You are here: HomeBusiness2018 09 09Article 683437

Business News of Sunday, 9 September 2018


12 districts in the three northern regions get mining committees

Government’s efforts that are geared towards formalizing the small-scale mining industry to achieve sustainable mining development have been given a great boost with the inauguration of 12 new district mining committees in the three northern regions of Ghana.

The exercise was carried out by the Inter-Ministerial Committee on Illegal Mining on Tuesday, 4th September, 2018.

The ad hoc committee, among other things, would receive regular reports from the centers within the districts and also collaborate with the minerals commission to sanitize and deal with illegal mining issues.

The committee members will as well coordinate with the operation vanguard to deal with the hazard. The committees will also furnish the national office (IMCIM) of activities that go on in their various districts.

Serving on the committee are the Municipal and District Chief Executives in the mining districts, representatives of the Traditional Council, Minerals Commission, Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) as well as the Forestry Commission.

The committees were inaugurated by Hon. Hajia Alima Mahama, Minister of Local Government, Hon. Kofi Dzamesi, Minister of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Hon. Dan Botwe, Minister for Regional Reorganization and Development, Major Derrick Oduro, Deputy Minister of Defence and Mr. Charles Onuawonto Bissue, Presidential Staffer and Secretary to the Inter-Ministerial Committee on illegal Mining.

Join our Newsletter