You are here: HomeCountry2018 07 09Article 667087

General News of Monday, 9 July 2018


Agyapong Case: 3 substitute MPs for Privileges Committee

Majority Leader Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu has named three legislators from the Majority caucus, to replace three MPs from the Central Region who recused themselves from the Privileges Committee in connection with a contempt of parliament hearing involving Assin Central MP, Kennedy Agyapong.

The three are Adentan MP Yaw Buaben Asamoa, Jaman South MP Yaw Afful and Ablekuma North MP Akua Owusu Afriyie.

They will sit in for Agona West MP Cynthia Morrison; MP for Gomoa Central, Naana Eyiah; and MP for Upper Denkyira West, Samuel Nsowa-Djan, all in the Central Region, who argued that they could not adjudicate fairly because Mr Agyapong is their Regional Caucus Chairman.

Mr Agyapong has been accused of allegedly using insulting remarks on the Majority Leader.

Mr Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, who addressed Parliament on Monday, 9 July 2018 said the new committee members will work “just for the purpose of the referral” and when the committee is done with the hearing, the three members who excused themselves “will be reinstated accordingly”.

Responding to the latest development, Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu also encouraged MPs “to take the business of the Privileges Committee much more seriously”.

He urged members to execute their jobs thoroughly, adding that the “rules or laws of Ghana should be no respecter of any person”.