You are here: HomeSports2017 01 02Article 498252

Avram Grant names provisional squad for Gabon 2017

Read Comments Comments (122)

• KAY 7 years ago

I thought he was midfielder/attacker.

• Maka 7 years ago

Yes he is, just poor journalism they have no discipline reading over the finished nonsense before publicizing!

• THIS DWARFS CANT SURVIVE 1st ROUND 7 years ago

this nyama nyama players cant survive 1st round,
    just like akufo ado cant survive the presure of ghanaians,

• Bones 7 years ago

This obsession with making things happen for Jordan is killing the team.The kid can't score.He only scores when Ghana win by more than 3goals.He should be dropped and made way for somebody else.

• Ocran 7 years ago

So funny how he speaks and sweats.Two players I think do not belong on this team are Goal keeper Briama and Jordan Ayew.Briama is too easy and Ayes can't score.

• $AINT GHFUO, BLACK EXCELLENCE! 7 years ago

THE GFA OFFICIALS AND GRANT ARE CHOPPING OFF THE PLAYERS. THIS WONT HELP THE NATION WIN ANY TROPHIES...GYAN N DEDE CAN NOT BE RELIED ON TO DELIVER. 1 GOAL FOR DEDE THIS YR N GYAN IS FINISHED. WARRIS N JORDAN HAVE SHOWN FROM T ...

• John 7 years ago

Stupid ayigbe man can u play for your second country Togo?

• TEL: 0277695428 7 years ago

qualified and not necessary qualified teachers needed to teach Preschool and Primary(Elementary) students in LATVIA. Teaching abroad is the easiest way to live and work abroad while experiencing another country, culture an ...

WITH THESE LANGALANGA N MEDIOCRE SECOND DIV PLAYERS. THEY WILL COME HOME AFTER 2ND RD. MAYBE CAF WILL FEEL SORRY FOR GH N GIVE US A BREAK TO KEEP GH IN THE TOURNAMNT TO ATTRACT VIEWERSHIP. GH CANT WIN THE CUP WITH THESE TRASH ...

• Slimzay*The Unshakeable* 7 years ago

In Frank Acheampong's case, it is not poor journalism, my fellow readers. His is a utility player whom nowadays has been used by his club as a defender depending on the formation. If you have watched his games lately, you wou ...

• AMERICA LOVER 7 years ago

Thanks for your explanation Slimzay;We need such people like you who talk sense in this forum.

• $martphonesSupportBiz 7 years ago

Everyday, just solve people's numerous phone problems within an area...an estate even. Be known for this...and see how much you make daily!

Learn SMARTPHONE Devices Repair Techniques!

Very Low Capital Business Entry co ...

• Kwame Adu Gyamfi 7 years ago

He also plays as a left wing back.

Yes, Frank is also a defender depending on the formation Grant will use.

• Sojo 7 years ago

he has been playing left back for his club these days he is makeshift wingback.

• Totobi 7 years ago

Affull leaked too much goals ' any goal we conceived it pass through his side . because of juju and bribe gfa cannot remove this dwarf

• kwaku 7 years ago

where is Latif blessing .

• Edi 7 years ago

LETS HOPE IT PAYS OFF

• Avogadro 7 years ago

What actually do we see in Jordan that we invite him every time? I guess we are afraid his dad might get angry if we don't?

Anybody remembers the last time the Black Stars scored a goal in international play? We will nee ...

• PR! 7 years ago

Okra rather deserves a place in this squad
    He is streets ahead of Latif Blessing.

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

Grant is obviously still experimenting. On what to do to win a major trophy and he fail once again. This lukewarm squad.can't win afcon. Who wants to bet $100?

• Sinclear 7 years ago

hopefully the players will want to win
    and will be willing to fight for a win and not play like small girls

HOPEFULLY? IDIOT...MAYBE, IF THE ALLIED FORCES HAD GONE TO WW2 WITH LANGALANGA. THEY WOULD HAVE WON THE WAR OVER HITLER N GERMANY. DONT U THINK? CAN U WIN WCUP WITH THESE USELESS BSTAR PLAYERS? BOYE, WARRIS, JORDAN ALL USELE ...

Name the players you wanted to be in the squad. When you are done, mention the players you think Grant shouldn't have invited with your reseasons.

To me, these are the best players we have. Remember, we don't have those gr ...

• Seabreeze 7 years ago

Jordan, whose strike rate is nearing zero is not the best that we have.

• Totobi 7 years ago

Oduro proven striker. Twumasi play champion league . adoma brought Middlesbrough to epl. Kofi adu champions league player what else do you want bro .gfa n'a corrupt organisation .play by given your bonus

• Slimzay ***The Unshakable Shaker*** 7 years ago

In all the players you mentioned, only Adormah fit to be called. Kofi Adu was called the last time and couldn't prove himself. As our defensive mid is contains too many good players. Is he better than Wakasso or Agymang Badu? ...

• Raven 7 years ago

Frank Acheampong is like Jeffrey Schlupp he can play any position on the left wing.
    I prefer him to Schlupp .
    Am also happy with the attackers Tekpetey and Dwamena if they are not part of the 3 to be dropped will offer as ...

• Asempa 7 years ago

Only lazy coaches play Acheampong at left fullback or wingback. The guy is a forward period. Just look at how small he is to be any effective in defense. He can handle the ball,got pace and can shoot so what hell will a serio ...

• Emperor Rasheed 7 years ago

That old and confused coach is going to fumble again.

DONT EXPECT TROPHY FROM THIS SQUAD. THEY R JUST GOING TO ADD TO THE NUMBERS N REPRESENT.....USELESS

• Maka 7 years ago

He is about the most intelligent and skill forward in the team and they want to play him in defense. Just as AA did to Asamoah.
    Hmmmm....Grant, you better win this on else!

ACHEAMPONG WOULD HVE BEEN DROPPED. HE PAID JUST LIKE THE OTHERS DID. IN THE END, THERE WAS NO SPOT FOR HIM SO THEY PUSHED HIM TO DEFENCE TO ADD TO THE NUMBERS. THE SQUAD ARE FULL OF BRIBE PAYERS. UNLESS GFA ARE WILLING TO PA ...

• ISSA 7 years ago

I agree Warris, Gyimah should be dropped. Gyan and Dede not on for
    We need the new kids on the block who are on top gorm

SOCCER ILLITERATE. SHUT UP...I WILL BET U $1000 THIS CLOWN GRANT WILL EVEN NOT MAKE IT TO SEMIS. SEE HOW UGANDA N EGYPT DISGRACED US WITH THE SAME KAPWEPWE PLAYERS HE CALLED TO PLAY THEM?

• Wil Evans Accra 7 years ago

Nothing special about this team. Every single player is a bench player, none of them is playing in the top fligth.????????????

• Asempa 7 years ago

We have average players. Simple.

• anokwale 7 years ago

Most of the teams do not have stars. Maybe Ivory Coast, Algeria and Senegal have star power but I am not impressed by the other teams in this tournament.

• jt 7 years ago

Good squad,we just need to support them hoping for better,football is not about players you have,but is team work,all the best stars,God bless bs and Ghana

WAT DO U UNDERSTAND ABOUT SOCCER? FOR U TO SAY GOOD SQUAD? DO U UNDERSTAND THE SCIENCE BEHIND SQUADS THAT WIN TROPHIES? OR U THINK BY SIMPLY ASSEMBLING PLAYERS U CAN GO TO A TOURNAMNT N WIN? THERE IS A SCIENCE INVOLVED. THESE ...

• Totobi 7 years ago

Gfa cannot learn why leaven proven strikers like Oduro and twumasi for 2division players from austria,Germany,England and spain

• Castillo 7 years ago

I am happy with the squad. Ghana all the way! !

• Yaw Boateng 7 years ago

It's a strong team ,Good one

• kahunA 7 years ago

why is Asamoah Gyan still in this squad.. the guy is 45yrs.. he can't play again. Gyan should be dropped for a local player

• Ernest De love 7 years ago

do u want to go and play? you talk nonsense 45yrs and do what

• atanga john 7 years ago

go asks ure mother pussy

• Stone 7 years ago

We wanna win the trophy yet we call the wrong players. Adomah has been in great form this season yet he's not in the squad. Jordan's inclusion I don't really understand. Also we left out a player like Shlupp.

• JB 7 years ago

Excellent squad

• Emir Corey 7 years ago

Who is just behind this crap,when did Frank Acheampong become a defender...Eei I can think far

• koko diko 7 years ago

@Emir Corey Frank acheampong is used by former FC Nürnberg Coach,now of Anderlecht,Rene Weiler as a left full back.
    He has played a lot of games at the left full back this year in de belgian jupiler league as well as the Eu ...

• Emperor Rasheed 7 years ago

No hope. Our benchwarmers will go and struggle to qualify from our group.

• gango 7 years ago

thank u my coacheeeeeeee

• Osei 7 years ago

What a squad!!!!

NO INVESTMENTS IN OUR NATIONAL TEAMS. GFA JUST EATS OFF THE TEAMS COME TOURNAMNTS N FRINDLIES...NO LONGTERM INVESTMNTS

• Adeleke 7 years ago

Ples coach drop warris and Gimah

• mr over to u 7 years ago

pueeeeeeh! my pupil, when shall we stop criticism? apart from kwadwo asamoah who excused grant, the two suspended kp and sulley, tell Ghana who is left out but so superior as compared the call ups?

• SoccerGuru@2017 7 years ago

I agree with you bro. That's the best Ghana has at the moment. Any objective soccer follower would agree with you. All we need to do is to support the team. Ghanaians should be mindful of the fact that we can only assemble 23 ...

thank you my bro some people are just faith killers

• gracy 7 years ago

exactly. we just criticize without fairness. if this team is not good then we don't have players as a nation to win us a trophy.

• Shaft Brooklyn NY 7 years ago

I agree bro , give another goalkeeper a chance this Braima fella is a joke I am so surprise the coaches can't see it .He look like a baseball player Black stars four times African Champions there were no foreign base players ...

• kaku ebenezer 7 years ago

I seriously think this is the time Richard Ofori or Adam Kwarasey should be given the chance to keep the post for the stars. just look at the howlers of briamah in the world cup qualifiers and his inability to even stop one p ...

• ISSA 7 years ago

I concur

• Victor A. Young 7 years ago

Good squad! The only thing to do is to polish team's ball possession and distribution esp the telepathic understanding among the players while on the field of play. Jordan Ayew needs to educate himself about passing the ball ...

• De-Graft 7 years ago

Jordan is refusing to mature,if he is made to partner asamoah djan then,we are doomed,assifuah and tetteh are far better than Jordan who seem to be still learning futball,if he is allowed to pair djan,then we should forget th ...

Hmmmm are they saying at all what we Ghanaians are seeing?

• Edi 7 years ago

So is Grant a coach oooh Ghana my mother land paaaa nie to allow ourselves for a coach whose country don't even know how to play football to destroy our national team hmmmmm

• Jackson 7 years ago

u r suppose to be sack b4 we go for de tournament, black star without Kojo asamoah, KPB and suri nonsense coach i HV ever seen in dis world aboaaa go and country kwasia man like u,do u think GH r fools to pay u a huge amt to ...

• Eric 7 years ago

Useless team, where s that talented player Latif Blessing who was the goal scorer of the season. You bring in this foreign based players who can't perform.

u think afcon is Ghana primier league? go to afcon with mature and experience player not babies OK afcon is nt kotoko or wa all stars

• THE SENTINEL 7 years ago

IS JORDAN AYEW THAT INDISPENSABLE TO GHANA'S ATTACKING LINE THAT HE SHOULD BE FEATURED BY ALL MEANS - WITH DELAYS AND ALL THAT - AT THE EXPENSE OF SPEEDY AND SHARP PLAYERS LIKE SCHLUPP, SOLOMON ASANTE, AND MANY MORE? I WONDER ...

• T and T 7 years ago

Same coach, same players, same style of play-same results.
    We want AA back and we need to bring in Stephen Appiah to assist him to bring back our glory days.

• Kwesi 7 years ago

Boost Waris' confidence by playing Gyan behind him then Party + Acquah behind the two. Deploy Atsu and Dede on the wings and see attacking football.

it totally agree with you guy

THAT FOOL GRANT KEEPS CALLING THESE IDIOT PLAYERS N THEY COME, WEAR BSTAR JERSEY N CANT DO NUTHING. N U STILL CALLING THEM?. GRANT, IDIOT!

• kwaku Stuttgart 7 years ago

what has he added. nothing

• Mystical 7 years ago

Avram Grant can not do black Star's job
    We'll not even qualify from group stage

• Sash 7 years ago

Where is K. Asamoah?
    Ghanaians, do you believe me now when I said K. Asamoah doesn't wanna play for the national team again?

• Akamai 7 years ago

In the crucial Egypt game but opted not to

• Johannesburg 7 years ago

Gfa are animals fools and very seriously where is Kwadwo asoamosh.

• TA 7 years ago

coward kwadwo Asamoah is afraid he will get injured so he opted out.

• Kofi GH 7 years ago

where is Bernard Mansha pls that guy is good

• AMADU SULE 7 years ago

Jordan Ayew must Remove from the Team If Abram Grant Continue use the boy Jordan Ayew Ghana will be Out of Group Stage

• Yaw Manu 7 years ago

Hope they change their Lazy and too known attitude

• ISSA 7 years ago

The coach should be bold and play 3 at the back. AMARTEY BOYE AND JONAH Ugandan and Mali will play 10 at the back. Grant should be Bold and start Tekpetey and Dwamena in attack. Start Gyan from the bench the man is not fit. 5 ...

• meshach swapper sekem 7 years ago

excellent squad may God bless Ghana

• Bazeeba 7 years ago

I pray Grant does not finally off load Dwamena and Tekpetey and allow them to play a pivotal role in attack. Gyan could be paired with each one of them for speed and purposeful partnership.
    I am just waiting to see which way ...

• Bazeeba 7 years ago

I pray Grant does not finally off load Dwamena and Tekpetey and allow them to play a pivotal role in attack. Gyan could be paired with each one of them for speed and purposeful partnership.
    I am just waiting to see which way ...

• ISSA 7 years ago

Gyan has not played a full game in 4 months

• Stone Gabi 7 years ago

I swear Nuru Sulley is far better than Edwin Gyimah we shall see even quarter finals will not happen .

• Yoku 7 years ago

Useless squad. Full of bench warmers

• ISSA 7 years ago

We can't start Dede and Gyan one gas to start from the bench. Them no they form. Jordan and Artsu has to start from the bench. I will like to see inform Teteh on the wing

• Mr. So, so and so. 7 years ago

Google: The World's Best (The Richest African Prince)

• Kojo 7 years ago

Jordan Ayew waste of space in the team

• Tony T 7 years ago

Dwamena is perfect because to have such goals in half season is not a gift but is a hard work Grant should use him with baby jet and see what is soccer he is new yeboah

• anokwale 7 years ago

My prayer is that he really does well in camp and that he starts up front with Gyan. A change is needed up front.

• Anas, South Afr 7 years ago

What is the use of lazy, useless Jordan Ayew doing in the squad? Aaaa aputor. Twiaaaa.

• Polo 7 years ago

This is a strong team selected by AG, it's well balanced and wonderfully blended between the old and young. Well done Paa Grant n best of luck.

• Akamai 7 years ago

Striker...would have been better than Jordan A.

• DAVID 7 years ago

Let's pray for them

• abba 7 years ago

BRIMAN, THE GOILKEEPER IS NOT TOO GOOD TO HELP THE SQUARD.

• Gbewa 7 years ago

If brimah is not good then bring your father to come keep for us . U only talk nonsense and tell me why do u want to keep the post

• John poog wark Nana. 7 years ago

I can confidentilly prove to Ghana dat we will not qualify at group stage because of bad leaders use football to be politice.hmmm Muntari n Kelvin where are u,please relax n wait 4 their disgrace come back.

• thomas 7 years ago

I prefer kwarasey as no1goalkeeper to Razak

• ISSA 7 years ago

Yessoo

• Frank 7 years ago

Latif Blessing,top scorer in the local league ofcourse should have been there.That should have been enough motivation for the youngster ,setting the tone for dizzy heights. Lets cherished what we have home. We just assemble f ...

• Frank 7 years ago

Latif Blessing :Local product

• PAA Kwesi 7 years ago

so is Avram Grant telling us Samuel Inkoom is not in form or Wat... ahhhh Inkoom is far better than some of this defenders.. hw can dis team win Afcon .

• elikem 7 years ago

Best outing will be semi-final,all average players

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

The selection on the affcon must be real for the victory of win hope it is going to be at thatGod bless you and oman ghana.

• Jim Peace 7 years ago

I think if we love Ghana we should stop complaining about the squad.The best thing to do is a massive surpprt from all Ghanaians to win the cup.

• AY Kumazi 7 years ago

Where is striker Akwasi Appiah. If he is still playing then we should go for him. He did us a lot of good at the last tournament.

• kotoua Selira 7 years ago

You left out Fatau Dauda the best gold keeper in Ghana, you left out Sulley Muntari, Left out Kelvin Boateng and K. Asamoah. You left all these good players fr what ?

• Kasavubu 7 years ago

What happened to the Ghanaian crew making the waves in DR. Congo?
    What a waste of national assets!

• Paul blay 7 years ago

a. home base prayer who always features for his team is better than a warmbench prayer in the professional side. how many goals has Jordan has score in his team since joining please avram are you sure ...

• Joepaa 7 years ago

This mothafuckas dnt kn what they are doing.what kind of squad is this.they can't win da tournament,there is no playmaker in the squad

• Nezer 7 years ago

how could it be?Is Acheampong a midfielder?Ghanaians dead .Oh Avram!!!!!

• Nezer 7 years ago

I think Avram wants to remove Acheampong .That is why he has brought as a defender

• Paradiso Sunkwa. 7 years ago

Africa cup final ghana 2 ivory Coast 0 penalty. Aqua not mama Aqua the other, just score the 3rd goal and end ghana trophy drought. He couldn't. Senegal will win the cup this time. I think

• Papa 7 years ago

Eiiii Ghana????? So where is Nana Poku why

• $martphonesSupportBiz 7 years ago

Everyday, just solve people's numerous phone problems within an area...an estate even. Be known for this...and see how much you make daily!

Learn SMARTPHONE Devices Repair Techniques!

Very Low Capital Business Entry co ...

• A.M.C 7 years ago

Were is Mutari, Kelvin and Appiah. Ghanaian coaches are just making the players useless.That is why Ghana players don't move ahead.

• Mr Wright 7 years ago

In Ghana everybody is a coach so let's leave Avram Grant to do his job.if I am to do the selection what the coach presented will be diff from mine so let's pray and rally behind the players been selected.