You are here: HomeNews2017 04 27Article 532787

Government pick-up truck sold for GH¢1,000

Read Comments Comments (136)

• Setorwu 6 years ago

We need another prison in addition to Nsawam. Ghanaians are suffering to eat and drink water. They work hard to make ends meet and these thieves are stealing everything with impunity under the leadership of the biggest fool w ...

• xyz 6 years ago

most Ghanaian officials are corrupt to the core. i always weep when i hear such stories especially when they plead for mercy.
    we blacks are a bunch of extremely irrational people.

• Hmmmmmmmn 6 years ago

Why is everything under NDC is corruption, corruption, corruption, corruption?

• Mr P 6 years ago

oh so you now realising this? Well at least you have now realized how NDC was and is never a good party for Ghana. Let us pray others come to this fact too.

• The African Patriot 6 years ago

You see, what is happening? They have called a comittee without power for prosecution and the chairman is also unwilling to recommend any failures by the especially the auctioneer.

My question to this committee is why are ...

• Akan Prophecies 6 years ago

SO HONORABLE. KEN AGYAPONG SHOULD KEEP QUITE OVER THIS BECAUSE THE AUTIONEER INVOLVED IS AN NDC SYMPATHISER. GOD PUNISH THESE CROOKS EACH AND EVREYDAY

• The New Yorker wise Ghanaian 6 years ago

PLZZ JAIL THEM ALL GHANA THEY ARE THE DOWNFALL OF GHANA PLZZ JAIL THEM 10M YEARS WITH HARD LABOR

• GHANA, MY HOMELAND 6 years ago

Members of notorious NDC Party are simply thieves. They are addicted to stealing. I am sure NDC party would have sold Ghana if president Nana Addo and NPP administration had not been elected.

Does NDC party officials love ...

• GHANA'S FUTURE 6 years ago

These were what Kofi Adams and his NDC thieves were doing for the past four years they were in power. They have really stolen Ghana. Will stupid Kofi Adams, who has little brains defend this act on the part of NDC? Kofi Adams ...

• OLD SOLDIER 6 years ago

When Kwaku Baako informed us about the atrocities of Kwesi Pratt during PNDC Regime, some of us did not believe until the truth was confirmed during the NRC. Kwesi Pratt is the most dangerous Journalist Ghana had ever have, h ...

• OTIKO 6 years ago

SELLING PICK UP TRUCK IS MORE EXPENSIVE THAN SELLING GHANA DRILL SHIP?GHANA LETS STOP THESE CHEAP NPP POLITICS, ALLOW NANA TO FIX THE ECONOMY THAT ALL THESE CHEAP NPP PROPAGANDA.

• OZA 6 years ago

What is going on in our country?? Why is corruption everywhere?? Read the news. It starts from the parliament through the police recruiters, and across the immigration service at the airport and harbor to the auctioneer. This ...

• Common man 6 years ago

Do we want it to stop!? When it is my turn and I have just been appointed?
    It might stop but not now.
    It's my turn and my whole family and kinsmen know it and they are firmly behind me!!

• Adjah 6 years ago

They are corrupt because they can. All contracts are inflated so you can pay 6 or 7 officials. I have lost hope in any administration to fix the problem I think we need advocacy and watchdog groups to really pressure governme ...

• Oh Africa 6 years ago

Ghanaians are not irrational. It is gread to the bone and couple with that there is no accountability because things are routten from the top. Who is going to check who?That is why the the country is in a complete mess. No ...

• papa goro 6 years ago

Former deputy minister under kuffour regime Nana Akumea bought his official car for eight hundred cedis (Ghc800) when he was leaving power. Don't come and wear ur political spectacles insult anybody here. Both parties are gui ...

• Ewurade Kasa 6 years ago

So the fact that a criminal was allowed to go free means it should be the trend? So the NDC govt let Nana Akumea to keep his loot so that the NPP will also let the NDC do the same? Very unwise people.

• xyz 6 years ago

at least we have some sensible persons here in Ghana. it is not all lost!

• G. K. Berko 6 years ago

In their competition to bag the greater loot, they would always want to refer to what the other did in the past.

We should not forget how the NDC Government attempted to score their matching loot to the Kosmos-EO Group de ...

• xyz 6 years ago

did i indicate any ndc or npp in my submission? you rather need to remove your political spectacles!

• Salifu 6 years ago

Blame Game .It does not matter who bought what.Our interest as a Nation is to make such people pay the difference with interest.The person could be Jesus oe Lucifer.

• sam 6 years ago

every deal ndc entered into for the people Ghana has some element of fraud attached to it. if you are ndc man, are you proud of your party? the auctioneer admitted that he was paid for no work done. the cars were allocated to ...

• Adjah 6 years ago

The practice of auctioning or selling cars to government officials should stop. They should have an outsider appraise all vehicles using an approved tool such as the blue book value and exempt government officials from partic ...

• Amoah 6 years ago

He bought by then in dollars and that was the cedi equivalent.
    Now just compare $800 dollars now, how much, that's Ghs 28,000
    So please always when making a point, just say it as it is.

One thing I have noticed is, anyt ...

• Ekow 6 years ago

With the current exchange rate, $800 is definitely not GHC 28,000.00. With that miscalculation, I didn't see the need to read all your submission. $1 is equal to GHC 4. +, so there's no way your calculation is accurate.

• Asantehene Tech small Girls 6 years ago

This country is Insane What?

• OTIKO 6 years ago

HOW TO END CORRUPTION ,DURING KU4 TIME A DRILL SHIP OF GHANA SOLD FOR MONEY SHARED AMONG THE NPP GURUS .SO IF SOME ON SOLD PICK UP IS NOTHING BIG.

• Amoah 6 years ago

You see the kind of person you are. So if that one is not good, what of this one?

Do you know what happened during Rawlings time if we are to do comparison?

Someone has done this silly thing and as a true citizen of thi ...

• Gohee 6 years ago

There shouldn't be any begging and forgiveness in any theft case. Anyone involved must serve the punishment. Or Democratic rule must be out.and let's turn to kings or military rule.

• Counelor 6 years ago

What I do not understand in Ghana is when government officials commit a crime they will turn around and ask for forgiveness. Unfortunately these crimes committed against the people of Ghana do not merit forgiveness and those ...

• Adomba 6 years ago

Kalabule was NDC way of government

• Agyakwakuo Twumpuduo 6 years ago

Stupid it was not a mistake it was planned and executed so for the ranking member to plead for mercy makes him an accomplice as well. They should all appear in court they should only be spared by a court of legal competence.

• Mawusi Dake 6 years ago

Not a single Ghanaian could claim to be honest. All of us are thoroughly corrupt. From the church, to parliament, ministries, departments, presidency, judiciary, everyone is a thief! Disgusting people...

• Kwadwo Nyankomago 6 years ago

You have rightly said it , the future of our dear mother land is bleak. There is no future for Ghana because there is hardly any trust worthty citizen presently in our dear country. It is a shame on all our institutions.

• read i 6 years ago

prices already set...employees already allocated the vehicles...you call this an auction?

• abass 6 years ago

jail the mother fuckers for rapingthe country. what is this..? we might as well open all the vaults and have every one steal from mother ghana. we are watching this closely. bring back the firing squad.

• NANAAMA 6 years ago

PAC should set example and let the police prosecute these state wreckers and stop this nonsense of forgiveness and pardon. They should face the law. If discipline is not instilled in the Ghanaian culture nothing will happen.

• Pee 6 years ago

I am for justice.We are waiting to see what nana addo will do and my brother steals plantain and receives 10 yrs.We the youth are wiser now.No democracy is better than foolish democracy.

• Georgina Serwaa Boateng 6 years ago

Stupid thieves idiots! You should not waste time on this animal

• Mabel 6 years ago

A nation of hypocrites. The churches are full to the brim 24/7, they preach on buses & at trotro stations, the mosques are full on Fridays, the shrines are also full. Yet corruption and dishonesty has become a feature at ever ...

• Obed Adore 6 years ago

Hmmm, my friend, say it again and again ooh..

• G. K. Berko 6 years ago

Do not be discouraged by the fact that all our places of worship are overflowing with members and yet these crimes keep soaring.

Just try do draw on your faith and do your best to stay above the fray. Sometimes, the lit ...

• Moses 6 years ago

This auctioneer must be jailed i know him personally he resides at achimota mile seven i once ask him for car de prize he he coat was higher so jail him

• Peace 6 years ago

Definitely this one too is another MUTUM BANZA and guess which 'ORGANISATION' he is coming from? Like auctioneer, like his party, NDC, for sure.All of them are corrupt and thieves.God save this country

• Otto von Bismarck 6 years ago

Regardless of their political parties, ALL Ghanaians are crooks. That's the plain truth. Including your pastors. Cursed people.

• kwame 6 years ago

Ghana is a joke. We are fast overtaking Niger.

• Brezhnev 6 years ago

We have overtaken them a long time ago. In fact ours is in the wrong direction. Overtake overtakes Overtake.

• Yaw 6 years ago

Some Ghanaians are citizens of this country others are complete foreigners. Nana change this stupidity for Mahama to see how to govern!

• Counelor 6 years ago

Yaw this has nothing to do with NDC!

• powers of the universe 6 years ago

indian,,,spiritualist in ghana
    black scientist spiritualist
    professor 0244908520in science devine
    money rituals
    casting the dead spell
    casting water evils to appear to u
    knowing your destiny
    amal hamzard power of heali ...

• Osei Yeboah 6 years ago

They come to the PAC to tell us how much the have looted the state and they go Scot free .why wouldn't others join the bandwagon?

• Amevor 6 years ago

NDC THIEVES

• AKWE 6 years ago

NDC-THIEVES' PARTY

• Benito. 6 years ago

It's a systemic problem and it's there since independence,and no one has the balls to confront it.How on earth will a whole organization preside over issuance of 44 dud checks????

• Abokuma 6 years ago

This auctioneer should be jailed. He's pleading when he knows too well that the money he received as commission was undeserved. When public officials begin to go to jail for defrauding the state, it will send a clear signal ...

• THE CRUSADER 6 years ago

Call back all the goods auctioned and we shall see the results!and we call ourselves Christians And Moslems,Lord have mercy.pls let the law takes it's cause or free every cassava thief from Nsawam,they stole out of hunger, ...

• Onua 6 years ago

The only word you can use to describe Ghanaians is Corruption!
    My worry is that they will forgive him. Then we should forgive all first time criminals in jail.

• RAM 6 years ago

So we educate people through polytechnics and universities just to to come on board to steal from the Nation. GHANA OUR MOTHERLAND. Hmmmmmmm

• KWASHIE ADJAH 6 years ago

THIS IS HOW GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS LOOT STATE FUNDS, ASSETS AND PROPERTY AND THEN WHEN THE NATION IS BROKE, KAYAYEI, TAILORS, SEAMSTRESSES, HAIRDRESSERS, BARBERS, KOOBI, PLANTAIN AND YAM SELLERS, KELEWELE, FRIED YAM AND ROAST C ...

So shall you allow this stupid thief continue the job?snatch from him the lincence,collect all the defaulted monnies from him a throw him to Nsawam,if not all the obiri jailed thieves should be freed.This can be injustice,,we ...

Please move all these ministries from Accra to various regions they are more needed.This is distasteful,abbi?

• good magic 6 years ago

money rituals
    casting the dead spell
    knowing your destiny
    amal hamzard power of heali ...

• cuuh!. 6 years ago

Oh! So simple. Are they going to Nsawam or case die. Oh Ama Gh, just destroyed & say am sorry. Simple.

• Bobo tee 6 years ago

Nana Addo the special Prosecutor is taking long

• Dr 6 years ago

Leave them alone. We cannot trust you politicians. What a shame

• CC 6 years ago

SOMEBODY SHOULD TELL US THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THIS CASE AND THE DUD CHEQUES ISSUE. THE LAWS GOVERNING PAC SHOULD BE REVIEWED TO GIVE THEM POWER TO JAIL THESE MISCRAINTS AND THESE NONESENSE WILL STOP, ONE TOUCH

• Comrade 6 years ago

Stop blaming only politicians for corruption ooo!
    Bookmen at the stations, salesgirls and boys in bars, teachers etc all think it is smart to steal/cheat. Shame on the auctioneer and these officials. Jail, Jail, JAIL!!!

• Amidini 6 years ago

Alex Adjei must refund the money or face court action

• King Wisdom 6 years ago

Pick up for GHS 1000 and yet the culprits walk free. Somebody steals a bunch of plantain and is remanded in prison custody the rest of his or her life. What an unjust society

• Kanawu 6 years ago

Eiii, this corrupt and useless NDC government created, looted and shared Ghana's money. Mahama was the most useless president ever in Ghana's history..

• Adjah 6 years ago

Ghanaians know how the game works. You steal and if found out you ask to refund money or beg forgiveness. We can't run a country like that and expect to move forward. This is why we need government watchdog or advocacy groups ...

• Nana Marco jnr 6 years ago

Maseresaa infact we sick as a nation and we need God to heal our minds.The auctioneer needs his mind to be healed.

• OBEY frm Sakora-Wonoo 6 years ago

Please let's aware that whatever you plant will one day germinate. So we must be sincere in whatever we do.
    Go to ASENSE-YAW BOADI in the Ahafo Ano South in district of Ashanti region and see how children are suffering and ...

• Ekow 6 years ago

How much did Akomea buy his car when he was leaving office?

• Crazy Ghanaians Need You. 6 years ago

Are they apologizing and still remain in offices? Heartbreaking! Oh miserable Ghana. Please God come down. Too many Ibrahims living among us while the prisons are empty of them. All these revelations are the end of it! Thank ...

• calistus 6 years ago

If a Gh 130000 car can be sold for Gh 36000 to a minister or presidential staffer then they are not fools. They know what is going on and are also taking advantage of the system.If take to court the valver at stc should be ta ...

• say it loud 6 years ago

If these guys will not be sent to prison then all the prisoners in Ghana must be freed. The injustice in Ghana is becoming too much.

• Kwabena Nkurmah 6 years ago

This auctioneer should go to jail straight begging for what?
    If it was not a plan as professional auctioneer go to auction cars which has been allocated already. So what did go there to do?
    Just to collect the money and b ...

• nottul 6 years ago

All of you shouting here are at any time prepared to give an official "something" in order to get your business done for you on time. We are no better than these guys caught red handed. Ghanaians are corrupt, we all say. ...

• VOICE 6 years ago

SELLING MOTOR BIC FOR 30 GHANA WHEREAS THIS CANT BUY A PLATE OF FOOD AT ANY RESTAURANT.MAHAMA AND HIS BUNCH OF THIEVES YE GO TO HELL.

• Kofi 6 years ago

Ghana needs to be serious and taken seriously else we shall get nowhere!

• Obuasi 6 years ago

i think fools like this guy should be gunned down,i watched him on television yestee, while the committee were seriously askn questions he was rather laughing, foolish man.

• Joe. 6 years ago

These People are more than armed robbers.

• Richard Mawutor 6 years ago

count me out. my parents did not train me to become a thieve and be stealling public money . perhaps my family is considered poor because we do not steal to be great. God loves us and we are content with that .

• sam 6 years ago

both the auctioneer and the person who authorized the auction should be jailed. the basically stole the vehicles.

• ALUTA CONTINUA 6 years ago

LINE THEM ALL UP AND CALL JJ1979
    THATS WHAT HE IS GOOD FOR

• TOGA 6 years ago

Are we practising the rule of law or the rule of convenience? Why do we tend to let off white collar crime so lightly. These officials are more dangerous to society than the odd goat or plantain their. They can beg for mercy ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

Independent Prosecution taking too long! These people should all be jailed.

• Kai 6 years ago

Whilst have been pining away to be our next President Mahama on the other walked in to being a President easily without any hitch.

• Dr. Boa. USA 6 years ago

Sad happenings. Go to our hospitals, look at our roads, schools, sewage systems, our lands- galamsey etc, Ghana; we are miserable, really miserable, ad3n? Corruption is ingrained in the heart and soul of Ghanaians. No one is ...

• Kofi Ghana 6 years ago

Rotten country,people can't differentiate right from wrong,our thinking is sacks,call a spill a spill,they are thieves.

• ALUTA CONTINUA 6 years ago

NANA GHANAIANS ARE WATCHING

• Kai 6 years ago

Retrieve all those vehicles now and return the token money paid back to those who purchased the vehicles.

• OKOROMANSA 6 years ago

LOOKING AT THOSE FACES IN THE VIDEO, WE CAN FIND TYPICAL AYIGBE THIEVES BEING GRILLED. ALL THOSE OTHER OFFICERS BENEFITTED FROM THAT AUCTION, BUT IT IS NOT EASY FOR THEM TO DEFEND THE AUCTIONEER. GHANA IS SICK AND SOME KIND O ...

• kaketonti 6 years ago

SIR JOHN BOUGHT HIS CAR AT GHC600.00 DURING THIEF KUFUOR ERA.

• inercycl 6 years ago

Arrested pickpocketing at kejetia today and believes he should be set free because the other guy did the same thing yesterday.Why do ghanaians condone stealing in high places? It is a shame!

• gh kib 6 years ago

U are too much obsessed with Kufour

• inercycl 6 years ago

My brother's car was confiscated at the port because he could not afford to pay the duty.... hypothetically! They would not even accept a postdated cheque.Please show mercy and return my brother's car.
    Are we not a nation of ...

• inercycl 6 years ago

Is the new minister sleeping or something? There are similar cases over there he should not overlook at all..... unless if you can't beat them, you join them!

• Kwaa 6 years ago

Anybody at all who had access to government property,was free to steal it without any consequence.Because the NDC government itself was so busy selling or stealing government assets that,they had no time to protect the publi ...

• ASH 6 years ago

Is it the first time this is happening?

• Donatus 6 years ago

This NPP govt. is becoming famous for exaggerated nonsense. Do they understand what auction is? you auction to the highest bidder or the one who has the most reasonable reason for buying. If 1000gh was the highest for the veh ...

• SHAMEFUL GHANA 6 years ago

shameful thieves

• HAB 6 years ago

Where is Ghana heading to. People who have been entrusted by the state to act on our behalf are now turning to steal from the state. Are we normal as people? What is going on? And these are the very people who will fill our c ...

• Kk 6 years ago

Aboa u deserve to be hanging.

• Sam 6 years ago

If you can forgive then why not forgive armed robbers when they plead for forgiveness, they must face the law.The cars are for Ghanaians so they should face the law

• HOLY SINNER 6 years ago

This type of behavior is destroying the country.If all crims were to be shown mercy what then will happen?The guy is a CRIM and must be jailed big time.

• Joe 6 years ago

I'm an NDC supporter however please my follow Ghanaian don't let's us condone corrupt practices, these guys should be jail it is time we tell our leaders NPP, NDC to govern with intergrity and we Ghanaian with power should le ...

• BISMAC ASARE DJAN 6 years ago

my brother nd sisters hold ur peace,dis things is telling us that JESUS is coming.

• ANAFO 6 years ago

Mofa paaa !!! So u cut of allowance for agricultural colleges n this is what u are now doing!!

• nii 6 years ago

CORRUPTION HAS BEEN EMBEDDED IN EVERY FABRIC OF GHANIANS SOCIETY. IT MAY PROBABLY WILL NEVER BE SOLVED. WHAT IS GOING ON IS NOT AN AUCTION. IT IS A RIGGED SYSTEM WHEREBY THE GOVERNMENT SELL HIS SCARED ACCESS TO THE CHOSEN FE ...

• Kofi 6 years ago

As an experienced auctioneer, this cannot be taken as a mistake unless you agree that you were not qualified to do this job in which case you acted in deception. In both cases you cannot be pardoned for your deliberate action ...

• Asenpa 6 years ago

NPP SHOULD STOP THIS RUBBISH, you'd pay a very high price for this Nonesense, the whole country is watching!

• KK 6 years ago

Aside not following laid procedures, car "U" registration are 15 years old. They are not worth much. However, they should be disposed off properly

• Osborn 6 years ago

if staff has allocated the cars to themselves, what was the work of the auctioneer?

• PK 6 years ago

After watching this whole sitting, I just cannot believe what I am hearing from the director to the auctioner. These are civil servants. People who have been educated and trained in their field of study. The root of corruptio ...

• Common man 6 years ago

After this information what follows? Nothing! That's the end of the story.
    Next year we'll go through the ritual and say we have fulfilled? a constitutional obligation.
    We are being shortchanged on both accounts.

• mallam zamaani 6 years ago

This is mallam I have come back from India where I went for some powers, now am work in Ghana gushegu northern region , so those who requested to come are now ready to come, u can whatsapp me now or call me now (+233546805897 ...

• gh kib 6 years ago

How much do they charge Ghanaians to clear a car from the port,after they have suffered to buy it in a hash (cold )whether in abroad.
    Someone bought a car for £5000 in Europe shipped to Ghana only to be charged more than t ...

• truth 6 years ago

Below price???

• OBREMPON N.Y USA 6 years ago

Sorry Mr Auctioneer, your plea of IGNORANCE
    should no be accepted, because IGNORANCE
    is not a PLEA in LAW and in this
    circumstance. We would have accepted this
    plea had you MISSED SOME INGREDIENTS ...

• Jessy. 6 years ago

H33R, IF THESE IDIOTS ARE NOT JAILED, THEN THE LEGISLATURE IS USELESS TO THE CORE

• JE 6 years ago

Speechless !!

• NPPigs 6 years ago

I don't car how much the vehicles were sold for, if am not told the age and mileage on these vehicles. The Price of a vehicle is not determined by the vehicle tag number nor its make/type. It could be that these vehicles have ...

• Sid usa 6 years ago

This is insult the wheels of the said vehicles is even more the whole vehicle very sad

• ghanani 6 years ago

Kuffuor's NPP government did the same thing.They sold government vehicles,houses and plots of lands to themselves far,far,far below the market price.

• Solomon. 6 years ago

Foolish glow men are destroying Ghana with that paper call certificate no future for this country toys without no sense

• good magic 6 years ago

money rituals
    casting the dead spell
    knowing your destiny
    amal hamzard power of heal ...

• Wanga Sule. 6 years ago

We said that Mahama and his NDC were corrupt. Generally speaking where there is smoke there is bound to be fire.
    We can say that the auction here of Ghana government cars was purely corruption at work. Ibrahim Mahama who is ...

• OBIBA 6 years ago

We need to get more prisons in Ghana. Ah, I was shocked when I also heard dat the Ghana Health Service also auctioned an ambulance for ghc350. What's going in dis country? Hmmm

• asem 6 years ago

again, this man knew there is a procedure to follow but he ignored it because at the back of his mind, no body can question him, no one can jail him. The British are enforcing their laws and we are talking about unnecessary? ...

• sojeee 6 years ago

Des guys must be dealt with paaa. Som civilians are more dan politician. Stealing paaaa be dis?? Several of des is going on in our institutions........

• Adjo 6 years ago

This man must be PUNISHED IMMEDIATELY. He had the nerves to laugh when been questioned. PULIC ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE MEMBERS Please be very serious with this auctiioneer.

• Yaw 6 years ago

Firing Squad or IS execution style now
    Do we want to wait till Ghana becomes a no man's land before acting? I pray that I'll one day become the head of state to this Banana republican. I'll WILL KILL all the thieves destroyi ...

• William Donkor 6 years ago

Can't our leaders learn from the white?
    this is totally unacceptable
    No mercy should be shown to this man
    This is an unpardonable crime against Ghanaians in general

• Gohee 6 years ago

Crying has nothing to do with whatever you doing there.that's his lifestyle .We only want the vigorous of the law to be in place or implementeimplemented