You are here: HomeEntertainment2015 10 02Article 385356

Relationship: Ghanaian women rejecting men with ‘scary’ names

Read Comments Comments (73)

• karma53 8 years ago

After my wedding everyone called me Mrs Gbagbladza till one of my cool friends started calling me Mrs G. I couldn't be more pleased.

• Mahama kotiboto 8 years ago

Better marry from your tribe!!!

• Nice Looks 8 years ago

Mrs. G, you've made my day. I'm with you

• Simple 8 years ago

AND THAT'S A SAD FACT. LIKE IT OR NOT.

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

My cousin married and became Mrs PUPULAMPU

• KGee 8 years ago

Please call her Mrs. P

• Nice Looks 8 years ago

You hit the nail right at it's head. Lol

• Joe PUPULAMPU Ada 8 years ago

So what is wrong with this nice name?

• KORTITSE 8 years ago

masre saa

• Simple 8 years ago

MICHELLE ROBINSON OPENLY AND PROUDLY ADOPTED ONLY MRS. OBAMA PURELY FOR THE FAME AND CONVENIENCE THAT COMES WITH THE NAME OF THE FIRST EVER BLACK PRESIDENT OF THE GREATEST NATION ON PLANET EARTH - THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ...

• KGHYUT 8 years ago

Get some education!

• BOOMERANG 8 years ago

Karma53, after my wedding everyone called me Mrs BAT SHIT till one of my cool friends started calling me Mrs BULL SHIT.

Today I'm the happiest woman in BAT-SHIT KROM, also known as KILL-SOMEBODY CITY.

• EVIL DWARF FROM KYEBI 8 years ago

What's wrong with my name ******? It means many things, including "shit", "near the wall", etc. What about Agbottah (Ram's head), Koklokpor (Hen Coop), Edulawoli (The consumer's are abound). We Ewes are in serious trouble now ...

• Nice Looks 8 years ago

Akahoho, Kesekuku, Ahiagbedey, Kugblenu, Teflewu, Anyiglatey, Kw3kuahi3, Agbedafu, Kportophie, Vorwutor, Ayibonte, Am3tap3, . By the way, some akans and northerners too dey paaaa ooooo. Lol

• MINOR CASE 8 years ago

You forgot MR Savage , Mr Coffin and Nutifafa Kuhianhia

• KGHYUT 8 years ago

Funny!

• Shatta_uckurModa 8 years ago

Is that why you are changing your names to Percy, Dawson, Williams, etc, etc with those your thick accents? Stick with your names because whether you change them or not, it would be found out and those who want to stay will s ...

• Nice Looks 8 years ago

I agree with the ladies. Imagine you have your last name as "Wilson" then a guy comes with something that can't be pronounced like "Atiglinyi" then Peggy Wilson becomes Peggy Atiglinyi. What a hell? I'd rather have the ladies ...

• ROMANO 8 years ago

U FORGOT NAMES LIKE ADEKUNLE , OLOPADE , LAWAL , FOLONSHO , TUNDE , OBASANJO , GYIMA - LASISI ETC . IN AS MUCH AS NIGERIAN MEN ARE UGLY AND SHORT THIS IS ANOTHER REASON WHY MOST EDUCATED NIGERIAN WOMEN DON'T LIKE TO MARRY THE ...

• HIS HOLINESS ACH BISH OGOGLO QUARTER! 8 years ago

MS OKORO IS NOT TAKING MY CALLS THESE DAYS,,AFTER ALL SHE'S OKORO AND I'M OGOGLO QUARTER

• ROMANO 8 years ago

MS OKORO SAYS SHE NO DEY DIG DOMEABRA PASTORS . HOW MANY TIMES DO U WANT HER TO TELL ? SHE BE CITY CHICK NOT VILLAGE CHICK . MAYBE IF U MOVE UR CHURCH TO ACCRA SHE MIGHT START PICKING UR CALLS . PLEASE DON'T MOVE UR CHURCH CO ...

• Kofi G 8 years ago

Nice look, you've made my day, can't stop laughing, eeiiiiiiiiiiiiii Asem paaaooo, hahahaha

• Shankiki Network 8 years ago

Ladies forgotten dat they have an expiring date and its only men who can approach them for marriage proposals. And if he is de one destined for u and u turn him down for his name, u are doomed forever. Never blame witches, no ...

• tofia man 8 years ago

Some of the women will turn 49 and they will never get anyone to marry then. what is that for. my surm name is Helevi so what is wrong with it if you are call Mrs. Helevi.

• normal 8 years ago

haha n u think helevi is a nice name??? indeed u stupid ewes hv scary names. yes I mean scary

• What is in a name? 8 years ago

To paraphrase Shakespeare-- What is in a name? A rose will smell equally as sweet, even if called by any other name. A woman who will reject a man because of his name misses the essence of a loving relationship and is proba ...

• Simple 8 years ago

THE NAME OF A PERSON MATTERS A LOT IN LIFE'S PROGRESS INTERNATIONALLY, PARTICULARLY THEIR LAST NAMES.

I AM A LIVING EXAMPLE OF THAT.

EVER HEARD THE ADAGE "A GOOD NAME IS BETTER THAN RICHES"?

THE WORD "GOOD" HERE IS ...

• Simple 8 years ago

MICHELLE OPENLY AND PROUDLY ADOPTED ONLY OBAMA PURELY FOR THE FAME AND CONVENIENCE THAT COMES WITH THE NAME OF THE FIRST EVER BLACK PRESIDENT OF THE GREATEST NATION ON PLANET EARTH - THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

• Tony 8 years ago

That's why they keep on going to PASTORS for marriage prophecy

• General Hayford 8 years ago

Ghanaian relationship kills mi lions people

• PRINCEWILLY@YMAIL.COM 8 years ago

Tonto is a buisnessman who gets on a flight.

He is seated next to a gourgeous woman names Jean. Jean is reading a book called Sexual Activi-Activities and...Statistics.

The two exchanged greetings and he tells her what ...

• kk 8 years ago

this is Gabbage, no wonder they woll always be in church looking for deliverance , who cares now a days,this African crap will always make us poor, what about the white girls who come to Ghana and follow the common guys aroun ...

• Yaba Akuwa 8 years ago

I'm surprised we're losing what makes us who we truly are as Africans or Ghanaians in particular.

We pride ourselves with foreign names,yet we claim we are independent from slavery. If you are truly in love, this excuse d ...

• Resilient Counsellor 8 years ago

Because of Pride many will perish and woe unto those involved.
    What does Today's women want in a Name and not all the above names mentioned are Recognize in Heaven. There's going to be a new Registor of Names and those name ...

• Shankiki Network 8 years ago

Simple, u get it wrong de meaning of de adage "Good name is better than riches " its doesnt mean de understanding of de "name " . what it means is dat how well u lived your life is more appreciated, respected and accepted by ...

• hussler -one 8 years ago

when some beautiful white girl waiting for my love, these ugly hard skin Ghanaian girls say what?

• makaamaka 8 years ago

White women age badly so beware

• makaamaka 8 years ago

• Yendi 8 years ago

Lol, based on your use of profanities and lack of class I would say you are not worthy of a Ghanaian woman. "Ugly hard skin" what in the world is hard skin? Lol, not only do you lack class, you're also obviously uneducated. I ...

• solos 8 years ago

hey whether it is agarinyanya or agariyoyo as someone would say,'all are is a names'.... cope with it ladies.

• Big Mama 8 years ago

There's no where in the Bible that says that when a woman get married, she should take her husband's surname, again it doesn't change anything if the woman keeps her maiden name, legally too it doesn't change anything if you ...

• Village Food 8 years ago

Big Mama and there is also nothing marriage certificate in the bible,it's only divorce certificate that is in the bible.

• faith villains 8 years ago

To love is not in love.There is difference. We love our families, meaning no matter what, we cannot shun them. We are in love with our conjugal partners, that can be broken. The bible calls that lust of the flesh. Married sho ...

• Nana Bawuah 8 years ago

"but in Ghana, assuming your husband’s name is an old known tradition. "

Absolute Nonesense! As for the Akan it is even a taboo for a woman to drop her name. It is only in recent years that some pwomen have adopted the ...

• k, no problem, a 8 years ago

Bawuah, you are right. Even these days our traditional marriages are not given equal weight. Listen to the ladies . They refer to it as engagement. We have meekly accepted that. Unfortunately we as people only adopt western t ...

Yes, thats also nonesense to refer to a customary marriage as engagement. As for me I only had a customary marriage. Me and my do also not bear the same name neither does our mother, grandmother, aunts etc bear their husbands ...

Yes, thats also nonesense to refer to a customary marriage as engagement. As for me I only had a customary marriage. Me and my wife do also not bear the same name neither does our mother, grandmother, aunts etc bear their hus ...

• k, no problem, a 8 years ago

That is why honestly I am not particular about where my son marries from because he will give out my name and my grandchildren will bear the family name. On tge other hand I am concerned obout where my daughter marries from. ...

• Joel MacCutchen 8 years ago

No wonder I am not getting a date with my name

• Yaw 8 years ago

Trivial and funny. A rose will still be a rose no matter whatever name you give it.

• Asakruga Paul 8 years ago

This discovery is very good.women refusing to accept the marriage proposal because of name is funny and it still not proving that we are on modern times and promoting tribalism in marriage ????.I was born in south and I am d ...

• Gabriel 8 years ago

This is absolute stupidity on the part of Ghanian women to say a thing like that when a large number of them are looking for husbands and they can not get them

• Mojo 8 years ago

Name means nothing

• Jay Smith 8 years ago

seriously??? Surname before some kind ah girl accepts to be with me. its sick.. Sweet n sexy name doesn't matters in a relationship but rather how cool n happy you guys wud be. A situation where a Guy has a sweet name and he ...

• Jac Timi 8 years ago

How about Mrs. Agbangbalu, Agblevor, Gyagadu and Apotowowamu ?

• Ataa Kanfla? 8 years ago

What about Mrs. Obaaje-afu.

• swapo 8 years ago

We Ewes are proud of our names. More so our names has a meaning

• Ruth Essuman 8 years ago

U re funny how did dey come, together

• Alby 8 years ago

That is bullshit.No wonder i decided not to marry a Ghanaian lady.Let them enjoy their nice maiden names and blame witches as their menopause looms

• KGHYUT 8 years ago

Not one of the women is called Akua or Yaa! Who said "but in Ghana, assuming your husband’s name is an old known tradition." Stupid people! Ask your grandma and she would tell you that it is the Euro-Christian culture which ...

• KGee 8 years ago

Oooh OK! My surname is Ziminipoi Zaminapoi. Thats why the women are avoiding me....oh my God.

• Victor A. Young 8 years ago

So does it mean that when these ladies are going to ask for their husbands not to name their new-born sons after themselves or original family or traditional family?

• ag watson 8 years ago

Those ladies should rather ask for the meaning of names they don't want to bear as mrs. They should also learn how to pronounce such names well. It will do them more good. Ewe names has very good meanings and don't see any pr ...

• Dogg 8 years ago

Ghanaweb, this article wasn't written for the African or Ghanaian culture. Stop the copy and paste.

• kkb 8 years ago

let them keep it up they would surely stay single unmarried till their hundreds fools. too know my Ghanaian women

• ESORNEP MAILLIW 8 years ago

IF THATS THE I CRIMINAL FOR MARRIAGE, THEN THE WILL REMAIN LONELY SINGLES FOREVER. WHAT OH THE FOREVER ( Chinese Japanese Nigerians etc) will they reject DONALD TRUMP .
    Women you are not serious and you don't know what you ...

• ESORNEP MAILLIW 8 years ago

IF THATS THE I CRIMINAL FOR MARRIAGE, THEN THE WILL REMAIN LONELY SINGLES FOREVER. WHAT OH THE FOREVER ( Chinese Japanese Nigerians etc) will they reject DONALD TRUMP .
    Women you are not serious and you don't know what you ...

• HAWA YAKUBU 8 years ago

WOMEN SHOULD KEEP THEIR SURNAMES DURING MARRIAGE

• Bibini Kwasia 8 years ago

This is the dumbest shit I've ever read.

• Boye 8 years ago

Useless survey. It is simply not true. Ladies in love don't really care about names

• Boye 8 years ago

Onlly unmarriable ladies find excuses not to marry.

• TheRrealTruth 8 years ago

Many women do reject us good men when we do propose which has happened to me twice already, and i guess they really want a guy who is rich which it is very sad. What Losers that women have become over the years.