You are here: HomeNews2017 05 16Article 538308

Government’s inconsistency with Free SHS policy worrying – IMANI

Read Comments Comments (46)

• AGBESI KWESI 6 years ago

NDC IS FULL OF THIEVES
    Not all Ghanaians will use the Accra Dubai facility but with free SHS, almost all Ghanaian children, within a certain age bracket, can have access to it. Look, whiles Ghanains were suffering, and Maham ...

• ABBA ATTA 6 years ago

AGBESI KWESI, THE BUFFOON, THE FOOL AS USUAL, WHAT DID THE REPORT SAY ABOUT THE LATEST DEVELOPMENT ON THE FREE FREE FREE SHS, AND WHAT WAS IMANI'S CONCERN? SO WHAT ARE YOU SAYING NOW, CAN'T YOU READ? GONE ENJOY THE FREE FREEE ...

• Zuri 6 years ago

Another idiot with access to a computer.

• Nana Esi 6 years ago

Does this guy look in the mirror to see his mouth? Weiii....He should have been named Franklin Naabu Gbadzaa.

• Che Andrew 6 years ago

Yes he may have a "big mouth" but the hard fact is that the NPP does not know what it wants to do with the so-called 'free SHS". The president says one thing and the minister says a completely different thing. The president h ...

• Paa 6 years ago

The hard fact is that IMANI is an opportunistic think tank. They were first against free SHS. Then they shifted to means testing for need-based scholarship. This report here suggests that IMANI now wants everyone to enjoy fre ...

• Eric Mintah -London 6 years ago

I do not understand this idiot call Franklin. how can one get free secondary education if you do not pass or qualify to go to senior secondary school. Not until the education rules are changed the idiot should understand that ...

• Jack 6 years ago

Wo tw3 kakraa s3 battery

• Manfred 6 years ago

LOOK@YOU THAT ALWAYS HAVE SOMTHING TO TALK. BUT I HAVE SEE AND KNOW THAT YOU HAVE NOTHING GOOD FOR GHANA ONLY COMMENTS ABOUT ANYTHING

• Zuri 6 years ago

Just as Akuffo Addo has sacrificed many innocent blood for power!.

• ANDROPOV 6 years ago

do not be surprised. i told you and you did not listen. that promise is what i refer to as f**ktalk.
    unfortunately IMANI will be branded NDC in no time

• Anim 6 years ago

Governm't's in

• joe 6 years ago

Franklin use strong words to describe the minister's shifting of the goalpost every now and then on this free she policy

• KWAMPONG, TEMA 6 years ago

You have to pass your BECE exams to enable you gain entry into any SHS to enjoy the Free SHS Policy. There is no inconsistency in this.How can one who has not gained entry into any SHS enjoy this scholarship?

• Akuffu Adict 6 years ago

There is, because all those who get adminission to high school are those who have passed BECE. You just have to make it free and those who get admission will enjoy it. There is no need for any condition of who pass who do not ...

• Alhassan Adam 6 years ago

It's not true,pupils go to shs through back door.u are aware

• Frank Boateng Agyarkwa 6 years ago

I totally agree with you and it's rightly in line with international good practices. You cannot enjoy anything you don't qualify for.

• raz 6 years ago

my problem is"what's going to be the past mark? coz I have a brother who had aggregate 29 in his exams(bece) but went to the shs n made it ..he's now I. the nursing training..

• kaketonti 6 years ago

APARTHIED-NPP FREE SHS.
    IT SHOULD BE FREE FROM KINDERGARTEN
    INDIRECT WAY TO SAY IT COULD NOT BE IMPLEMENTED.LIKEWISE 1 DISTRICT, 1 FACTORY etc

• BAJINA 6 years ago

It is not a wholesale promotion to gain entry to SHS .Candidates necessarily have to pass the BECE exams to gain entry to the next level(SHS).I dont see the inconsistency in this.
    What I see is that Flanklin is always in a h ...

• khirsten 6 years ago

Please, Franklin, can someone who failed and dropped out of school ben efit from free SHS?
    You will do yourself some good if as a CSO person you advocate for a different program to cater for pupils who have not been able to ...

• Abe 6 years ago

There is no inconsistency with free SHS. If our children pass the exams they will surely get it. What is rocket science about this Franklin?

• Nana 6 years ago

Stupid talk. Do we progress to SHS without going through BECE. If you fail the examination how will you in the first place gain admission let alone enjoy free SHS. Think before you spew nonsense IMANI

• Kotorkroaba 6 years ago

This is exactly why what the minister is saying doesn't make sense to me. We are all aware that everybody who renters secondary school passes the BECE before and so we expect all of them to enjoy the free SHS program if it's ...

• chigri 6 years ago

Put up the thinking cap man.

• Frederick Okyere 6 years ago

I don't see any inconsistence in what the minister said. Or has anybody said that whether u pass BECE or not u will enjoy free SHS.Simply no. U have to pass the BECE b4 gaining admission into SHS. That has been the practice f ...

• BOY KOFI 6 years ago

SHS is a second circle educational stage for students between 14-15 years of age.
    The Minister failed to talk about those who couldn't pass their exams.Are they going to repeat or be kicked out of school?
    Are they going to ...

• Eric Francis Eshun 6 years ago

I think the IMANI is stretching the argument unduly. SHS admission has never been free-on-board, actually apart from moving from class six to JHS 1 which is automatic all other levels yu have pass the requiste examination be ...

• Julius Aghahowa. 6 years ago

If you lie your way to power you will be expose in five month.
    The mistakes and inconsistency is too much under this clueless government.

• Julius Aghahowa. 6 years ago

If you lie your way to power, reality will definitely face you in five months.
    The mistakes and inconsistency are too much under this clueless government.

• Kaabiossi 6 years ago

Then tight ur security, let's us see ur evidence and also who kill Mahama Adams and also JB

• concerning Ghanaian 6 years ago

Npp will show their colours to Ghanaians to learn from it .if you are not able to make a straight statement to people what do you think you are.it means you are mendacious.

• Ugly akufo addo. 6 years ago

Ghana now is not moving, standing at where JM left it

• apuuuu 6 years ago

Frankie you can complain all you want is going to be free SHS apuuuu

• A A APIDELI 6 years ago

Why is it that Ghanaian politician does not send the ward to the public basic schools??? The education system needs proper and complete overhauling.

• Ghanaman 6 years ago

Why should failures enjoy? I guess it is only those who pass their exams that gain entry into institutions. Do failures also gain entry? Imani should answer this.

• Lincoln 6 years ago

The minister is spot on. The candidate has to pass to benefit from the new free shs. There is no inconsistencies whatsoever with what he said and what the president said previously. With the present system the same applies. N ...

• aya 6 years ago

This is it for all Ghanians to see, the next time any of this main parties make their whiled promises I think its upon us we the citizenry to ask the relevant question b4 supporting their bids. now it no longer everybody but ...

• stonzy 6 years ago

If u are still hopeful of free shs then u are day dreaming because it was a scam and a deception and any smart person can see through.they said free shs for all students and it turns out to be shs students,now there are sayin ...

• BOY KOFI 6 years ago

Will the failed students repeat or pay their own fees or kick out from school?These are some of the critical conditions the public must know.What has the govt put in place to deal with students with academic deficiency?The Mi ...

• akwasi Agyei, adenjta 6 years ago

There is the need for govt to provide a policy framework to inform Ghanaians how the policy will be implemented. This will guide any discourse on the policy. Until then any pronouncement on it will be speculative.

• Sean Sean 6 years ago

Good article from mr franklin .NPP should have promised Ghanaians free scholarships for brilliant students entering SHS not free SHS for every Ghanaian child as promised by the president... INCONSISTENT GOVERNANCE

• Bigmouth 6 years ago

I think the free description was of the costs involved and not passage. To be honest, I would be scandalised if it was for free passage because surely that will debase the relatively poor standards even more. Just watch the " ...

• NUP 6 years ago

I never heard of anyone demanding free passage to SHS . The question is will it be free for all first year students ,as the President said ?

• Jkmo 6 years ago

We are patiently waiting

• Alhassan Adam 6 years ago

I doubt people ability to understand what the minister said,he saying that pupils must pass and gain admission to shs before you will enjoy the free shs,so what is wrong with this? Imani should come again and commenting on an ...