing so. This article has nothing to do with hatred of any body or any tribe.

I just ...

"I just don’t want my identity as a Ghanaian to be defined by my ability (or otherwise) to speak Twi!"

• Joni U.S.A. 10 years ago

Akadu, there's nothing bad about Amenyo's article. In fact, this piece, from an Ewe, gives credit to the Akans for the pervasiveness of their language. Amenyo is just trying to have a conversation about Ghanaian languages, bu ...

• Nyansasem 10 years ago

I would love to listen to this borborbor in Twi. I have combed the Utube, could not find it. Could you please link me that song/dance?

Mede m'akoma nyinaa bedowo / Wo na woye me kwankyerefo ... Agyenkwa Yesu ee

Jealousy go killTrokosis . They hate the 'uneducated' Asante Kookoase nkurasefuo to the core but proud themselves in Akan(Asante) names like Kofi, Kwesi, Kojo, etc. It is high time trokosis disabuse their minds of the master- ...

• Chief 10 years ago

Your coments denotes a typical Kokoase monkey. Come to the coast and learn vivility bush man. This piece was an excellent piece devoid of tribalism. It is only a monkey tribalist as ugly as you that will put a tribal spin on ...

You mean I shoul d come tto the coast and learn to shit in the open at the beaches? Kookoase even cat covwe its shit but not you so called educated buffoons at the coast

• KWAME, BELGIUM 10 years ago

Gradually, Twi is becoming the lingau franca in West Africa. Go to Nigeria, Togo, Ivory Coast and the rest. Come to Belgium and visit any African-Asian shops and you will see that the Twi language is making a way ti live.

The tribalist Ewes hate that.

And the fact that they cannot stop it drives them nuts.

• Mama Tula 10 years ago

Yes, it is not that they are [proud of the language but because they refuse to go to school and prefer to shine shoes, sell dog chains and other petty trading from the age of ten, then they managed to make their way to Europe ...

• KOO 10 years ago

Mr. Amenyo, This is a nice write-up.

• KOO 10 years ago

Mr. Amenyo, This is a nice write-up.

LISTEN TO THE CASSAVA BUSH FARMER;

"As the Twi language spreads even more than it has done so far, it will be enough for many of us non-native speakers to try to speak it"

YOU ARE A FOOOOL,AMENYO! DON'T YOU KNOW THAT ...

• Leeeee 10 years ago

they want to steal our names but they don't want to speak our language.

• Pontius Pilate 10 years ago

the Chinese, Japanese just name them are busily learning to speak other languages and so are the Americans, British and the rest. even these foreigners are busily trying to understand and use native African dialects. why? sim ...

Did you even understand the piece you just read? Your shallow understanding of things on GHanaweb makes me wanna puke! Did you complete JSS? Whew!

Gee.

Everything they don't like is linked to NPP/Kuffour this and that.

They won't blame anything on the prior 20yrs they were in charge and ruled Ghana under p/ndc.

Why are these people such a complaining stock? ...

Amenyo's piece is actually meant to promote a dialogue about languages in Ghana, not an attack on anyone. Anyone who has followed Amenyo's writing on GWEB knows that he is an honest, fair-minded, educated fella who abhors tri ...

• Ami 10 years ago

Sometimes it is good to pretend one does not understand Twi because they like to insult us in their language. I understand it but I will not speak it.

• Nii - Accra 10 years ago

They all come to " see"Accra and then they stay. Once the Kumasi Mall, which is bigger, is completed, I think the presence of the Asante in Accra will decline small. From the village they will go straight to Kumasi and stay ...

Acca would have been all slums and ghettos if the superior Culture of wealth creation and management of the Akans groups has taken hold of that place.

That place is still dirty.

Go to Kumasi and breath some fresh air ...

• Earl Jones 10 years ago

Even Twi is dying. It will be taken over by English language. The world is becoming a global village and any language which is not spoken internationally and not wildly written or read will die. Even Latin is dead. Twi will d ...

• Houdini 10 years ago

"Not spoken Internationally and not wildly written or read".

The word is WIDELY not WILDLY.

I know as a trokosi moron that you are, that is what you wish but Twi will continue to have a mass appeal even in other countri ...

• Nana Yaw, U.S. Navy 10 years ago

Who told you Twi is dying, Twi is the only Ghanaian language offered as foreign language in U.S. Navy Foreign languages. I just took one recently and i was amazed how much rasty i was but very refreshing to know that Twi is c ...

• Koo the boy 10 years ago

The Great Ashanti

• Yaw Buor 10 years ago

Good article. But it will be a sad day if in decades to come, some languages in Ghana disappear.

• Odurose 10 years ago

Mr Amenyo, I commend you for your excellent write up. I did not detect a sinle error in your piece nor indeed a single inflection of tone to denote anger or exasperation. You are well educated and it shows in your writing. Br ...

Thanks, Odurose

You seem to be one of the few who read the text the way I intended it to be read. I owe you a response.

Truth be told, I had no anger or exasperation in my heart when I wrote the piece. I am surprised th ...

• Natural Mystic 10 years ago

I enjoyed the article and was rather amused that some folks have deemed it necessary to abuse or assign ludicrous reasons for the write up. Undergrads or postgrads in disciplines such as sociology, Ghanaian languages or even ...

• Kez 10 years ago

Kofi Ameyo,I get your point and might also add that there is also now a phenomenon of people embracing Twi spoken by the rural folk if they live in Accra or Tema. In fact it is a badge of honour to speak ‘big Twi’. Now, I ...

• John 10 years ago

These are my thoughts too, Odurose. Well written article minus the reference to NPP/KUFOUR.

• Ni-Akompi Ofadi Nsuro 10 years ago

Ablekumo Aba Kua Wo.

What a hell is going on in Ga-Mashie?

I Nii Akompi Ofadi Nsuro must speak Twi in Ga-Mashie Land? CHIA PO Nye Ba yia. Kua Gyii. The day is Coming

• Asafo Agladza 10 years ago

Kwasia sem - We will do everything to to resist Twi being used as a National Language in Ghana. This is normally the question "Are you a Ghanaian and you dont speak Twi?" as if it is compulsory for every Ghanaian to speak twi ...

Nobody is trying to make Twi the national language. Amenyo just wants Twi natives to stop showing surprise when they meet non-Twi speakers from Ghana. After all, there still are Ghanaians who do not speak Twi at all, perhaps ...

• AMEGAYI 10 years ago

Twi becomes operational and Ewe strategic cos of those concepts.

• phil 10 years ago

its crazy.is it by force to know how to speak twi???is twi a national language or an ethnic language???nonsense!!!anyone who asks dat question shd be ignored.de ryt question is;oye asantenii na onte twi???not oye ghananii.gha ...

• F. Boadu 10 years ago

speaking english at british embassy does not make you super powerful

• Gbagbladza-Pinksheets 10 years ago

This is wonderful piece nd the bare truth about the spread of the Twi Language in Accra/Ghana. Indeed, Kpakpo Allotey sounded desperate in his article on the dying Ga language. Even if he establsihes 10 radio stations in Accr ...

• F. Boadu 10 years ago

Kufuor speaking of twi did not prevent him from studing at one of best university in the world Oxford university. Is time our politicians comes out and say benefits of having one common language

• NII Adjetey Adjei 10 years ago

This TWI thing is bullshit. What is TWI? Does it include Fante, NZEMA, Akyem etc. this whole thing of spilling TWI everywhere even when English is called for smacks of superiority complex. I heard a radio station insisting th ...

• AGYA 10 years ago

NONSES, THE DUTCH PEOPLE SPEAKS GOOD ENGLISH BUT THEY WILL NEVER SPEAK IT AND LEAVE THEIR OWN LANGUAGE ASIDE..
    DO YOU THINK YOU ARE IN USA SO GHANAIANS SHOULD STOP THEIR NATIVE LANGUAGE AND TAKE ENGLISH... YOU ARE LOST MR.EW ...

• Dziko Kwame 10 years ago

Fo Kofi

Someone has asked this already:

"I wan to know where and which town that Borborbor group plays their rhythm with Twi songs.

You said this: Today, Ewes are singing borborbor in Twi (Mede m'akoma nyinaa bedowo ...

• Pastor Oppong Tabiri 10 years ago

Excellent piece of admonition to all of us.You simply do not demean someone because they do not speak your native tongue. Let's learn to respect our diversities and thereby exploit it to our own advantage. Again I appreciate ...

You're one of the few readers who understood what this article is about: a conversation about Ghanaian languages, and the need to respect those who don't speak Twi.

It seems some people get what all this is about. Non-native Twi speaking Ghanaians have no problem in grasping it. Most of those who don't get it are our Akan brothers and sisters.

All what I am saying is that even if I sp ...

• Mike Olongo, USA 10 years ago

You did great, Kofi. There's nothing preventing any Ghanaian from learning a second or third Ghanaian language. I speak four Ghanaian languages fluently (Twi included). So if I happen to meet a Ghanaian who cannot speak Twi ...

• naa 10 years ago

Kofi, Ashantis largely control trade and commerce in ghana not because of their population, I personally think is because of their mentality. If you take jews in the states for instance they are not many than other races bu ...

• Ablade 10 years ago

So you accept that all languages should die off in favour of twi eh?. I feel a lot of pain when I remember that a non - twi speaker like me have my son being forced to study twi in a Ga area like Tema.

• Ablade 10 years ago

kuffuor only succeeded in promoting that language. Egbole mli ni ebaa yoo!

• odum 10 years ago

Woye wopotoni manfrani aboa bi

• TROUBLE-MAKER 10 years ago

Well done,Kofi Amenyo. There`s nothing wrong learning other people`s language.But to say if you are a Ghanaian,why can`t you speak Twi is completely foolish.You don`t force me to speak your language when you can`t say a singl ...

• Nana- London 10 years ago

Well done, is about time Ghanains speak one language to build one strong unity and advanncement to progress in so many avenues.
    Example, computers, syllabus etc.
    God bless us and God bless Ghana

• asuo 10 years ago

you are equating twi with akan. there is a difference there.

• Dan K. 10 years ago

Very good article. Twi has been and will remain the most widely spoken local language in Ghana. Nothing wrong with that. It's good if a non-native Twi speaker learns to speak it. But no one should be forced to speak it. More ...

I cannot find a better summary of the article than this. That is just the crux of the whole argument. I wrote the piece and your contribution summarizes my point accurately. Thanks.

• KYEI KORMI 10 years ago

well, l speak ewe everywhere l find myself in Accra. to me, they are inferior. they exhibit their inferiority in many ways. you know, am really proud of my God given Ewe language. l consider myself very fortunate and superior ...

• Joseph Ganyobi 10 years ago

Ashantis are stupid ...they can pronoused words in English yet still they want people to speak their language.......there will be a time when most of them will return to their villages and ACCRA Will be free from monkeeeey

While you are at it! Think about this one!

Kumasi monkeeeey monnkeeey monkeeeey kumasi mono mono mono

• MPATA MPATA 10 years ago

I am a Ga and I will never ever speak Twi. I have my own language THE GA LANGUAGE.I will speak it and English all the time. NO TWI FOR ME.

• Ada Boy 10 years ago

I agree with you,and why should you?

Former Presidet Kuffuor an ASHANTI couldnt pronoused words correctly when he wass at the UN......stupid another kumasi monkey

Norwaygean kumasi idiots Ashanti smell like monkeeeey and they eat them

• Mensah 10 years ago

go back to school, and get proper deucation

• joseph ganyobi 10 years ago

Go back to school and get good education ........not proper ducation...Ashanti monkey check your spelling ...monkey boy from Kumasi like Kuffour..

• National Alliance Liberals! 10 years ago

This article is not calling for a fight among the minority and the majority. The article, to me,is to start public discussion of what is obvious. Yet, we still do find idiots trying to use this beautifully written piece to co ...

• Kwajo Nyarko-Mensah 10 years ago

Twi is the original and oldest language on Earth. The names of the first created man and woman, Adam and Eve are Twi. Adam means the sleeper - the DA in Adam's name means SLEEP in Twi and Eve is the same as Efe / Afi or Afu ...

• Akua 10 years ago

its really sad that in this day and age, intellectuals will argue and insult each other on a trivial issue such as tribalism. I'm an Ashanti married to an Ewe and where we come has never been an issue in our marriage. we have ...

• Okponglo Guy 10 years ago

Your Akan brother who admires your writing style and objectivity and who also respects the fact that politically, you may belong to different camps. Keep up the simple and eloquent pieces.

To Okponglo Guy if you see it...

Thanks for your very kind words, Okponglo Guy. It's a long time I saw you here on these pages. You are not a daily visitor.

As a matter of fact, I don't think you and I belong to differe ...

• NO NONSENSE 10 years ago

MEYE GHANANI ENSO (MENNTE) TWI

Thanks a lot for the correction, NO NONSENSE. It came late but it is very much appreciated. I saw it myself only when you pointed it out.

What surprises me is all the native Twi speakers who commented on the article and sa ...