Politics of Tuesday, 12 June 2012

Source: GNA

Supreme Court dismisses application in the Akuse boundary case

The Supreme Court on Tuesday dismissed a counter claim application seeking for statutory interpretation on boundaries in six communities around Akuse in the Eastern Region to Dangme West District in the Greater Accra Region.

The six communities are Zongo Newtown, Akutue, Osukutu, Amedeka, Salom and Bungalow.

The court empanelled by a single judge, Professor Justice Date-Baah, in his decision said, “I have carefully considered the arguments of both sides and concluded that, the application has come too late, since judgement in the matter is to be heard tomorrow, Wednesday, June 13".

“A counter claim at this stage is late for the application and therefore dismissed it,” he added.

Nene Charles Mate Kole, Nene Kwesi Tsum and others are challenging the placement of Akuse Electoral Area of Lower Manya Krobo District under Dangme West District in L.I. 1983.

In view of the challenge, the EC suspended Biometric Voter Registration exercise in these electoral areas within Akuse due to a legal suit before the Supreme Court.

When the case was called on the morning of Tuesday, Counsel for Nene Mate Kole and others, Captain Nkrabea Effah-Dartey was late so the case was stood down for a few minutes before it was reconstituted.

Capt. Effah-Datey who apologised to the court for his lateness, argued that the issue being considered had constitutional implications whilst the boundaries in contention had been earmarked in the past.

He explained that the boundary clearly identified Eastern Region from the Greater Accra Region.

However, Mr. Godfred Yeboah Odame, Counsel for the Electoral Commission, opposing the application said it was a calculated attempt to delay the court.

“The application is totally not merited and must be dismissed,” he added.

Akuse has been part of Lower Manya Krobo District Assembly with its headquarters at Odumase-Krobo, but has now been made part of the Dangme West District in the Greater Accra Region in 2010, when new districts were created in the country.**