You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 09 21Article 286483

Is the Ga language is extinct?

Read Comments Comments (91)

• Allotey 10 years ago

Thank u very much my brother and the almighty bless u more than u could think of. Everything u re saying is hundred precent correctly but whom to blame ? Our Ga leards only think of what they will eat today and not the well b ...

• bob 10 years ago

henry i told you last week that, the gas has got it fundamentally wrong on ideology. you cannot live on the richest land and be a socialist or what ever it is. the reason be simple as long as accra is the capital more enegert ...

• Mends, The Lone Ranger. 10 years ago

English is now a lingua franca spoken in almost every corner of the globe, not because it's easy to learn, but, because of the economic power of America. If you want to deal with America then you'll have to learn the English ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

He who has the money, indirectly calls the shots. If the Ga lands had been allocated or subsidized for Gas by the chiefs, maybe they will be rich today and promoted their language.

• SENDERO 10 years ago

Bob you make a very good point similar to what I posted some time back on this similar topic

The Gas, at independence, were probably our paramount ethnic group. Based in Accra they were educated, articulate, well-organized ...

• nii Laryea 10 years ago

When I see a Ga man make such superficial comment about Ga language becoming exinct, I rather pity him because his observation is based only on emotional sentiments. It is devoid of facts. Gas should blame their woes on the s ...

• Ama Badua 10 years ago

Sendero, you have revealed explicitly the facts of the issue. The Ga Chiefs should not bear the whole blame. The educated Gas should bear part of it too. They see the problem and have been doing nothing to solve it. No Gas, a ...

• K.Y. Asante 10 years ago

Anyone who still considers the Gas as serious people in Ghana should have their head examined. Once you sell your land to "foreigners" you should know you are doomed. Once your land is gone, so follows your culture and langu ...

• Nii 10 years ago

Nii Kpakpo infact you have hit the nail right on the head. but where do we go from here as Gas. When the Gas youth woke up from their dreams the only thing they could remember was their land that the chiefs are selling but f ...

• PASQUIN 10 years ago

THANK YOU, this is a wakeup call. Let us resolve to transform this situstion.

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

I once opened this can of worms and my Ga friends almost lynched me thinking I am an Asante person trying to superimpose Asante language on other tribes. It is difficult to help the situation. If you travel to Guan areas too, ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

I visited Accra in 2002 and 2008. In 2002 everything was normally but in 2008,I noticed everyone spoke twi and with a good twi accent too.
    My point is whilst Frank's point may be right, it has accelerated within the last de ...

• YB 10 years ago

It is interesting that many tribes are trying to speak better English than the Americans and insulting Asantes as being uneducated because of the preference for their Twi. The Gas will extinct like the dinosaurs if they conti ...

• Visions 10 years ago

Frank, your assertions are right but you left out one important factor which is the Akan population. Akans as an ethnic group out number every tribe in the country which means most other groups will always be a minority in mo ...

• ZoRRo 10 years ago

The Akan men are also marrying the beautiful Ga women. They claim they can't speak a word of Ga, so speak Twi with their children, and eat fufu at 6am in the morning. I have a neighbor like that. Where are the Ga men ? Maybe ...

• Aduanaba 10 years ago

Frank, that is as good a response as you always present on such matters facing our country. I would also add to your contribution, the fact that the Ga language sentence construction is similar to Twi. Moreover, the so-called ...

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

You snide aside is a reference to the so-named Asante women who bleach! But we know that Ga men and womane also bleach. A sensible writer would have anticipated this criticism and would have simply used a woman without qualif ...

• YB 10 years ago

Thanks Akadu for curing the mischief of this Allotey fellow. I would have asked why this writer didn't describe the features of the Ga man who asked the mate to speak his dialect.

• Kwame Mensah 10 years ago

You sound like a half-brain inferior idiot. Why are you jittery because a bleached-face woman is mentioned in the story?

Buluu!

• I AND I 10 years ago

I had a friend(passed away some years back.God Bless his soul)a LA born & bred who told me that one day he went to buy some roasted plantain at La market and naturally spoke Ga to the sales girl but she ferociously replied i ...

• mtnkyere 10 years ago

Any where in the world where many languages converge at one point like Accra the most simply and easily spoken language will supper impose itself on the other. This is natural occurrence which is beyond human reach. This does ...

• Victor A. Young 10 years ago

Say what? That Ga language will soon be extinct, is impossible. You're probably having some weird dreams. I'm not a native of Ga but I can confidently say that it will NEVER happen. Gas are proud of their culture, festivals e ...

• corrupt mahama juju killed mills,ei 10 years ago

EVEN GAS SPEAK ENGLISH AND TWI,SO BRO PACK ASIDE AND SHOT UP,

• Asem 10 years ago

Good piece!

• Nana- London 10 years ago

Dear brother, there is no one to you only have to accept. The good things is not where you come from but is only a matter of time all Ghanaians speak one language twi will then that our country become the greatest of all Afri ...

• Frank Agyena-Karikari 10 years ago

Don't want to be crucified today heh? I once mentioned that if there should be a national language besides English, it should be Twi. You don't know what happened to me. Just don't say it but we all know that Twi has become l ...

• naa 10 years ago

Very soon all akan will go back where they came from the peace fm must close

• John Throway 10 years ago

the akans have dominated your house but you're dreaming of sending them back. To where?

• naa 10 years ago

All radio stations must close down

• Master Kwaku 10 years ago

Naa, you are a dreamer; keep on dreaming. You and my wife have the same name; but she accepts me wholeheartedly. God bless UNITED Ghana!

• Kobby. 10 years ago

I think you must re-write your aiticle again because not only Ashantis who speak twi but all Akans.Not only Ashanti region in accra but all emerge in accra to compete and the strongers always survive.

• ' and Jesus wept ' 10 years ago

What happened to the book 'Adote Sheleng kome'? Yes tell Obetsebi Lamptey to go teach the Gas their culture and stop chasing govt bungallows.

• owusu 10 years ago

you talk as if only Ashanti's speak twi. Meanwhile there is fanti-twi, akuapem-twi, etc why do you ndc tribalist always want to bring tension between Ashanti and other tribes? Stop the hate

• LONTO-BOY 10 years ago

".....a woman with a bleached face told the man to shut up;....."

Mr Allotey, I'm surprised at your subtle and blatant stereotype toward non-native [women] speakers of Ga. Is bleaching the distinctive facial feature of non ...

• owusu 10 years ago

Don't mind him...he is just showing off his tribalist nature

• nana 10 years ago

It's very serious indeed and in fairness to Akans not all of them are happy with this development the Gas themselves need to change their mindset to reverse this trend.Something serious has to be done.Where is the Ga Mantse?G ...

• Toto Fitter 10 years ago

Na who cause am?

• maxwell, u.k. 10 years ago

Continue to wake the people of Ga up from their slumber. As an Akan i have on several occasions expressed disgust about this unfortunate situation. The Gas cannot afford to lose their natural identity. Do not relent in your ...

• Tina 10 years ago

Good talk sir

• John Throway 10 years ago

tina, what is good about this tribalistic jive?

• Tina 10 years ago

I love ga

• Tina 10 years ago

Good

• Tina 10 years ago

Sir you right

• Tina 10 years ago

Sir you right

• Kwabena Atta 10 years ago

H.K.Allotey,you are a Ga. Set up a Ga Radio Station yourself and stop that jive.

• KD 10 years ago

As an Akan who was raised in Accra, I've made similar observations. I love my Ga brothers and sisters and speak my "halting Ga" whenever I get the chance. I praise the non-Gas who speak the Ga language and equally frown on t ...

• Allotey Alloteys 10 years ago

Is the Ga Language is extinct? Poor heading
    your writings in most cases suggest who you are and your level of mediocrity. Can you come again with the heading of the article?

• FOYOOSIS 10 years ago

Do not blame the writer for the poor heading of his article, for he has at least voiced his concerns out. The blame should be directed to Ghanaweb editing section, i wonder if they have any, who could have corrected is extinc ...

• KD 10 years ago

There may be a typo in the heading, but the content/context of the article is clear and issues he raised should concern anyone who cares about Ghanaian culture, traditions and language. There's a better way to correct our bro ...

• OKOE 10 years ago

YOU RIGHTLY HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD.I SUGGEST THAT IF YOU THE WRITER IS A GA TO START TO ORGANIZE AND RESURRECT THE GA LANGUAGE. ONE POLITITIAN ONCE REMARKED ABOUT THE GAS ON ONE OF HER CAMPAIGNS AND WAS MOBBED I UNERSTAND. ...

• AMARIYA 10 years ago

As a result of mixing of different Akan groups and other ethnic groups all using Twi as a language, a new Twi, which I will call standard Twi, which is not dialectically Fanti, Ashanti or Akuapen is been gradually modeled. If ...

• JAMES 10 years ago

It is not only the Ga language which will become extinct but the GA TRIBE also.I can see that happening in 25 years and the reason is simple.Instead of embracing the ADANGBES who are their own "cousins",they are now insiting ...

• Adongo Tongo 10 years ago

In the 1970's Professor Chinebua a linguist who later became a minister in the Liman regime, conducted a study in Madina on the languages spoken in this Muslim enclave. I don't recall the exact numbers but a large majority of ...

• Benash 10 years ago

My brother Owula Kpakpo you just hit the nail on the head and you've said it all. I weep for the Ga State. Thank you so much for the wake up call. There are only few people trying to make sure the Ga language is not extinct. ...

• Allotey Alloteys 10 years ago

so what we do as unique and collective people who have our culture and tradition to preserve and protect? i mean we Gas because it seems we are in a strange land now,

• Kofi vs. Kwame 10 years ago

ahhh, Is the ....is...? Sorry! I don`t understand...

• JOSEPH GANYOBI 10 years ago

YOU MAY NOT AGREE WITH ME ...BUT LET ME TELL YOU THIS EVERY AKAN PERSON WHO SPEAKS TAKES HIMSELF CIVILYZED PERSON THAN HIS FELLOW AKAN WHO DOESNT SPEAK THE GA LANGUAGE....THE GA LANGUAGE IS NOT FOR VAGABONDS NOR FOR UNCIVILYE ...

• Baraa 10 years ago

Pls. Joe don't start this....Can you take back the stones?

• Mpata Mpata 10 years ago

Minyemi Thanks for your article. Oyiwala donn.
    We should start by opening our own GA radio station to be controlled by GAS.

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

The fact of the matter is that the Gas are a minority. Gas should seek economic power just like the Jews or wealthy minority Chinese in Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia and the Philippines, etc. Gas should also produce more babi ...

• JANGO 10 years ago

YES, THE GA LANGUAGE IS EXTINCT, EVEN IN ACCRA.

MANY GA MEN AND WOMEN MARRIED TO AKANS HARDLY COMMUNICATE WITH THEIR AKAN SPOUSES IN GA, DUE MAINLY TO ARRANT STUPIDITY AND DEEP-SEATED INFERIORITY COMPLEX.

MANY AKANS CAN ...

• JANGO 10 years ago

I FORGOT TO MENTION CERTIFICATELESS OBETSEBI-LAMPTEY.

OF COURSE, YOU WOULDN'T EXPECT CERTIFICATELESS OBETSEBI LAMPTEY TO SPEAK GA BECUASE THAT GUY IS A NINCOMPOOP.

NO WONDER HE CAN ONLY BE AN NPP PARTY CHAIRMAN.

• HANNIBAL(Blessed by God) 10 years ago

I disagree. Gas are not dumb. No tribe in Ghana is smarter than the other. All the tribes in Ghana have produced great people. It is about the clash of cultures. It is not only happening in Ghana. Even in the U.S., many peopl ...

• JOSEPH GANYOBI 10 years ago

THE GA LANGUAGE IS NOT FOR KOBORLOI IS A LANGUAGE SPOKE BY ALL CIVILYZED PEOPLE...ALL AKANS WHO DOSENT SPEAK THE GA LANGUAGE ARE THE UNCIVILYZED ONCE AMONG....THEY KNOW IT ...

• NANA BONSU 10 years ago

Speaking Ga does not make a person any more civilized than speaking English or Twi. Dont allow your emotions to turn you into a fool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Tetteyb 10 years ago

It is a deliberate effort for Akan language to dominate in Accra and Gas are not taking it seriously enough. Gas are too laid back but it will be too late. There are well qualified Gas I know around but are not very political ...

• VINCEY,NJ 10 years ago

Gas are not corrupt and drug dealers like your tribe, that's why you have been able to populate Accra. But let me tell you no matter if the whole akan tribes invade accra , the Ga language will never die. Just like no one can ...

• Baraa 10 years ago

Vincey, pls go back and re-read Jango's comment. He is sympathetic to the Ga course. Mad at those who could help change the status quo, but chose the other route. War, war, war is not the answer.

Sit on your fat ass and ascribe all Akan wealth to drug dealing. 90% of Akans are extremely hardworking souls. They would start off in Accra shining shoes, hawking bread, cookies, soft drinks etc and graduate to operating fro ...

• Agonaba 10 years ago

STOP THE BLAME GAME

• So, so and so 10 years ago

Bigotry is one of the reasons that we are losing the Ga language. We went to a petrol station to buy fuel and my driver who does not speak Ga started shouting at the attendant because the attendant was speaking Ga. I got furi ...

You should have fired your driver. I have witnessed that also and hurled some choice words at the offenders. When in Accra, my first choice is English with Ga people. Invariably these days, close to 90% of the Ga's switch to ...

• GA STATE 10 years ago

Who are those grumbling over the recent comment by the LA manste that the AKWABA sign post at the Kotoka international airport be removed and replaced with something that unites us as one people instead of the present Akan gr ...

"Our next push will be to advocate for only 30% of Akan air broadcasting in Accra and the 70% remaining to be broadcast in English.."

No allocation was made for Ga. Why? If Gas do not establish FM stations that broadcast m ...

• GA STATE 10 years ago

This piece of article goes to our Akan brothers and sisters who are angry about the recent comment made by the LA manste about the removal of AKWAABA sign post at the Kotoka international airport and be replaced with a welcom ...

You have some good points but your unchecked emotions distorts your logic.

Civilized society has moved past the point where "force ruled". The train has left the station and your emotional baggage is pulling you down.

• NOA 10 years ago

VOAR previously run by Space Clottey and the only station in the UK where in recent past Ga featured with some prominence alongside English has now also been eaten up and half the time transmits in twi. It's a tsunami that wi ...

• WARD GDX - WE THE PEOPLE 10 years ago

The individual behind this article is ignorant, stupid and based on his tribal innuendos, a bigot as well.

The article is laden with incongruent associations and examples with no material relevance to the subject matter ...

• Dada 10 years ago

U dont make sense. Kwasiaman!

You lack the intellectual capacity required to comprehend constructs of that complexity.

Aboafunu

You lack the intellectual capacity required to comprehend constructs of that complexity.

Aboafunu

• james naru 10 years ago

I am neither a Ga or an Akan.
    I have equally observed this phenomenon.
    It started in the 1970s.
    This issue can only be addressed by the Ga people

• Ama Badua 10 years ago

This article surely reveals explicitly the facts of the issue. The Ga Chiefs should not bear the whole blame. The educated Gas should bear part of it too. They see the problem and have been doing nothing to solve it. No Gas, ...

• Amarh 10 years ago

Need to teach compulsory Ga language in all the Accra schools

• Kartas 10 years ago

My people, if any one can speak of Ga whiles in the city ,that can help each other;than some BLOCK HEADED peole fails to make attampt.Most of others tris to help the hopeless beings, by learning the Twi to keep the life easy ...

• Sandra 10 years ago

am just tired of the akans

• Odurose 10 years ago

Sandra, if you are tired of the Akans then you are tired of life. This Gadamgme irredentism is about 60 years too late and, whether you and your type like it or not, the Akan takeover of Accra is, unfortunately for you, total ...

• name 10 years ago

Akans are from the bush and they have to go to the bush

• Ashely tisdale 7 years ago

Can someone please translate this for me?
    Dem say sm gal go porshui u
    Bra tema nab3 shw3
    Y the bj craze u anaaaa
    Oboi the girl too they force
    Sia how I go get number way knife dey my waste.
    Sorrrrrmia

Can you ple ...