You are here: HomeNews2017 05 30Article 542793

Too much theory in Ghana’s education system – Educationist

Read Comments Comments (22)

• YAO GBEDEMAH 6 years ago

OTHERWISE GHANA ARMY WOULD NOT SEND SOLDIERS TO.PROVIDE SECURITY FOR CHINESE AND UKRAINIAN MINERS DESTROYING OUR FORESTS AND RIVERS

• KOFI AYIGBE 6 years ago

GALAMSEY WATCHMEN'S UNION OF OBOASE DENKYIRA. IF THIS IS WHAT THE STATE INSTITUTION DOES BEST, LET PARLIAMENT CONVENE TO STATE THE NEW FUNCTIONS OF THE ERSTWHILE GHANA ARMED FORCES AS JOHN MAHAMA HAS NOW SHOWED US.

• oxtony 6 years ago

I WONDER WHY WE DONT LIKE THE TECHNICAL SCHOOLS? CARPENTRY PLUMBING, WELDING , BRICKLAYING , CARVING ,JEWELLERY ,PROFESSIONAL , HAIRDRESSING . THIS WILL JUMP YOU STRAIGHT INTO OWNING YOUR BUSINESS . THEY NEED TO LEARN HOW TO ...

• jik 6 years ago

Oxtony
    you know what the technical education has wrong directions,

• Undaunted 6 years ago

This is shallow understanding of what theory is, and should not come from a university administrator

• Else 6 years ago

Great stuff

• kojo 6 years ago

we can't do nothing except look for jobs or become a pastors and u say what? just shut up.

• John Ghanaba 6 years ago

Ok! You've identified a problem ,so help fix it a.s.a.p.

• Darkoa 6 years ago

Ashesi is a good university and teaches students practical things I'm told but only few people have the ability to enrol with fees pegged at 19,000 cedis a semester. This is for tuition only with another 4000 cedis for accomm ...

• Else 6 years ago

Incorrect. Don't blame the theory but blame the type of theory and its delivery. Also the environment and the people delivering the theory. It is easy said than done. Ghana educational? system is out of date

• Umknown 6 years ago

What is incorrect and easier said than done here? She is advocating a change in the useless educational system in Ghana. Is not out of date is useless. She is proposing "critical thinking" type of education and teaching. In ...

• Paa 6 years ago

The problem is do we even understand what theory is? To say that an education should produce graduates who can both think and do is itself theory. Indeed, Else is right. Great theory is as good as practice! Thete's too much a ...

• STEPHEN ‘ 6 years ago

Please, check your English well before publish.

• Kwame Donkor 6 years ago

Without solid theoretical knowledge, the World wouldn't have had Isaac Newton or Einstein. Without theoretical knowledge practical knowledge is meaningless.

• The True GhanaMan 6 years ago

we like pen and paper teaching too much. we are all victims of theory education. when the chinese, japanese, germans, americans, malysians, etc, can make bicycles, motor bikes, cars, aeroplanes, printers, tv, computers, usb, ...

• Odanpagyan osokoto Gudali 6 years ago

The woman said too much of theoritical education and we know too much of everything is bad. Auntie Araba, you have said it right.

• Ekow Samuel. 6 years ago

The must of the great statement of the Madam Araba is a very well, that in the society of the education systerm that will more improveing the standald to be have the pratical learning for the student future ,we do not need mu ...

• Yaw Adu-Asare 6 years ago

This woman is not making sense.

• Joe 6 years ago

I schooled in both Ghana and USA and what she is saying is 100% true. I like the US system because whatever you are taught in class, you are required to pass the clinicals or practicals in the real world before you are gradua ...

• Kwesi Saah 6 years ago

Araba is brilliant in her analysis, She is spot on and congratulate her for talking sense and emphasizing the need for improved teaching and critical thinking that can stretch the mind andante generate better coping skills th ...

• Me bo afu ruf 6 years ago

In Any syllabus in our education system in Gh is just a waste of time, common sense like home sense must matter to us than fucking Education in the classrooms. Waste of space. We go to school over and over in Gh yet our brai ...

• Benjamin okrah,New Jersey,Usa. 6 years ago

I agree with the woman hundred percent because that was what the developed world did and they have jobs for their people