Soccer News of Wednesday, 6 August 2003

Source: GNA

Queens leaves Accra for US

Accra, Aug 6, GNA - A 27-man contingent of the women national team, Black Queens will leave on Thursday for the United States ahead of the forth edition of the women's version of the FIFA world cup slated for September.

The team, to be led by Mr. Sylvester Mensah, chairman of its management committee, include seven officials and 20 players.

The Queens were originally scheduled to embark on a build up in Europe towards the championship but this was counselled at the eleventh our due to some difficulties.

While in the States, the GNA Sports has learnt that the Queens would participate in a four-team tournament on the August 9-10. The teams' normal training programme will resume after the tourney for ten days. The Queens will engage the Ladies team from the University of Portland on the August 20 and proceed to meet the Portland Rain Women team four days after.

According to the GNA source, the team will play the Washington University's team on the August 28 and have the final stretch for the tournament the next day.

The Queens are paired in the group D alongside, China, Russia and Australia. Apart from Russia, the two others were in the same group with the Queens in the last world cup, which was hosted by the same country. According to information gathered by GNA Sports, the seven officials accompanying the team include the teams Doctor, a nurse, welfare officer, the two coaches, Mr Mensah and Madam Helena Cobbina deputy chairman of the management committee.

The players include, Menuna Sulemana, Gladys Nti and Fati Mohammed making up the goalkeepers with Akua Anogyewaa, Aminatu Ibrahim, , Mavis Danso, Lydia Ankrah, Elisabeth Baidoo, Yaa Avoe, Patience Sackey and Patricia Ofori as the defenders.

The midfielders are Adjoa Bayor, Belinda Kemda, Florence Oko, the Sports Writers Association of Ghana female footballer of the year, Sheila Okine, and Genevieve Clottey.

While the striking force would be lead by Skipper Alberta Sackey, the current CAF female footballer of the year, Basilea Amoah Tetteh, Mavis Djangmah, and Gloria Oforiwaah