You are here: HomeBusiness2015 05 09Article 357495

Gov’t considers introduction of bullet trains

Read Comments Comments (69)

• Military Man 8 years ago

The government couldn't even keep the old Railway system maintained.. let alone keep it running.

And now they are thinking of "bullet trains"...Go figure!

Simple thermal power plants can't even be kept running to handl ...

• MATHS 8 years ago

Though this is a very welcome idea that has in fact been long overdue, I believe this minister Rashid Pelpuo is just doing mouth mouth. Where will you get the money from? And with Dumsor, where will these bullet trains that r ...

• Senior Wisdom 8 years ago

If talking was all we need to be in government then we had quite a few talkers in Ghana. You solve the dumsor, then a few roads in spintex to ease congestion. Dream big and die with your dream.
    When I was young I heard of a ...

• OBOSOMANKETRE 8 years ago

WHAT HAPPENED TO JOHN'S PROMISE FOR A FLOATING BRIDGE OVER THE VOLTA LAKE WHILE GHANAIANS CONTINUED TO FACE HARDSHIP AT SENCHE FERRY. MAHAMA FAILS TO REALIZE HE LOST ALL CREDIBILITY AND RESPECT IN SUCH EXPENSIVE JOKES FROM A ...

• iLiveNews@!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.de 8 years ago

No wonder cerebraties called u Ndc guys unintellegent. Kyerese mmo abön papaaa. Cant you guys reason for once? Where would you get electricity to power the Trains?, let alone in Dumsor where the
    People doesnt even have ligh ...

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 8 years ago

The news is as fake as it sounds. In fact, nothing of such a news has been reported by the outfit of Reuters.

• Abongo 8 years ago

That is what you think

• Dadiekye 8 years ago

This Minister is a fool.How many develop Countries have that.KWASEA

• Neutral Zone 8 years ago

The fix is in... Someone figured a way to steal money b4 2016

• Darko 8 years ago

They are jokers and looters who create financial loss to the state for their own benefits.

• Dk 8 years ago

Bbc you are quite of this bullet train issue

• ARREST THAT MAGGOT MAHAMA 8 years ago

THE BULLET TRAIN IS NOT A PROBLEM; BUT THE QUESTION HOW ARE WE GOING TO POWER THIS TRAIN::::::::: THIS MAHAMA AND HIS SCHOOL BOYS MINISTERS DRINKS TOO MUCH ALCOHOLIC: DO THEY REALLY HAVE BRAINS TO THINK

BBC might just b in on the loot this time.

• ASEM PII 8 years ago

I think he have an amount to his benefit if he travels in his posture as a minister or this Mr Selevan is friend.AMERIKA EVEN DO NOT HAVE A HIGH SPEED TRAIN LIKEWISE A BULLET TRAIN.Which part of Ghana DR RASHID PELPUO is from ...

• Tettey 8 years ago

He has never been able to string two sentences together without grammatical errors. He has never made an intelligent statement. Ask Rashid Pelpuo whether he knows what a bullet train is!

• KEN 8 years ago

HE WILL GET IT AT LEGO LAND .

• The mask 8 years ago

The economy of Ghana lacks the educational system and industrial base to construct and maintain bullet trains.

What bullet train? U just don't get it that the fix is in. One last attempt to steal money.

• United Ghana 8 years ago

This govt is not serious or just plain stupid. It's probably another plan to create a huge judgement debt.

• kwasi kyei baffour,atlanta.usa. 8 years ago

The govt should rather concentrate in the rehabilitation of the railway system handed to us by the colonial masters,which helped people to travel from one point to another and helped the export sector instead of building cast ...

• Pokuaa 8 years ago

Bullet train to be built by NDC. WHAT GRAMMATICAL TENSE IS THAT? Mission impossible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• John mahama 8 years ago

Future impossible tense.

• lankwei 8 years ago

These guys should be locked up in a lunatic asylum and the keys thrown away!

• danny 8 years ago

Belated April Fool!

• dumsor to djinako 8 years ago

dumsor to djinako

• PRICKUS DI CUNTUS 8 years ago

ARE YOU GUYS REALLY SERIOUS? I THINK YOU ARE TWATS AND NUTTERS!

• ST. SIMON 8 years ago

FUNNY ISN'T IT. DR PELPUO TOOK A NAP AND HAD A BAD DREAM.

• Bafour 8 years ago

I can't believe it. This people are really jokers. Very sad to say that this minister is very unintelligent if it is true that he made that presentation not anywhere but in NY before astute investors.

Of course any firm w ...

• kwesi 8 years ago

Put your hand at where your mouth will reach. Nonsense

• Tina 8 years ago

You can not fix light and you are thinking of speed trains. Good idea but I don't think Ghana is ready for that now. Local trains are still struggling to exist.

• TWEAA 8 years ago

TWEAAAAAAA! LOOK AT THE STATE OF OSAGYEFO'S BUILT MOTOR WAY.....AND YOU ARE THINKING OF 'BULLET TRAINS', TWEAAAAAAA! SOME GOVERNMENT INDEED.

• Jamal 8 years ago

Hahahahahah.... I really don't know what to say... But let me say something...this is total madness

• Obibini 8 years ago

Think and ask yourself why the USA do not have these trains? and then you will appreciate what Ghana should do.

• Iwan 8 years ago

A bullet train passing through a dumsor town with no lights could be interesting.

• Stick house 8 years ago

Insane, look at the rest of our infrastructure, what a silly joke. Cant even patch potholes..

• daladam 8 years ago

GHANA NEED ACTION TALK IS CHEAP

• jerry 8 years ago

LETS GET GHAN MOVING AGAIN

• CONCERNED GHANAIAN 8 years ago

**The Honorable Dr. Pelpuo remarked, "We sought out the best firm with the greatest vision to improve the everyday lives of all of our citizens through an improved affordable transit system. We will be building beautiful sust ...

• kweks 8 years ago

Why are we so negative? What a people? I am expecting the forum to be flowing with ideas and suggestions to make it happen but look at us? We should renew our minds snd stop this crab attitude.UT bank motto says where people ...

We are not being negative, we are being real. Do you want us to live in a dreamland?

• jk 8 years ago

Infaaaaact! who voted this man to power at all? So cant someone advise him to resign before we kick him out 2016. WHAT A DISGRACE TO PRESIDENCY.

• OK 8 years ago

manage the regular railway/train system well and then talk about the bullet trains.
    wishful thinking Twaaa!

• So Be It 8 years ago

Oh my goodness, what an "Ananse Story". Give us our lights and stop giving us this B.S.! Even the Super Power (USA), does not have bullet trains, gosssssh!

That is all I will say for now.

• Hard Listerners 8 years ago

Funny isn't it? there's dumsor for 3 years and no end in sight and dreaming of such huge venturesm funny, very funny.

• kk 8 years ago

bullet trains? hahaha what a joke

we can't even run a simple train service. talk less of bullet trains.

Powered with what? cocoa beans?

• Osei 8 years ago

Look at who is talking. Not a bad idea, but this is coming from a government that can't run "Nkomfem" business, NHIS, School feeding etc. Anyway, there are still a lot of inexperienced illiterates who run the country and thos ...

• Abongo 8 years ago

What has NPP done

• kweks 8 years ago

Bullet train will happen. NPP Skin pain! PREZ JM all the way!!!

• James Akosa U.S.A 8 years ago

Are these people serious at all, where in Ghana will that train pass?even trains from Accra to nsawam are derailing. Oh!poor Ghana

• Abongo 8 years ago

Do those things exit yes then it can happen in Ghana

• Military Man 8 years ago

KEEP ON DREAMING.
    IT'S GOOD FOR THE FOOL'S SELF ESTEEM

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

Chesterfield Faring Ltd. Announces Bullet Train to Be Developed in Ghana
    Mar 27, 2015, 15:39 ET from Chesterfield Faring Ltd.

NEW YORK, March 27, 2015 /PRNewswire/ -- The Republic of Ghana is pleased to announce that ...

• Prof Lungu 8 years ago

A Chesterfield Faring driven effort to hose Ghana. Imagine, this same NDC government has not completed the Accra-Kumasi highway (correct- ROAD). Nothing they do or say appear to be connected to anything.

Sorry Mahama! Maha ...

• DUMHAMA 8 years ago

How are these Bullet Trains going robe powered in DumDum Ghana ............. by Generators???

• Nana 8 years ago

Like serious ????????????...we couldn't even manage locomotive how much more about maglev......hmmm

• Jomoku 8 years ago

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA OOOOOOOOMG
    This jokers think its "nkomfem"

• TalkTalk 8 years ago

Eeeeeeeii Mahama for real ???? Power barge go suffer ooo !!!!

• BOAKYE YIADOM GERMANY 8 years ago

we Ghanaians ask first have u solve dumso?n ask high speed train please come again i am sorry about my lovely nation

• Robert 8 years ago

You are still living in the 15th century. We are in the 20th century. You deserve more than that. Stop using computers and iPad. Hold your governments accountable and ask them for the 20th century products to catch up. You ne ...

• kurtisdennis 8 years ago

when is Ghana going to grow? bullet trains are using one hour to make about 700km and we sit here to dream of 300km in 1.4hours. hummm.

• koku 8 years ago

this is a hoax

• Osei Tutu 1 8 years ago

Ghana can never ever build a bullet train within this century. This is a dream that will never see day light.

• Ghanaman THE REAL 8 years ago

This is the sort of forward thinking and capital projects that are needed in Ghana for a positive change, apart for the beneficial jobs to be generated and the positive financial/technical benefits! This is the sort of projec ...

• Nii Ablorh 8 years ago

Dreamers

• John mahama 8 years ago

Hahaha , I can't help laughing off what I just read. Maybe I'm dreaming. Someone tell me my eyes deceived me. What happened to the brt which is cheaper than what has been quoted for this project and with which type of energy ...

• KING SOLOMON 8 years ago

Tel me your source of electricity power to run this system of transportation. Do you think what you have experience here in abroad is for the weak minded people..."""??? You must first think of permanent source of electric po ...

• adanko 8 years ago

as for the multifying effects of avery project we all know. The problem with NDC is to stsrt telling us about what will come out of a project when even the step, which is to secure funds for the project has not been started. ...

• the lone crusader! 8 years ago

They call themselves engineers drs. Profs and refuse to think invent and innovate crying blabla like paupers.is int these overdued?aaaah its better late than never .mr pulpio welldone.