You are here: HomeNews2017 02 07Article 507587

Asantehemaa should not menstruate - Nana Ama Konadu’s selection explained

Read Comments Comments (146)

• Kaba Tim 7 years ago

In this day and age. Respect women

• Komla Agbeshie (Ho) 7 years ago

Respect our tradition and stop your insensitive thoughts.

• TomTom 7 years ago

TRADITION MY BLACK ASS!

• AKWASI KUMAHENE 7 years ago

Is Asantehemaa not a woman? Is menstruation a bad thing? This is primitive tradition. We need young women with new ideas. We should embrace modernity. We aren't in 14th century any more.Let us be abreast with time.

It is w ...

• PEACE 7 years ago

U SEE HOW WE CHRISTIANS ARE, WE SAY WE ARE CHRISTIANS AND WE ARE NOT FORCED BY THE GOVERNMENT OR SOMEONE BUT WHEN IT COMES TO REALITY WE PRACTICE SOMETHING DIFFWERENT THEI IS WHY I WANT TO CONVERT TO ISLAM WHOSE YES IS YES
    T ...

• AKWASI KUMAHENE 7 years ago

Do you want to spend eternity in hell? Then convert to Islam and suffer eternal damnation. Do you hear what Islamic devils are doing in the name of their pedophile prophet? Let me tell you, stupid man,Islam is an armed wing o ...

• Okonkow 7 years ago

She is tree and so she is not allowed to mensurate.. Hahahahahaha!!

• Concerned Citizen 7 years ago

The gods don't accept menstrual blood but blood from ritual human sacrifice is good for them!

• Black American 7 years ago

CC, am wondering, whom kills more human beings across the globe?

1) African Traditional Beliefs

2) Christians

3) Muslims

as we speak of blood-letting.

CC, please answer such?

Waiting...

• anaa 7 years ago

best question! you win!

• Koo 7 years ago

Yep your ass will be black it's a traditional thing nigga take it or leave it bitch

• ThinkRite 7 years ago

Disrespecting and disregarding one's traditional don't make you a civilized or intelligent person.

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Good comment, Komla

• Lori 7 years ago

A 50 year old woman would have stopped. The woman, Gyamfua, from London, has stopped, although her engine was run well, well. You took her money!

• London Man 7 years ago

Akosua Gyamfuah must be about 56 years old if not more and I don't think she is menstruating by now so why was she not pick, if Nana's reason is anything to go by.

• George 7 years ago

Is it only Otumfoo Osei Tutu the 2nd's matrimonial family members that are royals. This is not fair. Things have to change in our kingship system. Why only one family on the throne, while we have many of them from other line? ...

• Azure Baba 7 years ago

There is an adage or ashanti proverb that says; advise for solutions are always seek from the wisdom of the old women and that is why the Ashantis chooses the oldies.Thats very wise of them!

• Adjei Senior USA 7 years ago

Ashantes have done worst things in the past, this is the time to ask for God's forgiveness and mercy but you're still praying to man made gods, sacrificing humans instead of dogs, God have mercy on asanteman.

• 1st century boy. 7 years ago

EGYPT WILL KEEP BEATING GHANA BLACK STAR . WHEN BECCA OR A LADY WONT TO SING THE NATION ANTHEM SHE WAS STOPPED BY THE JUJU PEOPLE IN THE NAME OF MENSTRUATION.

• AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Obesity is a deadly disease.

• NTI 7 years ago

SHEER STUPIDITY AND IGNORMUS

• Ama 7 years ago

@Nti, when you use such words and you don't back it up with an explanation, you are the one that looks stupid. Culture and history is usually preserved to maintain the identity of the indigenous people.

• A A B 7 years ago

Ama so if d culure has out lived its usefulness we shd still maintain ?culture is dynamic so certain primtive cultures like woman cant be asantehemaa if she os still mensurating shd be done away with ruling is abt competess

• Azure Baba 7 years ago

They are very wise to keep their culture just like the jews an others.No wonder their language is supreme in Ghana.join them if you cant beat them.I respect them a lot!

• DEAR 7 years ago

Some of these obsolete traditions should be scrapped.

We are told that in some of these traditions, a child close to the stool is made to regard his uncle as his father and his real, biological father is "hidden" from him ...

• Nana Malik 7 years ago

I don't know where you got your information from that the royals are made to disregard their fathers but it's never true.

• THE TRUTH 7 years ago

YOU'VE SAID EVERYTHING

• Koo 7 years ago

Primitive minded motherfucker u black people just make claims for no reason where did you get that information from? Uncles are regarded as what? Primitive ass motherfuckers it's a traditional thing if u don't get it bitch go ...

• Mahama 7 years ago

any foolish entity calls yourself human opens ur butt to fart ur mother on social media against someone's tradition. go to ur mama for breast milk u have an empty skull. Aboa bi ba

True, because it is not British tradition!

• ThinkRite 7 years ago

Be mindful of your uncouth words.

• Nii net 7 years ago

Africans and our traditions.

• paul 7 years ago

It's not true. How old were the other Asantehemaah's when they were on the stool.

The Asantehene has his own agenda. Ignore this menstruation thing

• Nick 7 years ago

She was 77 years when she became queenmother

• ThinkRite 7 years ago

Tell us their ages since you know.

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

Tradition is not about "day and age".

Only a fool thinks that tradition is NOT centered around reincarnation.

I was a paramount chief within the Anlo inside of Dahomey, around the Abomey plateau, in my last life in this dimension.

A woman's menstrual cycle ...

• AMATX USA 7 years ago

So apartfrom her noone is in the royal family from 50 to 60 who has stop menstruating the mom was 72 yrs b4 she became the ohenmaa for this 83 yrs is too old

• Jo Alaa 7 years ago

Go find your kingdom and your own rules, bitch AMATX USA.

• oheneafrewo 7 years ago

EH KWAKU DUAH DID IT TO HIS OWN PEOPLE.KWAKU DUAH IS THE ASANTEHEN AND ASANTEHEMAA AT THE SAME TIME BCOS HE IS AFRAID THAT IF HE PUTS SOMEONE ELSE HIS DEEDS WILL COME OUT.SHAME ON ASANTEMAN AND ASANTEHENE -YOU WILL SOON BE OU ...

• Koo 7 years ago

Kweku duah is corrupt he could have developed ashanti region without the government but guess what? He's a corrupt man ah ah the most useless asantehene ever

• Ben 7 years ago

The simple explanation is that it is her turn. Even if she was on her deathbed it would have been wrong to bypass her.

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Nope! read well. She could have been bypassed had she be currently unwell say with some debilitating illness.

• Osei Kwabena 7 years ago

Pure rubbish!!!
    It is all about concentration of power in the direct lineage of Nana Afua Kobi.
    Asanteman is just not about Nana Afua Kobi and her direct lineage.
    This is all about concentration of power in the hands of Ot ...

• Bigray @kokoteasu-obuasi 7 years ago

Please people who knows more about the culture of the ashantis are speaking so what is your beef?.Guys of today generations think they are wise than their forefathers there4 dying too earl. stupid folks such as NTI and PAUL

• tweaaaaaa!!! 7 years ago

doooooooo dump

• FrankOman, Canada 7 years ago

She shouldn't shit either..Rubbish...

• Patrick Osei 7 years ago

yeah Tradition goes on.long live Asanteman

• Bascious King 7 years ago

Ya tu ayie no ahy3 da fofor). I'm an Ashanti man to the bone, but this is ridiculous. How long will she serve?

• Prince 7 years ago

are you God?
    Beware!!!

• Simpayi Ba 7 years ago

PRIMITIVE NONSENSE - ASANTE CULTURE must wake up, grow up and use science and tech and come out of their darkness and not only for driving big cars

• bog 7 years ago

we have grown all right we have the best tecnical university in west africa what other tribes have that you come to our schools to study but you still talk rubbish that why our twi is dominating. jews still do their shit sind ...

• Okonkow 7 years ago

Ashani is no 1 in selling slaves and glorifying in Human misery

• Kweku 7 years ago

Kwasia, All major activities from air port, universities etc are found in accra, does that make Ga people any better than others, KNUST belongs to Ghana not Ashantis so get that in your head and stop the primitive thinking

• akwasi Agyei, adenta 7 years ago

I am at a loss as to the correctness of this reportage. What we know is that the Asantehene is 1st the chief of Kumase. Kumase together other towns constitutes the Kumase Traditional Council. By the tenets of the Asante Confe ...

• Abubakar 7 years ago

You will soon be making another funeral to cut people's head.STUPID CULTURE

• fiko 7 years ago

Bunch of IGNORAMUS ,,,,,who told you de use of Science and so called modernised minds reflect civilization,,,,,,,,You insult out of hatred and u think u aa wise enough ? .........Am tempted to say "Mmmmmmoa ! "

• Jo Alaa 7 years ago

Ashantis have a sustainable and a perfect tradition. It is this which make the Asante Kingdom the most unique among the lot

• Joel 7 years ago

Nothing's perfect.

• xxyz 7 years ago

tradition is tradition; those with no cultural values can go to hell

• Jo Alaa 7 years ago

Yes I agree with you. Let them establish their own and find their rules. They can even put a 3 months old baby as queen

• Yaa 7 years ago

She should not fart

• TUTUGYAGU 7 years ago

How old were the previous queenmothers when they were enstooled? Even if it is true that the asantehemaa should not menstruate while on the throne, I believe there are more appealing and convincing reasons ...

• Koo 7 years ago

U right we don't need old person in positions no more

• Odikro 7 years ago

The chief is closer to the stool than the Asantehemaa; but he fu-ks his wife everyday and touches the stool? What idiocy.

• serwaa ahof3 7 years ago

Can someone ask the king if he licks pussy or not? please ask him to swear by the bible. That's my question. Serwaa.

It is for your grandfather to lick.

• King Agudey 7 years ago

I am a king and I do both front and back and cry anytime I cum. Nothing wrong with that.I also watch porn in my palace.

• fiko 7 years ago

Obaa paa na woreka foo saa no !

• serwaa ahof3 7 years ago

yes. i only date kings because they are generous. Each one of them will have to lick me before they can enter the net. That's just the truth.

• oware 7 years ago

Pls u may date with chiefs not king's cos we only have one king in Ghana so stop bragging

• Carnegie 7 years ago

Dis is ur preferred king n am prepared to take u to heaven.Call dis line 026 707 5531 and let talk

• Kokofu 7 years ago

I'm the best puss..y connoisseur in my neighborhood.

If there was an Oscar for puss.yy licking I believe I would have won the Golden Globe long ago.

Serwaa, you can have a free sample on me!

• O.K 7 years ago

How can a satanic chief swear the Bible?Tell him to go and swear Antoa.

• Koo 7 years ago

Are u talking about the tithes and offerings your pastors collect to buy cars and houses? Kwasia your presidents and politicians swear by the bible they still rob you in a broad daylight light then you are more than satanic b ...

• opoo. 7 years ago

Am not typical asante but let us respect their culture. If this modern times an old man like Akufu Addo has been elected as president how much more should we questions about traditional ruler.

• Kofi Adjei 7 years ago

Inother words, she should be post-menopausal. Can our reporters polish their language a bit?

• Joel 7 years ago

They're ignorant & their education wasn't quality enough.

• BB 7 years ago

Vanity of vanity, is all VANITY!!!

• yara 7 years ago

women stop their cycle during menopause the could have found someone in her 50s

• Kwabena 7 years ago

Ancient

• fiko 7 years ago

@ Serwaa, "obaa paaa na wokasa saa no ?" Shay shay shay !!!

• Kelly 7 years ago

Was the late queen not about 39 when she became queen? If so was she not menstruating?

• the capitalist 7 years ago

You are a big fool who does not read to understand.
    The late Queen ruled for 39 years.
    Castrated illiterate idiot.

• Tutugyagu 7 years ago

she reigned for 39 years. Probably she was around 70 when she was enstooled. I personally suspect her age though. They let us believe she was 111 all over the media during her funeral.Meanwhile they could not specify her e ...

• Jack 7 years ago

As a result of envy and hatred over the Ashantis, Kelly could not even finish reading the article but rather making a false comment. Just do your best and leave the rest alone to whom it may concern or you will keep fooling y ...

• fiko 7 years ago

Foolish blacks will neva complain of white's stupidity ,and see everything clean with " Westernity" ,,,always complaining on blacks ,,,,,,,,,, Educated they claim yet always exposed in their words ,,,,,,,," Mmmmmmmprako" ...h ...

• jj 7 years ago

Men always find something wrong from women. Decision made against women are always within their private area. from the bible, Jewish Tora, the moslem koran all decision man against women are all about their private part. You ...

• Kokofu 7 years ago

Did anyone ask Eve to go meddling about with an apple.

If she has left the apple where it was we would not be facing all these problems on this earth.

They would not escape the horrors they have caused on this earth!

• Koo 7 years ago

Hhhmmm i agree with you

• Kolofia 7 years ago

This is sheer power grab!!!, yes tradition can not be bypassed, however there is no where in Ashanti tradition that allows the Asantehemaa to pick her son to be Asantehene and likewise, he (Asantehene) picking his sister to b ...

• AT 7 years ago

What is all this idolarty about. We have to be very careful please.

• harry 7 years ago

How can these days and time change our history..... this is our philosophy we ashanti's appreciate and understand otumfour.... thanks nana and keep it up..

• joe,boston 7 years ago

Wow, these Ashantis are really primitive. How can anybody blame ISIS for their primitive and barbaric rule. Come on guys, these have nothing to do with tradition. Wake up and smell the coffee, we're in 2017.

• Ohene 7 years ago

Thank God that we serve a supreme God who created heaven and earth and everything in between including women, and who women can connect with any time, any day, any where unconditionally. AMEN

• Kwadwo 7 years ago

Read the Bible very well brother and see what Bible talk about menstruation

• harry 7 years ago

Do u know how primitive is domocracy...rule of law ....sovereignty ... the British monarch are... u learn them because is a philosophy by the white....describing us as primitive...do you even understand the root of primitive. ...

Primitive and bush people

• Kwam 7 years ago

hahaha, when it is the turn of the Ashantis it is culture, but when other tribes then it is Juju, ocultism , hmmm that is Ghaha for you. l stayed and worked in the Ahsanti region for six month in a town and l could not believ ...

• TomTom 7 years ago

No wonder Ashantis always treat women as second class citizens. This is gross disrespectfulness to all our women. NPP/NDC Women wings stop the nonsense and fight agaist bullshit like this!

• Charles Broni. Germany 7 years ago

She is too old because they can have some one at least 50 to 55 years they have stop menstruation to be the Queen Mother.

• Azure Baba 7 years ago

They respect their culture just like the Jews and other great ethnic gropes in the world.No wonder they are respected across the globe and their language spoken all over.I Respect!!!

• Akan 7 years ago

A lot of people in this country hate and envy Asantes. But please just accept it... that Asantes are super humans. Asantes are royals of this land and the voltarians, Ga`s and the northerners are supposed to be their slaves.

• BAB 7 years ago

I hope your elders will be bold enough to tell you the truth. Northerners hold the asante kingdom together. Have you ever ask the meaning of bamtama and why menkyia is surrounded by the zongo community? Your elders are very c ...

• Dora 7 years ago

Nonsense

• Nyorkopio 7 years ago

Ashantis were thoroughly defeated and conquered by Gas at Katamanso. Most tall Ashantis probably have Northern blood in them. Check your history. Ashantis sold mostly Ashantis into slavery.

• fox 7 years ago

It is bos of dis kind of stupid talkvfrm ppl who are dumb abt d tradition of others dats why young guys are dying early dis days nonsense

• KWASI 7 years ago

Is tradition and we do follow .. u no Gree masa go your way. Welkom gueen mother of Ashanti... Y3n nono. we Proud to say it everywhere where we are from ...

• Ghanaba KK 7 years ago

Let's leave it to God. Gross dishonesty. Deception and betrayal.
    If these women aren't mentruating they wouldn't give birth to even kings.

• KAY 7 years ago

DO YOU GUYS UNDERSTAND THAT WORD? GO TO THE DIFFERENT REGIONS AND SEE WHAT THEY'RE DOING. CAN I CHANGE THE WORD TO "CULTURE"?

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

Man, don't use modern Western Education and culture to "bastardize" your own Akan Tradition.
    Even in the ancient Israel women who were 'ceremoniously unclean (menstruated women) were not allowed to enter some places of worsh ...

• OSEI 7 years ago

KWASEASEM. FUCKING

• Kwamoko USA 7 years ago

Women who are past their menopause period are those in their fifties. Doesnt require rocket science to figure this out. This asante chief is simply not normal and does things abnormally. Tradition gone to bunkers!

• Obed Adore 7 years ago

That's right. That's tradition... and it must stay...

Even in the ancient Israel women who were 'ceremoniously unclean (menstruated women) were not allowed to enter some places of worship and perform other duties....

• Osei Agyeman 7 years ago

Am not against tradition but I believe our queen is too old. we need quiet an active woman who can involve n mingle with her Ashanti fellowers. it will be nice to see Asantihemaa going round n greeting her people. I believe ...

• Nana Mogya 7 years ago

Any royal woman can be Asantehemaa. She will not go to that room when it is her menstrual period.Your Mom pick you as Asantehene among older men in the family.Every younger woman who is a Queenmother and still seeing her peri ...

• K.K 7 years ago

STUPID; WHY SHOULD IT BE 83 YEAS OLD SISTER OF THE KING; THIS IS NEPOTISM. COULDN'T IT BE ANY OTHER WOMAN BETWEEN 50 - 60 YRS WHO HAS EXPERIENCED MENOPAUSE FROM OTHER ROYAL MEMBERS BE CONSIDERED, THIS ASAHNATI CHIEF IS VERY I ...

• Oheneba Akwasi Twumasi Ankra 7 years ago

U fools what do u know about Ashanti history. U guys should come to Oseikrom and learn. Sia kwa...!

• Oheneba Akwasi Twumasi Ankra 7 years ago

Nti and Co..! What do guy's know about Ashanti history? You should come to Oseikrom and learn. Sia kwa.

• Akan 7 years ago

Please leave Otumfuo alone wae

• Randy 7 years ago

Soooo sad. So even if the tradition doesn't make sense we shd continue, right ? Reason why we are where we are. Africans....ebekye dodo !

okay what about essumegya black stool the olders in asante kingdom

Nana gyamfua should have been the asantehemaa not such an old old doooooooo dump who can't even walk just two meters,eiiiiii nti sa Na ewiase tie hmmmmmm

in

But can't u get a woman far less than 83yesrs old who does not mensturate? Unreasonable explanation indeed.To replace an old lady with an old lady means postponement of Nanas funeral. I think Otumfour takes pride in funerals,

• Yaw Adu-Asare 7 years ago

We have a new Asantehemaa. It is up to her to execute her duties as expected.

• Citizen 7 years ago

I beg to differ from Otumfuor's Kyinehene Nana Bogya Bia Yiadom claim that,the Asantehemaa must not be menstrauting while on the stool,because she has to enter where the gods are in Manhyia to perform rituals.Please,there are ...

• Discerning 7 years ago

Our chieftaincy system is full of idolatry(praying to deities and ancestors), sometimes in disguise as culture and tradition. You need the discerning guidance of the Holy Spirit to unravel them.

Were you brought up by sensible parents.? Learn to respect the Elderly

• Nyorkopio 7 years ago

I thought the rationale for choosing an elderly Ashanti woman to be Asantehemaa will have more to do with experience, intelligence, leadership abilities, wisdom, knowledge of Ashanti traditions, forward thinking abilities, in ...

Oh when!! Our fellow human beings are going to the moon and look at what we are doing in the name of culture and tradition.

Kwame, when is the last time you've been to the moon? When you were smoking ganja? Tell the truth?

You have a child's mentality in a grown man's body or temple.

• Watch your vocabulary 7 years ago

Please choose your words right, Haba.

• Akosua K 7 years ago

It is true that our heritage is our tradition and culture. We mustn't loose sight of who we are in the name of this modern times. Lots of other people with no culture to identify them crave to be like us, so we must feel prou ...

You statements are confusing.
    Are you too 'western educated' also that you don't know life has other beings within it and Mankind is not superior to all of God's creations across galaxies? There are rules in this universe, ...

• Daddy JOE. 7 years ago

Gr8 Job by Asanteman,and to those who don't understand how traditions work must learn from today, Nana Ama Konadu is perfect and we must all come together and support her.May God bless Asanteman as well as Nana Ama Konadu,and ...

• Isaac djeii 7 years ago

Twea africa that is why all of the continents africa is most under develop due to unscientific traditions ans so on.what has menstruation have to do with aleviating of poverty in society.

• Okomfo, London 7 years ago

This is nonsense,illiterate and backward.
    Can't those 'Nananom'reason for a minute?

• Sam Appiah,Savannah,USA. 7 years ago

The asantehene is a crook and greedy. I don't have nothing else to say. Those who knows him well know what I am talking about. He will always be a crook. He is tarnishing the good name and the truthful culture of the ashantis ...

• Akan 7 years ago

This is amazing

• duodu Frederick a.k.a crespo 7 years ago

if u don't understand otumfuo dicision go nd burn sea

• duodu Frederick a.k.a crespo 7 years ago

its not giving to menstruate adult

• Komfo kesi3 7 years ago

There is no point explaining why an elderly like Nana Ama KONADU was selected. The public needed no explanation. After all it's an Asante affair and what the occupant of our dear golden stool says is final. Whoever doesn't un ...

• nana akua 7 years ago

whether u like it or not she is now the Asantehemaa so hold your tongue and watch them...period

• nana yaw 7 years ago

Stupid people like nti will give stupid comments

• Ekow Samuel 7 years ago

Concratulation to you the queen mother of Asanteman for the crown that they have been done for you to let the woman of you as children for being unite and making the progress with the colleagus woman of ghana to help more dev ...

• Kwadwo Gyamfi 7 years ago

What do educated Ashantis at to this traditions; What do medical doctors who are Asantefuo say about their Asantehemaa who not supposed to menstruate because of rituals.
    Is that biologically possible for a woman who is mo ...