You are here: HomeNews2017 05 01Article 533822

Mahama’s slips caused his defeat – Legon lecturers reveal

Read Comments Comments (96)

• Nii 6 years ago

The numerous reasons that caused the defeat may be true but are you not happy they happened? What hypocrisy is that?

• PATRIOT 6 years ago

Basically, people could see thru their lies. Every single infrastructure undertaken was a way for them to INFLATE costs several times over and that provided them d avenue to steal and steal big time.

But why does all of u ...

• Nkrumah 6 years ago

But Ghanaian could not be fooled any-longer, even he and Ibrahim hired Akua Donkor to praise singer to Ghanaians.

• Nana Yaya 6 years ago

Nkrumah. Stop your hypocrisy, there lectures are hypocrites,great pretenders, they all hate John Mahama. Have they ever approach to advise him but rather hiding doing things to bring him down and it happened. What about Nana ...

• OLD SOLDIER 6 years ago

ABRONYE DC SPEAKS ----- “I think some politicians especially the NDC members are witches and should immediately be sent to the Gambaga witch camp because they are no different from them. “So the NDC members expect the NPP ...

• Mensa 6 years ago

he was incompetent man and people did not approve his unnecessary taxes and fees

• KOFI AYIGBE 6 years ago

1: MAHAMA REMOVED HANNAH TETTEH'S SLIP 2: HE ALSO REMOVED CHARLOTTE OSEI'S DROSS 3: DZIFA GOMASHIE HAD HER SLIP REMOVED. THERE WERE MANY OTHER WOMEN IN HIS CABINET WHOSE SLIPS WERE REMOVED.

• What Goes Rnd comes Rnd 6 years ago

So it's true that Akufo Addo also Removed Current Information Minister's DROSS? Bcos that's what Her own Constituents Has said

• THE MADMAN 6 years ago

Are you mad? Focus on the arrogance of Mahama. Insulting Akans spelt his doom. You can't insult owners of the land and expect not to be put back in the box

• GEORGE 6 years ago

Nana is busy fondling with Otiko Djaba breasts, Oyiko Botwe breasts, Adjoa sarfo Breasts, Ursula Owusu Ass.

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London 6 years ago

This is also another major problem that led Mahama to lose miserably. Any corruption lssues that happens we hear president's name involved. This is first thing in history in Ghana.
    Furthermore, he gives gifts more than any ...

• NDC IS SATANIC 6 years ago

Ndc will never learn. Is the Information minister a woman? and even if it was so was Nana Addo a president then? You see how your low IQ make your party unattractive to even the international community? You see how the outs ...

• Benito. 6 years ago

Mahama,not good for Ghana.period !!! No need for further research!

• APONKYE 6 years ago

Useless stuff.from substandard tutors wrongly called lecturers. These idiots don't qualify to be messengers in Oxford.

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 6 years ago

Listen your NDC will never come to power again except the Akuffo Addo administration gets mired in a high level of negligence, the NDC were rigging their way to the office but the priority of this government right now is to ...

• APONKYE 6 years ago

Stephen, your mother wasted nine months of her life carrying a dunderhead in her belly. And imagine how your father sweated that day to impregnate your mother. Little do they know the outcome was going to be so disappointing. ...

• really 6 years ago

The economy deteriorated under Mahama.

The cedi depreciated from GHS1.60 = $1 to GHS4.20 = $1 under Mahama's leadership because of the astronomical yields on their domestic bond issues.

That affected people's pockets an ...

• JOHNSON 6 years ago

No government could have survived the numerous 419 lies NPP relied on to win the elections. There nothing that NDC did wrong, it was just that the NPP lies were just too difficult to counter and so Ghanaians bought into it. ...

• Adjah 6 years ago

It was mainly about the economy and corruption. The Ghanaians experienced the 8 unpleasant years of the NDC government and did not want another 4 years of more of the same hardships and unchecked corruption. It is that simple ...

• Ama 6 years ago

Mr Abudulai, sorry you are rather naive and need to go back to school,anyway that is how NDC folks are. Look, it is the duty of the sitting government to build Roads,Schools,Hospitals to name but a few. Do you expect the oppo ...

• Abdulai Mahamadu 6 years ago

I would advise this so -called competent lecture to go back to school,because he has had his argument zero.If government cannot rely on infrastructural development for re- election,then I wonder what the NPP and President Nan ...

• H.S. FIRE 6 years ago

My friend, there is infrastructure and COST-INFLATED infrastructure. NDC opted for the latter, thinking every Ghanaian is stupid enough to fall for their nonsense.

• JOHNSON 6 years ago

Your so called cost inflated can be used to oust your NPP too.it is just about telling Ghanaians that they inflated costs. If costs were inflated then what is Nana doing? Those you said inflated costs are right there so arres ...

• Nana Yaya 6 years ago

Johnson, Npp are clever thieves si you don't see their being more corrupt than any political party or politician in Ghana. Just listen to the airwaves. In 2001-2008 their rule it was Prof Mills who saved them from going to ja ...

• NDC IS SATANIC 6 years ago

You are an idiot. The fact that Woyome is walking on the streets doesn't make him a free man. Wait for the special prosecutor and the difference between NPP and ndc is,NPP has wisdom so take their time to look into things to ...

• Nana Yaya 6 years ago

Johnson, Npp are clever thieves si you don't see their being more corrupt than any political party or politician in Ghana. Just listen to the airwaves. In 2001-2008 their rule it was Prof Mills who saved them from going to ja ...

• Nana Yaya 6 years ago

• THE MADMAN 6 years ago

Idiot, Infrastructural development alone does not make an economy vibrant and fulfilling for the populace. Most of this structures were even built by imported labor from china etc so please shut the hell up

• OZA 6 years ago

Wait a minute Mr. AMahamadu. The writer does not deserve your degrading comment! He stated "over-reliance on infrastructure". You all saw the last minute video of the new highway ad that compared it to that of "Dubai roads", ...

• Sarah 6 years ago

Massa the lying was too much unless you are part of the problem to ignore it. Most of the infrastructures were started by k4 and Mils administration and yet refused to give them credit. Also failed to give credit to developme ...

• Adjah 6 years ago

You lost the plot it is not about infrastructure but rather how the Ghanaian feels the development enhances the living of the individual. Free SHS, Employment, Health Insurance, health care, reasonable utility bills etc. that ...

• Bbb,Mahama remains a thief. 6 years ago

Mahama is simply corrupt and incompetent clown he has to teach at the nursery,a very weak person by nature who hasn't got Ghana at heart.His so called infrastructure was to steal from his own people.FACT.

• Speak On 6 years ago

Hello Mr. Bbb, i think you're rather going where you don't have to. What you simply have to know is that, in your Nana Addo, you have a complete dope head of a student. After all the luxury of having a father who was a Presid ...

• okokotiko 6 years ago

The one important factor nobody has mentioned for NDC defeat is vigilance put up by the opposition. NDC was not able to rig the election this time.

• Observer 6 years ago

Whilst they were insulting Nana, NPP was strategizing to prevent all the rigging in past elections. The election petition was the beginning of their defeat- it exposed NDC to the root- Despite general mosquito's weird definit ...

• J. D Mahama 6 years ago

That was the deciding factor. The NDC could not rig the election because of the vigilance of NPP.

• Joseph 6 years ago

The Botchwey Committee will never finish collating the reasons for NDC poor performance in the 2016 polls. New factors like the lectures research findings keep coming up. I hope they will all be included in the committee's f ...

If you are stupid, your mind deceives you that everyone is stupid,and therefore you make stupid comments and accusations forgetting that those listening to you have brains.I wonder if the NPP are aware that people are watchin ...

• MAXIM 6 years ago

What is the meaning of what you have written and how does it refute or agree with Joseph's comment?

• MAA 6 years ago

Abdulai Mahamadu you are fool. I've never seen such an idiot like you. Do you think I will listen to an ndc fool like you? And over 6 million 2020 voters for the NPP will never listen to you. The infrastructure sent you to o ...

• Odikro 6 years ago

I am tired of getting tired of hearing why Mahama was defeated each morning. He was defeated period. Can't we move on?

• MAXIM 6 years ago

The reasons why the NDC lost this elections were many and they have a herculean task correcting all those if they dream of winning power again.

• KOFI KOFI 6 years ago

THE GOVERNMENT WAS SERIOUSELY CORRUPT.
    MORE REVELATIONS WILL BE COMING.

• Omanba Pa, Islington-London 6 years ago

Ghanaians hate to say the truth. NDC lost just because there was too much corruption going on and many of their minister and serial callers lacked of respect. Everyone hate corruption but in Ghana we don't talk about it.

• Kweks 6 years ago

JJ talk about npp usd2.25b corrupt Bond. Tell your citizen vigilante Martin Amidu that he has an opportunity to prove that he really loves Ghana and he is not vindictive and corrupt himself

• ACCRAMAN 6 years ago

NDC lost because Ghanaians vote for the parties and not the candidates. Somehow, Ghanaians have come to believe that every party has a maximum of 8 years to serve and then after, a change in government in required.

No matt ...

• JOHN 6 years ago

EVEN HILLARY CLINTON LOST. MAHAMA WAS VICE AND THEN PRESIDENT. NPP IDIOTS SHOULD LEAVE MAHAMA ALONE

• RUBY MAHAMA 6 years ago

You see ndc idiocy and mentality? How do you Compare Hillary Clinton to a dead goat? She wasn't the president of the free world (America) but John Mahama the dead goat was the sitting president for Onaapo ndc republic so Gha ...

• NDC man 6 years ago

There was no comments , Mahama's character is appalling and very bad , he is just a dick head chap who didn't think a mature man. He was so childish in his presidency. I still don't like him although l am an NDC guy and l am ...

• NDC man 6 years ago

There was no comments , Mahama's character is appalling and very bad , he is just a dick head chap who didn't think as a mature man. He was so childish in his presidency. I still don't like him although l am an NDC guy and l ...

• Sintim 6 years ago

Mahama lost woefully because he was useless to those who made him what he was - Ghanaians.

While poor Ghanaians were suffering for high prices, tariffs and taxes, Manana and his NDC people were busy striking it RICH under ...

• GHANA FORAY 6 years ago

You people won't leave Mahama alone? He lost an election yes is that a crime? God intended it so Ghanians will be the best judge come 2020. But the way things are going you simply fear Mahama's come back and you will do ever ...

• Asenpa 6 years ago

Are these really lecturers? It took them 4 months to gather old press clippings to conclude why President Mahama lost? If these are really lecturers, they deserve a D-. Maybe the title of their paper should be what lazy lectu ...

• MASH 6 years ago

The university lecturers failed to talked about the deceit promises of the NPP which most Ghanaians believed in and voted for the NPP.

• Kkkkk 6 years ago

All the reasons given are meaningless. The only reason Mahama and the NDC were voted out was that the economic conditions were really bad.

• J. D Mahama 6 years ago

Ofui so you did like the condition people were going through under the NDC government? . Either you are stupid of the highest level of you were a thief in the NDC group of thieves stealing from National coffers left and rig ...

• Essum 6 years ago

What research was done? The Ndc and Mahama lost becayse of greed. Create, loot and share. Because of dumsor, economic mismanagement, cronism, incompetence, arrogance and disrespect. The ndc ana Mahama were unelectable, period ...

• Twum (ksi) 6 years ago

What cause his defeat is no more important to us as ghanaians, is he the only person ?Nana addo lost three times what about that?pls stop that NONSENSE and lets move forward.

• Kareem Starboy 6 years ago

My coutry man Mahama was not a presidential material to begin with. He is a thief and a womanizer, qualities unbecoming of a future president

• Fine boy 6 years ago

This are unchallenged facts wether you like or not. They deliberetly took Ghanaians for granted when we see red and says this is red ndc people will come and say is very blue or white. If you in government doesn't? mean you ...

• Nang Danikuu -Lawra 6 years ago

Ndc lost because Ghanaian think the 8 yes in power was OK. And Nana also made many promises that knew he cannot fulfil.
    If election is held today , Nana will not get 30%.. NDC is coming back in 2020. You are lecturer take y ...

• BERNARD 6 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    1). USE ROYAL JELLY, GEL WITH MULTI MACA have a special property wh ...

• Kwasi 6 years ago

ALL POLITICAL SCIENCE LECTURERS IN GHANA WHO SPEAK AGAINST NDC LOSING 2016 ELECTION TO NPP ARE ENEMIES OF NDC .THEY WERE RATHER BEHIND NDC FAILING IN THE ELECTION.THEY ARE ALL EDUCATED ILLETRATES.THEY ARE ALL LIARS AND GHANAI ...

• O B Obiba 6 years ago

John Mahama at one point was the nice face of NDC, however as bad as he was, the whole NDC was unelectable! A party where misfits were propelled to high office. The election 2012 was rigged and I wonder if they genuinely wo ...

• ANTWI O' BREFO 6 years ago

These fake lecturers at Legon are just jesters !!!!!in their own court; WHO TOLD THEM THE NDC was a party ; the NDC has never been a party and have never WON an election in Ghana since NDC came out of PNDC led by JJ Rawlings ...

• Odiyifo 6 years ago

None of the above contributed to the loss of the ndc. Their supporters merely refused to come out and vote. How many additional votes did Akuffo Addo get compared to 2012. Do a proper research.

• ISSA ABONGO 6 years ago

THE NDC STILL THINKS IT IS IN A COMFORTBLE LEAD AND CRUISING TO VICTORY, BY THEIR LIES, WHICH THEY DO NOT WANT TO GIVE UP, NEVER MIND HAVING LOST SO BADLY IN 2016. THEY ARE IN DENIAL, THINKING THE NPP WON BY DECEPTION, A LA S ...

• Veterand Cader 6 years ago

Prior to the 2016 general elections, wrong and square pegs who were nothing but lobbysts to hijack the security set up. Those were double agents who did all they could to send NDC to opposition. They were only thieves and co ...

• Musa 6 years ago

In reality,NDC has never and genuinely won power after JJ's era. The deceptions,dishonesty and elections rigging have always placed them power. They have nothing to offer Ghanaians and they truth was that, they continued digg ...

• T and T 6 years ago

Lack of leadership is our biggest problem. Nkrumah_A++, Kotoka- C-, Afrifa- C-, Acheampong C-, JJ Rawlings C-, K4 C+, Mills C-, Mahama C-, Nana C-

• Mr S 6 years ago

This self-make political analysts should stop throwing dust into the eyes of Ghanaians.
    NDC lost because of the unprecedented hatred mounted against the president. Almost every akan rose against him. How many times did the ...

• Nana Yaya 6 years ago

These Legon Lectures must give Ghanaians the break! I don't think at this moment Ghanaians need comments from them. Ghanaians are rather fed up with their hypocrisy, great pretending to love John Dramani Mahama and his Govern ...

• TIME WILL TELL 6 years ago

INFRASTRUCTURE, IT IS CALLED KALABULA INFRASTRUCTURE. THE PRICE OF ONE INFRASTRUCTURE CAN BUILD THOUSANDS HOUSES PERIOD. MAHAMA THE THIEF USELESS CLUELESS INCOMPETENT WASTE OF TIME. INSULTS ABUSE OF POWER YES MAHAMA

• TIME WILL TELL 6 years ago

AND CRONIES. MAHAMA THE DEAD GOAT, I CAN'T THINK FAR

• Nana Yaya 6 years ago

These allegations are 100% false. These all evidence of hatred for this former president God gave to Ghanaians to change Ghana and transform shattered lives of our people. Nana Addo cannot never be successful untill he and hi ...

• Stephen Donkor, New York. 6 years ago

You're just funny, can a thief change peoples life positively, maybe you meant a negative impact by your assertions, Mahama was such an unrepentant thief.Eventually most of his malfeasance will be unearthed. If you think he h ...

• Steve 6 years ago

This are some of the NDC altitude they don't listen what the lecturer is saying is the truth....shutup and listen because Ghana is not for NDC....so please give us a break and stop this nonsense.

• nana G 6 years ago

The tricks of Madame osei didn't work and it will not work again period

• Dumebi 6 years ago

These lecturers are speaking from their own minds. The truth of the matter was hardships, rising cost of utilities, fuel and school fees.

• Oteng Mensah 6 years ago

was this a research by university professors? even a chop bar keeper could do better

• Buju 6 years ago

Jealousy because of he's Northerner the same happened to Dr,Limam and the same shall surely happens to Bawumiah too.

• Buju 6 years ago

Africans racism against fellow African is the main reason.Bawumaiah will face same racist in future.

• Daladam 6 years ago

FROM GITMO JAIL AND DID IT AGAINST THE PEOPLE WILL FOR SOME SMALL AMERICAN MONEY

• Nana Yala LD 6 years ago

Ahh Mahama has mass wealth over five years . His wife was a cocoa fertilizer dealer . The First Lady a trader at your expenses. Master if you know the level of demage he coursed you wouldn't say what you are saying . He wipe ...

• Nana Yala LD 6 years ago

She sold the fertilizer to her friend s only . The then First Lady was a fraudulent person . What a sad situation that was .

• Michael K. Tettevi. 6 years ago

There is time for everything. There is time for joy and there is time for tears. There is time for giants and there is time for dwarfs. There is time for victory and there is time for defeat. All shall pass. No amount of lame ...

• Kuma 6 years ago

Ghanaians just needed someone to take over the steer. Not all findings are relevant to justify the lost of the election

• Samdougi 6 years ago

For me,as a serious minded NDC activists,I could see that there was too much uncontrol impunity of government appointees because of their direct relation with the presidency,how come that Mr Kofi PORTURPHY who who became the ...

• Keane 6 years ago

Hilarious more like bringing ghana to its knees financial with all your corruption and bad management
    Where all the arrests for
    GRA and your crook of brother
    SSNIT and your crook of a brother
    All stolen govt vehicles tha ...

• Kwasi 6 years ago

THE MAJOR CONTRIBUTORY FACTOR THAT LED TO THE DEFEAT OF NDC DURING 2016ELECTION WAS THAT VAST MAJORITY OF NDC SUPPORTERS FROM THE NORTHERN AND THE VOLTA BORDERS OF GHANA WHO WANTED TO COME HOME TO. CAST THEIR VOTES WERE HARAS ...

• powers from indian 6 years ago

black magic 0244908520satanic powers from indian call spritual father

• ONIPANA 6 years ago

The guy was simply not up to the game. All these lecturers and what and what nots should give us a break and lets focus on the relevant things in our lives.

The argument here is getting sweeter and sweeter,and some people made sensible comments.Because this so-called lecturer was quick in pointing to the weakness of the NDC and Former communication Minister ,Vice President ,Presi ...

• THE CRUSADER 6 years ago

Afrc p/ndc are thieves they have scrambled Ghana all the rich people Are connected to them, you watch out from scholarships to our vehicles at Tema port,and they continue to wear that clause,coward theives,put them off and l ...

• apuuuu 6 years ago

John Ford Drama Mahama was accidental President right place and at right time he was not prepared to be President if you look what Nana Akufo Addo cabinet is and looked at Mahama cabinet it says Mahama wa ...

• Agnes 6 years ago

Do not blame president Mahama. NPP made a lot of mouth watering promises and that gave them the win