You are here: HomeCountry2017 04 03Article 525048

Parliament to approve $22.5 million loan facility for MPs’ cars

Read Comments Comments (40)

YOU SEE AKUFO-ADDO?

• I Man 7 years ago

People cant afford basic things yet we waste so much money on foolishness. The black man indeed has a low IQ

• Tinkorang 7 years ago

If the two and Ablakwah and Sam George are also honorable, then we have to redefine the meaning of honorable in the dictionary. These are also going to benefit from the cars! Ebei

• BECCA 7 years ago

what do you expect? even Akufo ADDO who can't even tell which law school he attend, wee smoker is your president! i prefer Ablakwa over Akufo Addict!

I hope this is not April fool joke.

• Nii Amusey, Accra 7 years ago

These MPs don't deserve the loans. Useless people wasting Ghana's resources.

• HHHHHHHHHH 7 years ago

That is why so many people kill, steal, borrow to enternparliament. USELESS

• Yebo 7 years ago

Misplaced priority.chop chop.thief thief.

• A. A. Afrifa Jnr. 7 years ago

Only in Ghana does MPs secure loans from government to buy cars.

If I need a new car I'll seek parliamentary election.

Also government functionaries collect cars as toys.

• Kontonkyi 7 years ago

Most of these MPs have been there at the Parliament for ever! Each term they get new car and we do not know if they ever pay back these loans. We still provide gasoline free of charge, "Den asem koraa ni?" Ghana is mess ...

Whats the difference between npp and ndc...the same oh the same

• KnYc(USMC) 7 years ago

Why as a country very fascinating about cars. Come to Washington DC and you will see a General riding in a mass transit. Riding V8 Cars on unpaved roads, yes millions of dollars to help employing other countries.

• Pee 7 years ago

There we go again! Another silly season. We are such a pathetic people!!

• Kwaku Gbloenawo 7 years ago

Pee, you are spot on. We are a bunch of nincompoops.

• ALEX 7 years ago

Do we need Parliament at all in this impoverished country??

• Abeeku Mensah 7 years ago

Where are all the yapping fools from the USA, Canada, UK, Germany and places in-between who lied to have the unwise and uncultured vote the NPP into power?
    From Dr. Okoampa-Ahoofe, through K. Badu to Adofo Rockson, Ghanaweb ...

• Titus 7 years ago

YOU HAVE SAID IT ALL FOR ME, MANY THANKS.

• Titus 7 years ago

It's seriously a shame , that our country at this point will encourage such blatant robbery to happen on our watch and dime? The Revolution will happen after all...

• De Heer 7 years ago

This is a HOAX- Can't you read between the Lines? Information with no Author'Wake up COMRADES

• Emma 7 years ago

In Ghana every rumor counts my friend. Dont underestimate these lawmakers, this loan has been approved already with eyes closed

• Paulus 7 years ago

When is government going to approve loans to teachers, doctors, nurses etc to buy cars and houses. Everything good is about politicians in Africa. That's why people indulge in witchcraft to get to parliament.

• Bob 7 years ago

Why!!!! It's only in Africa that MPs are given loans to buy cars . It's heart breaking to see the government securing s loan of $80000 for these MP's. It's a misplaced priority.

• Joe Bee 7 years ago

If MPS need cars, like everybody, why can't they apply for loans individually from the comercial banks? This practice whereby government approves loans for them to effect payment for purchasing cars must stop forthwith.

• Pee 7 years ago

What do you mean,are they not being paid ,and can't they buy their own cars, waste of resources. And we want to move forward.

• Nii Moi 7 years ago

It's a loan so any MP who does not want it does not have to take it. Many of them can buy their own vehicles and miniseries use govt vehicles anyway so this is free loan without interest

• Stephen 7 years ago

This is insane. How much do these people make to pay of an $80000 loan in 4 years in a country where interest rates range in the 25% to 30% range? This is "legalized" theft borne on the backs of poor farmersand othe less-priv ...

• Kk 7 years ago

Can't the military take over the country? We need a couple to stop this nonsense

• Joe Bee 7 years ago

Do you know what the soldiers will do? What did Rawlings and co do? Is NDC party not a product of military coup? Of what good is NDC?

• Evil Party. 7 years ago

They are been paid, why all this thievery. We pay this corrupt MP's why do we give them money to biy cars. NONSENDE

• Yebo 7 years ago

Useless government.behaving like monkies and dwarfs.thieves.backward country.nepotism and corruption.no change of mindset.slave mentality.

• Obroni 7 years ago

ridicules buy your own car like everybody else.
    Then a police officer in your car so in the morning you can break all the rules, traffic lights etc. You don't have to wake up on time anymore. and after 4 years you get a nice ...

• odensi 7 years ago

How can MP's pay the car loan of 80,000.00 dollars in 4yrs? With their pay check of 7,000 dollars a month. With interest of even 2% will be nearly $84000 for the 4yrs. Which means their monthly payments would be almost $1800. ...

• Kofi Adu Bediako.,Gernany 7 years ago

Let them take their own.loans from the.banks in Ghana.
    This is not done anywhere. You are paid monthly therefore care for yourself,period.

• Samson 7 years ago

So in Ghana government has to bear responsibility for arranging loans for MPs to buy their luxurious SUVs? Why do these people make parliamentary democracy so expensive? Whether the MPs refund the amount over 4 years or not, ...

• Boss 7 years ago

Yipee, our MPs are all going to be driving brand new Toyota Land Cruisers. Top of the line V8 vehicles and of course they will be allowed free fuel for which we have to pay for. Such stupidity.

• EDDIE 7 years ago

Ha ha haaaaaaaaaaa, I told you so. Had I known is always too late. $22.5 loan facility for MP's cars, whilst so many schools are in a deplorable state, water shortages in some regions and huge unemployment. The president came ...

• EDDIE 7 years ago

We are just into the first week to the fourth month of the new government, and the thievery is so immense that it needs the whip to be cracked before is too late. Coup de tat now before is too late.

• Okyeman Fireman 7 years ago

Shame unto our MP,for when it is time for money, they all shout yea yea.If the govt. think they desereve car, what about the poor public servant and the security services,why can't the govt offered them loans to purchase sam ...

• Okyeman Fireman 7 years ago

What has the ordinary man got from our parliament,?Nothing while some school building collapsing and killing school children,MP some can't express themselves are given a loan of80,000$ which translated to 3.2billion old CEDI' ...

• Kwesi Akonu 6 years ago

Dear Mr Speaker, it's not parliament's job to approve loans for MP's cars. The MP should go to the bank and finance their car like any other Ghanian Civil Servant. Stop being cheating MP's and start working to reclaim your s ...