You are here: HomeSports2019 11 21Article 801148

Sports News of Thursday, 21 November 2019


Ankomah Mensah appointed to Club Licensing Board

Click to read all about coronavirus →

The Ghana Football Association (GFA) has begun forming statutory committees to facilitate the work of the association.

The formation of the committee which is in fulfilment of Article 52 of the GFA Statute has seen namely - the Finance Committee, the Player Status Committee, Club Licensing Appeal Committee and the Club Licensing Board (CLB).

Significantly, a presidential candidate in the just ended GFA elections, Mr George Ankomah Mensah, has been named as vice president of the CLB, which is chaired by Dr Kwame Baah Nuakoh.

Mr Ankomah was not successful in his bid to become the president of the GFA during the recently held elections, however, his appionted to the CLB is in fulfilment of the pledge the president, Kurt Okraku, made to reach out and tap into the expertise of all those who contested in the election.

Other members of the seven-member Club Licensing Board are Professor Joseph Kwame Mintah, Mike Bonsu, Mavis Amanor, Rev. Emmanuel Addotey and Joseph Addo as members.

The GFA's Club Licensing Manager, Emmanuel Newton Dasoberi, will act as secretary to the board.

The functions of this body will be to vet the licence applications of clubs to ensure compliance with legal, administrative, finance, technical, medical and security requirements of the provisions of the GFA Statutes and the GFA Club Licensing Regulations before issuing licences to clubs.

CL Appeals Committee

Former Premier League Board Chairman, Ashford Tetteh-Oku, will chair the Club Licensing Appeals Committee.

This Committee is the sole body that decides on appeals submitted by either a club which has been refused a licence or the GFA against a club which has obtained a licence.

Dr Kwaku Ofosu Asare will be the Vice Chairman of this committee which also has Alex Kotey, Osei Owusu Bempah and Yaa Ankamah Annan as members.

Player Status Committee

Tasked with the responsibility of settling employment, status, eligibility, compensation and contractual disputes involving GFA, clubs, players, coaches and other officials, the Player Status Committee will be headed by Is-Hak Alhassan.

Cornelius Otoo will be the vice chairman of this committee, with Sylvester Mensah, Kwame Ayew and Vivian Aggor as the other members.

Finance Committee

The vice president of the GFA, Mr Mark Addo, will head the five-member Finance Committee.

Another ExCo member, Mr George Amoako, will be the vice chairman, with Samuel Kaye Brew-Butler, Mathew Ampofo and Gideon Fosu as members.

The Finance Committee has been charged with the responsibility of reviewing and advising the Executive Council on financial transactions and investment.

Send your news stories to and via WhatsApp on +233 55 2699 625.

Join our Newsletter