You are here: HomeWallOpinionsArticles2018 11 02Article 697505

General News of Friday, 2 November 2018


UTAG blames government for delaying inauguration of new KNUST Council

The University Teachers Association of Ghana (UTAG) has blamed government for delaying the inauguration of a new council for the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology (KNUST).

According to UTAG, it has gathered that government was not happy with the fact that all the unions who have representation on the university council have decided to maintain their representatives with the explanation that they were elected to serve a fixed term and cannot be changed until their various terms in office were over.

The KNUST Council is made up of 15 members of four government representatives, the Vice Chancellor and 10 institutional representation.

This is the membership of the old council:

The four (4) government representatives are

- Prof Emeritus Kwame Sarpong, Chairman Govt rep
- Dr O.K. Kankam Govt rep
- Dr C.K. Boadu Govt rep
- Mrs Abena Antwi Govt rep
- Others (11)

- Vice Chancellor - Prof Kwasi Obiri Danso - Vice Chancellor
- Convocation (Professorial) - Prof J Ayarkwa
- Convocation (Non professorial) - Dr I. Dadzie
- NCTE (National Council for Tertiary Education) -Dr E. Baffoe Bonnie
- UTAG (University Teachers Association of Ghana) - Prof E.K. Fokuo
- Alumni - Ms Eunice Akosua Amoako
- CHASS - Conference of Heads of Assisted Senior High Schools - Alhaji Y.A.B. Abbubakar
- TEWU - Tertiary and Education Workers Union - Mr Charles Arthur
- GRASSAG - Graduate Students Association of Ghana - Mr A. Poku-Adu
- SRC - Students Representative Council - Kevin Sah
- Registrar [Secretary to the Council] - A.K. Boateng

The new council was expected to be inaugurated Friday morning but as of late afternoon, there was no show.