You are here: HomeNews2017 06 03Article 544012

Capt. Mahama was exploring the environment when he was killed - Chief of Defense Staff

Read Comments Comments (41)

• GIDIGBA 6 years ago

"Exploring the environment"? Why wasn't his first port of call the palace or the police station?

• Edem 6 years ago

He was protecting the chinese mining site in the Forest. Aa army captain exploring an area alone. Where were the others. The community would have known the presence of the millitary and would have listened to his plea when he ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 6 years ago

Whoever comissioned him has to be sued for negligence.
    Be was sent to a volatile area without briefing him adequately

• Sarah 6 years ago

2nd half of 2017 is almost here. Get skilled up, prepared for making raw cash daily! Get the No.1 bestseller,"Mobile Phones and Tablets Repairs: A Complete Guide for Beginners and Professionals". If idleness paid U in the 1st ...

• KOKU 6 years ago

DONT INSULT AND ABUSE .THESE ARE THE LITTLE BAD HABITS THAT GROW AND CAUSE PEOPLE TO BE LYNCHING INNOCENT PEOPLE.

• Kofi 6 years ago

The whole week was dedicated to him. What about the old lady also stoned to death in UE? Nobody interested in her cuz she doesn't count??

• ..... 6 years ago

That is the main reason.Get heart, bro.

• Brain rejuvinator 6 years ago

Kofi, listen to yourself by saying old lady and the capt. is a young man who has more years to serve Ghana. meanwhile, your old lady's time has pass and so therefore we have to show concern for the capt.'s death. Despite how ...

• DDT 6 years ago

I think this CDS must follow the DEC. What the CDS is saying doesn't click. I wish he did not talk. Army captain going to see the chief of the village alone? On foot?

• PATAPAA TRUMP 6 years ago

How could a lone soldier explore in such a dangerous area of operations?come on again CDS,the captain took his physical fitness seriously and juggling is part of his life style therefore it is not correct he was exploring the ...

• The The 6 years ago

The truths about Cpt. Mahama' story may never be known and now hear the CDS making such a lame guess about how unprofessional a military officer may be byembarking on a reconnaissance mission alone.

• Boy Bien 6 years ago

There is great difference between a Major and a Major -General. Who ever wrote this article must apologize to the Major- General for demoting him. "In other" should be " in order" anyway.

• Skippy 6 years ago

He actually is a Lt.General

• Agya Koo 6 years ago

When you go stealing this what happens,you guys are bunch of liars ,sorry for his demise,you guys are really responsible,why did he not report himself to the slders of the town the moment he arrived there?Where are the memos ...

• BERNARD 6 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    1. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA have a special property which enhance ...

• Bbb 6 years ago

It's turning out to be a comedy.. Haaba

• April Fool 6 years ago

Well, it looks like people are making jokes about the death of the CO .
    1. Had the soldiers CPT Adam met seen the local authorities?
    2. And in 3 good weekends none could lead the CPT to the authorities?
    3. Jogging in PTs ...

• STUDENT 6 years ago

WE NEED MRI MACHINE AT ACCRA POLYTECHNIC TO CHECK THE AGES OF MANAGEMENT STAFF. THEY ARE TOO OLD AND WEAK AND UNDER PERFORMING. BECAUSE MOST OF THEM HAVE REDUCED THEIR AGES AND CAN NOT WORK EFFECTIVELY CAUSING PROBLEMS AND OV ...

• scrap dealer 6 years ago

Familiarization? Under normal Military procedure he was not allow to be alone in that area, please CDF come again

• Abi 6 years ago

Foolish and irresponsible comments from a military officer. Nonsense!! Is he trying to blame the young officer for his death? I don't think there is a protocol for military commanders to visit chiefs and assembly men when ...

• Gilbert 6 years ago

Hey guys, you are misinterpreting what is being said here. Exploring the environment here doesn't mean he was an explorer like a white man carrying a backpack, neither does he imply that he was at the time of his murder on so ...

• niik 6 years ago

"Though I don't understand what that means in military terms" ...

Why don't you understand it in military terms before attempting to teach us. You should get the meaning before writing this post. Lol

• KWASI IN EUROPE 6 years ago

What the Chief of Defense Staff has said makess Capt. Mahama's case suspicious. First, he was jogging, then he was protecting galamsayers, then he was preventing galamsey, then now he was exploring the environment. A load of ...

• Skippy 6 years ago

CDS !?
    OH NO YOU ARE IN TROUBLE WITH THE ARMED FORCES/TROOPS.
    WHAT A THING TO SAY.
    PLEASE DONT PLAY TO THE WHIMS OF THE POLITICAL authority.
    WOOOW..CDS??!!

• ANTWI O' BREFO 6 years ago

I told Ghanaians on this forum that thios CDS Akwa is a uless army commander; the man is attemptinmg to mislead Ghanaians on the death of Mx Mahama ; the army knew the reasons why this young man man's life was gambled for som ...

• limaalpha 6 years ago

Look out for the right word to use when writing fir the public to read. Deployed not Deplore. Thanks

• Free SHS 6 years ago

Our military ID Card is not a legal tender in a Ghana. So how do we identify ourselves

• Toffey 6 years ago

The Army really needs to take the bulk of the blame for the sad loss of the gentleman. I hope I am wrong but it looks like they are changing their story to suit concerns and questions raised by people since the brutal murder ...

• Ghanaian 6 years ago

How could the whole commander be familiarising himself with the area all alone? And in jogging suit? They donot add up!
    CDE must come out with a full statement about the specific reasons for his deployment, how many men was ...

• OPNINPA 6 years ago

CDS MUST TELL GHANAIANS SOMETHING SENSIBLE.WAS HE OUT JOGGING OR WHAT WAS HE DOING ALONE IN THE STREETS OF THE TOWN? WAS THE COMMUNITY AWARE OF THE PRESENCE OF THE ARMY AND THEIR MISSION? THE CDS HAS SOME QUESTIONS TO ANSWER. ...

• April Fool 6 years ago

I hope there are some unseen facts the civilian police can't and will not not be previlaged to know . And I believe when it's handed by the MPS ( Military Police) they can get those evidences.

• K ghasi 6 years ago

The army was trying to hide the truth from public to know the reasons and legal operations that is going on in that area.The officer was supposed to be in army track suit,PT pants and canvass for physical execise/jogging and ...

• Kwadwo 6 years ago

What you have argued would have helped

• Ghanaba 6 years ago

Aaaargh! What a country! liars everywhere. Bribery and corruption just killing the country.

• Ben 6 years ago

How can the captain be exploring alone
    Please don't kill people's sympathy by ur explanation

• ROGUE LAWYER 6 years ago

you see why there are increasing mob actions and instance justices in the country ? pure lies from the authorities that had faded the trust and faith of the people .
    this is pure malicious liars songs from the CDS:

the ...

• ELINAM 6 years ago

Our so-called leaders have lost their moral compass and therefore may lose their very legitimacy to tell us to listen to them for directions.

• kofi adu 6 years ago

he could have explored the north. foolish man. listen to uk ambassador.

• Suwebatu, London 6 years ago

With all due respect it is irrelevant whether he was in his locality or not. For those of us who have travelled, we don't expect people in the foreign land to start abusing us for a slight. What those people did showed they a ...

• FURY 6 years ago

Relieving duties which we take it was the prevention of illegal galamsey? So if that was what the army was doing, preventing the illegal galamsey, how was it that, it was still going on in the Amenase Forest at Diaso? That su ...

• ELINAM 6 years ago

They won't tell you who owns it. They use the death of an innocent man to put fear in to even journalists who might want to investigate and ask hard questions. They've been intimidated to make them feel like by asking hard q ...