You are here: HomeNewsCrime & Punishment2014 04 21Article 306810

Farmer jailed 10 years for stealing cassava

Read Comments Comments (224)

• Justice 10 years ago

Aaaaba ! 10 years for stealing cassava? Was that stooge of a circuit judge intoxicated when he said his judgment. This is a ridiculous sentence

• Mends, The Lone Ranger. 10 years ago

What a country and the biggest swindler of the country is walking free and able to travel in and out of the country without any hindrance. Ghanaians should one day wake up to witness the mother of all revolutions when politic ...

• Kojo Bie 10 years ago

Who said JJ's revolution wasn't apt???

Who?

Charlie bring me another revolution now now now.

• What 10 years ago

All these big thieves are thanks to JJ and he is the biggest of them all. That is the point you are still missing. wake up. If the same yard stick JJ used were to be used on him, he would be shot a few times over

• Isaac 10 years ago

What a nation?

• koffi parker 10 years ago

Nation wreckers NPP sold Telecom and you name it all gone, dont forget

• Millionnaire 10 years ago

If the buyer of Telecom is employing Ghanaians, then your argument is useless. The problem with NDC is you don't understand business and profit. That is why NDC members steal from government coffers. If you have an under perf ...

• Senior Wisdom 10 years ago

Distorted justice system. If cassava gets you 10 years then the Woyomes, Gyeedas, and Ibrahim Mahamas deserve 100 years.

• SHAMU 10 years ago

I really like the justice applied to the farmer, but is it enough to stop it there? Those who deserved to be jailed or sentence to firingsquare are there still serving the nation in the name of no evidence while other have al ...

some people from the ndc when they hear the truth about their genocide and racist tribalism go into a stupefied frenzy foaming at the mouth thinking that will make their lies and propaganda true . The fact remain the Akans ar ...

• Ghfuo, change ur thinking 10 years ago

This is a dumb sentence. 10yrs for stealing cassava? All.such prisoners must be sent to farm for their respective regions doing construction projects,farming or learn a vocational.skill in jail.

• SAMO JEWELLERY 10 years ago

let samo Jewellery design n customise yr dream wedding n engagement yellow n white gold rings for you at affordable prices.....call or whatsapp us on 0244717600 to send u latest pictures to choose from.......follow us on Face ...

No need to hide under any funny name to make your point if indeed you think you have any good vibes to share and if the buyer of Telecom is not a Ghanaian then your piece is baseless, Konadu Agyemang Rawlings sold Nsawam Cann ...

• Tuntumi 10 years ago

The real problem of these NDC people is that they dont seem to understand anything at all. That is what binds them together - well, apart from the fact fact that they are all damned ugly. You can always tell an NDC person whe ...

• FIFI WILLIAMS 10 years ago

If someone who steals 500 cedis worth of cassava gets ten years, then Woyome who has stolen $59.8 Million should get 150 years.

That is simple and logic.

• AdaBoy 10 years ago

Applying a sledge hammer to a mosquito bite in Ghana!

• ben 10 years ago

Please let those who know the history of the JJ Revolution educateyou well welllll. Had it not been for JJ you and your like would not have found Ghana as good as it is for you to open you ugly mouth so wide. Please contact ...

• AbasZ 10 years ago

Only bastards like kojo Bie follow jj. He preached against corruption. Where did his wife get money to buy The Nsawam factory? Corruptions of Geeda,sada,woyome ect.ect. Are they not from his own party,ndc? The street boys/g ...

• Rob 10 years ago

10 years for stealing cassava? Its amazing that these kind of judgements still go on in this country. This is just overwhelming the already congested prisons and putting needless burden on the economy as well as wasting away ...

• Tuntumi 10 years ago

The idiotic judge or whatever he is, should also be arrested and put behind bars for making a mockery of justice. By the way who appoints these judges. I can now begin to understand why in some countries they look at your bac ...

• C.Y. ANDY-K 10 years ago

This gross judicial abuse MUST BE REVERSED AT ONCE! The appropriate legal bodies must stepped in, and have the case appealed.

The value of the cassava is just about £100, for heaven sake!

The judge failed to take into ...

• Close Observer 10 years ago

Revolution to destroy more lives and property, or use his position to acquire Nsawam Cannery and other properties? You may be one of those criminals who were given guns (CDR)to terrorise civilians and later turned into the 64 ...

• FIFI WILLIAMS 10 years ago

It is only tribal idiots, who believe in murdering innocent people without cause like JJ Rawlings. Any human being with real human values do not like Rawlings, for what he has done to Ghanaians.

Your Rawlings murdered sele ...

• Oba Nyansani Baako In Ghana! 10 years ago

Except in Ghana that such stupid thing will happen. Politicians are stealing millions of cedis and dollars but they are walking free of charge. Atuguba opepeni judge is idiot like JJ Rawlings and mahama as their idiot and wic ...

• Timbuktu 10 years ago

Ghana is a really weird place!! People (like Woyome) steal MILLIONS 'fiilifiili' but walk away/around freeeeee! This guy deserves no more than 3-6 months jail time, NOT 10 years! Jeeesus!! I hope some good-natured lawyer will ...

• Agyei Sikapa 10 years ago

10 years for stealing cassava worth 500 Ghana Cedis and OKUDZETO Ablakwa, F.F.F.Kwetey, and other donkey ministers have amassed wealth at our expense and are walking free. The are able to fly to Europe, attend lectures and s ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE 10 years ago

NKWASEAFO BI NTI GHANA IS SICK!!! THE CEDI HAS ALREADY DIVED DEEP DOWN!!!!!!!------ WE NEED NANA'S WISDOM. HIS LEADERSHIP WITH BAWUMIA IS EXCELLENT. NANA IS OUR POLITICAL MESSIAH!! WE WILL PATIENTLY WAIT FOR HIM TO COME AND L ...

• mm 10 years ago

mm

• Emma 10 years ago

That is the reason why our prisons are over crowded, senseless people

• mozko 10 years ago

folks join me demostrate against some of these stomuch judges or else poor people like me who has no moni to give them will always suffer nd u judge u have consians let it speak to you

• KYEI 10 years ago

And Kufour the stupid useless monkey is walking free, upon our 350 million dollars oil money? Onye soooomei!

• Millionnaire 10 years ago

If you can prove that Kufour stole from the country take him to court, else shut up, you NDC fool!

• AbasZ 10 years ago

Aah Millionair thank you. I know most of the ndcs will rot in jail after January 7 2017.

Remember that Wayomi or whatever will never face real Justice,what wayomi is going thru is just shadow trial and justice.He will never face a Judge like this or such Judges will never allow to preside over such cases blame th ...

• Emma 10 years ago

Don't pray for their decimation but to face the same judgement themselves.

• FREEDOM FIGHTER 10 years ago

Our judiciary system is against the poor and will never protect them.If one was to go to the prisons and check the prison population,one will find out that all those there are poor who committed minor offence who are sentenc ...

• LENDEN 10 years ago

THIS IS VERY SHAMEFUL FOR OUR Democracy! how could it be? gilbe
    rt iddi, aci, wayome, andani, sada, hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, god save WE THE POOOOOOOOR!

• Timbuktu 10 years ago

KWASIA judge! I bet if some big-shot politician had appeared before this IDIOTIC judge, he would allow him/her to go free!

• It's True 10 years ago

This is callous, how could this petty farmer be jailed ten years for stealing cassava valued at Ghc500. Whilst politicians and other public servants steal more state monies and they are left off the hook. We must respect the ...

• MATHS 10 years ago

Yes sir, the Judge was very right. We all know that living on the farm anyone who is hungry can help himself/herself to satisfy that particular hunger. If this thief had stolen GHc/5.00 worth of cassava for food. This would h ...

• Nii Akwei 10 years ago

The punishment does not fit the crime, considering the big men always walk free.

• A citizen. 10 years ago

Laws of everything country are meant for the poor so no wonder. The rich wiil always go free.

• Kojo Bie 10 years ago

Haba!

• THOMAS 10 years ago

although his crime deserve a big punishment ghana judges sould be considerate sometimes. I have seen a friend jailed 10 years for smoking a joint,(like a dime bag).too stupid

• MAHAMAH MUMUNI DRAMANI. 10 years ago

POOR JUDGEMENT,YOU ARE JUST WASTING AND DESTROYING THIS POOR GUY´S LIFE.HOW MANY YEARS ARE YOU GOING TO GIVE ME AND MY CORRUPT ADMINISTRATION IF YOU WERE TO JUDGE US FOR THE LOOTING WE HAVE METED ON THIS NATION?. ALWAYS IT I ...

• Amegah 10 years ago

Then those implicated in the Gyeeda, Sada, Isofoton etc should get ready.

• Nokwasem 10 years ago

Why does the law allow such outrageous and senselessly disproportionate sentencing?

• AbasZ 10 years ago

The complainant is wicked. And the judge is inexperience. The accused had admitted his fault. Why the judge didnt use "A BALANCE SCALE" in this case? The evil that men do ... Who has never sin before?.

• KOKOTAKO 10 years ago

THIS RIDICULOUS SENTENCE DISGRACES ALL GHANAIANS TO OUTSIDERS;UNFORTUNATELY,THERE IS NO GODLY LAWYER TO APPEAL FOR THIS POOR MAN.I WISH ...

• KWADWO TAMALE 10 years ago

Cassava valued GHc 500 is not a small thing and the Judge did just the right thing cos it is very annoying that somebody who has used his energy to plant his cassava would see his harvest going to wrong hands. He deserves it ...

You may be rite, the quantity determines the intentions, hence the maximum sentence. it was meant for sale not for consumption.the gravity of the offence should equally weigh on the sentence

• Kweku 10 years ago

Stupidity! So you mean what weight of cassava will be equal to ten years jail? No one knows what measuring mechanism to use here but.......f**k this judge. Professors of physics/maths in Ghana should be called to calculate th ...

• Sammy 10 years ago

The Attorney General must examine this case again, please.

• Sekoh 10 years ago

Pooh Papa Judge! How many years will you give those who stole Merchant Bank?
    Some lawyers should go to the aid of this man

• Matchaw Dikaini 10 years ago

While stealing of any kind is bad,ten years is equally cruel and abnomal.please appeal...

• WHAT ABOUT CORRUPT POLITICIANS? 10 years ago

10 YEARS!!! AND POLITICIANS(BOTH NDC & NPP) ARE MILKING THE NATION AND WALKING FREE?? JUDGEMENT DAY WILL COME !!!!!!!!

• west o 10 years ago

what a country please let that man go free

• KWAKUVI 10 years ago

JUSTICE INDEED, SOMEONE STEALS CASSAVA AND IS CAGED FOR 10 YEARS, ANOTHER STEAL IN MILLIONS OF DOLLARS AND IS WALKING FREE, IS WOYOME BIGGER THAN THE LAWS OF THIS COUNTRY?

• Agbovi Hohoe 10 years ago

This judge must be employed to handle Wayome's case.If Ghc500 stolen cassava attracts 10yrs.How many yrs must somedody who stole Ghc 51,000,000.00 get? can somedody calculate for me?

• KWAKU NSIAH 10 years ago

THIS JUDGE IS SICK, HOW MANY/MUCH CASSAVA WILL THIS MAN CONSUME IN PRISON BEFORE HE COMES OUT.

• MATHS 10 years ago

Please reason, what did this thief need GHc/500.00 worth of cassava for? Have you really imagined the amount o cassava stolen? What he steal so much cassava for? It is the intention that led the judge to sentence the man and ...

• Mayor 10 years ago

Ahhh why? 10 is far too much for this crime.last week some one got 12 for defiling 3 kids what kind of law system is this?

• Abu 10 years ago

JUSTICE INDEED.AFTER BLOWING OUR GHANA AT 50 CASH, MPIANI AND BROBBEY ARE WALKING FREE AND BLOWING JAASSSS

• BJ 10 years ago

Justice system is useless.

• ABU 10 years ago

A punishable offence but ridiculous sentencing for cassava whilst national economic saboteurs are on the loose because their weapon of act is the pen.

• Rey 10 years ago

What a miscarriage of justics. . .the judge should rather be sentence for this level of human right abuse. ghc 500 worth of cassava.. . . .fucking hell! Nkrumah should be be freed immediatley

• MANSON UK 10 years ago

What an idiot judge.What about those nation looters.

• MAHAMA - DOING MY JOB 10 years ago

10 YEARS SENTENCE IS WAY TOO MUCH . ONLY POOR PEOPLE DO GO TO JAIL IN GHANA . POLITICAL LEADERS AND THE RICH ARE NOT .

• ofori 10 years ago

is the magistrat a normal human being?

• Dan 10 years ago

Wait, is it 50ghc(500,000.00) or 500ghc(5,000.000.00)?
    Are we talking of five million old cedis? Then this is a full truck (bone shaker) of cassava.
    I NEED EXPLANATION.

• Pascalini 10 years ago

This judge is probably sick upstairs! He should be withdrawn and sent for psychiatric examination

• Lolulou 10 years ago

What is wrong with our judges? Are they so corrupt that they choose to imprison young men for trivial offences severely?? Honestly cassave??? Stupid judge!

• Atugu 10 years ago

What in the world can you jail someone 10 years for stealing food ? This is so wrong.This is even a disgrace to whole nation.

• DDKT 10 years ago

wat the heck!!! are we now is a communist country!!! may the judge conscious haunt am!!!

• DONBOLI 10 years ago

When you have a system that is not working that happens. We are going to feed this man for 10 years for sell casava.
    Ghana Justice system is not working. Who is that stupid fool calling himself Judge to imprison him. It ghan ...

• Cynthia 10 years ago

Senseless

• WTF! 10 years ago

A thorough judiciary reform exercise begs to be undertaken, given the insane rulings of our judges. Those handing out these astoundingly cruel judgments are the same crooks who authorized the payment of hundreds of millions o ...

• Harry 10 years ago

This is injustice. The judiciary system is corrupt Nd needs serious overhauling. The Judges, lawyers the court registrars/Masterrs are in league to corrupt justice. The rich criminals are all walking free in the society while ...

• Harry, Banjul 10 years ago

The Chief Justice must act now to save the judiciary system. This jail term is ridiculous. May be the judge had a hang-over or was angry with his wife/husband. This is so swift. Look at the time is taking the same judicial sy ...

• kwabena 10 years ago

Well when the leadership of the nation fail this is what happened...I know NPP Will win 2016...as NDC leadership is weak and corrupt...npp too has many corrupt people...but is better they come to power to let ndc go and learn ...

• Chelsea Rolland 10 years ago

The judges ar sick

• PAPSON 10 years ago

This is wrong, he must appeal.

• BLACKMAN 10 years ago

WOYOME,GYEEDA,ISOFOTON, AND THE REST!!!!! FOOLISH IDIOTS SO CALLED JUDGES- NONSENSE!!!!!

• Kwame Angel 10 years ago

And the murderer, Jerry Rawlings and the thief, Woyome, are walking free. I hear Rawlings is even going to be honored for his role.

• SAMMY 10 years ago

WHAT IS DONE TO WAJOME? JUST STEELING CASAAVA GETS 10 YEARS HMMMMMM GHANA IS FUNNY NATION INDEED

• KOLIKO 10 years ago

THE SENTENCE IS TOO HARSH.THE JUDGE SHOULD BE JAILING KUFFOUR AND HIS ASHIANTIS STEALERS INSTEAD

• BRANDY 10 years ago

NDC IS IN POWER SO THEY MUST SHUT THE FUCK UP AND PROVE WHAT KUFFUOR STOLE JUST LIKE WHAT BETTYMOULD, BARTON ODRO AND WOYOME STOLE ARE EVIDENT FOR ALL TO SEE....ide biiii kekekeeeee

• MARK A. 10 years ago

kuffour, rawlings mahama are all world class thieves

• BLACKMAN 10 years ago

ONLY ROBBISH WE HEAR EVERYDAY---PURELY RUBBISH----GHANA IS A FAILED COUNTRY AND ALL GHAIANS SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THIS

• Mensah. 10 years ago

Is never too late.

• BRANDY 10 years ago

WOYOME, BARTON ODRO, BETTYMOULD STILL WALKING FREE IN GHANA.....no wonder we have fire outbreaks everywhere in ghana....a land of so much evil, so much callousness, so much create loot and share by ndc govt officials...and ye ...

• Frank Agenda 10 years ago

Only in Ghana can this happen. This judge needs to be fired. Where is Wayome, Brobbey, Mpiani, SADA and Nkonfem groups? And Nketia, the Bui blocks supplier too.

• Adams 10 years ago

10 years for stealing cassava? You must be joking. The judge should be jailed instead. Ridiculous!!!

• NON-ALIGNED 10 years ago

Those politicians from both the NDC and NPP parties who steal our millions are left driving around in luxury.

We must be very careful these injustices does not blow up in our faces one day!

GOD BLESS GHANA!
    AFRICAN FOR ...

• wang 10 years ago

Ten years for stealing cassava? This is damn stupid and senseless. It is a dumb justice system where the poor will continue to suffer and the rich and influential people will go scot-free. Politicians steal millions of dol ...

• TerriblY Spe cifi. 10 years ago

How many years for Afari Gyan?

• Yaw. ed 10 years ago

How

• wise 10 years ago

this judge is stupid and corrupt

• THE GERMAN FACT 10 years ago

JAILED A FARMER 10 YEARS BECAUSE OF CASSAVA IS REALLY STUPID. POLITICIANS AND WAYOME ARE STILL JUMPING AROUND WITHOUT ANY JUDGEMENT.

• Musa 10 years ago

When will these people be judged?

• clan 10 years ago

What kind of justice do we have in Ghana?

• Musa 10 years ago

It is silly stealing or doing sakawa or armed robery in Ghana. Why not join politics? You can start as a foot soldier, a serial caller etc and advance till you get a post. When you loot state funds, your party people will pol ...

• Atta 10 years ago

Eiiiii, ten years for stealing cassava valued at 500 gh cedis? Aabbbaaa? Poverty is indeed a curse. Abbaaa!

• Millionaire 10 years ago

The signature forger is on bail while a cassava thief gets 10 years.....
    How great is our legal system!!!!!!!

The wise one, have you forgotten it's a process, innocent until proven guilty and all is entitled to bail until convicted, if any

• Kwamina 10 years ago

this is a shame on the judge for giving such sentence whiles so called big men steal from the Nations coffers and go free

• Oduro Yeboah 10 years ago

These judges are fools. I think Ghana needs sentencing guidelines because some of these judges are just morons who can't apply common sense.

• Light 10 years ago

Focus on SADA ooooooooo tom!!!!!

• kwaata 10 years ago

10 years for a cassava thief and Wayome and others a walking free ......what type Justice do we have in the Country?

• obiba 10 years ago

the people in this destrict must react and bring this devil judge to justice, maybe he is fulking the complainant daughter or sister thus how our j are. i am realy sad,how many people in this world even eat cassava apart from ...

• Bad Judgment 10 years ago

i am very sure the accusers paid some money to the judge to punish him else this is just too much. 10 years is out of order looking at the nature of the offence. what about arm robbers and cocaine dealers. Mr Judge dis one pa ...

• Mr. respect the crowd. 10 years ago

Why 10 years for stealing cassava? where as Ghanaian politician like Kuffour and his brother stole a billion from Ghana and walked away freely, Ghana justice system is very alarming.

• afia 10 years ago

jail all politicians stealing money instead

• Kojo Bie 10 years ago

Woaaaaa look oooo!

Madness is even too mild to compare with this judicial blunder. Perhaps too much sun is wrecking havoc to our brains. What is going on kuraa in Ghana these days?

• Oppong 10 years ago

the most stupid judgemen i ever seen in my Life this is MADNESS.ghananians should wake up.

• kojo 10 years ago

you cannot jail corrupt politicians.

• Pelicles 10 years ago

Barton Oduro facilitate the smooth transfer of Woyome's money and he is sitting as deputy speaker of parliament. He is telling Ghanaians that he is "well educated and can act with impunity". Justice in Ghana is a two faced s ...

• MAJEED DRAMANI MAHAMA 10 years ago

unfair judgement

• Kojo Bie 10 years ago

Do we have brave men like JJ in Ghana?

We need another wild revolution to arrest the retrogressive situation in Ghana. Forget about demon-cratie.

• Thomas Quansah 10 years ago

infact the punishment is to high , why ? just food, people are causing huge financial loss the nation yet they are walking free in the country,

• ISSIFU AMIDINI 10 years ago

This is rather unfortunate and baseless on the part a Judge who sentenced this poor man ten years imprisonment because of a cassava he has stolen. People committed more crime than this 1000 times and they walk free because th ...

• PHILIP LONDON 10 years ago

JJ RAWLINGS THE ARMED ROBBER,THE THREE TIMES COUP MAKER,A CONFIRMED MURDERER AND THE ONLY LEADER IN GHANA WHO BROUGHT ACCOUNABILITY BUT HE,HIMSELF HAD NEVER BEEN ACCOUNTABLE TO GHANAIANS WALKS FREELY AFTER ALL THESE YEARS AND ...

• KA NA WU 10 years ago

Does it make legal sense to jail someone who just stole casava(Worth?) for 10 years, while Woyomme who stole billions of tax payers money is still walking in the street. Shame on this uncivilized corrupt society of Ghana.

• bestman 10 years ago

Foolish man cassava for 10 years lokuraseni judge go and jail sada people

• Issah uk 10 years ago

Why jail a poor farmer for 10 years. That is a two week sentence offence. Those dealing in drugs and stealing millions of government money can afford to bribe stupid magistrates and judges so they get sway with it. What a cou ...

• Kwasia bi nti 10 years ago

I detest someone who stills. But we are in the country where politicians use all kinds of tricks to steal big money and go scout free leaving the poor to go poorer. Example WAYOME, SADA. Is time Ghanaians should wake up.

• afuath 10 years ago

MPS the country money and go scout free the poor man i hungry a few years will serve as a detersnt but not 10 years.my God.jughes

• TK 10 years ago

Wow, we need this Judge to handle the cases of GEEDA, Azuntaba, Woyome, SADAT and guess what? Ghana will be sanitized. I rest my case.

• BRO JOE 10 years ago

10 YEARS FOR STEALING CASSAVA WORTH GHc500 ONLY. THAT'S INSANE JUDGEMENT. WHAT ABOUT THOSE CORRUPT GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS DUPING THE COUNTRY IN MILLIONS OF DOLLARS. WAKE UP JUDGES

• ADDD 10 years ago

Stupid judge

• princewilly@ymail.com 10 years ago

Taking his seat in his chambers, the judge faced the opposing lawyers.

"So," he said, "I have been presented, by both of you, with a bribe."

Both lawyers squirmed uncomfortably. "You, attorney Leon, gave me $15,000. And ...

• MAHAMA LOOT ND SHARE 10 years ago

OH GHANA,GHANA,GHANA PAAA NIE????? MAHAMA MAKE GHANA SICK,GOD SAVE OUR POOR PEOPLE

• NANA 10 years ago

What about those political armed robbers stealing from the government. The poor is always treated badly whilst the so called politicians are destroying millions of Ghanaians lives by looting go free. A third world judicial sy ...

• GHANAIAN 10 years ago

HOW WAS HE ABLE TO STEAL CASSAVA WORTH C500 IN A DAY? PLEASE, HELP ME FOR I AM LOST.

• waws 10 years ago

Jail the judge for such judgment

• Fred 10 years ago

Government of Ghana is great thief but sentence hungry pour guy into ten years hard labour.

• George 10 years ago

What a stupid judge

• kaketonti 10 years ago

Sorry,ten years for what?This judge is mentally sick.Maybe his wife disappointed him the night before sitting in court.The real thief's -NPP,NDC are roaming the country free.Release YAW NKRUMAH immediately.

• DORMAN BOY 10 years ago

This will only the handy work or student judge. Cassava 500 sentence the victim to 10yrs ebeei.
    You this judge have you forgotten that somebody wrote you GES O level english and maths for you.

• peter 10 years ago

Sometimes l wonder about the type of judges we have in Ghana.The armed robbers go free,policians go free and someone stealing cassava,who even admitted to go 10good years with hard labour is too inhumane.

• peter 10 years ago

wow 10good years for stealing cassava?

• Judy 10 years ago

Ten years? Ghana is funny country. The life will be gone when he is back. Yes of course stealing is not good but the sentence is too much,

• Wahala 10 years ago

Stealing cassava to go to jail for 10 years, however these same so call "judges of corruption" have set individuals free for causing huge financial loss to the state. Judgement Debt?

• nana 10 years ago

if stealing 500ghana cedis worth cassava equals to 10year hard labour in prisonment,woyome will be equal to what? stupid fools judges in ghana

• mek 10 years ago

Foolish judge cum foolish leaders in Ghana.You jail somebody ten years for stealing cassava which values 500gn cedis then I wondery how many years wayome go get. Foolish judge God will punish u n ur entire family. You will al ...

• CINDY 10 years ago

10 yrs for stealing cassava and WOYOMI is walking free what a country.

• Wofa Koo 10 years ago

Yaw Nkrumah is crazy to commit such madness offense.His punishment will served as a lesson to those village bullys who refuse to farm but intend to steal from their poor hard working neighbors.
    If he wants to steal and go f ...

• Jojo 10 years ago

Noone will condone stealing whatever may be stolen but 10 years for stealing cassava worth 500 Cedis is too hash and the judge should reconsider. At least he should be made to pay for the cost and be placed on probation. This ...

• GOV 10 years ago

10 YEARS FOR STEALING CASSAVA NOT WORTH 1000GHS.IN A CIVILISED COUNTRY THE PUNISHMENT FOR CRIMES ARE LAID DOWN CLEARLY FOR CITIZENS TO KNOW BUT IN GHANA THEY HIDE THEM SO THEY CAM USE IT TO PROTECT THE AFLUENT. IS A SHAME THE ...

• nana 10 years ago

this is not jail sentences is a matter of paying penaty.this stupid judgements is the main reason why the big criminals like Woyome en others walking freely whiles the prisons are 0ver filled with poor innocent people en stup ...

• Nii Joromi 10 years ago

Are these fuckin judges serious? They should rather go after the damn politicians.

• kwame 10 years ago

10yrs jail sentence given to de farmer is too harsh.de justice system in Ghana has failed d poor.who inbhis right sense will give a 10yr jail term to a poor farmer just for stealing cassava.my o my this is pure rubbish

• John Mahama 10 years ago

Stupidity

• Daniel Amponsah BRONX NYtha 10 years ago

God will punish Ghana legal system, wayonmi is still walking free with stupid Ghana laws and its loop holes saying he has done no wrong but 10 years with hard labour jail term for stealing cassava God sometimes I am ashamed ...

• w3 10 years ago

Bonkers

• w3 10 years ago

Outrage

• Jato .P 10 years ago

The sentence is too harsh. What about people who use pens to stael millions of cedis from the Ghanaian tax payer?. Some of these judges must use their common sense.

• tom,italy 10 years ago

too bad judgment and stupidity

• Slydomba 10 years ago

You have taken this appointment from the ewes. He needs spiritual deliverance

• d citizen ghana 10 years ago

This is stupid how can this happen when people who steal thousands are walking free.this judge shd have been mire circumspective

• grace 10 years ago

And how many 'days' do the BIG thieves in high positions get when they steal from the national coffers and render the whole nation broke. Which judge pronounced the judgement, and nobody said anything?

• QUEEN 10 years ago

SHEER NONSENSE. THIS IS ABUSE OF JUSTICE SYSYEM. WOYOME SHOULD GET LIFE PLUS 100 YEARS.

• OB 10 years ago

SADA CULPRITS ASKED TO REFUND MONEY.

• TEE 10 years ago

THIEF MAHAMA AND FAMILIES WILL BE PROBE WAIT AND SEE PERIOD

• MenayeFUAforiwa 10 years ago

Ten years for stealing food? The magistrate should be sacked from office for this draconian sentence. Even this was not ever heard of during the Evil Empire of the Soviet Union. This heartless Rawlings type of a person who do ...

• Natingle 10 years ago

criminals are Walking free outthere what is cassava? mmmcheww set him free jare

• mike 10 years ago

this person should not be in prison go and look for the hardened criminals and murderers this is a disgrace to ghana idiots leaders fucking people

• TEE 10 years ago

THAT ALL PERIOD

• MANSON 10 years ago

STEALING FOOD IS NOT A CRIME

• Nana Yaw, Boston, USA 10 years ago

This is cruel and unusual punishment. Ten years for a taproot staple is too much. Aden? What country is this?

• (Yaw Benson (Canada) 10 years ago

Please help me how I can provide a lawyer to defened this poor farmer it's sad. My email address is Ababiorichard352@gmail.com

• ANCIENT MAN 10 years ago

i will contact you on wednesday 23rd April,after 4pm.. by email.and my mobile no. in UK

• assemblyman,ahafo south 10 years ago

Poor farmers are always below the law without protection.Ten years for stealing cassava.How many years for Woyome for stealing GH52 million.

• BB 10 years ago

NO one is saying it is good to steal , however , justice is suppose to be equal in magnitude for all. If you ask others to refund stolen state money then i don't think you are been fair to we the citizen. Mr judge , you are d ...

• (Yaw Benson (Canada) 10 years ago

I need more information how to contact this man farmily phone number, Ghana has the number one kangaroo Court justice systerm in the world. those who supposed to be in jail are been set free and those who should be set free ...

• ANCIENT MAN 10 years ago

Mr. YAW BENSON, DON'T JOKE WITH THIS CASE, PLEASE. MANY PEOPLE ARE IN PRISON IN GHANA AND WE NEED TO FREE THEM.

• stan 10 years ago

the judge might be sick in the head to sentence him to 10 years imprisonment

• MR AYEH DARKO 10 years ago

BECAUSE OF J JOHN RAWLLINGS I BET CASSAVA THIEF VOTED FOR NDC GOOD FOR HIM THEY ARE ALL CLUELESS ,SAD VERY SAD FOR MY PEOPLE LIVING IN GHANA

• Theo NJ 10 years ago

I can't comprehend the judicial system in Ghana, this type of ruling tells you how our dear country Ghana is really corrupt on all angles.The sad aspect parts of the entire case was,Mr.Nkrumah showed a great remorse to the co ...

• Villa Kakalika 10 years ago

laws are stupid!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Joe 10 years ago

Travesty of justice indeed! When we have judges who have nothing to do except collect bribes from corrupt politicians, what are we to expect? When we have lawyers and judges who can't even communicate well in spoken English l ...

• jaga 10 years ago

this man should not go yo prison at all...where is Woyome..

• jaga 10 years ago

This judgement must be reversed immidiately...10 years for what?

• Kuf 10 years ago

Kromah - 500 = 10yrs
    :. 500 divided by 10yrs = 50
    So
    Wayomi- 500milion Cedis divided by 50cedis then =???????

• betty 10 years ago

Really? Do the ghanaian judges understand the word probation? This man confess to the crime ok what else does need. All the judge should have done is to make him pay for the cassava and three years probation.

• concern human 10 years ago

wow! this is injustice! 10 yrs? just for stealing cassava? oh come one...

• Antiochus - London 10 years ago

What is wrong with our judicial system? GYEEDA and SADA culprits are walking free and 10yrs for cassava theft? This is a joke!

• Kwame TKT 10 years ago

How can someone be jailed for ten years for stealing cassava. Unbelievable!!!!. how many years are armed robbers jailed in this country.?

• ben 10 years ago

OOOH NOOOOOOOO.

• Rasta 10 years ago

Which judge gave this sentence? It seems he/she has nothing to do or think about. How can you jail someone for 10 years for stealing cassava costing Five Hundred Ghana Cedis? Fools paradise!!! When people are stealing billion ...

• tweeeeeeaaakai 10 years ago

AND WOYOME IS WALKING FREE. SHAME ON THE JUDICIARY

• Albert 10 years ago

Madness!!!!
    This Judge is mad. He needs a Psychiatric

• ONIPANUA 10 years ago

10 years for stealing cassava?This is an outrageous sentence even though stealing is unacceptable.

• FUFUO DADESEN 10 years ago

THESE JUDGES ARE SICK IN THE HEAD OR WHAT?..TEN YEARS FOR BANKYE? COME ON,MAN

• kwaku USA 10 years ago

Do Ghanaian judges really understand law and apply it rightfully. Ten years for food, how many will this maggot judge give to the criminal politician. This is just Misdemeanor which shouldn't be more 12 months jail term. This ...

• NN 10 years ago

This judge should be sentenced to death. How can u sentenced the poor farmer who's struggling to survive as a hard criminal. The attorney general needs to step in for this poor farmer. How many years did u sentence our corrup ...

• Philips 10 years ago

What is wrong with some of our judges and magistrates in Ghana?

• Richard,New York 10 years ago

For Christ sake!!!what is wrong with Ghanaians!politicians and so call managers of state institutions are stealing state monies and nothing done to them,this is crazy and shameful!!!!

• Fire 10 years ago

The guy has pleaded guilty for stealing, so they shouldn't have jailed him for that amount of years.

The law needs to be changed and also they need to set Mr Nkrumah free. Mr president please review this guys case for us,b ...

• lydia .usa 10 years ago

Woyome deserve 100 yrs then

• GOD IS WATCHING 10 years ago

10YEARS FOR CASSAVA 0YEARS FOR WOYOME

• Papa Dey 10 years ago

Do we have a probation law in Ghana?The judge himself needs to be evaluated by a Psychiatrist.

• TK 10 years ago

The courts only appear to go into business when poor souls are brought before them; and judges seem to apply the law to the letter only when cases like these spring. Do they ever care to adjudicate on official crimes? No. Its ...

• Divine 10 years ago

you are jailing this farmer 10 years who has stolen apparently due to the economic situation in Ghana whiles the people who are making Ghana hot for people like the farmer are roaming free and making merry.God is watching us ...

• GENERAL DeGAULE 10 years ago

Surely there must be a sentencing policy or guideline prepared by the Judiciary Service or may be not! What a country??

• Agonaba 10 years ago

If cassava thief gets 10 years,please caculate Wayome's sentence for us,your honour.

• james naru 10 years ago

10 years
    !!!

• SHAKARA 10 years ago

10 years for stealing cassava!!!! STUPID
    THIS JUDGE MISTRIED THE CASE

• Jeremy 10 years ago

If a farmer can be jailed for 10 years for stealing a common cassava then what will the murderes get ? The sentencing in our courts have to be looked into because its the tax payers money that feed the prisoners and people ma ...

• MARCUS AMPADU 10 years ago

Mr. Sampling, please immediately REVERSE this harsh punishment. Give him 10 days incarceration, and let Mr.Nkrumah do 3-5 years of hardwork on a cassava farm as community atonement. The crime does not fit the punishment, your ...

• ammasaah 10 years ago

How many years do you jailed top official for stealing millions?

• eagle 10 years ago

Why? Why? Why? Government should into this. It is sick...

• JH New York 10 years ago

The questions that comes to mind with regard to the abnormal Sentence of 10 years in Confinement,for stealing Cassava worth 500.Cedis are :
    1.Is the laws made to symbolically give a Senseless Sentence to devastate the life o ...

• JH New York 10 years ago

in the form of Subsistence to........

• Machomen for good and justice 10 years ago

We will find good lawyer for him is too much

• OJAALA TI TI 10 years ago

Stupid judge with stupid judgement.How many years was given to Dan Abudagwe and co for causing financial lose to the state

• nsem pii 10 years ago

and walk free. Woyome saga they are dancing better Ghana agenda around it because... They know their retirement money is in it.Is a SHAME folks?

• Akadu Mensema 10 years ago

Oh! Ghanafo!

• KANE 10 years ago

In Ghana, the best way to steal big and go free is to be a prominent politician or leader.

While Ghana's corrupt leaders continue to be treated with kid gloves, poor Ghanaians are ruthlessly treated for relatively minor cr ...

• Diasporan 10 years ago

How many years do armed-robber terrorists get? Who made this Yaw Sarpong man a judge?

• Garth 10 years ago

W-H-A-T cassava thief get ten years aabbaa, oh Lord forgive them for they don`t what they are doing. How many years would Woyome get?

• Future Judge 10 years ago

Chief Justice of Ghana, my question is: are you working with competent magistrates/staff? What are you doing about these stupid magistrates and ignorant staff of yours who are disgracing the legal profession. It is a big disg ...

• LuckKOJO 10 years ago

how can a judge sentences cassava thief to 10 years in jail? is this crime more serious than what some politicians are committing- corruption, causing judgement debts, stealing state money and so and so on. the poor watch out ...

• Tony 10 years ago

This judge must be crazy, did he sniffed cocaine before taking the bench?Please,attorney general use your office to investigate this stupid day care graduate judge,