You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 08 20Article 282872

Kwame Nkrumah International Airport - Why Not?

Read Comments Comments (126)

• Banza Yaro 10 years ago

Just as you said, you'll be branded and labelled a nonscum TRIBALIST by only a section of the country that derives her importance from this name. I amen you for being bold and saying the truth but, I'll stay out of this hot ...

• K. Boateng 10 years ago

The author wrote in paragraph two that "The latter and one other colleague were later arrested and tried by a military tribunal".

The three surrogates of that coup engineered by Afrifa were Moses Yeboah (Bono from Japekrom ...

• James Dadzie 10 years ago

The attempted coup of April 17th,1967 was led by twenty-eight year old Lt.S.B. Arthur from Otuam,near Mankesim in the Central Region,an old boy of Mfantsipim school,Cape Coast.Others were twenty-eight year old Lt. Moses Yeboa ...

• K Boateng 10 years ago

you've mentioned the three leading culprits of the coup, two of whom were executed; could you please tell us why Adu-sei Poku (Osei Poku) was not executed with them? Why were Arthur and Yeboah "bluffing" on the eve of their e ...

• PHILTY McNASTY 10 years ago

Only a zero baked idiot like you will continue to waddle in your own vomit will continue to believe in this nonsense that Afrifa planned the coup that led to the killing of Kotoka.

You are so dumb I think the best thing to ...

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

This K Boateng's father was a laborer and a slave on a cocoa farm in the Ashanti Region , that is why he has so much hatred for Asantes

• GHFUO, BE SERIOUS NOT PRIDEFUL! 10 years ago

The Ghana International Airport was renamed Kotoka International Airport in his memory, for the simple, unrealistic and funny reason that he was killed at a spot which is now part of the forecourt of the Airport. His statue s ...

• MR.GOODFACE 10 years ago

Great job as usual.

• Nortey Accra 10 years ago

Please Fellow Ghanaians you must all learn to know the truth and really what getting on in those days and time.Try to change the name and see re-action from the Abongo boys,please becareful and let us forge ahead.Kotoka did w ...

• Billy,Accra 10 years ago

The Airport should bee re-name after JAK of npp as he flew from there more than 400 times

U ARE A STUPID FOOL. U MUST DIE EARLY BCOS OF UR STUPIDITY...THESE ABONGO BOYS WILL BE JAILED. INFACT,U AREA DUMB FOOL...KOTOKA HIMSELF REGRETTED HIS ACTIONS BEFRE HE WAS KILLED.

• G. K. Berko 10 years ago

The idea that a country should suffer a coup just at the outset of an Economic hardship is buffoonery . It is more reasonable to blame a dire political stalemate that really threatens the universal sufferage Citizens enjoy ...

I meant to say:
    "We need to sympathize the fact that the ..."

• CONCERNED GHANAIANS 10 years ago

Uncouth!
    Uncouth people are fond of using profane words in all their expressions. Please learn to put your opinion in a civilised way. Don't run out of patience because you think someone is not getting it. We all do not have ...

• ILLITERATE APONKYI SARPONG 10 years ago

Change is inevitable however certain changes as to changing the name of Ghana's International Airport to another is just plain stupidity.

Has the author thought of the resistance? And has the author thought of which Govern ...

• The Eye Germany 10 years ago

I would suggest the current care-taker government/ the future in coming government build a befitting,big and modern international airport in say Kumasi/ Takoradi and name it after Nkrumah. There's no need disturbing the prese ...

• john akpa 7 years ago

Can the author tell us what exactly Ghana was like just 5 days before the coup that toppled Nkrumah ? Were Ghanaians queuing for soap, cooking oil, sugar and other essentials at various places including the Accra Sports stadi ...

• Media Mogul 10 years ago

I don't think Afrifa had any reason to get Kotoka out of the way. Kotoka was no threat to Afrifa. The man had no interest in leading Ghana. He didn't have any political ambitions. He was a soldier's soldier, not a politician. ...

• Conventional Youth. 10 years ago

Meaning? 8)

• JOE NIPAMU 10 years ago

Wow, this article is timely. We need more of such articles. Kudos

• UNMISGUIDED AFRICAN CHILD... 10 years ago

THIS IS NOT A CONVERSATION THAT WILL EVER GO AWAY.AS A FOUNDING FATHER OF THE O.A.U(NOW A.U),IT WOULD CERTAINLY BE A NOBLE IDEA TO BOLDLY PUT KWAME NKRUMAH'S NAME UP THERE FOR ALL TO SEE,UPON ARRIVAL IN OUR BELOVED GHANA.

• Jim 10 years ago

I think the import of this article is to generate constructive debate on the name by which the national airport is called.This does not call for tribal bigots to unleash their venom on everybody. I perfectly agreed with the w ...

• Kwame. 10 years ago

Do you have any facts to back-up your claim.Do not be a pathetic fool. The operation guitar boys as they were known Lt. SB Arthur.Lt.Moses Yeboah and 2nd Lt. Osei Poku and not Adu-sei Poku.During their trials nothing of the s ...

• Charles Mawuvi 10 years ago

Indeed it was a big mistake to name the Airport after Kotoka, but who can change it? Hmmmmm.

We the people can change it. A petition to the lawmakers is all it takes to begin an official discussions on the subject.

• DR. KWABENA ASANTE 10 years ago

I am wondering why these kids or recent generation are dabbling in issues that they have no idea of. Yes, Kotoka may not have "BUILT" any physical infrastructure as some of us would have loved to see. Yet, had he and others n ...

• SMILEY 10 years ago

Dr Kwabena Asante,i think you are just stupid to suggest that Ghana would have been like North KoreaDo you have brains?See where your liberated Ghana is compared to other countries like Singapore,Taiwan,Malaysia and South Kor ...

• Tukur Danmuazu 9 years ago

With you Nkruma boys ready to kill your elders and anyone who dare give contrary opinion to yours how do u expect Ghana to develope like singapore? This was exactly how Nkurmah started behaving against any differences of opin ...

Oooooooh Sir. Kwame Asante, how can you be so naive and so out of touch with realities? Wise men - both Africans and non-Africans all over the world agree that Nkrumah was overthrown because his vision for Africa would have m ...

• Mrs.Boateng 10 years ago

Well said,to some of us Nkrumah is the giant of Africa, and Ghanaians should recognize that.

• KOFI 10 years ago

Stephen Owusu Atta, why don't you reason.

No! I strongly disagree. I believe in spite of his idealism Nkrumah would not have persisted on towing a massively flawed Political paradigm. The guy loved to succeed too much to have led the Nation with total foolhardiness ...

• Adobah (not a reporter) 10 years ago

That is what you think! Nkrumah was not a person to hand over power to his children. Ghana is no Haiti, neither is it North Korea as stated. And that is why he groomed every Ghanaian child to take leadership position. Remembe ...

• Media Mogul 10 years ago

The blatant fact is that, Ghanaians were not tribalistic at that time. Nobody saw things in tribal terms at that time. Kotoka was Ewe and teamed up with Afrifa, an Asante - No Problem with that at all. The NLC was made up of ...

Just as the Akans were executed by Kojo Tsikata and Courage Quashiga was giving a warning.

• K Boateng 10 years ago

yoooo, what are all these insults coming from? I wasn't born at the time and just probing for more and divergent information on this issue so ya'll must chill and provide the info.

Thanks.

Surely, the insults do not help us learn from one another. I was fairly grown and caught in the middle of the events. My personal observation on this issue of Afrifah vs. Kotoka is that there were suspicions that Afrifah was ...

• Kosoko 10 years ago

This is only point of correction. Moses Yeboah is from Wam-anafo in the Dormaa West district but not from Japakrom

• Adobah (not a reporter) 10 years ago

That goes to tell what manner of man that Afrifa was. Sadly he paid with his life as well!

• AYI 10 years ago

AFRICA/ALL PEOPLE OF AFRICAN DESCENT USE ALL/EVERY MEANS, /AT ALL COST/BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY RADICAL MEANS TO UNITE. AFRICA/ALL PEOPLE OF AFRICAN DESCENT BE SELF-SUFFICIENT, USE YOUR RESOURCES TO FUND YOUR RADICAL MEANS OF U ...

• Banza Yaro 10 years ago

To make it even, let's name the airport Banza Yaro International. You see, both Nkrumah and Kotoka exhibited the traits and meaning of this name.

Kwame Nkurmah sponsored the very first botched coup in Nigeria. Barely two years into Nigertia's independence in 1962 a rival politician on tribal grounds organised a failed coup attempt from Ghana under the support of Kwame ...

• Kwesi Agbenu 10 years ago

Please, which regime or govt actually named the airport after KOTOKA?

That info is lost in your rich write-up

• Doctor Who 10 years ago

It was NLC of which Kotoka was a quiet unassuming member renamed the airport after him. The only thing Kotoka did in Ghana's history is to plan and execute the coup against Nkrumah. He did nothing else. He was probably a good ...

• william 10 years ago

Really sad. Nkrumah, the Ghanaian and African hero. And on arriving in Ghana you are welcomed by a coup maker who helped overthrow him! When leaving he is the one who bids you bye. He should have been honoured with a street n ...

You mean who will bell the cat? Ghanaians must write a petition with signatures to the law-makers and decision makers; on the airport and on street/barracks.

• Dumega Prosper Jnr. 10 years ago

You see, the haters of the Mighty Osagyefo, Dr. Kwame Nkrumah transformed the village country of Ghana (Gold Coast)into a modern and nearly a first world country!! But the internal CIA collaborators and dire haters of the glo ...

• Conventional Youth. 10 years ago

U M M D (Y)

• K'Ous 10 years ago

After reading your article I understand why it has been named kotoka but at the same time I find the renaming of the airport only right to honor the person behind all the hard work.

• OBURUMANKUMA 10 years ago

accra is too congested

Yes, we need a new one outside Accra. What about the one talked about at Dodowa? If set up in Winneba, then the road to Accra should be considerably improved. Then we should think of an appropriate name - one that will be sim ...

• papillon 10 years ago

Let us honour Jerry who is still alive and kicking. We still love Jerry.

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

?

• K Boateng 10 years ago

Do you have any empirical evidence to conclude that Rawlings burned his own residence? Was he in Accra when the fire occurred? Are you stating by your analogy that Kuffuor caused his 2007 car accident near the airport and tha ...

You are an idiot! By your studpid analogy, Kufour was in the car!

• Mr. Figure-Out: Leave Ewes Alone 10 years ago

First of all let the hypocrites in government change the ndc to Nkrumah Democratic Congress(NDC). let's also do this to stop the buffoons in government and their foolish followers from plunging the nation into a civil war wit ...

Good point. However, generally, you do not honor someone else with the work of another, unless that person was part of it, as a dedication or for rare historical reasons. Example is Sankara Circle. But we have Rawlings Park, ...

Let us name the whole country after Nkrumah.

• Moses 10 years ago

These CPP-NDC Propaganda minions. Why don't they name the whole country after Nkrumah?

• KOFI PAPABI 10 years ago

What's wrong with the Generals name on it? Who did better for Ghana? One who built dictatorship or who destroyed it? You can name your Abusuapanin Kwame Nkrumah

Is Nkrumah your family member? Be rest assured that he would be name your family head if he was part of your family.

• Harry Thompson 10 years ago

Remember Nrumah eliminated all political opponents by driving them into exile or killing them in Nsawam Prison. Boye-Doe was only 15 when he was imprisoned. All history books have recorded that Nkrumah was bloody and brutal d ...

• Sam 10 years ago

I can see the writer as someone bereft of knowledge about African leaders. One particular case is his unintelligent and provocative description about one of Africa's greatest sons, late Gen. Muritala Mohammed of Nigeria. The ...

Sam, you surely seem to be an ardent admirer of Murtala but you could have done without insulting the author.

• Sam 10 years ago

Sorry if I went too far.... but I dislike people who want to twist facts or those who just write anything that goes contrary to the truth. Looks like he is the mouthpiece of the Igbo who say all things against gen. Muritala w ...

But Sam, you'll agree that there's a lot of propaganda on both sides when it comes to the Nigerian civil war. Ok, the Igbos may be more guilty of this but the other side are not angels either. Murtala may be all that you said ...

• K Boateng 10 years ago

Sam, I'm not certain how "Stephen Atta Owusu" (a Ghanaian) could be the mouthpiece of the Igbos, other than being misinformed himself or just being biased against Murtala.

Bravo! for the wisdom in bring this to the attention of Ghanaians. In fact, as you said and needless to repeat, it is a mockery of justice and honour to name or rename an airport which was (being) built under one's regime aft ...

• Moses 10 years ago

jack asses

• marg 10 years ago

What good does it bring to the nation when names are changed? When JSS and SSS was changed to JHS and SHS respectively with the same teachers and resource as before, what change did it bring. There are so many issues that we ...

We realise that you are out of touch with realities. Names are necessary because they influence the psychological drives of people, of the trend of affairs; especially when it is backed with actions. The writer gave examples ...

• NTAMKESE 10 years ago

NO COUP MAKER SHOULD EVER BE REWARDED FOR ANY REASON AT ALL. KOTOKA INT AIRPORT SHOULD BE RENAMED AFTER DR KWAME NKRUMAH. LET THOSE WHO WILL READ TRIBERLISM INTO THIS DO SO OUT OF THEIR OWN STUPIDITY! THE NPP SHOULD HAVE DON ...

• Kojo Essuman 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah has been vindicated.The imperialist backed National Liberation Council(NLC) which was formed after 1966 coup,named the Accra International Airport after Kotoka when he was killed in the abortive coup of April 1 ...

Are you kidding? Who changed the name of that Park in Sunyani? So long as the current leadership of NPP is still in control any Administration that the Party manages to bring back would never do so. Jake, the bomb-thrower's ...

• MP 10 years ago

Because wo yeh ABOA!

I agree, the imperialist bloke does not deserve the naming after him!

It is in the military field that the man distinguished himself. It may not have been easy to plan and execute a coup against Nkrumah who had become very security conscious at the time. There were several attempts on his life ...

• K Boateng 10 years ago

you always inject your silly and shallow tribalism into an otherwise fine and educative article. To hell with you.

You mean to say that I always question what you see as intelligent articles, "notcan otherwise fine and educative article." That would be only one article, and what is that article? This one in question!

• Okute 10 years ago

She is still not matured with her primitive kokoase PhD tribalistic comments.
    She's still on the NPP pay-roll to post series of trash comments here on GhanaWeb.
    She's even not welcome in HELL!!!

• BUDA 10 years ago

I was 22 years old when the cough occurred. It was a sad day for Ghana and Africa as whole except the Nkrumah Haters at home and abroad.

Based on what Nkrumah achieved for Ghana and Africa, it is befitting to rename G ...

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

K Boateng, what evidence do you have to support your claims that Afrifa was behind the 67 coup? Are you aware that Adu-Sei Poku's life was spared because of the level of his culpability but not because of his tribe? You ac ...

• RAYMOND 10 years ago

If you were not born in 1967,you need to do a lot of research and refrain from HEARSAY.Lt S.B Arthur,Lt.Moses Yeboah and 2nd Lt Osei Poku and not Adu-sei Poku were all tried by a mllitary tribunal.2nd Lt.Osei Poku was jailed ...

PLS, GO TO VOLTA REGION. HAVE A REFERENDUM ON THIS ISSUE. WE WANT TO NAME KOTOKA AFTER A PUBLIC TOILET IN HO. YES OR NO...LET THE PPL OF VOLTA DECIDE. WE DONT NEED THIS DUMB IDIOTS' NAME ON NO PUBLIC BLGD IN GH. INFACT, DESTR ...

• Odasanyi, London 10 years ago

IT SHOULD BE NAMED AFTER ATTA MILLS AS THE ONLY SITTING PRESIDENT TO HAVE DIED WHILST IN OFFICE.

• Kwame Labadi 10 years ago

Please Owusu why not rather Victor Owusu Int.Airport.Asshole

• Nana Adjoa 10 years ago

I have always thought to name an international airport after some one who took a gun to gain power is stupid why naming airport after him?
    Where was Kotoka when Osagyefo and the rest were fighting for Independence?
    Kotoka w ...

• Benny 10 years ago

Let the name stay but the new airport at Prampram when completed should be called
    Nkrumah International Airport. Leave Kotoka alone and let him rest in the grave

DONT CONDONE FOOLISHNESS AND WHAT IS SIMPLY WRONGFUL.I HAVE ALWAYS CAMPAIGNED AGAINST THIS NAME ON ANY PUBLIC EDIFICE IN GH. INFACT, IT IS A DISGRACE. KOTOKA DEFIED THE SITTING CONSTITUTION.
    WAT WILL HAPPEN TO ME IF I START ...

• Micky 10 years ago

Why not Kufour International Airport? Or Kwaku Dua Airport.Mother fucker primitive apes.

• Geoff Thompson 10 years ago

Kwame Nkrumah was a tyrant who drove opponents into exile or imprison them for life. He declared himself President for life and ruled without a Vice President or cabinet. Everything was one man show.

THE BWST THING THAT HA ...

• Lenard Endede 10 years ago

Name Nsawam Prison Kwame Nkrumah Killing Field

• baker 10 years ago

This is a man who achieved so much for our country as the time the country's level of development was virtually nothing to write home about. He was one man i adore and admire so much considering his intellectual and leadershi ...

• Mensima Biney 10 years ago

Naming our international airport after Kotoka is a travesty of natural justice and an insult to our collective sense of decency. The charge of tribalism is a distraction. We must not be fooled by it. We need to see the matter ...

• JAMES Y 10 years ago

By calling the point of entry to Ghana by the name of the man who had stopped the country's enviable progress by his coup and was killed in the vicinity is, to all intents and purposes, a curse on the country. The sooner his ...

• lawfellas 10 years ago

A BRILLIANT IDEA

• AYI 10 years ago

AFRICA/ALL PEOPLE OF AFRICAN DESCENT USE ALL/EVERY MEANS, /AT ALL COST/BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY RADICAL MEANS TO UNITE. AFRICA/ALL PEOPLE OF AFRICAN DESCENT BE SELF-SUFFICIENT, USE YOUR RESOURCES TO FUND YOUR RADICAL MEANS OF U ...

• Koo Nimo 10 years ago

Facts are facts comments are free Kudos

• jayden 10 years ago

I was not around Nkrumah's time but from what I have read ad been told he was the number one dictator what because of his plans for the continent of Africa ignored Ghana and silenced his opposition in anyway possible so Kot ...

• joseph owusu 10 years ago

THE AUTHOR HAD A POINT IN THIS STATEMENT,BUT ATTA WHAT CAN WE DO ABOUT IT.IT HAS TO BE KWAME NKRUMAH INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT,WE HAD NO CHOICE.

• ghanaman 10 years ago

The author has demonstrated the courage to engage in free thinking. As he points out, his "article is not about tribalism but pure intellectual discussion geared towards further debate about what is good for Ghana's developme ...

• Victoria Agyemang 10 years ago

By all means a well deserving name as Kwame Nkrumah International Airport. 101% support. The most humble African that ever lived.

• Activist 10 years ago

Count my support vote with additional 10% to yours. Thanks for your poll.

• KRIS KOOMSON USA 10 years ago

Read the article already. Great job as usual. If only Ghana will sankofa the path that Osagyefo paved and educate the youth accordingly.

• Kwaapps 10 years ago

Atta Owusu, you spoke too soon - this will happen in our lifetime. Kotoka airport will become just another airport!

• Paa Kodwo 10 years ago

GHANa'S CONTINUED ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL WOES ARE OF THE RESULT OF THE 1966 COUP STAGED BY ARMED CRIMINALS IN MILLITARY UNFORMS HEADED BY SERGEANT KOTOKA, CORPORAL AFRIFA AND WARRANT OFFICER OCRAN.

THESE MEN DID A GREAT DAMAG ...

• james naru 10 years ago

A BRILLIANT IDEA

• Joseph Ampem Darko Yeboah 10 years ago

I fully support the idea.

• Frank Akoto 10 years ago

I will not like to be seen to use God's name in vain but I will say that God disaproved what Kotoka and his henchmen did hence their untimely demise.
    A referundum will help Ghanaians decide whether to change the name of Koto ...

• Stephen-Pipes Afrifa 10 years ago

Indeed I never knew how the name Kotoka International Airport till today. If then why not change the name to a more prominent and respected person, this is not fair for it to be named after Kotoka. Ghana must discern...

• Achisco Old Student 10 years ago

The name "Kotoka" has been maintained on Ghana's International Airport (simply)becuase the coup maker Kotoka was an Ewe. If Kotoka wasn't an Ewe man, JJ Rawlings and the Tsikatas would have renamed it long ago. They kept or n ...

• Ibi 'm 10 years ago

This is the truth and nothing but the truth. IBI TRUE!!

Indeed I never knew how the name Kotoka International Airport till today. If then why not change the name to a more prominent and respected person, this is not fair for it to be named after Kotoka. Ghana must discern...

The name "Kotoka" has been maintained on Ghana's International Airport (simply)becuase the coup maker Kotoka was an Ewe. If Kotoka wasn't an Ewe man, JJ Rawlings and the Tsikatas would have renamed it long ago. They kept or n ...

• Ibi 'm 10 years ago

This is the truth and nothing but the truth. IBI SO!!

• Issah Musah 10 years ago

There are several things that could have been done right in Ghana, but we politicize and put tribalism in almost everything we do forgetting that Ghana does not belong to one tribe or political party but for Ghanaians of diff ...

• karchire.k.nyarko 10 years ago

Indeed Ghana must uphold Stephen Atta Owusu as an intellectual contributor of Ghana's development and a proper role leading in Africa.

• SAMURAI 10 years ago

A great article. Ghana needs a bold leader to remame the Airport

• YAFFA YAFFA 10 years ago

THIS IS A VERY EMINENT REMINDER TO ALL TRUTHFUL GOD FEARING GHANAIANS. THATS A GOSPEL FACT AND A REFLEXION OF THE BLACK STAR OF AFRICA.THANX TO THE MIGHTY MAN STEVE ATTA OWUSU. MAY GOD MAKE YOU A MIGHTY MAN WITH UNCOMPARABLE ...

• Seth, USA 10 years ago

Good article....let's rename it after a great democrat - president Kufour.

Iam not a Ghanian, but a northern Nigerian. From all indications this writer is a liar and an ill-informed illitrate. He mentioned Murtala Muhammad as vilian where as the world over respect Murtala Muhammad for his vanguard r ...

What is in a name? This writer is claiming not to be a tribalist yet he did not give a single good reason why Nkrumahs mane must replace another name. He said it will bring development.How can mere name change the fate of Gha ...

• Nana Osei Prince 7 years ago

Infact this is a debatable topic that had really baffled my mind since my early ages of schooling,when i first learnt that such a national asset was named after the very person who actively led in the overthrow of the govern ...