You are here: HomeNews2017 01 25Article 503787

Muslim students must not be forced to take part in morning devotions - Opoku Prempeh

Read Comments Comments (43)

• kofi adu 7 years ago

leave them alone. don't start what you can't defend.

• EFO KOKU 7 years ago

The minister must be careful of what he's saying. At this point who is he expected to attend morning devotion? What if a student identifies himself or herself as a traditionalist, Buddhist, Hindu etc. Muslims are a problem. T ...

• Sikanhyira 7 years ago

You are very stupid,Kwasia then boko haram,isis and co are 100% right to force non muslims to practice Islam....Think b4 u open ya stinky mouth

• allanpparkearcher 7 years ago

who is boko haram or isis n co....do they own this world to have the ordercity to force every one to worship some stupid demon called allah??/...idiots like u are yhe more reasons why we establish christian school to keep ou ...

• Hassana Umar 7 years ago

Good one there

u go to rome, u do what the romans do...u dont want to do, then dont go to rome.
    u muslims are alergic to pigs, so why must u be part of a group whose breakfast menu is mainly pork?/
    why must muslims attend christian school ...

• Ahmed 7 years ago

@Efo Koku know that Ghana is a circular country know any religion can claim ownership of de country and remember schooling is not to indoctrinate ur belief to someone. If u say Muslims shiuld not attend Christians school den ...

• Abdul Karim sawla 7 years ago

If the school is a Christian mission if a moslem attend a Christian school not under the government there is no way that they must be forced to take part in the Christian worship or they stop the school.

• Kofi Adjei 7 years ago

What about Tigare students? When you go to Rome, you do what the Romans do else you go to Kabul.

• Freeman 7 years ago

Religion is believed

• JOHN MAHAMA THE THIEF MAN 7 years ago

Christian MISSION SCHOOLS HAS RULES

• SEMAANKOKA. 7 years ago

BEFORE THE INTRODUCTION OF THE BIBLE OR THE KORAN FOR US TO KNOW JEHOVAH OR ALLAH,THERE WAS MAWU, OKYEADIAPONG KWAME, NYAMELE AND WHAT HAVE YOU IN OTHER DIALECTS THAT GOES TO CONFIRM THE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF THE SUPREME BEING O ...

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

nobody is forcing anyone to be a christian or muslim in this country,
    but we have a situation at hand that need a frank approach to solve or prevent conflict.

The question is why should a muslim choose to go to a christi ...

• Kinker 7 years ago

How could the former Education insist that this goes on. Can any one foce a Chrisitan attending a Muslim school to for prayers of Friday then why?

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

So politics can eat away ones gotten knowledge for proper analysis ?
    NAPO must be bold enough to call a spade a spade.
    The situation is simple, Christians have their rules and values, the same muslims do,
    so in a bi-re ...

• Messiah 7 years ago

Great contribution full of wisdom and simple understanding to abide.If you are Muslim and think missionary school will impose their religion on you why choose because that is their way to train their students to learn more mo ...

• Kaakie 7 years ago

Rogue Lawyer, You just said it all. I don't need to write all my ideas again. You nailed it right there. Efo Koku also said smefin in addition to it. I hope the comments here reach out to our leaders. God bless our homeland G ...

• samuel azumah 7 years ago

yes mr opoku prempeh.i am not a muslem but i say that muslem students should not be forced unto by other beliefs.let us treat them well,otherwise there will be aggression and could lead to anything.ghana is not a christian st ...

• Shamo, South Afr 7 years ago

Samuel Azumah.......Am a Catholic and a teacher as well. The church did not build the schools for nothing so if I want Catholic education, u MUST abide by the rules and regulations bidding these schools. If u can't, then don' ...

this aggression is exactly what muslims all over the world are yearning for...what about the other students with different faiths..why are they not complaining except muslims?/
    muslims are being held down by civil law and ca ...

• Donrich 7 years ago

This decision if enforced will help deepen religious intolerance and indiscipline. There will also be lack of harmony especially in the boarding schools

• Nana Akufool Addict Bin Maggot Zombie 7 years ago

Are we not serving the same God?

how can GOD say "thou shall not kill" to one group of people and turn around and say to another group of people "kill all non believers..cut off their heads n maim them till they come to allah" ??//
    our GOD is not a god of c ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• Nihau 7 years ago

Mr. Minister delegates what we say or do now have a future price to pay. Don't let your ego deceive you. I beg your pardon or else tomorrow everyone in the school might say I am a Muslim just for one reason or other. They sh ...

• oppong kwasi 7 years ago

If I went to Islamic would they make me pray as a Christian

• Kofi Kitiwa 7 years ago

Churches build schools in order to instill their beliefs into the students. If a Muslim chooses to attend a Christian school, the decision as to whether or not to attend morning devotions can only be taken by the church, not ...

• John Kofi 7 years ago

JW students dont recite the national pledge! Does the education minister designate think that should also be allowed??

• olij 7 years ago

This matter still baffles my mind
    1.Any school supported with Government funds and GETFUND projects should stop imposing peculiar religious beliefs on people
    2.Christians should learn to know that Religion is not force an ...

When the early missionaries were building the schools where was the govts? They build these schools for a purpose. I remembered St. Charles Lwanga, Abeka. Whether u are Muslim or not, u attend Wednesday school Mass or u leave ...

I dont think NAPO is good enough for this job. Can direct Islamic schools to also not force all students to be muslims? Christian schools are mostly private and they have their own individual regulations. Muslim students who ...

• Nasiru Jenne 7 years ago

This issue is very serious but Ghanaians seems to play with fire.
    Till u see Muslims hitting the streets, protesting and demonstrating fr their BASIC CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT u want know how serious Ghanaian Muslims are.
    NAP ...

• LMohammed Amin abdallah 7 years ago

I never doubted the ministers integrity I believe NApo will to see that comes into fruition God bless you.

• LMohammed Amin abdallah 7 years ago

Because islam is a complete divine model of life which can't be compromised stop misleading and be open minded Because ignorance is a menace to development.

Hahaha......for where? Then they shouldn't attempt to attend any Catholic School. It's their rules and if u can't obey don't go. Missionaries built those schools for a purpose. Hopeless talk. Nonsense.

• simple asem 7 years ago

A lot of people think that mission schools are built by the government. That is the beginning of the problem. Mission schools are build with collection and harvest celebration's among other church fundraising. And after that ...

• Umar Farouk Suleman 7 years ago

we are not in Roam we are in Ghana so therefore we must do what Ghanaians do, our constitution champions freedom of worship so we must practice exactly that and not what Roamas do.

• Abu 7 years ago

Why should a Muslim attend missionary Or Christian school? Because this schools is for a purpose. Opoku Prempeh come again. When the Arabs comes into Ghana they are only interested in building Mosques forgetting they will a ...

• BABAGAZERI DANBAIWAH 7 years ago

THANKS BROTHER IT'S TIME FOR OUR LEADERS TO START THINKING ON HOW TO SETUP ISLAMIC INSTITUTIONS AND HOW TO SUCCESSFULLY, INTEGRATE ISLAMIC STUDIES WITH ENGLISH,AS WELL CHRISTIAN STUDIES BECAUSE KNOWING THE OTHER SIDE OF THE S ...

• yaw karim 7 years ago

ghana is locky,its not moslem country,

• FRANK SUNSUM 7 years ago

Simple and short Muslim should build their schools and allow their people to choose those schools or they should choose nkrumah sister schools. Leave the mission schools alone. No mission school is forcing any Muslim

• Ishak Gado ABEEBASE 7 years ago

Salaaam Alaikum . May the peace and blessing of your creator and mine be unto all of us.Ameen ... Islam in general doesn't force anyone to become a Muslim without the free will of the person. It recalls me when I was at the ...

• HOLISON 7 years ago

Politicians in Ghana are so ignorant of educational policies. Former President Mahama made similar comment.Let them find the essence of that policy.IGNORANT POLITICIANS.