You are here: HomeSports2019 06 06Article 752440

Sports News of Thursday, 6 June 2019


Milo U-13 tourney: St. Joseph Primary, three others pick slots in Milo U-13 Champions

St. Joseph Primary in the Brong Ahafo Region alongside three others have booked a ticket to represent their respective regions in the national finals of the Milo U-13 Champions league to be held on 3-6 July at the Paa Joe Park in Kumasi.

St. Joseph International School were crowned Zone Two champions but were made to sweat for it by Bada who defended gallantly.

A super sub, Israel Kofi Sarfo decided the winner when he was introduced midway in the second half.

After the first round of games was played, Amoawi Methodist Primary and Sepe Tinpom M/A-B were winners in their respective groups from the Ashanti Region and had to battle it out to find a representative for the Region.

In a contest keenly contested by the two sides, Amoawi proved too strong for their compatriots on the day after registering a lone goal.

Boda R/C Primary followed after emerging as group leaders from the Bono Region thrashing Abu Bonsra 4-1 in their group decider whilst St. Joseph International School brushing off competition from their fellow regional rivals, Techimantia Methodist.

The won 7-1 on aggregate to make it to the semis and topping the Zone Two.

The fourth slot went to Babato Kuma Primary from the Ahafo Region after beating Ateco Demo Primary 2-0 on aggregate to progress to the National Finals.

The Zone two of the Milo Champions League witnessed 16 participating schools from the Ashanti, Bono, Ahafo and the Bono East Regions competing for a place in the grand finale, however, after a tough competition with thrilling display from the tedams, it was Amoawi Primary School, Boda R/C Primary, St. Joseph International and Babato Kuma Primary who advanced.

The participating schools; St. Joseph International, Amoawi Methodist Primary, Sepe Tinpom M/A -A, Sepe Tinpom M/A- B, Techimantia Methodist Primary, Boda R/C, Bebato Kuma Primary, Ateco Demonstration Primary, Abu Bonsra Primary, Nkonsia Primary, Buokrom Primary, Onyemsu D/A, Asuotiano Presby Primary, Anansu Primary, Brofoyedru D/A, and Dutch Presby Primary School.

Ashanti Region had eight competing schools and was grouped into A and B with Bono having four while both Bono East and Ahafo were represented by two each - they had to play a round robin game (home and away) with the most wins and goals to cruise to the semis.

Ahead of the tourney, about 600 kids from the non-participating schools were taken through fitness tests and drills by the ICON for the competition - Stephen Appiah at the Sunyani Senior High School Park.

This is aimed at developing their skills on the ball, their movements and most importantly the teamwork which Nestlé hopes to foster among the kids.

At the end of the Zone two competition, the Fair Play award went to Nsoatre Presby Primary, Theophilus Adu Benpah of Amoawi Methodist adjudged as the best Goalkeeper.

The Goal King and the overall best player went to Mark Aboagye of St. Joseph International School.
The Zone three would take place in Takoradi GSTS from 5-7th June 2019.