You are here: HomeEntertainment2015 05 18Article 358588

I will teach my children how to speak Twi — Kofi Filippo

Read Comments Comments (45)

• Maame Drowaa 8 years ago

I am glad to hear this from a person who is not from Ghana. It is a shame some Ghanaians do not like speaking their local language to their children, and they feel happy and proud when speaking English to them.

• anokwale 8 years ago

1. Ghanaians abroad are a relatively small population so the children do not have anyone to speak to at school.
    2. Children develop their vocabulary speaking to other children. Parent-Child discussion is quite limited.

• Ras gyimah 8 years ago

Instead of admitting ur fault ur thinking about excuses

• MAN 8 years ago

YOUR HOME IS WHERE YOU MAKE IT. ADAPT OR STAY POOR. EVER WONDER WHY WHITES SUCCEED? LANGUAGES ARE MADE THEY ARE CREATED BY GOD. IF YOU WANT TO SPEAK TWI GO BACK TO GHANA.

• jazz 8 years ago

What excuses? you teach your own children in ghana how to speak english rather than twi right? These kids spend greater part of time with their peers at school whilst parents are at work. Is nobody's fault..even kids born in ...

• Kwaw Mensah 8 years ago

If you look down on your own language, nobody will respect you. Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery.

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London! 8 years ago

If Ghanaians are civilized how could they let illiterates to rule over them. If you go to Parliament House in Ghana many MP's have been there and because they do not know how to speak English they never ever opened their mout ...

• Nati Bongo 8 years ago

Hmm, Omanba Pa, are you okay mentally? Your premise, especially your first sentence shows you're not.

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 8 years ago

If you had any dignity as a Ghanaian.you will teach your children how to speak, write and communicate in your local dialect. Every region must invest in this and make it mandatory for school kids to learn their native languag ...

• KEN 8 years ago

IT IS A SHAME THAT A WHITE MAN HAS GOT YOU ALL DEBATING WHAT IS YOUR PATRIOTIC DUTY TO TEACH YOUR CHILDREN .I AM NOT A GHANAIAN BUT I AM BUSY LEARNING THE TWI LANGUAGE .THERE ARE NO SLAVEMASTER TO STOP YOU SPEAKING ANY LANGUA ...

• MAN 8 years ago

DO YOU EVER WONDER THAT GHANA ALONE HAS MORE THAN 40 LANGUAGES?

• ONYAME NIPA(Man Of God)USA 8 years ago

GET TO ONYAME NIPA

• DANSO 8 years ago

Twi speaking and reading in school was not punishable in the government school. It was rather those who started the private school who did not encourage the teaching and speaking of the local language and yes the students wer ...

• GBEWAA 8 years ago

INDIAN AND CHINESE CHIDREN BORN AND EDUCATED IN THE WEST GROW UP SPEAKING IN THEIR MOTHER TONGUE,

MOST AFRICAN CHILDREN BORN AND EDUCATED IN THE WEST HATE TO SPEAK AFRICAN LANGUAGES LET ALONE THEIR MOTHER TONGUE.

INFAC ...

• Bill Cosby!! 8 years ago

Italy is the best place I have realised Ghanian parents teach their children how to speak twi!!No wonder koffi Filipppo is an Italian!

• kwasi aponkye 8 years ago

My daughter Abena Apomah..
    CaNnot speak my own language. .
    .AWURA DE MADI NKWASIASEM ..

• Ato Kwamena KTP 8 years ago

Menua, w'adi nkwasias3m paa!

• Dr. Kwame Nkrumah 8 years ago

Agya wadi mmoas3m.

• Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go! 8 years ago

Slaves were forbidden to speak their native language,.vote or go to school. This isnfact..so how can you consider yourself free and emancipated but can't read,.write or speak in your native dialect?

• Yaw Berko 8 years ago

Mr Saint Ghfuo: Nyantakyi must go!, do please note that Ghanaian languages are NOT DIALECTS ! It is the Whiteman who calls them dialects to show that his language is superior to ours? So please if you respect Ga, Twi, Ewe, Nz ...

Our people see our own language as inferior and therefore ban school children from even speaking it among themselves. It's a pity. Psychologically, most Ghanaians are servants to the white man, and it's a shame they want to r ...

• amanda, ksi 8 years ago

You should have written all you said in your language shut the fuck up you sound annoying. Stop wearing European clothes and wear 3tam stupid fool

• Son Of Man 8 years ago

A very good response to a stupid, myopic statement.

• SENDERO 8 years ago

Dear Amanda you response is so sad. Nowhere has it been said that English (or any other foreign language) is bad and should not be spoken. The essence of what is being said is that native language is good. I am an Akan but I ...

• Kofi B 8 years ago

Hahahaaaa...... Soso big mouth girl

• Kofi B 8 years ago

Hahahaaaa...... Soso big mouth girl refuses to learn coss old habits die hard

• hard work kutani 8 years ago

Amanda or whatever u called yourself.u such a dumb person. Who should shut the fuck up? U better learn how to talk on public platform. siasem akwakwa

• hard work kutani 8 years ago

Long live Ghana, long live local language

• MAN 8 years ago

ITALIANS, JEWS, ARABS ALL COME TO AMERICA AND ADAPT OR BE AN OUTSIDER. YOUR CHILDREN WILL DIE IN THE US AND THEIR CHILDREN WILL NEVER GO BACK TO THE GHANA. LET THEM LEARN THE LOCAL LANGUAGE WELL AND SUCCED IN THEIR ADOPTED CO ...

• kk Italy 8 years ago

After so many yrs stying in Italy Pappy Kojo came bak widaut 4geting his taadi fante#gh_living _in_Italy_be_d_realer_no

• Ama 8 years ago

So sad that Ghanaians don't even teach their children their own language. and the school forbid them from speaking their own languages in school. No wonder Ghana is still so backwards! You don't see Koreans, Brazilians or eve ...

hmm... read The Blinkards. confused people

• cute shay 8 years ago

I love that book. Surely a must read

• amanda, ksi 8 years ago

He knows Ghanaians are stupid and gullible you can play them like puppets. He added that you fools should come pay and see him after the ghana language gibberish and see fools talking about Ghanaians look down on their langua ...

• Fati 8 years ago

The fact is that we are ashamed to speak our language with our children and it's a shame. Leave the boy alone. He hasn't asked for your money.

• Gaituah 8 years ago

I'll rather pay to see Kofi Filippo, than watch all these too known abr)fos3m Ghanaians. This young boy is promoting our country positively more than we ourselves yet som too known people want to talk nonsense about him. Jeal ...

• KB 8 years ago

If your wife is Ghanaian, yes you can do it easily; if your wife is foreign, I will take off my hats for you and sing your praises if you can successfully teach it to them so they can speak it, maintain and retain it. Yes if ...

• Abongo 8 years ago

Hahahaha is this news Ghanaweb

• kwaku kempton park 8 years ago

truly speaking english is first language at schools in english speaking countries and mother tongue in ghana schools must be compolsary not only asante and few ones

• Kofi Kanawu 8 years ago

The guy is really saying the truth. it's very shameful here in the USA, a good number of Ghanaian children are not taught their mother tongue by their own parent.we shouldn't be afraid to do so. why should one learn a foreign ...

• Pope Chrisjon 8 years ago

kofi Filipo not just another comedian?
    He see himself as italian but the italians see him as just another bofoon who want to pass as italian.

• Ras gyimah 8 years ago

you call yourself pope chrisjon...but where do come from? and who is more stupid than you? kwasia bi.

• baako da realler no 8 years ago

i know an elderly woman who complained to his son that she could not talk with his children because they didn't understand the local language only english..so she died without having been able to have any meaningful conversat ...

• MAN 8 years ago

WHAT A CONFUSED PEOPLE WE ARE.

• stella Yeboah 8 years ago

KOFI am proud of u the spirit of mother Ghana be with u congrats kofi