General News of Friday, 1 July 2011

Source: citifmonline

Akufo-Addo Names Alan In Campaign Team

The flagbearer of the New Patriotic Party has named the man he defeated in the party’s recent presidential primary, Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen, as a member of his campaign team for the 2012 presidential and parliamentary elections.

At a low-key ceremony at the Asylum Down headquarters of the NPP, Nana Akufo-Addo also named former CPP Member of Parliament for Ellembele, Fredy Blay as one of a 20-member campaign team charged with prosecuting the party’s agenda of recapturing power from the NDC in 18 months.

The team also includes former National Chairman Peter MacManu, who is expected to bring on board expertise garnered from leading the 2008 elections.

Other members of the Committee include former General Secretary and now MP for Okere Dan Botwe, as Director of Strategy; former National Organiser Lord Commey is in charge of Operations.

Nana Akomea continues his role as Communications Director, while Dr Mathew Opoku Prempeh, MP for Manhyia, will be in charge of Electoral Affairs.

Nana Akufo-Addo also named some senior party personalities as his personal representatives to the team, including three men who vied with him in the party’s 2007 presidential primary -Prof Kwabena Frempong Boateng, Prof Mike Ocquaye Snr, and Hon Isaac Osei.

Sources within the party have told additions will be made to the team when a vice presidential candidate is selected.

Below is the list:

Mr Peter MacManu

Hon Dan Botwe- Director of Strategy

Ms Gloria Akuffo - Legal

Victor Newman - Research

Nana Akomea - Communications

Dr Mathew Opoku Prempeh -Electoral Affairs

Lord Commey - Operations

Hon Frema Osei Opare - Conflict Resolution

Candidates nominated by Flagbearer:

Prof Mike Ocquaye Snr

Alan Kyeremanten

Hon Isaac Osei

Cecilia Dapaah

Prof Kwabena Frempong-Boateng

Hon Freddie Blay

Ms Bene Bismark

Ms Olivia Quartey

Hajia Alima Mahama