You are here: HomeNews2017 07 09Article 556792

Ghana's parliament is 'useless'; should be converted into a tourist site - Casely Hayford

Read Comments Comments (117)

• Be honest 6 years ago

I support you,casely hayford .Ghana parliament is most useless institution,why should take money from institutions before passing a bill.we thought,the current speaker of parliament was come to shape the sinking image od parl ...

• PRINCE KWASI ADADE (OFIE P33) 6 years ago

STEAL JUST A COMMON FOWL OR CASSAVA AND YOU GO 'INSIDE' FOR 1O YEARS BUT STEAL MILLIONS OF CEDIS AND THEY MAKE TEA FOR YOU AND PLAY AROUND WITH YOU. NDC COULD EVEN MAKE YOU A PRESIDENTIAL STAFFER!!!

• Boat 6 years ago

For once somebody is thinking wisely as a Ghanaian. The parliament is and had always been useless. That is why I was against increasing the number from 230 to 275. It was a waste if money. All they know is approving loans and ...

• Villager 6 years ago

One of the few ocassions I have supported this man's utterances. This time he makes sense

• OLD SOLDIER 6 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• insight to the bone 6 years ago

NPP has power but NDC is truely in control , the pepeni/ayigbe conspiracy even today continues with the help of Bawumia and our own traitors like Sarfo Marfo , Joe Ghartey , Alan Kyeremanteng and other vainglorious idiots.Baw ...

• HHHHHHHHHH 6 years ago

Our parliament is USELESS. Their only interest is taking bribes which they christen BIG FISHES

• Uncle Sam 6 years ago

Who will be in the Regional Parliaments? I dare say the same much-a-do-about-nothing lawyers, doctors & contituency filthy rich. Break Ghana into Confedracies & while the Ashanti & Volta will do well, the rest will matchet th ...

• FIIFI 6 years ago

WE INDEED HAVE A USELESS PARLIAMENT...THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH..WE ARE BECOMING SENSIBLE..GOD WE THANK YOU

• Kyei 6 years ago

Will the NPP majority call their media cabal member for contemp of parliament ?
    Waiting to see la. This guy has dared them and let see if his NPP affiliation will save him or not.

• John 6 years ago

This is not about daring someone. this about calling the spade the spade. Tell me if u have confidence in our parliament?

• DO THE DO 6 years ago

So my suggestion comes to light once more. I believe we don't need the winner takes all system which gives ultimate control of the nation to a party. We, instead, would move much better with a Presidential council that would ...

• Villager 6 years ago

the point here is not about the winning party but parliament as a whole, from Ayariga committee to lottery sag through the UK High Com Benjamin's accusation. the parliament has shown itself to be irrelevant. they ganged again ...

• Mike from Ho. 6 years ago

I absolutely agree with this arrangement. No rule of law in Ghana today. Democracy is dead in Ghana. Now IN GHANA a group of people coming to form something called a party with the ultimate objective of STEALING OUR MONEY. Na ...

• Asiedu Nketia 6 years ago

Good idea ,there should be a referendum on this. It is a complete waste,their salary and bonus alone is a lot of money which can be channeled into some development.

• KWAKUWUSU 6 years ago

I agree with you, and I support what you are putting forth 100%.

That Chamber is full of people who have no idea why they are in Parliament besides looking for and hoping to get Big Contract pay-offs and plenty of cash. So ...

• DAY 6 years ago

They take ex gratia after every 4 years even if they still retain power.Car loan, rent loan and you name them and when they have to work, the reason for which they're paid, they collect bribes and call it sponsoring bill. spo ...

• Y2K 6 years ago

With dirty characters like Adwoa Safo in parliament what do your expect. she should resign because of the shame she has brought to Ghana.

• kay de 6 years ago

Quite spot on, Casey. Very very useless. Blind partisan, arrogant and very corrupt.

• Jacob 6 years ago

Very well said. More than 90% of our parliamentarians are semi illiterates who are more interested in their own selfish interest that he interest of Ghana. They are greedy and selfish. We need to abolish it. Is a drain on our ...

• Whoo Daat ! 6 years ago

Unfortunately for Ghana, the literate 10% in parliament are nothing but educated, intellectual thieves!

• Ama 6 years ago

Even our ministers... selfishness is killing us...and daftness

• Niii 6 years ago

I agree with you stupid parliamentarians indeed

• KAM 6 years ago

My friend Casley, do you understand what you're talking about? Why on earth do you think that a single parliament is going to be costlier than ten parliaments. Are you suggesting federalism for Ghana? If so, then l will ask y ...

• Brazo 6 years ago

The navel-gazing and stomach-voting populace are so gullible that it will take generations for any
    civic-duty enlightenment and societal improvement.

• Brian Williams 6 years ago

You are right and I hope Mr Hayford reads your piece. The legislature is a very important branch of government and must be viewed as such. Elections have consequences, and if the electorate is illiterate, then shame on them ...

• Zeee Poropo 6 years ago

Good point, KAM

• John 6 years ago

I accord with u

• Ama 6 years ago

If you met some ...clueless! They couldn't work anywhere but they're in parliament..hairdresses half-baked lawyers egotistical degree holders, arrogant with low self esteem selfish thieves..

• Think 6 years ago

KAM" Why don't u compare it with Germany, Netherlands and many European nations who've bn successful practising d federal system?

• Jagger 6 years ago

Do you think those Western nations are populated with low IQ Negros?

• Ayb 6 years ago

You got mouth to talk when ndc were grabbing GH's money left and right where were you Trash talk USELESS CASELY HAYFORD

• Newsite Bansah 6 years ago

Yes, Ghana's parliament is absolutely useless and needs to be fixed. But what solution is Casely proposing? Have does 10 regional parliaments solve the problem? Wouldn't that cost more money? How would we coordinate laws acr ...

• Pelicles. 6 years ago

The Whiteman's democracy is "not" good for us. Why? Because democracy hinges on two things; truth and rule of law. As long as we cannot be truthful and adhered to strict rule of law, we are beating about the bush and that i ...

• Talk is cheap 6 years ago

You are no good financial analyst either
    I am yet to see any credible analysis of yours

• Ottawa 6 years ago

USELESS MP.

• Hand of God 6 years ago

Very well said. God you for telling the truth.

• RICHMOND, MARYLAND 6 years ago

Thanx mehn...... I knew this a loooooong time ago.

• JTETTY 6 years ago

YES ..MAN..YOU SCORED 100% THEY ARE NOTORIOUS, SOME ARE BEYOND WORST IN TERMS OF LIES AND PROPAGANDA. GREED AND CORRUPT, LOOTING AND MINISTERIAL STEALING, AND RATHER A DRAIN ON THE ECONOMY.
    THEY WILL SEE THE HEADLINE OF THIS ...

• Labista 6 years ago

Thank God we have wise people in the nation.

• Buju B. 6 years ago

Power must be given back to the Chiefs to rule their respective Cities,Towns and cities,In Ghana most of us goes to School having a particular Mind set,To become Assembly man,Mp,Minister,etc living the private sector wasted.

• Ricardo 6 years ago

What we have in Ghana is not a parliament, we need only 20 parliamentarians to scrutinize and enact laws. The over bloated MPs are waste and GARBAGE. Any sensible person will not support the current over bloated waste.

• Omanba 6 years ago

Financial Analyst and Social Commentator Sidney Casely Hayford has made a very irresponsible statement of his life.

Casely Hayford should note that parliament is a community, comprising of all sorts of people.

Can this ...

• B.K. 6 years ago

Sir,your criticism of poor performance of Ghana's parliament may be justified, but your solution suggests you have no clue to the problem. I don't know the kind of economic analysis you applied to enable you to conclude that ...

• africaNyame 6 years ago

Well said Omanba. Some people just want their name to heard. What is Casley contribution to Economic reconstruction and social injustices he is lamenting on. What do invited men and Students gain from such iresponsible lectur ...

• Yaaaaa 6 years ago

Omanba

Am sure u are one if the useless parliamentarians.
    Parliament is a useless institution in Ghana

• witness 6 years ago

What does Rawlings represent? A gangster and a rebel without a course who forms a party! 'Guess who is coming to dinner ' of course looters and gangsters, the likes of John Mahama, ayariga, attivor, opuni ect. Free educatio ...

• NON-ALIGNED 6 years ago

You have hit the nail right on the head! Yes! And they are mostly made of the two most USELESS and CORRUPT parties ever - the NDC and the NPP parties.

I wonder why some GHANAIANS choose to vote for them, after all the LOOT ...

• philip 6 years ago

It s time the soldiers take over

• NON-ALIGNED 6 years ago

I AGREE.......

GOD BLESS GHANA!
    AFRICAN FOREVER!

• Kaf Swedenn 6 years ago

Yeah Mr Heyford you right if really support u even including ministers they are too much ghana is not as big like Nigeria to have 110 ministers with everything free when will better God have mercy

• Pontius Pliate 6 years ago

Casely, useless parliament I totally agree with you. Breaking it down, I think over time it will purge itself from the chaff. Fortunately as people become more discerning the odd ones will be falling by the road side just lik ...

• Kooboat 6 years ago

Sidney, are you on something?

• Kofi K 6 years ago

One region must have one governor. Then we have the national parliament made up of the ten governors. That will be perfect.
    Also Municipality Councils must be abolished so that every constituency has its own council.

• No Mercy 6 years ago

Nothing is better in Africa Ghana,we have so many Stupid leaders.Laws are not working.Police officers are in bribery

• Ebo 6 years ago

What!? Who invited this man to be guest speaker? Per his argument, would we need a president, capital city, etc.? How will Ghana be represented at international forums? What currency? This guy is an empty head!!! I said it.

• Ayisi 6 years ago

@ Ebo ..no no no... Think through what Sydney is saying... He is trying to propose a kind of federal system though he fell short of calling his new system so. Thinking around it, that system was proposed by the 'mate meho' du ...

• Nana Powers (+233265882533) 6 years ago

Good news for those who are ready for help I'm a spiritual man of god's who helps people to find life easier to people,Protection and more blessings, Am sure and I promise everyone who needs my help will never regret in their ...

• Grand Pa, Ellembelle 6 years ago

Na full dem dey fool us. Talk against again most of the Ghana
    MPs are idiots, they don't think about the nation, but their selfish interest.

• KB 6 years ago

Super useless indeed

• Bula 6 years ago

Federalism?

• Bismark o 6 years ago

Be prepared to face Parliament Disciplinary Committee for diz loose talk

• Fine Boy 6 years ago

Good am highly disappointed in those guys there calling themselves MPs... They take huge sum of our tax every month yet every now then bribry bribry

• kwabena ohemeng,london 6 years ago

I understand how frustrated Me Casely Hayford may be with the performance of the members of parliament but suggesting that the nation should go the federal way is not the answer.He should go back to study the arguments for a ...

• kofi Yeboah. 6 years ago

You have nail it straight on them. The bottom line is majority of Ghanaians have lost confidence in them. 95 % of them are just there for their selfish ends. Why are they so silent and tight lipped on the passage of the freed ...

• Ama 6 years ago

Engage them one on one theyre clueless really...daft egotistical and illiterate. They are our representative of the country. So what can emanate from there...thrash!!!

• GhanaWarrior 6 years ago

WORD.Hayford talks sense but unfortunatly he will be blasted by these incompetent bastards like something. He should be our president tho

• Paa Joe 6 years ago

ON SUCH A CRITICAL AND OBJECTIVE COMMENTS ON THE NATIONAL PARLIAMENT IN GHANA, I AM WITH YOU.

AS FAR AS I AM CONCERNED THE THE RIGHT LAWMAKERS ARE NOT YET THERE.

ECONOMIC BACKWARDNESS,UNDERDEVELOPMENT,THE SLUMS, SQUATTE ...

• tbay 6 years ago

i dont think having a parliament is a bad idea. Throwing it into the sea or converting it into a sight attraction is also not the best solution. What we need is an instrument to make it effective.
    The regional thing is not ...

• McManus 6 years ago

Mr. Hayford, but u are very far from there. Grammar alone is causing the mess.

• RICHMOND, MARYLAND 6 years ago

Yes, the social revolution is gathering momentum.
    The Great Osagyefo Dr Kwame Nkrumah will eventually be exonerated.

• Koo 6 years ago

I support you 100% that's why even medical doctors don t want to work ,but rather chose to become Mps just because there's a cheap money there,God have mercy on us.sometimes is a shame to call yourself Ghanaian.

• Nii Okai 6 years ago

The major problem lies with the primitive population of which you are part who are only interested in politics based on political party name and tribalism, if not why should this useless parliament be there and yet people con ...

• imPOSSIBLE 6 years ago

Was the thème on 'THE ECONOMIC AND POLITICAL RISE OF AFRICA' or GHANA. U may be part of the solution wake up and get on board for parlimentry reconstruction and reshufle Ghana Legal Institutions.

• Mondam 6 years ago

I'm ever behind your argument. Thanks and be bold.

• Omanba Kwame 6 years ago

Oh,how right and truthful Casey Hay ford is,in demonstrating his genuine love and honest patriotism to our "screwed"country Ghana!
    Ghana is been raped left and right;up and down and NOBODY is been bold to save it nor spoken ...

• William Oteng 6 years ago

Casley you are right, Ghana parliament is really useless, they always pretend to be doing something good but tweaa, nothing good all what they know doing better is collecting bribes from institutions they want them to pas ...

• Aziza 6 years ago

You have said it all. Ghanaian MPs do not care about their constituents. The only motivation for being elected to parliament is to get rich quick. Fire burn them all!

• Emer 6 years ago

Ghana would have been a better nation when we adapt federalism....why should mineral rich areas deprived of common social amenities whilst places with nothing develop like heaven

• Tenneson 6 years ago

This man is sick psychologically. He need psychological evaluation.

• Vampires!! Thieves!! Bad Examples 6 years ago

This is what the populace would love to see...
    They are just bloodsucking vampires! Bloody and shameless thieves

• bongoman 6 years ago

For the first time I think u made so much sense.i suggest 5 MPs for a region and use the extra resources for developmemt

• london 6 years ago

This started 20 years ago.thanks that you are now aware.

• london 6 years ago

It has been so 20 Years ago.

• K Addison 6 years ago

I believe Casey is right on this matter everyone knows that our Parliament is the most useless parliament in the whole wild world.
    The MPs became active in opposition and became toothless dogs once they are in governments.

• GHANA FORAY 6 years ago

Thank you God bless you. especially under this useless administration. Akufo Addo is not only useless to our democracy but also corrupt and unfit to be president of Ghana. It's a shame!

• Maame 6 years ago

It might be that what this gentlemann is saying might be true beacause of the way the parliamentary sections are being held. This means it should be reformed. Each democratic land needs a parliament without that , it is then ...

• Joe 6 years ago

You have made my day they is more than useless

• Ebo Frempong 6 years ago

Casley hayford is just some dadaba talking always theory . He knows nothing practical. . Ignore him

• Jos 6 years ago

That is true, waste of Ghanaian money to this stupid nd useless parliament
    Theives from head to toe

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual sick ...

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

, Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual si ...

• papaJ 6 years ago

They cant feel far so they neglect the voters. Propose UNIGOV,yes Kutu's one party state. Vote for 10 MPs from each region not on partisan platform. Anybody who does so is automatically disqualified. The 3 regions that brings ...

• motsamai 6 years ago

this doesn't look good! a banana republic!

• Peter, south afr. 6 years ago

I don't need to read the whole article before supporting u. MP's should be paid like ordinary Ghanaian worker. What do they do there? Only shout yee yeeee. How will a medical doctor will his/her to become an MP if not because ...

• New Ghana 6 years ago

Casely Hayford should have suggested alternatives that can make our parliament effective. Parliamentarians elsewhere are doing a good job it is unfortunate Ghana's parliament has been embroiled in allegations of corruption.

• papaJ 6 years ago

Check alternative UNIGOV in the thread

• Kwamena 6 years ago

It is true, the Parliament and the parliamentarians are of no use

• Tweaa dc. 6 years ago

HAHAHA! ......CASELY HAYFORD'S COUNTRY WITHOUT PARLIAMENT.... WHAT NAME DO WE GIVE TO SUCH A SYSTEM?.....AFRICANS WHAT?.....

• Teacher OPK 6 years ago

I think in general.....presidency is losing its relevance in ghana....both de three arms of govt........executive.....judiciary....and de soo called legislature.....
    Each parliamentarian takes home
    ....ghc 13000.00 monthly

• boxer 6 years ago

well said Mr hayford.

• BODY GAY. 6 years ago

Our parliamentarians are lazy and corrupt. Some of them has been in parliament for years yet have done nothing for their constituents. Mr Osei Mensah Bonsu and Madam Adwoa Sarfo are classic examples. The road network in these ...

• One nation 6 years ago

Is he talkin about the maffia organisations and their so called parlement. What does he expect them to discuss about if not how to loot n share

• Simon Amegashie-Viglo, Ho 6 years ago

I find Casely Hayford's call for abolishing parliament because it is useless and expensive very interesting. I fine his logic, even more interesting. One parliament with 275 members is too expensive and useless. Now he is cal ...

• Disappointed fella 6 years ago

Simon,of what use is capacity building to someone who is determined to steal?

• and he said what? 6 years ago

Sidney Casely-Hayford is a useless man who's used to making useless noise. Casely-Hayford's head has been OCCUPIED by uselessness.

• Joe 6 years ago

Our parliament debates reminds me of boys on the play ground fighting. Their debates are shallow and points scoring, they are without vision and trajectory. The men MP's have turned paliament into a court room. I find our wom ...

• Agyaaku USA 6 years ago

Will Parliament bite this time too with these comments? Let us see! If he is not summoned to appear before them as they usually do, Then he will be right.

• Anantuo 6 years ago

I would support this guy that Ghana's Parliament is useless if he is not invited by this privileges committee of the parliament. This lecture is a gross disrespectful to the whole institution. This guy should be disciplined.

• OLD SOLDIER 6 years ago

Casely Hayford is irrelevant

• Ghanaba 6 years ago

Kingsley, You are perfectly right, but it is only Parliament that is useless, the general perception and world view of most Ghanaian are very shallow without substance. we have become very myopic which has been fed by greed a ...

• Tawiah 6 years ago

I have always said the number should be reduced to only 100 or the entire parliament should be suspended until we can get decent, smart and reasonable Ghanaians whose only aim and objective will be to serve Ghana at all cost ...

• Baba Adams 6 years ago

Sidney - your outfit and profession is not fit for its purpose hence you are not being offering any stake in the ruling govt. SHUT UP!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Cool observer 6 years ago

Casely Hayford has spoken the mind of majority of Ghanaians. The perception out there is that politicians generally are corrupt and think of how they can enrich themselves at the expense of the state.In plain language-steal f ...

• EDUARDO DOMINGO 6 years ago

I BEG SOME ONE TO HELP STRAIGHTEN THE MIND OF THIS MAN ASAP! HE IS VERY CONFUSED! THE PARLIAMENT IS THE ULTERNATIVE TO CHAOS!

• Mr Bond 6 years ago

Its true they are useless and they don't even know when to raise a motion and second it to debate for consideration and an ignorant MP woke up and ridiculous himself asking when will Bole road will be completed.Even this show ...

• Brainy Guy 6 years ago

This is the first step to development in Ghana.