You are here: HomeNewsElections 20082008 12 08Article 154266

Politics of Monday, 8 December 2008

Source: GNA

Nayan retains Nkwanta-North constituency parliamentary seat

Kpassa, (V/R), Dec. 8, GNA - Mr Joseph Kwaku Nayan, incumbent NPP Parliamentary candidate for Nkwanta- North, has retained his seat with 9,426 votes, provisional results from the constituency have indicated. His closest rival Dr Joseph Kwabena Nianboah-Rockson of the NDC polled 8,680 votes. Mr Nayan won the seat in 2004 with 6,178 votes as against 3,678 by Dr Nainboah-Rockson, as an independent candidate. The constituency however fell to Professor John Evans Atta Mills the NDC Presidential candidate who polled 10,334 votes against 9,807 by Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo of the New Patriotic Party (NPP). The rest of the results from that constituency, the first to be out in the Volta region are: Presidential Parliamentary PNC - 335 - Ind. - 253 CPP - 284 306 DFP - 121 - RPD - 41 - DPP - 40 Ind. 3241