You are here: HomeSports2019 01 30Article 719414

Sports News of Wednesday, 30 January 2019


Kotoko names 18-man squad for Sudan trip

Asante Kotoko head coach, Charles Kwabla Akonnor has named an eighteen-man squad to face Sudanese club Al Hilal in the first group game of the 2018/19 CAF Confederation Cup.

The Porcupines fly to Ethiopia en route to Sudan on Thursday, and C.K Akonnor is keeping faith with two goalkeepers, six defenders, eight midfielders and two strikers.

Utility defender Augustine Sefah is back for the Sudan job after missing the second leg playoff tie against Coton Sport to accumulated cards, alongside defender Evans Owusu, who also missed the reverse fixture of that game.

Usual suspects Felix Annan, Emmanuel Agyemang Badu, and Maxwell Baakoh make the trip; so also is midfielder Kwame Bonsu and striker Songne Yacouba.

Below is the full list of C. K. Akonnor's squad

GOALKEEPERS: Felix Annan, Muntari Tagoe

DEFENDERS: Amos Frimpong, Augustine Sefa, Evans Owusu, Wahab Adams, Ismail Abdul Ganiu, Agyemang Badu.

MIDFIELDERS: Richard Senanu, Kwame Bonsu, Umar Basiru, Emmanuel Gyamfi, Maxwell Baakoh, Stephen Nyarko, Abdul Fatawu, Prince Acquah

FORWARDS: Obed Owusu, Songne Yacouba.