You are here: HomeBusiness2017 11 27Article 604392

Business News of Monday, 27 November 2017


President demands quality service from new PURC Board

President Akufo-Addo has appointed Mr. Michael Opam as the Board Chairman of the Public Utility Regulatory Commission (PURC).

He is to Chair the Board which has eight others as members.

Speaking at the inauguration of the board on Monday, November 27, 2017, the President charged the Commission to sanction all utility providers that fail in the delivery of service to consumers.

The President believes the PURC could achieve this aim as it has the law backing any such exercise.

The Executive Secretary of the PURC, Madam Mami Dufie Ofori and Mr. Daniel Ofosu Koranteng of the Trades Union Congress (TUC) are some of the members on the board.

Others are; Dr. Yaw Adu Gyamfi, Mr. Ebo B. Quagraine and Prof. Joe Amoako Tuffour representing the AGI, the Consumer Protection Agency and as President’s Nominee respectively.

The remaining members of the Board are; Mr. Ishmael Edjekumhene, Mr. Emmanuel Sekor and Madam Dora Oppong all being the President’s Nominees.

The Board is among others expected to help address some recent issues that border on workers’ resistance to the appointment of a Deputy Executive Secretary.

In addition, the Board would be required to work on government’s proposal to reduce tariffs for consumers of electricity as outlined in the 2018 budget statement.