You are here: HomeEntertainment2017 07 24Article 562095

My father deserves a State Burial – First son of Paapa Yankson

Read Comments Comments (28)

• Nanah Qufih 6 years ago

His music was worth listening to; he played very good music & his songs were educative as well.

Let's also not 4get that he was equally paid for the events he went to.

What has this got to do with state funeral?? You sh ...

• amuzu 6 years ago

Why not, even someone who worked at BBC was given a state funeral, Papaas' music, songs and life as married man all these years and time says a lot about him.

• legon gal 6 years ago

foolish sayings. then very soon when shatta wale, sarkodie .. etc dies, they'll soon be asking for state burial. even with that is he guaranteed to heaven. take the man to awudome cemetery

• Deep Thinker 6 years ago

Yes he did a lot of good music which were filled with wisdom.He made a name for himself and also was rewarded with a good fortune.State burial for him??I don't think so!
    Go find money to make your Dad's funeral and in ...

• amuzu 6 years ago

OOO YEA, BECAUSE HE IS NOT BLUE BLOOD LIKE THE BBC GUY.DO YOU SEE THE PATH NDC HAVE LAID

• TECH TRENDS 6 years ago

A smart way to begin making money or a career is to;

- have a face professionally and skills-wise;
    - provide real solutions, not what you read in school or have a paper certificate for;
    - meet quality clientele
    - earn ...

• kay 6 years ago

For wat reason, there is no need for that , he made his own money for his family,the family needs to bury him not de state

• cee 6 years ago

y were u praying to God for ur father to die so u get a sate burial for him and u get money from it anaa

• Ab 6 years ago

State can't be putting the expenses for funerals. Families responsibilities and State can help if appropriate.

• Noah Harrison 6 years ago

State burial for where???,massa Ghanaians have better things to do.He was making money into his own pocket

• 3dem 6 years ago

So does my dad, my dear.

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 6 years ago

Yes, your father was popular from his music career but that was his personal livelihood and nothing special as far as Ghana is concerned! After all, did he invent the Hi-life music or did he win any special international awar ...

• kk 6 years ago

didn't your father sold the songs for money? was the songs sang for the nation or for his personal commercial purpose? or was the income coming from the sale of his music going into the consolidated fund of government? the de ...

• Friend of Guy Warren 6 years ago

He might not have earned a state funeral,but at least he deserves a street to be named after him.

• Kweku 6 years ago

Why do we have to name a street after him? He made his money for himself and his family? Were his CDs for free?

• James 6 years ago

May his soul rest in peace. But please why are so many people asking for state burial for there died? When did this start in GH? Please no one will give you a penny go and look for your own money. Enough of this greediness. T ...

• FLINTSTONE 6 years ago

WHAT IS THE CRITERIA FOR A STATE BURIAL AND THE NAMING OF MONUMENTS, STREETS AND PUBLIC PLACES AFTER THE DEAD?
    EVERY NOW AND THEN THERE IS A CLAMOUR FROM SOME FAMILY FOR THEIR DECEASED, CAN THE CRITERIA BE PUBLISED AND PUT P ...

• Naomi 6 years ago

In Ghana the practice of state burials has been so cheapened that every tom, dick & harry wants to be given one! Why should the state be responsible for funerals and burials of private citizens?

• XYZ 6 years ago

GIVE REASONS...

• Jeans 6 years ago

Very soon Muscians..filmstars..comedians will all be given state burials...teachers,doctors and nurses, etc don't qualify

• Sea never dry 6 years ago

If you can't give your late father a befitting burial please seek for financial assistance from friends and love ones and stop your stupidity, if care is not taking, the person who sew president's Africa Wear attire will be g ...

• Nananua Cophy Atta Krufi 6 years ago

You are perfectly right Silas. This legend has left a good legacy for we the young once to follow. There's no day pass by that l don't

• Citizen 6 years ago

Mr first son of Paapa Yankson please please please stop disgracing yourself. If you don't have money please go and borrow same to bury your father from the nearest rural bank or microfinance company or a money lender in your ...

• Henry 6 years ago

Give him one as a son, its your responsibility.

• CAPTAIN DAVID 6 years ago

Ohh!! Silas sorry ooo my condolence please take Heart see you when i come back from naija please take care

• cort 6 years ago

Enough of state burials and let's start thinking of the living poor in our beleaguered society

• kofi 6 years ago

instead of his son to request for to enhance the upliftment of the children he is requesting for state burial,after that what next.

• Kofi 6 years ago

A big joke