You are here: HomeOpinionsArticles2013 07 20Article 279923

Rwanda - Role Model for Ghana and Africa?

Read Comments Comments (41)

• Rocket 10 years ago

wo y3 Kurasini paaaaaa.... Just because you see a few nice building and some streets you call it a role model?? It is a shithole!!

• Floating Voter 10 years ago

Please Rocket it's not about few nice buildings but rather leaders with vision and zeal. You may not appreciate Rwanda's few nice buildings today but their future looks bright.

I have said it many times tht democrazy will not work in most of Africa at this time. Democracy works well in more developed societies unlike the types in Africa.

It will only create chaos like it is doing in India where ...

• Frimpong Manso Dakabre 10 years ago

Why instead of appreciating his statement, you rather insulting. yooo go ahead so you will be give big position in gov''t next week. Saaaaaaaaaaachwe.

• Kojo T 10 years ago

Thye cannot come up with innovation and they are ready to shoot down any positives. Tell rocket , shame on you

• kojo 10 years ago

dimwit fool, have you been to kigali before?

• Niero 10 years ago

Everything in Ghana now is basically Chinese Standard;
    Roads, houses, electrical cables, phones, clothes, and you name them.
    And we all know what that means.

• MUGU YARO 10 years ago

IS IT ALSO POSSIBLE THAT THEIR SUCCESS COMES FROM THE CIVIL WAR?

• Kawaanopaado 10 years ago

The bible in Proverbs says go to the ant and learn of his ways. Even the giant elephant can learn a thing or two from a duiker or a mouse. Complacency is what is killing us in Ghana. They say travel and see. We do not need za ...

• Asem Pa Asa 10 years ago

We don't need any dictator in Ghana. And by the way, you kept mentioning Lusaka. That's the capital of Zambia. And what has that city got to do with your Rwanda glorification?

• etonam 10 years ago

For me its simple ,the level of corruption is too much

Just too much to be controlled abai... hmmm

• Joe Canada 10 years ago

Pardon my poor grammar because I don't have your level of education. In your article, you said and I quote "because if a majority illiterate lead a well-educated minority, we tend to have chaos and very poor results." end of ...

Joe you are perfectly right. this well educated guys are lording themselves on the majority poor to always cheat on the nation. Let us try the Farmers who are more patriotic than the mouth bragging thieves.

Pardon my poor grammar because I don't have your level of education. In your article, you said and I quote "because if a majority illiterate lead a well-educated minority, we tend to have chaos and very poor results." end of ...

• USMAN 10 years ago

What you are saying is perfectly so.

• Agyeman. 10 years ago

Rwanda is a good illustration that gold,oil or cocoa are not the most essential ingredients for a take off.It is human resolve,disciplined approach and visionary leadership with clear targets.Unfortunately in Ghana what we h ...

Pardon my poor grammar because I don't have your level of education. In you article you said and I quote "because if a majority illiterate lead a well-educated minority, we tend to have chaos and very poor results." end of qu ...

• suzet 10 years ago

• USMAN 10 years ago

There is a story of a Nigerian lady who married an Israeli. The lady used to always pray thinking she is doing so to impress the husband but one day the husband told the lady she is just wasting her time because God has alrea ...

• CONCERN CITIZEN 10 years ago

GOOD ARTICLE. GHANA IS SHIT LEADERS WHO ARE CORRUPT EXCEPT JJ. BIG TALK BOOK LONG GHANAIAN BUT IN PRACTICE KNOW FUCK ALL.

• USMAN 10 years ago

Remember JJ is not a university graduate. If JJ had been a university graduate like Atta Mills, the corruption under him would have been gargantuan not withstanding his long reign. You can now see that our useless university ...

• Arrma 10 years ago

Ghana sure has soemthing to learn from Rwanda but all my watch a video on youtube called 'The Rwanda model: cross talk' or watch a movie called 'Rwanda gambit' to see the price to be paid. Will Ghanaians pay that price? The K ...

• Kwesi Atta sakyi 10 years ago

We need leaders woth vision.

In fact its a master piece.

• Zackus 10 years ago

Yes Presidents,MPs, ministers , DCE's all should tour Rwanda and see how they are wasting Ghana's resources. I participated in Ghana's census last 3 years and i wish these politicians had moved from house to house counting pe ...

• GREAT NANA ANTWI 10 years ago

ARE YOU IN NEED OF A FAST POWERFULL SPIRITUALIST?THEN GOOGLE OR GO TO greatnanapowerfullspiritualist.blogspot com

• Paa Kwesi Mintah 10 years ago

Cousin,

This is one of your better articles loaded with facts instead of listology and vain quotation from textbook authors.

One of the things that you often overlook is the role "common sense" play in planned developme ...

The only common sense lacking in Ghana is the ability to rise to the occasion and forget about self and vainglory and pander to the sommum bonom/ pro bono publicio or Stuart Mills greater good for the greater number. Ghanaian ...

You are my God- appointed adversary and antagonist who always provokes the issue to enervate churning of new ideas and thinking in n-dimensions. It takes great effort to make a serious and thoughtful rejoinder and you are one ...

• Agyeman. 10 years ago

You're diminishing the "Rwandan model" of success to mere sanitation.They're much more- their FDI is up,their high economic growth is not pinned on commodities,they're building one of the most successful airlines,their parlia ...

Greetings Cousin.

• Salome Rwiliriza 10 years ago

Congratulations Kwesi! This is a wonderful article with deep insights. As a Rwandan who has just come back home after 30 years of forced absence, I cannot stop marveling at what I see! Discipline, hard work,people-centered la ...

Welcome Madam Salome! Put it in as many sites as you want. We want to celebrate the good story coming out of Africa.

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

Well, well, I was contemplating writing another article - following the two part series on the Tutsi-Hutu conflicts - touching on Rwanda but this time on their visa policy. That was when I read about their no visa required t ...

• koo frank 10 years ago

what do you expect from this nation full of bribery nd corruption everywhere u go. unless we stop this evil practises in our country we will always labour in vain. what a shame to us all. we cannot go to ghana from europe wit ...

• Kwesi 10 years ago

Prayer for your country and stop wishing it bad. You are stay outside the country that is why you think negatively but remember your relations are in Ghana. If Ghana experiences the Rwandan experience you think you are safe? ...

• Puskas 9 years ago

kwesi,you are just too much

• Puskas 9 years ago

Long live kwesi.your articles always make my day.