You are here: HomeBusiness2007 08 19Article 129170

General News of Sunday, 19 August 2007

Source: GNA

Crusading Guide's Anas is 2006 Journalist of the Year

Accra, Aug. 19, GNA - Anas Aremeyaw Anas, a reporter with the 'Crusading Guide' Newspaper was on Sunday named best Journalist of the year 2006 at the 12th Ghana Journalists' Association (GJA) Awards Night held in Accra.

Anas was also adjudged the best investigative reporter for the year under review, by investigating Euro Foods Company on disguise as a cleaner in the firm whose duty was to help mix maggot infested flour for the baking of biscuits for sale to the public.

For the Best Journalist prize, he received a six-week fully paid advanced journalism course by the Thompson Foundation in Cardiff, Wales, in addition to a personal computer and printer, all valued at GH(12,500 (125 million cedis).

He also received a plague and a laptop computer for winning the best investigative reporter of the year.

This year's awards ceremony had a special feature of honouring three very important personalities, including President John Agyekum Kufuor, for their support for the media. The other two were Dr Kwame Nkrumah, First President of Ghana and late senior politician, Dr J.B Danquah.

The precincts of the International Press Centre, venue of the event, was packed to capacity, not only with journalists, but also top government functionaries and other politicians, the clergy, diplomats and civil society leaders who cheered on as the various winners were announced.

The Most Reverend Charles Palmer Buckle, Metropolitan Archbishop of Accra, was the guest speaker.

For the other award categories, Mr John Vigah of the Ghanaian Times was adjudged the best sports reporter, Mr William Asiedu of Graphic Showbiz, Best Arts and Entertainment Reporter, Mr Edmund Kofi Yeboah of the Daily Graphic, Finance and Economics, and Mr Emmanuel Kojo Kwarteng, formerly of the Daily Graphic, Environment.

The rest were Mr Kofi Akordor of the Daily Graphic, Best Columnist, Ms Matilda Asante, Joy FM, Best News reporting (Radio), Nana Aba Anamoah of TV3, Best News reporting (TV), Mrs Clare Banoeng Yakubu, Ghana Television, Best Feature story, and Ms Peggy Ama Donkor, best reporter on Health.

Special awards were given to media house employees who were nominated by their managements. They were Alhaji Nurudeen Isshaaq of the Ghana News Agency, Mr James McCaulley of the Ghanaian Times, Mr Yaw Obeng Manu of Peace FM, Mr Sam Okaitey of the Daily Graphic, Mr Sam Coker of Ghana Television, Mr Philip Kojo Archer of TV3, Mr Thomas Obeng Darko of Citi FM and Mr Godwin Avenogbor of the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation.

In his brief remarks, Anas expressed happiness and said he was dedicating his award to the staff of the 'Crusading Guide', especially its Managing Editor, Mr Kwaku Baako Jnr, who he said, had helped shaped him.

The GJA awards is held every year to reward excellence among practitioners and promote high professional standards, integrity and media accountability. There was live band music by the 'Alpha Waves', in addition to performances by the Alabaster Box, an Afropella group, Hip-life sensational Wutah and others.