You are here: HomeSports2019 01 08Article 713659

Sports News of Tuesday, 8 January 2019

Source: Ghana Soccernet

Mohamed Salah retains CAF Player of the Year award

Egypt and Liverpool star Mohammed Star has retained the Africa Player of the Year award at the Aiteo CAF Awards held in Dakar, Senegal.

Salah made the final three-man shortlist for this year’s African Player of the Year award alongside Senegal’s Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon.

The trio were the same finalist last year, which saw Mohamed Salah winning it for the first time in his career, with Sadio Mane and Aubameyang coming in second and third places respectively.

This year, the award has seen the same outcome, as the Egyptian managed to win the accolade once again, however, Aubameyang managed to finish second ahead of Sadio Mane.

Mohamed Salah becomes the first player to win the award two years in a row after Yaya Toure, who claimed it four years in a row between 2011 and 2014.

Mohamed Salah had an astonishing season with Liverpool, breaking the Premier League all-time scoring record in a single season with 32 goals and many other records with the Reds.

Salah led Liverpool to the Champions League final, before helping his side to end the year on top of the Premier League table, seven points ahead of second-placed Man City.

The Egyptian was also crowned as the best player in the Premier League last season and finished 6th in the Ballon d’Or ranking.

On the international level, Salah played twice in Egypt’s first World Cup campaign in 28 years, scoring twice against Russia and Saudi Arabia, however, the Pharaohs failed to collect a single point and were knocked out of the group-stages.

Send your news stories to and features to . Chat with us via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter