You are here: HomeBusiness2018 08 20Article 678018

General News of Monday, 20 August 2018


Inter-Ministerial Committee set to vet small scale miners

The Inter-Ministerial Committee on Mining is set to vet the registered small scale miners across the country in a bid to regularize their operations before it makes recommendations to President Nana Akufo-Addo to lift the ban on mining.

This comes barely after the Committee Chaired by Prof. Kwabena Frimpong Boateng, Minister of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation held a press briefing to outdoor the Road Map towards the lifting of the ban at the Ministry of Information Conference on Thursday 16th August, 2018.

Three teams have been formed to simultaneously vet all small-scale mining licences in the Country.

The vetting will be supervised by the IMCIM under the leadership of Mr. Charles Bissue Presidential Staffer and Secretary to the IMCIM.

The Administrative Supervisor, Mr. Alexander Gyedu will assist the IMCIM to supervise the vetting exercise to ensure that miners provide the necessary documentation for vetting prior to the vetting exercise time and ensure effective communication between the vetting and the mapping teams.

The Fieldwork Coordinator, Dr. Joseph Gordon will ensure that the miners have prepared the grounds for the mapping teams to survey their concessions.

Each team constitute of seven members. The members are:

1. Prof. Newton Amegbey, University of Mines and Technology

2. Prof. Sulemana Al-Hassan, University of Mines and Technology

3. Prof. Richard Amankwah, University of Mines and Technology

4. Dr. Naa Dedei Tagoe, University of Mines and Technology

5. Dr. Saviour Mantey, University of Mines and Technology.

6. Rev. Dr. Emmanuel Akrofi, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology

7. Ing. Ransford Sekyi, Environmental Protection Agency

8. Mr. Michael Ali Sandow, Environmental Protection Agency

9. Ms. Justine Seyire-Dzadzra, Environmental Protection Agency

10. Mr. Kofi Tetteh, Minerals Commission

11. Mr. Carl Klenam Gbetie, Minerals Commission

12. Mr. Nelson Ahedor, Minerals Commission

13. Mrs. Dufie Wiredu Bremang, Water Resources Commission

14. Mr. Enoch Asare, Water Resources Commission

15. Dr. Lumor Mawuli, Water Resources Commission

16. 3 Rep. from Forestry Commission

17. 3 Rep. of Traditional Leaders