You are here: HomeNews2017 04 05Article 525658

Is Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah the founder of Ghana?

Read Comments Comments (51)

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Opanin Kwabena Mensah,

What is your point?

That Akufo Addo will not celebrate "Nkrumah is founder of Ghana" so, we must abandon that idea?

Do you understand that Akufo Addo benefited directly from the education and ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Tell us also which one of those best represents Kwame Nkrumah more than any other individual, including Akufo Addo, J. B. Danquah, etc.

• francis kwarteng 7 years ago

Another useless, stupid article.

• OYOKOBA 7 years ago

It is only those gifted with intellectual laziness wo would gift Kwame Nkrumah as the founder of Ghana.

To say somebody is a founder of something, you are making the claim that before him the subject or entity he associate ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Sure!

"Founding is equated with creating in this analysis."....in your analysis!

You totally have neglected the history of the making....in your "analysis"...what other people, in the same space and time, wanted for the ...

• Nii Teiko 7 years ago

Jesus said onto his disciple, "verily, I say onto you, before Abraham was I am!" Much the same way, before Nkrumah (a.k.a Kofi Nwiah) was born there was a Gold Coast. The British only handed over Gold Coast to Nkrumah and Gol ...

By: Ekow Nelson

President Evans Atta Mills decision to honour our first President Dr. Kwame Nkrumah generated a lot of discussion on both sides of Ghana's historical political divide. Recently, President Akufo-Addo's S ...

• mojasika 7 years ago

wow! this history na sweet oo. people go figure.

• Kweku 7 years ago

I am not a proponent of "Nkrumah is the founder of Ghana" but there are several faults in OYOKOBA'S logic.

By his reasoning either nobody founded Ghana was founded by the British. Either fact is not correct. The British p ...

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

Cause-and effect relationships govern everything that happens and are the path to effective problem solving. It is an undeniable fact that majority of Ghanaians lack the sharpness of mind to configure issues of our day; they ...

• KWASI 7 years ago

It is very disingenuous to use your argument as standard for judging Ghanaians who disagree with you as "bereft of all common sense and cognition let alone read to ascertain the facts."

For all you know what you described ...

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

KWASI Jaja Wachuku,

Where is the paper?

You seem to want to thrive/WALLOW in the minor, leaving the major asunder!

Who said Kwame Nkrumah"...was the only one who fought for the independence of Ghana?

Greetings!

• Kwabena Yeboah 7 years ago

Kwasi, what will you say if I tell you the Ghanaian and more so the African is predisposed to inveterate stupor? Since the beginning of time and space, the blackman has been the enemy of his own commonly know as 'black-on-bl ...

• KWASI 7 years ago

Kwabena,
    I wonder if you read the write up and if you did then I guess you did not understand.

Quoted below is the last but one paragraph of the write up

"It is suggested that protagonists of “Nkrumah is the Foun ...

• KWASI 7 years ago

Prof,
    Nigeria did not change its name after independence so will you be saying that Nigeria is still a colony?

"Notably, as First Speaker of the House, Jaja Wachuku received Nigeria's Instrument of Independence, also know ...

• Constable Joy 7 years ago

FINE IDIOT KWASIA KWASI.
    DON'T BEHAVE LIKE THEM.
    SEE YOUR HISTORY TEACHER wae
    NOTE:NIGERIA WAS CALLED SLAVE COAST BEFORE INDEPENDENCE.

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

KWASI

Jaja Wachuku who?

This man?

www.nairaland.com/2826130/jaja-wachuku-sleeping-un-meeting

??????

You do not even mention "Tafawa Balewa"?

Here is some homework for you:
    (1) Read comment by Kweku just abo ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

0572174551___0572174551
    PREMATURE EJACULATION, LOW SPERM COUNT AND ERECTILE DYSFUNCTION
    One of the major cause of marriage and relationship breakup is inability to achieve the maximum sexual satisfaction She has always want ...

• 5-4-2017 7 years ago

This opposition 'mate me ho' United Party traitors now NPP can even go ahead to ban the Independence & the Republic holiday celebrations also,
    who cares? only them!,
    we know them already & who don't know them before knows ...

• Amevor 7 years ago

YES

• Kotey 7 years ago

There is nothing more derisible or morose logic as you put it than comparing the oranges and apple logic.How on earth can one ask such silly questions?

"What about this: D. K. Poison is the first Ghanaian to win the World

• be wise 7 years ago

I have enjoyed some of Opanin Kwabena's writer-ups but this is the most desperate, silliest responds ever to the "Is Nkrumah the founder of Ghana" issue.

He could barely prove his points with credible records of history ( ...

• KWASI 7 years ago

George Washington was an American politician and soldier who served as the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797 and was one of the Founding Fathers of the United States

EVERY TOM,DICK AND HARRY PLAYED A PART
    BUT DANQUAH AND CO WERE ABSENT DURING THE SIGNING AND DECLARATION OF MODERN GHANA'S INDEPENDENCE.
    INFACT UNLIKE GEORGE WASHINGTON, OTHERS WERE TRAITORS,PAID CIA AGENTS BOMB-THROWERS.

• BERNARD 7 years ago

0572174551__0572174551_0572174551
    PREMATURE EJACULATION, LOW SPERM COUNT AND ERECTILE DYSFUNCTION
    One of the major cause of marriage and relationship breakup is inability to achieve the maximum sexual satisfaction She has a ...

• Bediako 7 years ago

The thinking of this so-called Ph.D holder writer is shallow. Tell us what efforts your tribalists forefathers you want to impose on us as national heros did to bring Ghana together. Remember the Ghana Nkrumah is accredited w ...

• Bediako 7 years ago

Many members of the so-called big six wanted a smaller country ***without*** the North and the Volta territories

The other five were lost in action on independence day because they were afraid that the British will not allow them to visit England again if they break the racial law that prohibited Negroes from entering and congregating a ...

Don't mind him!

Its time for neo-liberal illusions. ...

• GHANAMAN THE REAL 7 years ago

The Gold Coast, later named Ghana as suggested by JB Danquah on attainment of Independence on 6th March 1957, existed a Colonial Nation from 1844 and I'm sure Nkrumah born Kofi Nwiah's birth certificate in 1902 would have lis ...

• Kotey 7 years ago

If you have nothing to say on the subject like the writer of the article, shut up and find something to do.You did not add to the debate other than saying some irrelevant unconnected trashes.

Danquah and his cohorts oppose ...

• Kofi Boy 7 years ago

And we still want that even today. What benefits has these additions brought us?

THAT OTHERS WERE INVOLVED.
    NKRUMAH DECLARED THE INDEPENDENCE FOR/OF MODERN GHANA NOT THE PAID CIA AGENT,TRAITOR,BOMB-THROWER,DANQUAH.
    THAT UNITARY/UNIVERSAL SUFFRAGE
    DEFEATED-FEDERALISM;PROPERTY OWNING(THIEFING)DEMOCRACY A ...

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

How did the founder got to elect as prime minister?Nkrumah did not fought no wars conquering territories to expand our country bounders.the British took north from the Germans and Volta region and include it to Gold Coast.Nkr ...

MR BOND NOTE THAT IT WAS UNDER NKRUMAH'S ABLE LEADERSHIP THAT TRANS TOGOLAND TODAY VOLTA REGION IS INCORPORATED INTO GHANA BY PLEBISCITE .

• ONUA 7 years ago

but you can't be the founder of a country you were born into. My great uncle, B.K. graduated from SAA SEVEN in the year 1925 in the country called Gold Coast(dependent on British rule) as he used to proudly tell us.

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

WHETHER KWÁME NKRUAH,DANQUAH,BAFFOUR AKOTO,PAA GRANT, S.D.DOMBO AND KOI LARBI WERE THE FOUNDER OF GHANA,HAVE ALL THESE IRRELEVANT QUESTIONS ALLEVIATED EXTREME POVERTY IN GHANA.

DO YOU KNOW WHAT, THE NATION GHANA CONTINUES ...

• Stephen 7 years ago

U can do all the analyzies to favour your skeptical devilish act but is the name gold coast and ghana the same? Is a married woman and a concubine the same? Give Nkrumah respect.

• OBETSEBI 7 years ago

THE TRUE FOUNDER OF THE COUNTRY GHANA WAS THE PERSON WHO GAVE HER THE NAME.A TREE CANNOT MAKE A FOREST,BUT IN EVERY FOREST THERE IS THE BIGGEST TREE.TIMBER AND CALIBER.

• kaketonti 7 years ago

THE DATE WAS 6 MARCH 1957.
    CAN'T THINK MADNESS
    THE BOMB-THROWERS etc WERE NOWHERE.

• Nii T 7 years ago

Who declared Ghana independent on the podium? Haters of nkrumah can cry all they like but the facts and video evidence is there for all who care to see. Not saying he was perfect though. Declaring Ghana one party state was ...

• Marcus Ampadu 7 years ago

This has drifted into politics, rather than a historical fact, as such it is asinine. You never hear of who founded Great Britain, Brazil, or India. Republicans and Democrats wouldn't waste time debating who really founde ...

• Kwadwo Gyamfi 7 years ago

You are right massa. Instead of talking about how to deal with the dreadful galamsey menace, here we are arguing about the worthless subject of who founded Ghana.

• Prof Lungu 7 years ago

Are we to assume that probably those losing the argument now want to throw it away with the bath waters?

Where we all come from, even the wise in the tradition and aptitude of "Solomon" can learn from "Mad Men".

Greeti ...

• Kwaku Nyame 7 years ago

I am assuming that Prof Lungu is in the camp of Mad Men and we can learn from him, abi.

• Atta 7 years ago

Nkrumah or Kofi Nwiah as he was originally called has a birthday which is disputed. In modern tixmes you can check back the day 21/9/1909 falls and it's not on a Friday.

• agbolontey 7 years ago

The big six must be respected for their good work done.Nkrumah alone could have founded Ghana.

• King Lomotey 7 years ago

Of course many Ghanaians dedicated their lives to free us from the colonial rule of Great Britain, but it was Dr. Kwame Nkrumah who on March 6,, 1957 stood at the Polo Ground, aided by the stalwarts of the CPP - Gbedemah, B ...

• Daamango 7 years ago

No...no...no!

• Nyame 7 years ago

Rubbish...you are just like Mike ocquay. All you want is recognition of the CIA agent jb danquah as a co founder.you are very stupid.drink poison and die, you are so shallow. Mr writer your Npp supporters are bunches of idiot ...