You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 08 10Article 281913

A place for I K Acheampong.

Read Comments Comments (162)

• Operation feed Yourself 10 years ago

THE MAN IGNATIOUS KUTU ACHEAMPONG WAS FAR BETTER THAN THOSE WHO CAME AFTER HIM.JJ KILLED HIM BECAUSE OF JEALOUSY.

• Shaker 10 years ago

Kutu is far far better Dan Rawlings.

• BISHOP 10 years ago

Depending on who you are and how you may see things, Acheampong's suggesting of a one party state was the best thing that could have happen to Ghana and Africa if well implemented. He said Africa wasnt ready for democracy and ...

• ILLITERATE APONKYI SARPONG 10 years ago

I can see Jayden was a toddler then. Kutu buitl all you've mentioned yet Ghana under Kutu was taken over by Kalabuley that we have to queue for common pepper.

Upon all his irrigation schemes to boost agriculture, we still ...

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Ghana under IKE was better than all those who came after him. Did you hear him handing over huge sums of money to a single individual like Woyome? Kalabule or whatever one will call it is still alive in Ghana with a differen ...

• HMMNNNNNN!!! 10 years ago

General Kutu Acheampong cannot be remembered be cause the very same government that killed him, AFRC/PNDC/NDC is still in power.I am very touched by this publication. Looking back, one could now say that Geneeral Acheampong l ...

• AMA GHANA 10 years ago

I am sure Gen. Kutu Acheampong will be remembered after JJ Rawlings party leaves power, and all the landmarks named after the corrupt Attal Mills and Mahama will be renamed after him. Now Ghanaians have known that despite all ...

• Create, loot and share 10 years ago

Just compare him to Rawlings who came to power with the sole aim to cause mayhem to a section of the people of Ghana resulting in the polarization of the nation as we have it now. The nation is seriously divided along tribal ...

• saani bamba 10 years ago

you are absolutely wrong about rawlings and the anti-akan thing. you should be certain some members of the akan tribe demystified rawliings. out of all the women in ghana, he went for an asante woman and pledge that everythin ...

• MMOBORO 10 years ago

These are the traits of the human nature: No matter how good one may be, one wrong move destroys all of one's good attributes. Now, thanks to Mr. Mokoso's write-up, we can carve Kutu's name with pride.
    I wonder how posteri ...

• MMOBOROWA 10 years ago

These are the traits of the human nature: No matter how good one may be, one wrong move destroys all of one's good attributes. Now, thanks to Mr. Mokoso's write-up, we can carve Kutu's name with pride.
    I wonder how posteri ...

• T.T 10 years ago

Ghana Ni, you are a simpleton,Who appointed Col. Bernasko?. Good Governance means putting the right people in the right places. Are you happy now with how sensitive positions are given to Party faithfuls who end up destroying ...

• TEACHER 10 years ago

Illiterate kola again.

"How he run Ghana like"

DO YOU KNOW THE PAST TENSE OF RUN IS RAN?

Using his power to sleep with peoples wifes"

PEOPLE'S WIVES.

• Frimpong, USA 10 years ago

And if I may add Kutu advocated for UNION GOVERNMENT which to me should be the right form of governing in Ghana and perhaps all developing nations. Democracy is alien to us, we are not ripe for it yet because of the greedy po ...

• KK 10 years ago

You forgot to mention one thing: Acheampong was an Asante but he was not tribalistic. There was little tribalism during his reign. His Commissioners were from all parts of Ghana. It was during his reign that Regional Commissi ...

• Kojo T 10 years ago

He brought Ghana driving also to the right side of the road instead of the left . Surely Kutu had his faults but also his merits

• MINOR CASE 10 years ago

He established the medical school at KNUST.

• Omanbapa Osei Oyeadieyie 10 years ago

Then in secondary school, long vac between Form 3 and Form 4, I will never forget that day. I remember screahing in some old peugeout 404 on the streets of Mataheko !!

• Ghana Ni 10 years ago

Although operation feed yourself and all the irrigation projects you mentioned happened under the Acheampong regime, they were all the brain child of Col. Bernasko, who was then the Commisioner for Agriculture, in that Govern ...

• black rabbit 10 years ago

lets get it right operation feed yourself was part of osagefo's 10year development programe that was handed over to Acheampong government by some dedicated civil servants who kept the plans hidden from the CIA after the 66 co ...

• Ghana Ni 10 years ago

I agree with you on that.

So was the Bui Dam and countless other projects.

• ABU 10 years ago

General Kutu Acheampong is second to the Osagyefo Messiah Nkrumah.Rawlings was a flop and stunted our development.All what he practiced was terror,murder and anarchy.

• James Osei 10 years ago

Operation Feed Yourself was Kutu's idea. He got it when he was on a Military Course in Kansas City in the US (1967). He was so impressed with the massive corn fields he wondered why this could not be done in Ghana. Check this ...

• EKOW MUNKO 10 years ago

The writer forgot to add the fact that Acheampong strengthened the Ghana Armed Forces by ordering a squadron of Fokker F27,and one F 28,a squadron of bulldog trainer planes and a squadron of short sky vans.It was his time tha ...

• Taliban2 10 years ago

IK did better than all

• Emmanuel Kyei 10 years ago

He was a sportsman too African Cup of Nations 1978

• KFK 10 years ago

Add Operation Feed yourself/Industry to his credit.

• K. Boateng 10 years ago

which industry does Acheampong have to his credit?

• LARYEAH 10 years ago

FOOL KOO BOTENG, WHICH INDUSTRY DO RAWLING HAVE TO HIS CREDIT APART FROM THE ONES HE SOLD? IDIOT!

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Did Kutu not set up the regional development corporations?

Was Neoplan buses not established in his time?

I remember oil extraction in Saltpond by Gulf Amoco was started in his regime. He had the good sense to negotiate ...

I agree with you 100%. Thank God his murderers are still around to know how history is judging Acheampong. The actual reason for his murder was not corruption but insubordination on the part of some rogue soldiers. To them, I ...

• The Master 10 years ago

This BONO benkoto bensore gyimi gyimii will always try to discredit any achievement by an Asante man. This article cited many irrigation projects and other things he did in seven years but this tribalistic village idiot from ...

• Abransamadu 10 years ago

You idiot, short and ugly Asanteman, what is tribal about Boating’s comment to warrant such foolish rebuttal? What was our economic condition during Acheampong's time? Was Ghana's economy healthy with his 'akurase yentua' d ...

• Moses 10 years ago

Motherfucker, you lack the brains to realise the hardships was the result of Western mechanizations to reduce the proceeds earned from our commodities?

• VOLUNTORY CONTRIBUTOR 10 years ago

To his industrilizations, Kutu Acheampong gave that to private enterprises. Business people from both genders came out. Hoteliers, small scale manufacturiing, service industries that was being choked by our total participatin ...

• TEACHER 10 years ago

You stupid benkoto koo gyimi gyimii boateng, get over it, your people were enslaved by Asantes and still pay homage to Asantehene, you stupid ugly bono fool with more than 32 teeths in your mouth like your uncle Boakye the id ...

Idiot .private capital establishes industries not govt.

"Satan was not evil begotten, but good perverted”.

In which book is this quotation picked from?

• Gabaa 10 years ago

I have been arguing that Kutu was and is the best that we ever had. Operation feed yourself testifies to his achievements, Ghana did not import food for over 3 years before we had the drought in the later parts of his rule, ...

• aku shika 10 years ago

thank you for the good historical facts. How easy we forget. Acheampong did his best for what he was faced with at that time. Humans as we know (Ghanaians ) as a whole forget and only remember the golf, and women.

• The Archivist 10 years ago

The Kpong dam was part of Osagyefo Kwame Nkrumah's 7-year development plan for Ghana. It was to have been built by the USSR but the project - like practically all of Nkrumah's projects - was scuttled after the imperialist-spo ...

Oh he did serve in that government? Thank you, thank you sooo much for this history.

In his last days Nkrumah knew he was dying, and simply wanted to be allowed to return as a citizen to peacefully die in his beloved Ghana. He did not want to go to Romania at all. Diplomatic overtures were made through third ...

I read that piece somewhere and I shock Acheampong was that callous to Nkrumah; no wonder he faced the firing square.

• OSAGYEFO 10 years ago

ALSO THINK WISELY ABOUT WHAT RAWLINGS DID TO DR HILLA LIMANN.

• kutunpofo 10 years ago

Before I make a comment, can Mr Archivist please tell us where he got this information about Kutu Acheampong refusing to allow Kwame Nkrumah back into Ghana, from?

• MenayeAFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Likewise Bui Dam.

• Abransamadu 10 years ago

Bui Dam was proposed in 1927 by the British - Nkrumah was a teenager by then!

Do not take us back with your loose argument that it was on Nkrumah's plan. People deserve the credit for what they have been able to achieve in real terms. As I speak to you there are countless master plans on desk but it ta ...

• BK 10 years ago

I agree with you.

"Vision" indeed! Acheampong was part of the NLC junta that halted all of Nkrumah's industrialization projects - even against the advice of UN development experts. To halt a project for almost a decade and then revive it at gr ...

• Abrewanana 10 years ago

Jayden,

A good job done for bringing to light these numerous initiatives of General IKA. However, as a member of the 3rd batch of National Servicemen (Sep 1974 - Aug 1975), I beg to differ on crediting Kutu with the introd ...

• Akora 10 years ago

The facts numerated above notwithstanding, the good Colonel became his own enemy when he became too sure of himself and allowed sycophants to woo him off his revolutionary route. Anyway I think Dansoman Estates was initiated ...

• yaw adjei 10 years ago

Acheampong's coup was unneccesary.he has no justifiable reasons for toppling a democratic elected government. he has no vision for the country apart form coming to satisfy his own personal ambition. his seven year reign was t ...

• OSAGYEFO 10 years ago

WHAT ABOUT RAWLINGS 19 YEARS RULE?

• Rawlings chain 10 years ago

Rawlings came to kills people, period.

• Concerned 10 years ago

Yaw, Kutu removed a government which was effectively a one party state. Afrifa and co banned the cpp so how can any sane human being call that busia cia government a democracy. Kutu then realized parties in general did not h ...

• STONER KOBYLYNTON 10 years ago

Abrewanana, it is true that late PM - Busia conceived some of the projects which the late General came to execute them to the benefit of the nation rather than behaving like what the present day government is doing.

Just t ...

Why IK removed Busia gives more insight to your worry.If you can find that out, your problem would be solved.Owing to that, I.K. did not kill for his administration as a military strong man.

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Kutu's achievements were impressive.

He was vilified because of the corruption that was rife in high places, the agitation for democracy in place of the military regime, and UNIGOV. He was seen as crude and of low intellig ...

• George Opoku-Agyemang 10 years ago

Gen IK Acheampong if you do developmental studies Gen I K is second to Dr Kwame Nkrumah he also form Academycals and black mateos very good and sensible article

• nii atuguba 10 years ago

We dont appreciate our own.....the unigov system of government might have been a solution to our poor governance over the years.Kutu never had a foreign account ,a true Ghanaian

Wasn't the same "mate me ho fo"United Party people who kicked against it? The stone that the builders rejected is now becoming the corner stone.
    Thank you Jayden Mokosco for bringing the MEMORIES of Gen.Kutu Acheampong to ou ...

Wasn't the same "mate me ho fo"United Party people who kicked against it? The stone that the builders rejected is now becoming the corner stone.
    Thank you Jayden Mokosco for bringing the MEMORIES of Gen.Kutu Acheampong to ou ...

• Bun 10 years ago

Who the he'll told you that, mr black man. At his trial he said he had only 13 cedis in his barclays a/c only to be exposed the following day by ghanaians who knew about money he had stuck at the world bank and the mansion he ...

Stop the lies. Kutu didn't have anything in his account. Nkrumah never owned any property in his name. Afrifa built road to his village and also a mansion. Busia also built road and estate houses in his village. K4-Hotel, hou ...

• Moses 10 years ago

Ofui you and your family are thieves of all time, aboa.

• Uncle B 10 years ago

Well done for setting the record straight. Future generations deserve truth, objectivity and balance in the coverage of our national history. Whatever else he did with public funds, he did not spend all seven years distrbutin ...

• VINCEY,NJ 10 years ago

Gen I.K. Acheampong was indeed a great leader best after Osagyefo to this day I presume. Had Osagyefo live a bit longer around that time the Gen. would have brought him back to his motherland.I don't believe he gave golf car ...

• dm_ele@yahoo.co.uk 10 years ago

Brilliant article, Jayden!
    I'll coomunicate with you via e-mail.
    Cheers... Frank.

• OGA yum yum 10 years ago

3che, oloye!!!!

• Abongo 10 years ago

You are a fool and don;t even know the right name of the man Acheampong. When he staged the coup, he was known as Ignatius Kuti Acheampong. You check things for your self.

• kwacuvi 10 years ago

You nailed it in the right way. JJ the criminal-nsawam cannery, star hotel,cocoa products,4 govt houses at ridge and other dubious businesses around the world is walking free. What jj has to his credit it ib indisciline whic ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Time will always tell,a good man was made to look evil and an evil man made to look good. We need to dissect that murderous rawlings and give him a fitting punishment. Even if Kutu's charge of liking women was true, compare t ...

• GIWA 10 years ago

KUTI ACHEAMPONG DIED NOT BECAUSE HE WAS BAD BUT A PLAN ORCHESTRATED BY THE AHOIS AND TSIKATAS, A HATRED AGAINST AKANS ESPECIALLY ASHANTIS.SO THEY FOUND THEIR BOAKYE GYAN FULL OF VENOM TOWARDS ASHANTIS BECAUSE OF HIS UNCLE AND ...

• ATO 10 years ago

WHAT BOGUS CRAP! I.K. AKYEAMPONG WAS OVERTHROWN IN A "PALACE COUP" BY MEMBER OF HIS OWN REGIME LED BY GENERAL AKUFFO, WHO WENT ON TO LEAD THE SMC NO. 2. ACHEAMPONG WAS ALLEGEDLY PLACED IN A SECLUDED HILL-TOP VILLA IN AKOSOMBO ...

• GIWA 10 years ago

JUST LISTING TO YOURSELF DID ACHEAMPONG DIED AT THE HANDS OF AKUFFO,FOLLOW BOAKYE GYAN AND JJ WHO IS THE BRAVEST TO JOURNALIST.

• Ato 10 years ago

your english is so deplorable, so i am not surprised that you did not comprehend what i wrote

• Kojo T 10 years ago

I supported Kutu but do not forget things had become so bad Kutu was removed by Akufo before JJ came

...and what did Rawlings leave Ghanaians?

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

I was an athlete an ran the national team in most of the games in Nigeria, the Ivory Coast, Senegal and Togo. Great Generals like Bob Kotei and George Yaw Boakye were sports enthusiast attended the games and presented medals ...

• DEMOCRAT-USA 10 years ago

EXCELLENT REPORT,BRO. PLEASE TELL US ABOUT KUFOUR'S LEGAcY,IF ANY.THANKS BRO.

• nico 10 years ago

If I had chance to save ONE of the executed generals, it would have been Gen. Acheampong. A true Ghanaian, patriot, the most detribalized asante man, and above all, one of the kindest leaders Ghana has ever seen. Gen. Acheamp ...

• GeeDee 10 years ago

Among other things I can still recall that it was during the era of Acheampong that Accra-Takoradi asphalt highway project was started. Also one cannot lose track of the iconic school buses and school "bone shakers" bearing t ...

• Hk 10 years ago

The current crop of politicians are more dangerous to ghana. They all siphon the nation coffer into their personal accounts.
    I want to believe that ghana is not poor as has been portrayed but it has been mismanaged by our so ...

• Samuel Osei-Tutu 10 years ago

It really shocks me to read that some people can give credit to Mr I. K. Acheampong after all the evil that he did to this nation Ghana. Don't get me wrong; I wish he were alive to see for himself how deep he and his cronies ...

• Concerned 10 years ago

Compare then to now and tell us about moral decay. You are just an idiot who has some personal vendetta against this fine man.Fuck off

• Pelicles 10 years ago

JJ the devil advocate, is the one who destroyed Ghana. His quack revolution erased the respect that we Ghanaians prides ourselves with and replaced it with disrespect which very obvious in our society. How many presidents ha ...

Acheampong himself never stole a penny.He was far better tnan those who gave him a bad name to hang him.How low can a nation sink with this present govt--dishing out millions to party cronies for no work done. List a single a ...

• T.T 10 years ago

Samuel Osei-Tutu, in all that long,winding ,useless submission have you been able to point at one specific demerits of the man you so hate.The history of this Country will be re-written and people like you will envy to death.

• Yaw 10 years ago

Mokosco, good article. In addition, Gen. Kutu built many Health Centers in the then Upper Regions: e.g.Duori health center Chiana health center among many. In his time Ghana exported rice. The Fumbisi valleys produced tons an ...

He did more in seven years than what it took his murderer J.J. Rawlings in eighteen years in office.Yet he is still being portrayed as a "do nothing" leader. One thing I still remember about him was under his regime FOODSTUFF ...

Rawlings is just a boor.

• Conventional Youth. 10 years ago

Clicked by Transparency international idicators. Ghana must be develope with with STEMICs again - Yabre with Trashed Book- Long Rhetorics

• yaw, USA 10 years ago

THESE ARE THE THINGS HE DID FOR MY HOMETOWN; A TEACHING HOSPITAL, ESTATE HOUSES, CLEAN PIPE BORNE WATER SUPPLY,ELECTRICITY, REGULAR SUPPLY OF TEACHING MATERIALS TO ALL THE SCHOOLS. I.K INDEED IS SECOND TO NONE OF ALL OUR PRES ...

• NSEMFOO AHI 10 years ago

GOOD WORK DONE BUT ACHEAMPONG DID HIMSELF MORE HARM THAN GOOD,FOR THE FACT THAT HE OVERTHREW KOFI BUSIA WHO WAS LIKED BY GHANAIANS AS A WHOLE.

Busia was never liked by Ghanaians so stop it. The only tribes that tolerated him were the Ashantis and Akyems. Not even the Brongs liked him. Busia has no place in our history.

• xx! 10 years ago

nsemfoo ahi, speak for yourself. I know I loathed Busia!

• Colegate 10 years ago

Kutu was faulted for so many things,but I agree with you that he did a lot too for this country.Corruption and other evils have not stopped to date even after he was killed to serve as a deterrent to others.The let the blood ...

• Me 10 years ago

I think most people get the idea wrong based on the reasons Kutu was killed. Some say it was because he was an Ashanti, some say because it was corruption whiles others believed he was killed because Rawlings feard him.

Bu ...

• Jt 10 years ago

Acheanpomg's operation feed ur selves brought Ghana to where we are today the killing of that man is a lost to Ghana. Now what we have is sikadiciuose leaders no vision. We loose visionaries day by day.

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Jayden, you have made my day indeed!

A lot of our people are only interested in the gutter politics of both the NDC and NPP, so much so that, they would never take time in looking into the realities of the 'true / real' le ...

Yes, the General had dedicated Commissioners in his cabinet who had the country at heart. One Commissioner I had the opportunity to work with at Ministry of Agriculture - Information and Publication Unit was late Col. Bernas ...

• Kwame - Ivy Attorney -San Diego 10 years ago

EXCELLENT PIECE, Jayden!! MY PARENTS AND MY SIBLINGS LEFT GHANA FOR THE US (Los Angeles, Cali) WHEN I WAS JUST STARTING HIGH SCH IN 1968, AT 12 YRS OLD. WE VISIT GHANA EVRY NOW AND THEN, AND THANK GOD MY PARENTS MADE THE MOVE ...

• Osei Assibey 10 years ago

I JUST WONDER WHY A MANIAC, THIEF AND A MURDERER LIKE RAWLINGS, ROAM THE STREETS OF ACCRA AND FOR THAT MATTER, GHANA, THINKING HE IS SOME TYPE OF A SPECIAL PERSON OR A HERO.

THE TRUTH IS, HIS TIME HASN'T COME YET. I ALWAY ...

• Pristin 10 years ago

Thank you the writer. You forgot the UST Medical School built by Gen. Acheampong in 1974. Good work.

Do not respond to any useless comment from these mentally retarded NDC commentators. The NDC came as a curse on Ghanaian ...

• Bfire 10 years ago

Sandema sec/tech was a masterpiece if you have the opportunity see the plan and the layout. The house you forgot name is not Ajenne but Limann house.

• Lee 10 years ago

Jayden, thank u so much for this piece, it is indeed an eye opener and is realy about time the Nation remember him in a way. .IK Acheapong indeed did his BEST for Ghana and deserves better. ENOUGH respect to him, i miss him ...

Lee, now people have to think that it doesn't take a University Degree to rule a nation. General Acheampong was just a Commercial College Student and his up bringing from a modest home prepared him to do a lot for his countr ...

• Steven 10 years ago

Our dear country called Ghana is Ghana respected because of great leaders of the calibre of Dr Kwame Nkrumah, General Kutu Acheampong and Mr. Agyekum Kuffuor The NDC just came to destroy the gains made by these gallant men ...

Steven, with all due respect.........
    please do not include Kuffour in comparing leaders of vision, that have ever 'SERVED' Ghana..........
    And Not SOLD Ghana! That is not what we are discussing here. Kuffour and his cronie ...

Do not forget so soon. Kufour gave us:
    1.Bui Dam
    2. Jubilee House
    3. Accra-Yamouransa Road,
    4. Accra-Sogagofe Road,
    5. Circle-Nsawam Road,
    6. Tetteh Quarshie - Aburi Road
    7. Tetteh Quashie - Mallam Road(Bush Motoway)

• kaketonti 10 years ago

FOOL. 25)K4 pocketed our money 26) PREZ NKRUMAH and others never crowned themselves with golden chains.27)K4 never gave credit to others.Finally he is a BIG THIEF

• misa musa 10 years ago

This is an article very well written. I must say it brings a lot of nostalgia, in that my elementary school which is called arrakan middle school is situated just about a hundred meters from acheampong's house. All I can say ...

• Nexium 10 years ago

The Kaneshie Market Complex and the Dansoman Estate housing were conceived and implemented way before the 1972 coup.

You have to verify with folks who were already living in the first batch of homes in Dansoman in the are ...

• Osei Assibey 10 years ago

I started my article by saying that, this son of our dear land, was just human trying to do what he thought was best for his people and country and shouldn't have died such a shameful death at the hands of John Jeremiah Rawl ...

• ANAFO GEORGE 10 years ago

OPERATION PRODUCE RICE

• ANAFO GEORGE 10 years ago

MY FADA I. K DID A LOT OPERATION PRODUCE RICE GHANA HAD RICE

• Kwasi 10 years ago

Good comments. The General deserves post humus honour and recognition.

• PAA FII 10 years ago

Very Sad indeed Jayden,that Kutu's name isn't mentioned at all in Ghana's developmental History but rather Atta-Mills's name is beign heightened as a hero and scarce resources are being spent to build a memorial for him at Co ...

• PAA FII 10 years ago

Just as Jesus Christ,Rawlings Crucified I.K and rebranded 'Kalabule' and today Rawlings and Wife and Children are fighting for Lands in Osu and living in Opulence.'Nyame ahunu Won'

• berto 10 years ago

Kutu was a true leader.No matter how you look at it.
    Greedy people destroyed him.
    He is the best after Kwame Nkrumah. Take it or leave it

• OTOYO 10 years ago

You know what? Ghanaians have short memory.They know what is happinnig today but forget it when another event happens in political cercle in the media We are expert in criticizing but lack memory Look how they are lionizing ...

• Efia Nsia 10 years ago

General Acheampong? He was the architect of all our problems. What did he do for Ghana apart from wasting Ghana money and empowering some stupid women. Hell!

Those women were business and enterprising women of society. If they were happened to be a members of your family tree, you would have appreciated Kutu Acheampong. How many women can a man takes at a time. Don't you think som ...

• KWABENA OHEMENG,LONDON. 10 years ago

Acheampong saved Ghana from re-colonization by overthrowing Busia and his NPP neo-colonialist government.He also mooted the union government concept which is far suitable for Africa than the imported western system of governm ...

Kwabena! Kudos to you! You couldn't have put it any better! Absolutely spot on! But please don't forget the (P)NDC and NDC governments are also included in manipulating our rich natural resources with the help of their neo-co ...

• larry 10 years ago

no true Ghanaian can dispute your findings and no true Ghanaian can forget what this man has done for his country.

• Paul Amuna 10 years ago

My own view is that Acheampong had good intentions but as you alluded to, his main problem was that he fell prey to the human ill of CORRUPTION!!! That was his own undoing.

It is true that during his reign, certain nonenti ...

The "Yentua" policy was not as a result of "squandered a lot of inward investment for laudable projects" by his government. The policy was about debt accumulated by his predecessors.

• Odonkoshie 10 years ago

Thanks for the compilation of these achievements.. He was a people's person. I'm (was) privileged to be married to one of her beautiful daughters; don't believe all the negative publicity, he was just a good man and loved hum ...

• Nexium 10 years ago

Rose, Janet or Doris?

• Taliban2 10 years ago

Janet and I love her

• km agyin 10 years ago

General I.K Acheampong truly deserves an honorable place in our history. Remember his coup was also bloodless. Though he was a soldier, he abhor bloodshed. He truly deserves a befitting monument.

• km agyin 10 years ago

The only times Ghana became self sufficient in food were Nkrumah and Kutu's times.

• NICHOLAS 10 years ago

It is certainly true that no man is perfect in this life and so is the late Gen. Kutu Acheampong. We may pretend that the man is the only worst thing to have ever happen to this country and for that matter vilify him as we li ...

• KOFFI 10 years ago

You are indeed ILLITERATE AP0NKYI. Acheampong never schooled Ghananians in "Kalabuleism" It is part of the depraved character in some Ghanaians which cuts across the Ghananian society that can be found in all political admini ...

• Kwame 10 years ago

This very week i was thinking about the whereabouts of those who directly benefited from the SMC so-called corruption. Is Ghana corrupt free? Do those who conspired to have those leaders shot deserve to live? Is Rawlings list ...

• Moses 10 years ago

Most of the time people are not appreciated when they are alive. Corruption and stealing have been a Ghanaian attitude for as long as time exists, but Acheampong was blamed for all ills afflicting Ghana. He did all his contri ...

I wish to congratulate the writer of this article for a job greatly done. To me I K Acheampong was one of the best leaders Ghana has ever had. Under Acheampong, national integration was practiced. He never looked at where a p ...

• kofi 10 years ago

I always knew IK was the best Ghana as ever had as a head of state,but this article has really open my eyes alot..thank you

• Kwadwo 10 years ago

Acheampong, Akuffo, Boakye. Afrifa, Felli, Utuka, Amedume and Kotei were mudered by thugs like Rawlings and Boakye Djan for their so called revolution. People cheered Rawlings on. When it was all said and done, Rawlings gave ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

I remember vividly the day they were killed. It was a gloomy day and the heavens told it all. We have not only gone full circle but spiraled down the pit.

• BK 10 years ago

I agree with the writer, I was in elementary school during his time. Operation Feed Yourself, Ghana goes metric. He did a lot and did not deserve to be shot. China, Singapore and Malaysia have achieved rapid growth without th ...

• Akunor 10 years ago

He that hides under the secret place of the most high shall abide under the ALMIGHTY.THANKS MUM.

• Ataankpa Apuma 10 years ago

Modosco, I appreciate your effort to place I K Acheampong in the proper prospective. However, you got some of your facts wrong. Backyard gardening was propounded by Dr Busia and the Teshie Nungua Estates project was not start ...

Despite his shortcomings,just like anybody else , his achievements surpass those who murdered him in their so called revolution with its fake probity and accountability mantra .

• Mr slow motion 10 years ago

Can anyone tell me where Doris is, or Danny. Were in Radiantway together. Doris remember we shared the same desk in class 6.

• ktettey 10 years ago

He provided street lights along some major streets in Accra

• Sankofa 10 years ago

It is very interesting how times change.

The positive sentiments expressed in this forum about Kutu make me smile. Certainly, there were no such views among students during his regime. 'A luta continua' was the order of th ...

• Kwaku Atta-krufi { Attakay} 10 years ago

Well written. Sad that Rawlings killed this man .Because of his magnanimity, and his strong respect for human life the Awonors still live. Never killed a living soul that attempted to kill, or overthrow his government. What a ...

• Omanbapa Osei Oyeadieyie 10 years ago

I had assumed the writer would be very correct and

Why did he forget to include that it was the same Akyeampong who introduced "fa wo to begye VW Golf". During IK's time any young woman who wanted VW Golf could sleep with ...

• TerriblY Spe cifiC 10 years ago

Omanbapa Osei Oyeadieyie, you are a jealous liar.One of those who fabricated enough lies to justify the killing of an innocent man. Give a dog a bad name and kill it. Would you compare what you are saying about Kutu to what i ...

• David Ofosu-Appiah 10 years ago

General Acheampong was not tried by a competent court of law,but a kangaroo court led by drug addicts who had been led loose in the name of AFRC.

• bossi 10 years ago

better than idiot jj

• Sankofa 10 years ago

Kutu also banned the export of logs of certain species in an effort to preserve our forest cover.

• ATOOSI 10 years ago

Ghanaians are very short-sighted and that is very sad. Kutu did a lot for Ghana and he is not remembered in anyway. Even Ghana does remember this Scottish bastard of a rawlings leaving industrous citizens like Kutu Acheampo ...

• Jt 10 years ago

I have three (3)heros on my list as truth Ghanaians who came to power and remembered all citizens of Ghana. And tried hard to make Ghana a place for generations.first Dr Kwame Nkrumah wildly called father of Africa.2nd Jj. Gr ...

• mr.op 10 years ago

jayden,wel done for ur great job,even if u did not had al correct,u ve dne ur part.thnx

• AKWOTOGA TAPENA 9 years ago

You have really opened the eyes of many like me. A way must be sought to make this known to every Ghanaian.

• Nene Matey 7 years ago

Good article by all standards and wonderful contributions by all. I'm a documentary filmmaker whose interested in preserving the legacy of IK Acheampong and the likes in history. I'm interested in recording those who were the ...

• Kofi Mossey 6 years ago

The idea of decentralizing development was also first introduced by the NRC of Acheampong when he created the 9 Regional development Corporations. The Catering Rest houses were under the management of the Regional Development ...