You are here: HomeNews2017 04 04Article 525453

Kwasi Appiah returns as Black Stars coach for two years

Read Comments Comments (115)

• ju 7 years ago

thats nyantekye's plan hide kwesi n bring him again.

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Not all Ghanaians will use the Accra Dubai facility but with free SHS, almost all Ghanaian children, within a certain age bracket, can have access to it. Look, whiles Ghanains were suffering, and Mahama even acknowledged it b ...

• KOOL 7 years ago

GET LOST WITH UR FUCKIN POLITICS, LIERS, EMPTY PROMISES, FOOLING EVERYBODY N TWISTING STORIES. FUCK U, FUCK U N FUCK POLITICIAN

• Isaidit 7 years ago

We demand that GFA and the Sports Ministry give him the same support and resources as we gave Coach Grant to do his work.We will not accept any interferrance from all the cowards who were quiet like church mouse when Grant we ...

• THE MADMAN 7 years ago

Owass old boys salute you sir

• huja 7 years ago

We must love our own!

• Esi 7 years ago

We must love our own even though he's proven incompetent and has been fired previously? Is this the best Ghanaian coach we have in the country? No! Mediocrity has never been a recipe for success anywhere.

• Zoobe-Zoobe 7 years ago

Black stars going nowhere

• SCHEMER 7 years ago

Name one better than him please. It may be over-sight so help us for it's never too late.

• Topsey Speaks.... 7 years ago

We will not qualify for Russia 2018.
    We will not win the next AFCON.
    And will not make any progress over the next two years.

But to me this is Ghana's worst squad since 2006 so it's better that Klueless Kwesi is in charg ...

• Stupiah 7 years ago

This fool who quarrels with foriegn based players? Jealous of them how can we win? I am sure money has changed hands

• FAFRA 7 years ago

GFA BOSS NYATETSEY MUST GO THEN GHANA FOOT BALL WILL GROW.

• Freddie 7 years ago

The word is LIARS- Not "LIERS"!!

• Dessie 7 years ago

Agbesi :we must sacrifice to reap in joy ok::not always is glamorous

• Mununkum 7 years ago

I believe this guy's brains are stuffed in his ass. What a wasted sperm.

• Kwame Aboagye Mensah 7 years ago

Are all Ghanains in SHS? Nonsense!

• Omanba Pa, lslington - London 7 years ago

Ghana will be United again. We thank God for that. Amen!!!

RETROGRESSING GHANA FOOTBALL!

• Paa 7 years ago

Kwasi Appiah qualified us to the world cup. What did your decorated foreign coaches achieve? If we're going to fail, better to do so at minimum cost with a local coach than with an expensive foreign coach!

• Zoobe-Zoobe 7 years ago

sad

• Benito. 7 years ago

I think there was a lot on financial considerations,we all know that the foreign coaches charge more,but kwesi don't care how much we pay him.Whats the point in paying huge salary to foreign coaches who can't deliver????

• Afrikatu Kofi 7 years ago

This is one of the happiest day in my life.Welcome back Brother Appiah now lets play football again.Now I am a fan of the Black Stars and GFA again.Once the GFA has employed one of our own to take charge of the Black Stars I ...

• wiseman 7 years ago

but that useless guy songo still on radio
    hmm Akwasi due due

• maree stopes 7 years ago

the best way is nyantakyi FA out! then stick to loyal - not ego - players.

• pin 7 years ago

Good for nothing man cannot be a coach.

• Ghanaba 7 years ago

WE ARE NOT LISTENING TO IDIOTS LIKE YOU.THE ONLY REASON FOR YOUR HATRED OF THIS MANIS BECAUSE HE IS AN AKAN.WE WILL RID GHANA OFF PEOPLE LIKE YOU.

• levels 7 years ago

Shut up you idiot. What do you know about football?

• THE MADMAN 7 years ago

KWASEA ABOAFUNU

• Apuu Eta 7 years ago

Should we give the position to a foreigner to take our money for free like Grant? Akwasi Appiah took us to world cup. What did Grant do? Grow up Pin

• Marcus - Croydon 7 years ago

The appointment of Kwasi Appiah as the coach of the senior national team was met with hilarious jubilation across the length and breath of the country . Recently , not long ago , Appiah was able to galvanised the black Stars ...

• Killers 7 years ago

Awurade this buffoon guy again, coming back to cry mu mu mu mu, Ghana ain't going no where with this coach, can't even read games and no wonder nyantakyi and dat foolish guy saanie diara talking crap to Ghanaians. Let's forg ...

• Bobo tee 7 years ago

yesooo 2 year mandante is in order

• Kwesi 7 years ago

We lack foresight, I cry for my nation Ghana!

• THE MADMAN 7 years ago

OGWAN

• Jon 7 years ago

@kwasi u are right. If he was good why didn't the same fa keep him after the Brazil fiasco. Why was he sacked and what has changed about this coach since his sacking in 2014. Has he suddenly become the best coach we can affor ...

• OSEI KWAME 7 years ago

GOOD LET SUPPORT HIM AND WORK TOGETHER

• SCHEMER 7 years ago

The nation wreckers are not in favor of this good news. I reckon he will live up to expectations in order to shame his critics. They would that a foreigner like me will come and though won't stay put, collect huge salaries an ...

• Kwasi 7 years ago

The nation wreckers are all out I'm arms. Fire burn all the mutherfuckers. Akwasi Appiah, will bring us afcon, and put them all to shame

• Bobo tee 7 years ago

The NPP sec of sports should identify 3 hard working coaches and send them to courses like the CPP and Nkrumah did for Osam. Lets be proactive NO MORE ORBONI COAHCES

• apuuuu 7 years ago

I hope he Kwasi Appiah has learn his lesson this time no more Mr wimp and cry baby stuff apuuuuu

Again fucking guy again

• Kwaku 7 years ago

I am extremely saddened by the decision. The exco of the FA should be fired.
    1. Why was he sacked in the first place? Was it not on grounds if incompetence?
    What has changed significantly with Kwasi Appiah. Can u tell us wh ...

• Life 7 years ago

So he fails once so what? Everyone fails st something!! It is not because he is black. When he wins it feels even sweeter!!!!

• Mununkum 7 years ago

I reckon you'll change the post when Mahama is mentioned. Hypocrisy at its best.

• 123 7 years ago

I can see it as cost effective. The probability of going to the World Cup next year is low. So instead of going for a foreign coach who would take huge amount of money as salary, sign on fees, accommodation etc, why don't we ...

• AGC 7 years ago

Good luck kwasi l no god will help u

• Prekese 7 years ago

Well I will only wish you all the best ryt. And try hard not to discriminate among the player's to make the national team an Ashanti look like team. Hmmmm.

• Kangah 7 years ago

Tribal bigiot! Who told you Akwasi Appiah is Ashanti! Get your information right, Mr. Fool!

• Mununkum 7 years ago

Ohhh is a Northerner?

• Atinga 7 years ago

One thing I do know is that he is Akan and NPP suporter

• OPANIN PAPA.( NEW JERSEY, USA) 7 years ago

Good move. After all "the devil you know is sometimes (not all the times) better than the Angel you know not."
    My word is Kwasi be wary of your sorroundings not to fall into dangerous pit
    GAFA, Players , please give him the ...

• Eddie 7 years ago

Welcome back Mr Appiah. The black coach can do whatever the white coach can... for less. What did his successor do that he didn't during his first tenure? Grant has almost cost us the WC qualification (that is going by the th ...

• Clifford 7 years ago

Weak and fear coach who will be controlled by the FA in selection of Foreign and local players. Another loot and share mechanism put in place by FA BOSS and it's corrupt management and technical committee. Shame unto Ghana F ...

• Big Sam 7 years ago

Why bring him again omg,those foreign players don't respect made in Ghana,oh well

• okwan 7 years ago

I don't really get why u guys hype the foreign based players as some selfmade guys.
    If they cant respect legends of the same black stars like Akwesi as coach, forget it. Even Asantehene as coach would be disrespected.

• Innocent Ghanaian 7 years ago

Akwaaba; Odjeko, Wezolo!! Black Stars; Forward!! Africa Unite!! Humanity; Forward To Russia 2018. Together With God We Go!! "Occupy Till I Come. A Time To Think.

• Dessie 7 years ago

Great move

• barima akyem tenet agyekum uhh t 7 years ago

I don't think think the akuffo addo government will be any serious one. Do we want retrogression in football or progress. Appiah won't take Ghana to anywhere.

• NIINOI 7 years ago

GOOD LUCK TO YOU. I HOPE YOU CHOSE A NEW ASSIATNAT AND NOT MAXWELL KONADU.

• kk 7 years ago

Now lets go and beat the hell out of Egypt, Uganda and the chop chop to get to Russia.

• Mana 7 years ago

Always going in circles, no beginning, no end. Nyantakyi as usual

• Peter Nkruma 7 years ago

Welcome Kwasi Appiah and may the Lord bless you. To those against you, God will definitely put them in shame. Instill discipline whether Local or Foreign player. Any player who is not ready can stay away

• Pias 7 years ago

Yes! Foreigners never win shit and take thousands of dollars away. Keep that money in Ghana!!

• NKETIA, Afghanistan 7 years ago

I man love to see mi brother back .....

• stateman 7 years ago

welcome back l hope this time round he will not favor players who are not qualify to play for the black star.I decided not to mention names.

• Dee dee 7 years ago

Thank you Ghana and GFA . Now Sully can come back to play for us . We thank God for making this possible

• Kwaku 7 years ago

GFA is not serious!!
    How has Appiah improved, he went to Sudan!!!!!
    Appiah is just a stooge, and as soon as we fail to qualify for the WC next year the GFA will sack him again.
    This is madness.
    Are you telling me KA is th ...

• Shadie 7 years ago

They shouldn't have fired him in the first place. Ghanaians cherish white men over their own. Our own people if train can do exact or better job than this white people we cherished so much. Time to WISE UP, Ghanaians.

• Doobia 7 years ago

God have Mercy! Are we serious as Ghanaians? Why should we allow politics to impose this incompetent mumu illiterate again on the team? Ghana football is dead. Will not waste time watching their matches.

• african 7 years ago

you r crazy akwesi is best for ghana.

• Hzzvfjjvvcc 7 years ago

This is Ashanti Mafia.

• Nshyira 7 years ago

Let us learn to support our own. Why do we always condem our own and praise others. Why can't we help them to grow and become the perfect one we admire.

• Adjoa Ghanaba 7 years ago

AA will take Ghana to WC. The Lord God will bless him and his team . Ghana is almost missing the next WC but thank our National couch will fight hard to take us to Russia. Let all support d coach and the players. Ghana will ...

• Onipanua Toronto 7 years ago

For as much as I would like us to have our own people in charge it is true that our own are not yet at the level that can improve the Black Stars.I was very hopeful when Nana Addo took over Ghana but our decision making is st ...

• 3J 7 years ago

Lovely.

we dont want him.ghana will not make it to the world cup with this coach

• Isaac 7 years ago

Ahhh nothing new will come out of it share and chop the player do not have respect for that man Ghana football is finish

• Otwemu 7 years ago

Do we eat respect ? Do we smell respect ? Enough of the word respect and let allow people to be free . Appaiah is capable of doing excellent coaching and not recent he was adjudged the best coach at Arab country - emirates an ...

• Kwasi 7 years ago

Don't mind the illiterates, they can't get themselves to see anything good in their own kind. Most African countries wish they had someone of Appiah's caliber to lead their teams. We in Ghana are too ignorant. We supported gr ...

• The True GhanaMan 7 years ago

thank God the FA has listened to our calls. the best decision ever taken by our fa. pls make clear cut disciplinary measures to all players and make sure you treat AA just like you treated the failure pale man who came to per ...

• T and T 7 years ago

None of the many African professional stars in football can ever become good coaches in teams they played for and were stars,but their white counterparts can?
    The simple reason is(inferiority and superiority complex) This i ...

• Kweku 7 years ago

Only our own African people can make our football great. Just pay him the same amount you pay the Europeans, and you'll see the wonders he'll do. Let's respect abd

• wayo 7 years ago

Congrats Couch Kwasi. I wish you best of luck and am very happy you had it. I pray that Ghanaians will be patient for you and give you the needed support for better and greater team in African.

• AKORA 7 years ago

We want a local coach but not Akwasi Appiah who was not able to control the players but rather allowed the players to control and manhandled him.

He is good to be an assistant coach

• T and T 7 years ago

Your own family members abroad when they return home, they look down upon U, right? That is why we should support him and not allow these rich young professionals to walk over him.(after all some people before them did a lot ...

Very Retarded decision

• Abdul 7 years ago

If I were Appiah, first thing I'll do is to fire Maxwell Konadu. Then, I'll go on and find me a new deputy. I wish him all the best. It's about time we begin to invest in ourselves as black people. Nothing wrong with inve ...

• Isaac.Italy 7 years ago

I like this move may God help him in his second time return. God bless our homeland Ghana.

• K Boateng 7 years ago

It's heartwarming to have our own preffered to others on competencies bases.Kwasi, must be given the same respect and entitlement as we have been doling out to others.Best wishes with your second attempt, Kwasi!

• porpis 7 years ago

hmmmm Ghanaians

• Martin 7 years ago

Appiah's appointment is only a stop gap measures. The two-year contract given to him by GFA shows it has no confidence in the coach. Appiah is just a placeholder until GFA is able to find the European coach it wants. Appiah s ...

• akwasi amofa 7 years ago

I have no problem with him coming back but the question is, will the black stars players give him the due respect especially the foreign ones???????????

• Toffey 7 years ago

I have been a great fan of K. Appiah since his playing days but I personally wished he had stayed away from the Black Stars coaching job. He is capable of succeeding as a coach but the odds are heavily weighed too much agains ...

• Nii net 7 years ago

Ehhhh. Kwasi. So you dont have pains and agony in you. For all what happened to you. You hv come back again. You dont have any shame in you. Anyway all the best.

• PATRICK 7 years ago

i am very happy i heard this news we have to belive ourself why we got independence but stil we stilm under white people? we take white coach pay huge amount and the same the time he didnt hear our language

• Dbaba 7 years ago

Welcome coach Appiah, we are solidly behind you!

• Give desailly the job 7 years ago

You were behind him when he disgraced us at the World Cup? Then we say only Ewes and Northerners are tribalistic.

• Amikux 7 years ago

Its good that James A. Appiah is back. I believe he will transform the team for the better, and possibly closing the gap between us and the Egyptians or qualifying the team to the World Cup . wish you all the best, coach.

• Give desailly the job 7 years ago

This is an ignoble decision. The NPP pushed him in. He is not up to it. Ghana is a joke!

• I peter 7 years ago

Ghana is not serious

• Mustapha 7 years ago

I am very proud to have a Ghanaian heading our national team. He should learn from the past and remain focus. I can now support the black stars with my heart even if they loose.

• Agyengo uk 7 years ago

Welcome Mr. Appiah. Please be a man of preciple than emotion u will succeed.

• Kwasi 7 years ago

Now all the tribalist will come out of their cave to denounce A.A. this is the best pick, u built the team grants ruined. I hope brings Ghana to the level of a super soccer nation again.

• John Johnson 7 years ago

What reasons were assigned for Kwasi Appiah's earlier removal? I ask this question because it doesn't make sense that he was removed some time ago only to be given another contract, again. What has changed in him?

• Sam 7 years ago

This guy was humilated but I guess mother Ghana call so must be obeyed.

• LUCKY JOSEPH 7 years ago

Those greedy GFA who always steal our moneys have done it again by bringing in an incompetent head coach like Kwasi Appian to bring confusion and mayhem so that they can sack competent player like they did to SULLEY and KELV ...

• Kofi Thompson 7 years ago

The GFA must pay Kwesi Appiah the same compensation package it gave Avrel Grant. Nothing more nothing less.

That is how to motivate Kwesi Appiah sufficiently to get the team the results Ghanaian soccer lovers want from ...

• bitch 7 years ago

GH is the biggest joke

• CYBORG 7 years ago

congrats Akwesi Appiah come an build de snr team for us an dis tym God shld be by ur side

• Jackson 7 years ago

WELCOME BACK TO YOUR RIGHTFUL PLACE,COACH KWESI APPIAH.I PRAY TO GOD THAT YOU WILL BE SUCCESSFUL AS THE NEW HEAD COACH OF GHANA BLACK STARS NATIONAL TEAM.

• LEO 7 years ago

Kai kai kai this man is never a coach apuuu. Black star is dead forever

• Football shoe 7 years ago

GFA are crooks themselves anyway. Why Akwesi Appiah? So you guys can see the good in others than this twart Akwesi Appiah. It the same you guys that will sack him again. He can't do the job oooo ton.what can't you understand ...

• Billy 7 years ago

It's like paying the ECG or Ghana Water Company bonuses for high performance work done!! Ghana oo Ghana we do we CONTINUOUSLY REWARD FAILURE IN ALL SPHERES OF LIFE? And you wonder why we lack so many countries on virtually ev ...

• Miller London 7 years ago

What is sad about this he is the chosen
    one so be it we just have to wish him the best of luck .

• Kofi Yentumi 7 years ago

He has no authority on his players especially the foreign based ones. They are setting him for a second disgrace. You bet