• Movie Schedules

Entertainment of Monday, 17 July 2017

Source: Myjoyonline.com

Sonnie Badu gets 5 nominations at 2017 Ghana Music Awards UK

UK-based Ghanaian gospel musician Sonnie Badu has received five nominations at this year’s Ghana Music Awards UK.

He was part of a list of 33 categories for the second edition of the awards released by Alordia Promotions, organisers of the awards.

Sonnie Badu received nominations in the ‘Gospel Song of the Year’, ‘Gospel Song of the Year’, ‘Gospel Artiste of the Year’, ‘UK Based Gospel Song of the Year’, ‘UK Based Gospel Album of the Year’, and ‘UK Based Gospel Artiste of the Year’ categories.

The nominations are for his hit song, ‘My Soul Says Yes’ and highly successful album, ‘Soundz of Afrika’. When contacted for a comment, Sonnie Badu simply told Myjoyonline.com that, “I am humbled by the nominations.” This year’s Ghana Music Awards UK calendar year is based on the period of April 2016 to April 2017 and organisers explained in a statement that a lot of Ghanaian musicians, labels and management teams submitted their works for this year’s awards. The Ghana Music Awards UK shines the spotlight on the best Ghanaian musicians and songs that have excelled in Ghana and the UK. Mr Alordia, CEO of Alordia Promotions said in a statement that, “It is an incredible achievement to be selected among the best from the 1,265 entries we received this year. Congratulations to all the nominees.” The plaques for this year’s awards will be presented to the winners on Saturday, September 16, 2017 at the Gaumont Palace (Dominion Centre) in London. This year, the ‘Artiste of the Year’ category will be hotly contested by Shatta Wale, Kofi Kinaata, Sarkodie, EL and Stonebwoy. Shatta Wale won that award at last year’s event.

Full list of nominees: African Artiste of the Year Runtown Tekno Wizkid Mr. Eazi Eddy Kenzo

Gospel Song of the Year Yewo Nyame A Yewo Adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku Jr Change Over – Mary Agyemang Mewo Jesus – Mabel Okyere My Soul says Yes – Sonnie Badu Healing Stream – Jeshrun Okyere ft. Nathaniel Bassey Agye Wo Nsem – Piesie Esther

Gospel Artiste of the Year Joe Mettle Mabel Okyere Piesie Esther Nacee Sonnie Badu Jeshrun Okyere

New Artiste of the Year King Promise Medikal Adina Ebony Dem Tinz

Best Music Video of the Year Yewo Nyame A Yewo Adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku Jr Booze N Boobs – Guru ft. Roll Pain Killer – Sarkodie ft. Runtown Rapping Drums – Flowking Stone Nyedzilo – Edem ft Reekado Banks One Thing – Stonebwoy ft. Damaris

Best Group of the Year VVIP R2Bees Dobble

Best Rapper of the Year EL Guru Pope Skinny M.anifest Yaa Pono Flowking Stone Sarkodie Medikal

Hiplife Song of the Year Samba – Guru ft. Singlet Club – Donzy ft. Sarkodie Raw – Guru Borkor Die – Criss Waddle RNS (Rich Nigga Sh*t) – Sarkodie

Highlife Song of the Year Enko Den – Daddy Lumba Frema – Nero X Gwe – Bisa Kdei Confessions – Kofi Kinaata Beshiwo – Becca Christy – Dobble Brown Sugar – Kumi Guitar Guy Guy – Nana Qwame

Highlife Artiste of the Year Kumi Guitar Bisa Kdei Becca Kofi Kinaata Nero X

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year People Dey – Stonebwoy Prove Them Wrong – Shatta Wale Yonnah – Samini ft. Luther Nwansina – Ras Kuuku ft. Luther Poison – Ebony Pain Them – Rudebwoy Ranking

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year Stonebwoy Ras Kuuku Samini Ebony Shatta Wale Rudebwoy Ranking

Best Collaboration of the Year Forever – Eazzy ft. Mr. Eazi Yewo Nyame A Yewo Adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku Onaapo – Nacee ft. Dee Aja Confirm RMX – Medikal ft. Sarkodie Taking Over – Shatta Wale ft. Militants

My Baby – Magnom ft. Joey B

Poison – Ebony ft. Gatdoe

Pain Killer – Sarkodie ft. Runtown

Beshiwo – Becca ft. Bisa Kdei

Artiste of the Year

Shatta Wale

Kofi Kinaata




Song of the Year

Taking Over – Shatta Wale ft. Militants

Confessions – Kofi Kinaata

Christy – Dobble

Time Aso – Sidney

Onaapo – Nacee ft. Dee Aja

Hiplife/Hip-Pop Artiste of the Year

Criss Waddle



Flowking Stone




Hip-Hop Song of the Year

God MC – M.anifest

Trumpet – Sarkodie ft. Tee Flow, Medikal, Strongman, Koo Ntakra, Donzy & Pappy Kojo

Lalafalama – EL

Confirm RMX – Medikal ft. Sarkodie

Tension – Okyeame Kwame ft. Cabum, Medikal & Sister Deborah

Gold – Guru

Afro Pop Song of the Year

Ayoo – Shatta Wale

Solo – Article Wan

Taking Over – Shatta Wale ft. Militants

Forever – Eazzy ft Mr. Eazi

Music Producer/Engineer of the Year


Willis Beatz

Highly Spiritual


Danny Beatz

Ghanaian Traditional Artiste of the Year

Sherifa Gunu

Atongo Simba

Norlla Wiyaala

King Ayisoba



UK Based Gospel Song of the Year

You Are The One – Minister Owura Jay

Boafo ne Awurade – Hannah A. Donkor

Land of God – Justice Odoi

It will come to Pass – Sarah Clark

Onyame Tumi Adi Nyinaa Ye – Comfort Amankwah

Se Nyame Nni Mua – Mama Cee

Alpha and Omega – Amankwah Tiah

Me nsa aka Me De3 – Theodora Gospel

Give Me You – P.K. Boadi

My Soul Says Yes – Sonnie Badu

UK Based Gospel Album of the Year

Sounds of Africa – Sonnie Badu

Land Of God – Justice Odoi

Second Chance – Ernest O. Kyeremanteng

Eden na menye ma wo – Amankwah Tiah

Genesis – Minister King Bricky Aboagye

You Are The One – Minister Owura Jay

Onyame tumi adenyinaa ye – Comfort Amankwah

Boafo Ne Awurade – Hannah A. Donkor

UK Based Gospel Artiste of the Year

Hannah A. Donkor

Sonnie Badu

Minister Owura Jay

Amankwah Tiah

Comfort Amankwah

Justice Odoi

Minister King Bricky Aboagye

Best UK Based New Gospel Artiste of the Year

Manye Stone

Gertrude Forson

Minister Ike

Maame Serwaa

Hannah A. Donkor

Elder Ofori

Charlie Barnes

Nana Achia

Sarah Clark

Mama Comfort

Prophet Eliyahu Boateng

Yaw Boateng

Bishop Merry Frimpomaah

Alice Bee

Best UK Based Ghanaian International Artiste


LD of 67 Group

Lethal Bizzle


Reggie N Bollie


UK Based Afrobeats Artiste of the Year

Mista Silva


Kwamz N Flava


Jaij Hollands


UK Based Afrobeats Song of the Year

GB – Under Lover

Yxng Bane ft. Kojo Funds – Fine wine

Kojo Funds ft Abra Cadabra – Dun Talkin

Dun D – Badman

Atumpan – Let them say

UK Based Artiste of the Year

Kojo Funds

Abra Cadabra

Mista Silva




Dun D

UK Based New Ghanaian Artiste of the Year

Belly Squad




Koffi Nyat



UK Based New Discovery Uncovered Art of the Year

Lippy & K- hi Bangit


Under Rider

Geo Wellington

Ked 2 Besi

Akata Stone

UK Based Producer /Engineer



DJ Juls


Adeshyie Studios


Hator Bros/Temaboyz

Black Kulcha Music

Team Salut


UK Based Ghanaian DJ of the Year

DJ Billy

DJ Sawa

DJ Bibi

DJ Snypa

DJ Fiifi

DJ P. Montana

DJ Invisible

Lifetime Achievement Award

Mr. Dennis Tawiah – Akwaaba UK (UK)

Afro Moses – Musician (Ghana)