You are here: HomeNews2017 07 07Article 556261

Deputy Trade Minister tells diasporans to stop whining

Read Comments Comments (62)

• Wiafe 6 years ago

Affordable housing for diasporans

• Villager 6 years ago

Wished this had been said under the NDCregime by an NDC dep minister. this guy must go. he is not worth the position. any wonder the UK High Comm Jon Benjamin had it tough with ghanaians???? Tweaaaaaaaaaaaa!

• Kweku 6 years ago

He could be a 419 in power. How can you talk with such callousness?

• Afrikatu Kofi 6 years ago

Dear deputy minister please stop this nonsense talk.Do you live in Ghana for that matter in Afrika or in space?Communication is everything and when Diasporans come with all the knowledge and experience they are not even liste ...

• Joe 6 years ago

Easier said than done. You think people whine? Ghana is a complicated Web of greed, whom you know and lazy minds taking decisions. NPP with its arrogant attitude is no different from corrupt NDC. Perhaps we need a wise experi ...

• John 6 years ago

All talk Party!!

• Tom Sawyer 6 years ago

See dis yeye minister o.

• ask ghanaweb 6 years ago

stupid fool..did Nana hold their hands to invest in that good for nothing NDC money breeding bank..tell mahama and co to pay them back not Nana..I juz don't know what's wrong with some of u people

• insight to the bone 6 years ago

Another empty barrel with no wisdom but cheap talk, has he heard of transparency and being straight forward? Its the system that has been designed to be complicated so civil servants and politicians can rob disaporans of mone ...

• Paa Joe (UK) 6 years ago

Very nearly all our democratically elected leaders have spent some time abroad and damn well know things can be improved in Ghana and yet they are happy to rule a country where things don't work and the know that things don't ...

• boahene 6 years ago

Tell NANA to pay DKM depositors before those in outside come in with their expertise.

• Pumpuni 6 years ago

"...you went to bought a house..."? Listen to yourself. A deputy minister? I will continue to whine because of your bad "Engrish".

• chief vandal 6 years ago

The minister is ignorant.

• (VOICE OF REASON)-kwaku Adu-Gyamfi 6 years ago

So the minister thinks we're whiners? I beg your pardon!When we were sending money home left and right you didn't call us whiners.In the 80's when Ghana was burning and we practically rescued the country from its doldrums ...

• (VOICE OF REASON)-kwaku Adu-Gyamfi 6 years ago

Does anyone remember that the people who helped the discovery of oil in Ghana are the products of the brain drain?
    I guess they are all whiners who didn't want to watch things happen but make them happen. when they saw that ...

• A T 6 years ago

He spoke stupidly and arrogantly - I mean the deputy minister of trade. In a sense, he is saying that we should not point out the ills and inefficiencies in Ghana.

• Abakah 6 years ago

Ha This is homing coming summit for the diaspora, The deputy Minister was not being fair, People travel all the way to Ghana to understand the government policies for those outside, diasporians and to advice them, not to have ...

• Boorish Minister. 6 years ago

Why was the word wining such a centrepiece in the silly, arrogant minister's speech? Was he talking to school children? Meaningless, meaningless, all these things are meaningless! - to quote from Ecclesiastes. He gets his big ...

• koyuyu 6 years ago

THIS ASSHOLE DEPUTY MINISTER IS SO IGNORANT AND HE DOES NOT UNDERSTAND A SHIT OF WHAT HE WAS TALKING ABOUT. EE IF THIS BAFOON WAS THE SUBSTANTIVE MINISTER, I DONT KNOW HOW HE WOULD HAVE BEHAVED. HE IS ABSOLUTELY FULL OF SHIT. ...

• A T 6 years ago

You took the words out of my mouth!!! I would have felt very bad if I had taken precious time off and spent thousands of dollars to fly to Ghana to be "addressed down" by this arrogant but shallow deputy minister.

• Pumpuni 6 years ago

"On Joy Newsnite he (Robert Ahomka- Lindsay) said even though he was grateful for the opportunity to serve his nation in that capacity, (a job handed him by the previous government led by John Agyekum Kufuor), he regrets acce ...

• Baba Alhaji de Nima 6 years ago

I retturned in 1985 with my family. My first experience: nobody from Legon was there for us contrary to what the London office assured us. Second: the next day the university administration was surprised we had arrived despit ...

• A T 6 years ago

Sorry to read about your ordeal, but please don't give up yet. If another opportune time comes, give it your utmost consideration, only ensure that certain right things are done.

• 3dem 6 years ago

Some puffs us choose tip stay here and make it work. So it get a little annoying when those who decided to leave come back and whine that about the fact that things are not working as well as they work in London our the US. W ...

• Abongo 6 years ago

You are missing the point here,,I don't even understand what you meant by whining, yes you choose to stay, but what exactly has been your contribution that has moved the economics of the nation forward? Just take the sector y ...

• Kwame 6 years ago

You are so rude & full of arrogance
    Your words lack wisdom.A natured person with seasoned words ought to occupy such a position.
    These are the noise making ministers who quickly send parties into opposition

• witness 6 years ago

First collect all stolen monies from the past ndc people. Stop the corruption and bribery in Ghana then . . .

• Ka Na Wu 6 years ago

"We know things don't work in Ghana, but stop complaining"
    That explains why we are wallowing in poverty & mediocrity.

• Ohene 6 years ago

I bet you the person doing the most demeaning job here is better than you sitting there saying nonsense. We bring millions of cedis to Ghana each day, what do you use the money for? In a country where people build their own ...

• Asempa 6 years ago

Nonesense, diasporans send money to themselves and their families. Which diasporan has ever paid taxes in Ghana. With the free education you enjoyed that allowed you to secure a job abroad, you contribute nothing to the publi ...

• Villager 6 years ago

Man of little knowledge. You are ore confused than many ppl in my village. Among the footballers how many of them hold foreign passports?
    i will not tell you to check what the monies they send to their amilies does to ghana' ...

• Abongo 6 years ago

Put the right peoplee in the right positions and let us show you how it is done and stop spewing ignorance

• eric 6 years ago

Why should the nation refund the money to these greedy people? There are better things to do with Ghana's money

• AUSTIN 6 years ago

President Akkufu Addo,did you hear your arrogant deputy minister talk? Well, he is very competent indeed. He should bear in mind that he is in Africa and for that matter Ghana. He should respect his target audience please.

• Asempa 6 years ago

Spot on, Minister, you hit the nail right on its head. The best diasporans don't talk, they just do; and there are many successful ones. The ones who talk too much, don't do anything. The ones who whine, are actually so crook ...

• Mallam Amotia JINNI Powers+2335471222 6 years ago

Hello people all over the world this is your number 1 spiritual consultation and problem solving center..Anybody out there whether in Ghana or any where in the world who is encountering any problem,difficulties,spiritual sick ...

• HOLY SINNER 6 years ago

Your contribution tells how IDIOTIC you are.Reason-up u CUNT.

• RICHMOND, MARYLAND 6 years ago

Nonsense, we'll continue to whinge n whine n whimper. Do you know how difficult it is to get a simple Ghanaian passport? Not to talk of the filthy, stinky n crazy environment! I've tried relocating twice n am still struggling ...

• Allotey 6 years ago

Nana Addo must get rid of this faggot for labelling those in diaspora as whiners for drawing his attention to the way we do things in Ghana. It's too soon for an NPP minister to start calling names for we'd not accept it just ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

Just eradicate corruption from the ports and airports and then crime. Good roads and clean business environment from registrar general to all the ministries. Then crime again

• Chief anankwa 6 years ago

Understand corrupt thieves.
    This foolish minister was appointed.
    Time is everything ..typical third world mentality.
    Complaining is good....u sit in ghana and talk like a fool

• AKUA 6 years ago

Very condescending, uncouthed and unpolished, Ghanaians started migrating before you were born, Remittances to Ghana currently stand at USD4.9billion, according to the World Bank and International Monetary Fund (IMF) data. ...

• Tom 6 years ago

"we know things don't work in Ghana......so stop whining" - seriously Minister?
    I'm surprised people sat there and listened to this idiot........
    What a damning statement to make. I suppose the guy like the sound of his own ...

• PEEMONEY 6 years ago

WHAT AN IDIOT!!

• GHANA FORAY 6 years ago

Really? complaining paa.... hmmmm

• Kwame Kwabena 6 years ago

I am an NPP person and have been following the utterances of this man right from the time we were in opposition. He's very disrespectful. The M&E or the senior minister must warn this guy period

• witness 6 years ago

First collect all stolen monies from the past ndc people. Stop the corruption and bribery in Ghana then . . .

• rich 6 years ago

THE NAN IS RIGHT....STICK INTO WHAT YOU ARCHIEVE

• Dr. B, Canada 6 years ago

This Ahomka guy was a stupid fool. If he equates people complaining about shoddy service and negative attitude of public officials like himself, to "whinning" then he has a real problem. Actually I was in the Hall listening t ...

• One nation 6 years ago

Fuck you and your mafia organisation
    Greedy Bastards

• Kwame B 6 years ago

This minister is communicating the truth and we do not want to hear. What is wrong with what he is saying? Dont use short-cuts but use laydown procedures... what wrong with that.Please listen to him again and get his message ...

• Owura Kofi- Toronto 6 years ago

What truth is the dep. minister talking about? What does he mean by shortcuts?

For instance, in May 2017, I applied through the normal procedure to convert a foreign driver's license. I'm still waiting for the license. If ...

• FOYOOSIS 6 years ago

The deputy trade minister's statement to diasporans sounds stupid and discouraging. Why and what should prevent a persons who travels to Ghana to get certain initial administrative proceedures done within 2 weeks if the whole ...

• Dr. Michael Baffoe, Winnipeg, Canada 6 years ago

I had challenged the Minister immediately after his shameful and disrespectful attitude towards the Diasporans who had gathered in the Hall. He had spent the greater part of his 25-minute presentation talking about himself, a ...

• peter 6 years ago

yes you can buy house in 2 weeks here in U.S

Nonsense!! Look at this man. Instead of listening to the concerns of the people and try to do something about it. Listen to him.
    Where in the civilized-world, does it take over a month to process a driver's license?
    How c ...

Ghanaian officials don't want diasporans here, period! Hence, the insults.
    They feel threatened by our presence in Ghana. They know that we'd come in and challenge them to do the right thing. Some of them are afraid that di ...

• FOYOOSIS 6 years ago

Hmmm my brother, only two months you thought? I was in Ghana july, 2015, went to the DVLA to have my expired drivers' licence renewed, after having gone through all proceedures, in fact believe me one had to spend the whole d ...

• Me 6 years ago

This is ignorant. Thé minister or whoever he is needs to educate his people to stop harrassing diasporans who decide to settle at home with bribes, indiscipline and cold feet..
    Diasporans know what it is to work hard . Your ...

• Libilibilabalaba 6 years ago

Wo ye aboa papaaaaaaaaaaaaaaapa

• Voice of Reason 6 years ago

I Sincerely think the Diasporans are the ones who want to go by the book. They want recicepts of everything they buy . They hare paying bribes. They insure their vehicles and have the right paper work but does that mean they ...

• Ghanaba 6 years ago

The Minister just contradicted himself many times in the speech. He seems to acknowledge that systems and procedure are bad but we should accept it and at the same time demand services on time but not whine.