You are here: HomeBusiness2016 10 19Article 478900

Ghana in serious debt crisis - Report

Read Comments Comments (117)

• Afotey Bibio 7 years ago

There are lies and then there are damn lies, this is a damn lie.

• atwei 7 years ago

ISODEC, the leader of the group which compiled the report is NDC. They helped to bring in Atta Mills. So what are you, Afotey talking about? It is the truth and Bawumia has been saying it all along. Check your president's ...

• jo T 7 years ago

where will npp then get the money for all those million and one promises than?

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Mahama is so heartless, wicked and corrupt that he wouldn’t blink stealing from a helpless orphan. Please read the following:
    Ghana’s President Hurls Insults At Obasanjo At African Forum In London - bloomberg

There wa ...

• GLORY OF GHANA 7 years ago

YES, CON MAN JOHN MAHAMA IS A THIEF

My friend, Agbesi Kwasi, all NDC officials are thieves. It is not only corrupt and con president, John Mahama. Stealing and evil deeds are in the DNA of every NDC officials. They don't ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

Centre Ghana, Jubilee Debt Campaign UK, SEND Ghana, WAZOBA Ghana, All-Afrikan Networking Community Link for International Development, Kilombo Ghana and Abibimman Foundation Ghana.

• Ghaman, Beijing . 7 years ago

Bawumiah knows nothing . The loans and depreciation or the fiscal deficit among others are relative . If we contract loans to build infrastructure which is on the ground , it will yield much benefit in the long term . It's be ...

• samuel 7 years ago

If a country borrows at 24.5% interest rates she will be bankrupt. No excuses.

• Big John @uwr 7 years ago

This is a bunch of manufactured lies not worth wasting precious time to read. The mafia press corps of the yen akanfo grouping of the Npp are behind this rubbish always wishing something evil befalls Ghana. They will fail a ...

• Big John @uwr 7 years ago

Only lazy people waste their time on the Internet . They are the people who criticize the most, are very greedy very dishonest and are waiting to help nana Akuffo Addo to tear Ghana apart. They did same to Nkrumah and are sti ...

• Haile Mangistus Manasseh II 7 years ago

This is a disgruntled NPP misleading report. Just IGNORE IT.

• KWAKU SEI 7 years ago

IF FOUD TRUE NDC SHOULD SIMPLY BE MADE TO PAY BACK ANYTHING ABOVE 20 PERCENT

• Engineer 7 years ago

It is a worrying trend to ascertain good graduates in Ghana have now become stomach politicians.
    Indeed, most graduates are so drawn into political gimmicks to ignore what is going on in the country suddenly. This is a well ...

• JUSTICE 7 years ago

419 people. Evil thinkers. JM TOASO.

• Kojo 7 years ago

Mahama alone chop GHc81.5b of GHc110b
    Mahama alone has indebted this nation to the tune of GHc 81.5 billion since Atta Mills died. When ATTA Mills took over from Kuffuor the national debt was GHc 9.58billion. When ATTA Mills ...

• lab 7 years ago

Wake your brain up. Is this report to from Dr. Bwumiah? We were all here when he warned the government about borrowing only for the president to say he will continue to borrow. Now see the mess on our hands now.

• Young pioneer 7 years ago

When you start crying wolf wolf wolf when there's no wolf in sight, the next time a real wolf appears your genuine shouts of wolf will no longer attract any attention. That is what Nana and Bawumia are doing to Ghana. Go to L ...

• Me 7 years ago

Are you blind or you just can't read and understand. Just like the incompetent administrators of our dear nation.

• Gods will 7 years ago

Which one is d damn lie? Look at this brainwashed being who seems to understand nothing n hears nothing. Do u leave on d desert dat u don't know wat is going on in d country or wat? God is watching u guys n very soon will pun ...

• aikins 7 years ago

The most useless person to have ever ruled a nation.

• yaa 7 years ago

massa be sensible small. aaaaah dnt be a child

• ALIMI YAO 7 years ago

Because of politics seemingly intelligent people have become boot-licking fools. This is a well written piece about Ghana's debt situation and what do we hear from someone? "It's a lie." Get a grip and open your mind a little ...

• Peace 7 years ago

This an obvious reason why NDC cannot respond to Dr Bawumia"s 170 facts on the state of Ghana"s economy.God, have mercy on Ghana and Ghanaians, amen.

• THE TRUTH HURTS 7 years ago

Even if Ghana is serious debt crisis is this the time to talk about it? where were these so called economic groups? they should give us a break and join Nana Ado in Kumasi for campaign if they want. Useless groups who are alw ...

• Gods will 7 years ago

U need Jesus guy, so when do u think its d ryt time for this report, why are we behaving like the brain God gave to us has been replaced with something else. Are u blind or wat, can't u see d country is sinking? Wat kind of t ...

• Keen Observer 7 years ago

I'm no aficionado but read and research and comprehend. I, like many others on this medium remain concerned observers of what these looters are actually going leave behind, total mess!

• Kojo 7 years ago

Source BoG:
    Mahama alone has indebted this nation to the tune of GHc 81.5 billion since Atta Mills died. When ATTA Mills took over from Kuffuor the national debt was GHc 9.58billion. When ATTA Mills died in July 2012, the Na ...

• 1 Loaf 7 years ago

Alimi, in your effort to point to others as " boot-licking fools you aptly showed who you TRULY are; an IDIOT.

• 27 years of ndc is disease 7 years ago

Bawumia told Ghanaians dat Ghana debt has move from 9.58b in 2008 to 110billion in 2016, Bank of ghana came to confirm it dat out debt is 110b n now this report is confirmn it, still ndc foolsoldiers r sayn it is a lie, unbel ...

• ALIMI YAO 7 years ago

I'm would rather be an idiot who appreciates Ghana's current predicament than the foolish ostriches some Ghanaian have become due to stomach politics. Man, I don't care who wins the elections as long as the economy is not ru ...

• Love 7 years ago

One loaf right, go get more loaf for your family and stop being plain stupid, kwasia like that. NDC gurus knows nothing and I pity them a lot. Because of their foolishness, they will be used by their leaders because they know ...

• MR.TRUTH 7 years ago

STOP STOMACH POLITICS AND FOLLOW THE FACTS OF THE REPORT JOINTLY PUBLISHED .NOW BAWUMIA HAS BEEN VINDICATED

• DOCTOR KOOL 7 years ago

Even Asiedu Nketia has said it Recently,that Dr Bawumia is a clever,economic polictitian,only that he is in bad company with npp'but the Dr's Estimations on Ghana's Economy,Debt,loans and revenues are clear and Pure Truth,,Gh ...

• Sappey-Agboh -Tsiame-Alagbokope. 7 years ago

Who are these mushroom NGOs? What the source of the data they are using? Go ahead and believe them. Which of these groups has any credibility in the filed of political, or international or development economics? It just shows ...

• MR.TRUTH 7 years ago

DO YOU NEED TO STUDY GRAMMER OF POLITCS BEFORE GETTING FACTS ABOUT AILING ECONOMY WITH HUGE DEBT

• MR.TRUTH 7 years ago

DO YOU NEED TO STUDY GRAMMAR OF POLITCS BEFORE GETTING FACTS ABOUT AILING ECONOMY WITH HUGE DEBT

• Kokuvi Da Togolese 7 years ago

Oyiwa! Here we go! Ghana is falling fast into a darker abyss.

• SmartphonesSupportBiz 7 years ago

Hi... Are you idle? No job? You want to assist an unemployed person? One device today with the largest penetration in the market across the world is the Mobile Phone. Running a standard cellphone support centre is a great bus ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 7 years ago

****** ***** ******* WE ARE TALKING ABOUT OVER 40 BILLION DOLLAR DEBT AND THE RESULT IS THE SHIT GHANAIANS ARE GOING THROUGH TODAY. LOOK AT OUR ELECTRICITY AND WATER TARIFFS , NHIS GONE, TRANSPORT FARES TOO HIGH, SCHOOL FEES ...

• Sani Mohammed 7 years ago

Ghanaians wake up . It is not lies this is the consequences of incompetency .

• Hooo 7 years ago

Nonsense and useless Report...

• Ghanaman 7 years ago

This is what Mahama is saying.... Let ask Paa Kwawsi Concert

• jo T 7 years ago

this could be true or a lie- we need verified figures

• SOWOTUOM SOLDIER 7 years ago

ARE YOU BLIND AND WHAT NONSENSE ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT?.CAN'T YOU SEE THE EVIDENCE IS NAKED ON THE GROUND.WHY ARE YOU PEOPLE SO STUPID LIKE MAHAMAH?.BAWUMIAH HAS BE WARNING THIS KNOW NOTHING THIEVES PARADING AS POLITICIANS BUT ...

• Asante Nkrumah 7 years ago

Oh Ghana why?
    Why all this propaganda?
    Why are u publishing the news now? for votes or what? Please give us a break we are not kids... JM will win again either you like it or not.

• Nana Nti 7 years ago

U are fool paaa. Don't we have the right to know how this government is running the economy so we used that choose who to vote for.. It means u don't think about the future of the nation.. Stomach and blind citizen. Wise u ...

• kkd 7 years ago

THIS REPORT EVEN THOUGH NOT TRUE SHOWS THAT NPP IS A 419 PARTY. THEY ARE COMING TO CUT TAXES AND TO BORROW MORE TO PAY PRESENT DEBTS FROM WHERE? BAWUMIA IS A LAIR AND NPP IS DOOMED FOREVER. HOW CAN WE HAVE THIS ISSSUES AND SO ...

• Nana Nti 7 years ago

Nanxix read the article. Some of the debts can be cancelled..

• Sappey-Agboh -Tsiame-Alagbokope. 7 years ago

What credibility have these organisations? What do NGOs that are subvention from dubious sources know about good governance. The finder newspaper should assist Paa Kwesi York to learn how not to commit fraud when filing his a ...

• TULA 7 years ago

Very good report and a diabolical insight into the the Jon Mahama NDC regime of raising and using debt as a tool to WRECK the economy of Ghana ; to add to this brialliant piece of work ; I would state that the policy od sole ...

• Naa Yaa 7 years ago

Mahama's NDC government thinks we are fools, when they borrow to service debt and they call that good economics.
    Mahama is corrupt and must be voted out.

• black magic 7 years ago

Traditional Satanism is not simply an inversion, but a complete rejection of the images of a
    0244908520particular culture, religion, or philosophy. From there a Satanist uses those images against the ethos itself, that was ...

• King SA 7 years ago

Where is the so calledAfrica watch magazine ?? Instead of dealing with Ghana's problems at hand, they are foolishly talking nana addo

• SOWOTUOM SOLDIER 7 years ago

WE WILL BE LUCKY TO BE COLONIZED.THE COUNTRY HAS BEEN ALREAY SOLD OUT BY THESE FOOLS AND CRIMINALS IN NDC.THIS KNOW NOTHING FOOL IS ALWAYS TALKING ABOUT HIS SHODDY PROJECTS KNOWING THAT ALL THE MONEY HE HAS BORROWED HAS GONE ...

• K Mensah 7 years ago

This report clearly vindicates dr Bawumiah's assertions, but NDC jackals will dispute it because they are too obtuse to understand its implications for the country. Mahama has indeed been a CURSE for Ghana. He should be voted ...

• Kanawu 7 years ago

This is very serious. Change must happen now.

• GHANA'S FUTURE 7 years ago

My friend, Agbesi Kwasi, all NDC officials are thieves. It is not only corrupt and con president, John Mahama. Stealing and evil deeds are in the DNA of every NDC officials. They don't care about you and Ghana. All what these ...

• samuel 7 years ago

Bawumia news file

• Kwasi 7 years ago

The economy is everything. Mahama is lost it!

• Captein 7 years ago

What would any government do differently. External unexpected shocks have always existed. Frankly, the report at least suggested solutions. But all world groups and international trading blocks have debt sustainability issues ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 7 years ago

YOU CAN DECIEVE THOSE WHO ARE STUPID AND IGNORANT , BUT THEY ARE NOT MANY THESE DAYS, YOU LACK INNOVATION , THE SAME GAME YOU PLAYED AGAINST KWAME NKRUMAH, AND YOU ARE STILL TRYING IT NOW?

WE KNOW INVESTMENTS, WHEN WE SEE ...

• Easy 7 years ago

This a a very well presented information provided it was done correctly with no malice.

Such detailed information are is worth to be critically analysed by policy makers in order to advise government accordingly.

I will ...

• James 7 years ago

Frustrated and confused npp news papers, nowadays nobody buys the finder because it's lies and very poor writing.

Eeeei so now de finder is npp news paper, hahaha unbelievable, de minds of ndc r very gullible, de finder is one of de renowned neutral newspaper in Ghana, even Bank of ghana confirmed dat our debt is 110b, change is a must.

• Ghaman, Beijing . 7 years ago

Global economic crisis
    Bawumiah knows nothing . The loans and depreciation or the fiscal deficit among others are relative . If we contract loans to build infrastructure which is on the ground , it will yield much benefit in ...

• DOG BEATER 7 years ago

NOT A SINGLE RECOGNISED ENTITY THERE. JUST DANQUA INSTITUTE FAKES. IMF LOAN USED TO PAY INTEREST INDEED.IMF LEND 4 SPECIFIC TIED PROJECTS. NDC IS NOT NPP WHO WERE DUPED INTO TAKING PHANTOM LOANS FROM BARBAR SHOPS.JOKERS

• James 7 years ago

Frustrated and confused npp news papers, nowadays nobody buys the finder because it's lies and very poor writing. God will punish all of you because of politics you painting the country black, nana will not rule Ghana until h ...

• Deja vu (Dubai) 7 years ago

Mahama is a Moron he is stealing the countries money to buy mansions and hotels In Dubai

• Ray 7 years ago

What about the capital projects these loans have financed? These are assets NOT debts.

• Ajax 7 years ago

Do you know the cost of these capital peojects. Assuming the monies use for these projects is yours won't you demand for the money that goes into them. You can take a loan but have to account for as the report says.

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

Upon all this,this nincompos is touting for himself i have done this I've done that.let's wait for the frogs death to see and know what.WE THE PEOPLE SHALL PROBE YOU ALL WHERE EVER,EVEN IN YOUR NEW THIEVES HAVEN,Hollyghost fi ...

• Jdm all the way 7 years ago

Useless report just like the Npp.

• Azure-Bolga 7 years ago

The President read Communication in the University and has little knowledge in Economics. This assertion had brought about the debt crisis, because whatever Dr Bawumia reveals to the public seem to the President as "FUN FAIR" ...

• Ked 7 years ago

How many of the citizen are paying tax? Yet you want everything free including food on your table.

• dwornu 7 years ago

so is npp bringing money to settle the debts in four years .What ever you say will not and I repeat WILL NOT make npp winner

• .... 7 years ago

keep supporting poverty, mediocrity and incompetence! ewes are worse than animals in terms of reasoning. you reason like baboons! Kwasiafuor!

• Dad 7 years ago

Hilarious everyone with a brain knows loads of moans hidden in the books of governmrntbquasi entities billions owed here there and everywhere but. Ecause it is not on the GOVERNMENT books IMF and that stupid useless noodles ( ...

• Paul 7 years ago

Who are those authors of the report? This is nonsense. It is the work of NPP.

• Dr. Pink sheet 7 years ago

What nonsense is this??? How many times do you want Prez JDM to talk about our national dept?? NATION WRECKERS, Y3 NIM MO, FRE TITI..

TWEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

• lrn 7 years ago

most of the comments here talking against npp when this article is directed at the current useless government proves ndc followers and supporter reason like animals and should be regarded as subhumans who don't see danger whe ...

• Aful Johnson 7 years ago

These are hard core facts. Please leave BAWUMIA alone.

• The don 7 years ago

Yea it's obvious that incompetent bastard will leave a mess behind for the NPP and that is why I insist Akuffo ADDO must prosecute the bunch of them to serve as a deterrent to other would be theives.OUR MOTHERLAND HAS BEEN LO ...

• smart man 7 years ago

For the stupid once who dont believe this, go to the following website - www.ghaudit.org/gas/site/reports -
    This is the ghana government audit site, where u can look into the report of the auditors. see the millions they ha ...

• yennuman 7 years ago

ghanaweb, tell us those organizations, why are you bias like that, if you did not stop that we will stop reading your news.

• Samson 7 years ago

Another NPP sponsored nonsense. Which country in the world is not in debt? Absolute rubbish!

• PEEVED 7 years ago

The photo of Flagstaff House is now what JDM looks like. A fictitious article with a wrongly caption photo to go with it

• MOI 7 years ago

NPP DOING WHAT THEY DO BEST. TO PEDDLE LIES. WHICH COUNTRY IN THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD DOESN'T HAVE DEBT? EVEN THE USA AND BRITAIN OWES TRILLIONS. NPP SHOULD GIVE US A BREAK. SPREADING LIES WILL NOT WIN THE DOPE HEAD THE ELECTION ...

• Asare 7 years ago

Indeed every country in the world owes debt.however anything above 18-22 percent of GDP is unsustainable. Ours is about 56 percent.Think carefully about it. The USA and Britain don't exceed 5 percent.if they do;the Dollar and ...

• samson hayford 7 years ago

why the state house labelled as mahama ? cheap article that lacks merit

• PEEVED 7 years ago

Who are the authors of this report? I smell something afoul here. Reveal their identities so we can task them about the validity of their findings with authentic information from credible sources

• nana akwasi agyemang badu 7 years ago

5when you use lies to rule the nation youwill exposed at the later part when you need credibility,Bawumia is a hero when it comes in money and debt matters and the insultees in ndc must continue but thank God that the true is ...

• Abusua 7 years ago

This is written by such unpatriotic soles who are seeking the doom of Ghana so that they can be handed over the country so they could loot as they did from year 2000 to 2008. But it won't happened. Members of NPP feel that ...

• MAHAMA B3 KO 7 years ago

John Mahama's NDC administration is one gov't that has enjoyed huge windfalls from commodity prices and so no, the debt crisis has nothing to do with a fall in commodity prices. Indeed, it is the only administration that has ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

Some spurious report by shady "organizations" founded overnight by NPP. Who the heck are - Integrated Social Development centre Ghana, Jubilee Debt Campaign UK, SEND Ghana, WAZOBA Ghana, All-Afrikan Networking Community Link ...

• Ashiboye 7 years ago

It is very true and when the cow is slipping, all the knives are drawn. So every president start his corruption plan and becoming billioners. Every president has about 5 billions of this dept in their private accounts. What ...

• Easamoah 7 years ago

na who na who cause a m ebe the government (NDC) when Bawumia said it you people were insulting him now you see hmm vote Wise ooh.

• Dr Robert K Glah 7 years ago

Debt politics is dangerous for development of Ghana. What is needed is supporting seven million diversified SMEs in Ghana through financing and mentoring to promote real growth through the private sector; the SMEs are the lif ...

• Kwami 7 years ago

This is a cooked and a false report.cheap politics indeed.y

• Mistyebeh 7 years ago

If this is coming from npp then the party is in serious problem.national debt has nothing to do with political party function.ghana debt so what,not npp debt,the same story during jerry time,enemies of progress npp.countries ...

• aziz 7 years ago

All BDC are fools and bunch of thieves. Stealing Ghana money galore...

Bawumiah vindicated....

• yaa 7 years ago

Mahama has failed totally .We r not to even have time for a waste government. Aaaah big thieves. God will punish them all

• sulley 7 years ago

where are u leading Ghana to eeeeeeiiiii incompetent President what exactly do u want from us.Mahama killed Mills and now he want to kill us too.

• Kojo 7 years ago

Borrow and provide good drinking water and let the people live healthy life and pay for the loan. That is far better than living poor and for people to die out unhygienic life style. JM go for it!

• Frenchman 7 years ago

Rubbish,rubbish and rubbish from ethnocentric backward village idiots. Wise up you stoneage biped with a some brains left. Do move forward to modernity and stop drawing back your fellow tribesmen with all this ignorance. Come ...

Before ndc foolsoldiers will realise dat mahama is collapsing, it will be too late bawumia said it, bank of Ghana confirmed it dat our debt is 110billion n this article is confirming, but ndc will say it is a lie. Gullible m ...

• obi 7 years ago

is Bawumia right looking at the report

• Kobby 7 years ago

These authors would have been complete if you added Maame Water Commission. Alarmist and doomsaying to garner votes for Npp. If that is the state of the economy then Npp should rewrite their manifesto to show how they will de ...

• Asare 7 years ago

So says the report" There is little transparency in loan utilization" need say more? This has been hammered over and again by the opposition but John Mahama and his people say they are giving us homungous, massive unprecedent ...

• Wofa Koo 7 years ago

WHAT DO YOU EXPECT FROM GANG OF WORKERS OF INIQUITY . THIEVES AND EVIL DOERS

• Abena 7 years ago

BBC focus on Africa discussed it today

• Kwobia (Toronto) 7 years ago

Short term gain,long term African political pain.Ghanain leaders make too many promises just to win an election.Once in office,the leader has to deliver,at any cost.The average person knows that,before you borrow,you must kno ...

• JH New York 7 years ago

What do you expect in a Country which quotes anything which has something to do with money in Dollars($)whether local or foreign. I have Commented several times through this channel.Sick and confused nation.

• Mahama72 & Montie3 7 years ago

Mahama don't believe the NPP hype. Keeping on borrowing till you drop, even from North Korea,West Korea,East Korea and Russia.Do you want him to borrow from your mothers'asses.

• Mahama72 & Montie3 7 years ago

JM toaso.

• Change is coming 7 years ago

How come only foolish people support NDC? Such fools hardly get water to brush their smelling teeth. Am a voltarian from North Tongu but refused to be part of the NDC because am just too intelligent to be a fool. Anyone who a ...

• rich 7 years ago

so do fiifi kwetey,koku,asiedu-nketia ,debra(chief of staff)ablakwa ndc chairman(porturffy reads these stoff and think its political issues likeness like foolkoku ,ablakwa,asiedu-nketiah etc etc do think of that? ghana most r ...