You are here: HomeNews2017 01 18Article 502208

Ghana sends combat team to Gambia

Read Comments Comments (121)

• Nana Yaw™ 7 years ago

Let's think of the innocent civilians, they have much to lose if the ECOWAS joint forces enter Gambia.

• AYITEY NAMIBIA ( GA MANTSE CLAIMANT) 7 years ago

SAME WAY IF ONE DAY GHANA'S PRESIDENT PLAYS THE FOOL OR SOME DRUNKEN BARRACKS BOYS TRY A COUP. THE GHANAIAN CONTINGENT MUST DEMONSTRATE THEIR SUPERIOR MILITARY MIGHT & CAPTURE JAMMEH ALIVE. GOOD LUCK TO THE BRAVE SQUAD, IF IT ...

• Yoofi 7 years ago

The Ghana Battolion should also not be led by a Ga Man.

Arnold Quaynor was a disgrace in Liberia. He made deals with the rebels to invade ECOMOG Headquarters to capture Doe whilst he escaped into hiding on board the Ghana ...

• MAAN 7 years ago

SEND ASHANTI OR ATSIM LEADER IF YOU DONT WANT GA MAN AS YOU SAID.

• Sam 7 years ago

THIS MUSLIM FOOL IS NOT SCARED BY GHANA OR NIGERIA FORCES HE RATHER DIE IN OFFICE THEN STEP DOWN

• Sinclear 7 years ago

he is a fanatic Muslim that love death and not scared to die for his "principles".

• YAANAA 7 years ago

Then he is going to die, because he is a fool.

• Kojo 7 years ago

Will you live forever? You may even die before Jammeh.

• Y SQUARE FROM TAMALE 7 years ago

My guy try to lean how to respect ok. We don't just insult people like that, especially our leaders if you also have ambition of becoming somebody in future. A word to wise is enough.

• Akua Sarpomaaa 7 years ago

An ignoramus like you should learn to shut your smelly mouth. Gen Arnold Quainoo is half Ewe half Fante. And the fact as is it happened in Liberia has been distorted to suit the parochial interest of some people. Gen Quainoo ...

• Nii Saban 7 years ago

Hi Yoofi:
    What is the motivation for this your unfortunate rant?
    By the way, Arnold Quainoo is not a Ga; he is Ewe\Fanti, and yes he was a coward and a mighty idiot. This fact notwithstanding, I find it quite scurrilous ...

• Akua Sarpomaaa 7 years ago

An ignoramus like you should learn to keep your mouth shut. Why do you peddle untruth about the good old General?. First of all, General Arnold Quainoo is half Ewe, half Fante! And the fact as is it happened in Liberia has be ...

• kweku trouble 7 years ago

Ignorant fool. The name is Quainoo, not Quaynor. He's Ewe, not Ga. Next time you feel like being stupid, do a little research. Shove your stupid hatred for Gas up your stinkin arsehole.

• Nana b 7 years ago

Gen. Arnold Quainoo is an ewe not Ga

• the capitalist 7 years ago

You are a fool.
    Quaynor is Ewe.

• the capitalist 7 years ago

You are a damn fool.
    Quaynor is Ewe.

• Lamidi Lasisi 7 years ago

WHO TOLD YOU THAT THE GHANAIANS HAVE A MILITARY MIGHT?...WHERE HAVE THEY PROVED THAT ?
    LET THEM TRY IT AND THEY WOULD FALL LIKE FLIES....TWEEEAAAA §!!!!

• Adjah 7 years ago

Just send a drone to target the president's home, hover over it to scare him to give up power. They may not have to fire a shot.

• Clifford 7 years ago

Check your facts before making comments about out military might. We are tactical. Despite Nigerians military might, they are not tactical. Check ECOMOG

• Gbeha 7 years ago

You know nothing about what happened in Liberia so shut up

• Clifford 7 years ago

Ayittey Namibia you are a kid.

• IDesiree 7 years ago

If we create regional powers;there will be less autocracy

• £earn_$martphones_Repairing 7 years ago

January is almost gone. Are you yet to start something? Still confused about what investment options to choose for the year to maintain steady cash flow? Think about it -everyday, both the employed and the idle are hooked to ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

NANA ADDO MUST REVERSE THIS AGREEMENT EX PRES MAHAMA SIGNED & COMMITED TO. IN MILLS OWN WORDS RELATING TO THE IVORIAN CRISIS 'DZI WO FIE ASEM'.. YAHYA JAMMEH IS A MUSLIM AND OUT OF THIS WAR COULD RISE A GAMBIA BOKO HAREM OR A ...

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

BETTER STILL ALL THE LAST MINUTE RECRUITS OF NDC FOOTSOLDIERS INTO THE ARMY BY NDC GOVT SHOULD BE SENT TO THE FRONTLINE BATTLEFIELD TO PROVE THIER WORTH & LOVE FOR GHANA. PRES NANA ADDO PLEASE TAKE A HEED FROM KING DAVID

• Ed 7 years ago

Nana Yaw ! Yes, innocent civilians life, BUT it's time for Africa to stand together to disallow leaders from staying in power after thier term is over. He LOST the election, he MUST GO !

• AYITEY NAMIBIA ( GA MANTSE CLAIMANT) 7 years ago

THEY FOUGHT IN BURMA, INDIA TO THE ADMIRATION OF THE BRITISH. THEY WERE IN ACTION IN GONDAR, IN LEBANON, SUDAN & CONGO. GHANA ARMY IS RESPECTED.

• aze 7 years ago

Don't waist time

• Yoofi 7 years ago

Yes, they need a lot of leg and ankle time, with a few biceps thrown in for good measure!

• AKO 7 years ago

I laugh enter English class after reading ur response to aze's comment. Sorry aze, it is 'waste' and not 'waist'. God bless us all!!!!

• emeka 7 years ago

thank you Ako

• Davidt 7 years ago

They own Ghana . They deserve to die for Ghana

• SOLOMON NKANSAH 7 years ago

I THINK YOU WERE HAPPY WHEN NDC WERE PACKING YOU FOOLS IN THE ARMY, FROM TOMORROW WAR WILL BEGAT YOU TILL YOU ALL FINISH, IDIOTS

• ibn abudu @ NPP FOUNDING MEMBER@YYZ 7 years ago

A sick man indeed , Ghana isn't an autocratic state & NDC can't rule forever , wake from your slumber

Our armed forces must be combat ready at all times

An NPP govt shall perform wonders

• USA Boy 7 years ago

You stupid foool NDC fool you.

• Nima mi stay 7 years ago

hahahahahahaha... David u r funny paaaa.. yes they own Ghana, but if one of them was ur brother would u have said they deserve to die for Ghana??

• Cool 7 years ago

Since the fools who rule us believe RESOURCE OF A COUNTRY is only gold and cocoa, please let them send the cocoa trees and gold in the belly of earth go fight for them.

• Abdulai Mahamadu 7 years ago

I need clarification ,now that it is less than 24 hours for Jammeh's term to come to an end,what is his current action ?

• Yoofi 7 years ago

He has surrounded Banjul with Machine-Guns in a suicide act just like Hitler.

I'm sure he would be wearing a suicide belt by now not to be captured alive!

• Odikro 7 years ago

Perhaps, ECOWAS should have done the same to the murderer, Jerry Rawlings, in December 1981.

• may day 7 years ago

u father should have been killed in the house cleaning exercise. u fool . did he( rawlings) lost an election and refused to step down? aponkye

• Umknown 7 years ago

He stole one. Remember the stolen verdict?

• elvis presley new york 7 years ago

Davith wagyimi paaa" did u think on wat u said,sendin asante akyems an asantes army fooool kuraseni"

• obour richard 7 years ago

Yaya jammeh is a liability to the Gambians,why all these nonsense!! kill him,kwasia man.

• MAAN 7 years ago

SEND NANA AND NPP INVISIBLE FORCES TO GAMBIA TO FIGHT IF THEY HAVE TWO BALLS AS MEN.

• Isaac. 7 years ago

Well done Ghana Army

• babs 7 years ago

What is going to happen now,surely many civilians r going g to die.if in future Gambian's attack ghana for political interference just likeKenya alshabab is doing same to Kenya for the same reasons,nobody shud bring Islam int ...

• Dondon 7 years ago

This isn't about stup religious sect ideology. Stop your nonsense. Dirty idiot. This is political affairs. You people and tarnishing the good name of Islam. Stupid sheep.

• kofi mensah 7 years ago

No need to spill blood of Ghanaian soldiers in Gambia. Allow Gambians to solve their problems. God bless Ghana!

• KK-d 7 years ago

I agree! Not a single drop of Ghanaian blood. I also suspect Ghanaian (and citizens of contributing countries) civilians in Gambia may be targeted.

• GHANA FIRST 7 years ago

This is not necessary.

• Paul 7 years ago

What do you expect when you have 'all die be die' man as commander in chief. Remember how tactful Atta Mills was when it came to the Ivory Coast case. That ultimately prevented a West African military intervention. Eventually ...

• Umknown 7 years ago

Coward! Mills in blessed memories was a coward and leaderless. Then get Ghana out of ECOWAS.

• Duks 7 years ago

Fuck jammeh

• inercycl 7 years ago

Just go "bomb the shit out of him" I hope he doesn't resist.He should be sent straight to Arusha not The Hague.

• Ekow Andoh 7 years ago

Another costly mistake by politicians. Could this be the best option?

• Kofi Adjei 7 years ago

What is the best option? Let Jammeh use Gambia for whatever he decides? The troops should have been at his border by now. Enough of the nonsense.

• JAY 7 years ago

Wrong move,NANA ADDO is a war monger,Why interfere in another country political affairs?

• berima 7 years ago

foolish man does the country belongs to Akyems and Ashantis only u bloody fool think twice before u talk. aboa taaaah kwasia beast

• vugaa 7 years ago

thanks to Ghana arm force. wishing them all the best. they should try and bring jameh's heard to Ghana.. even though I don't have anything but .I am proud to be a Ghanian.

• Secretary 7 years ago

You are just relaxing in the comfort of your sofa bed and typing rubbish. Why don't you join them.

• Kafui 7 years ago

Uproot the idiot. If he dare fool,kill him. I hate power drunk leaders

• Concern citizen 7 years ago

GAF. should not have supported this stupid thing of the gambians. Didnt their out going president saw how ghana had a very nice democratic transition. Is the outgoing president not aware what happen to cote d ivoire? Africans ...

• dannet 7 years ago

The Jammeh is afraid of his own shaddows. This is a guy who claimed he will be president for a billion year. what he is doing is an attribute of a dictator. He would rather die than to relinquish power. I commend the Unity in ...

• stunna from Hohoe 7 years ago

Though jahmey is an animal who refuses to learn,I still think the attack might be too harsh on him.we don't even need to waste our tax payers money on this fool who will soon die like Gaddafi and co

• TONY 7 years ago

Why was Ghana Armed Forces not sent to Gambia when Ghanaians were been killed during President Kufour's regime? If you depend on Nigeria, they will fool us as they did in the Liberian war. In 1990, Command claimed we will ove ...

• Kofi Adjei 7 years ago

Because it wasn't a war situation.

• Aflou 7 years ago

Trump is not going to help you so get the guy out yourselves.

• USA Boy 7 years ago

Please let us settle this peaceful with no combat. I believe my boys are ready for action they are hungry for operation.

• Kobi 7 years ago

military intervention would be a last "RESORT" or "RESULT". Ghanaweb paaa

• Ali, Toronto 7 years ago

Yes, Jammeh must not be entertained, but to what extent does a regional body intervene in a sovereign nation's internal affairs? We have sovereign nations in Africa; AU/ECOWAS is not United States of Africa.
    An invasion? On ...

• Akamai 7 years ago

Wonder if they have thought this through

• Umknown 7 years ago

Check your facts very well with the UN. The Bloc has the authority to undertake suh operation particularly if it threatens their collective interest.

• Samy 7 years ago

Ghana soldiers been rest for long period of time and is time to use them

• may day 7 years ago

thunder strike ur mouth. wo maame tween

• BIG OTI 7 years ago

Oh my God. Now m happy that Ghana sent troops to gambia.Ecowas go go go to remove this home Animals there for us.go go go .God will bless u all.Ecomog

• Jay 7 years ago

This Nana for you.

• may day 7 years ago

useless post

• Umknown 7 years ago

You if you care to pay taxes.

• Jay 7 years ago

Who is going to pay for this combat.

• IDIOT YAHYA 7 years ago

VERY PROUD OF OUR TROOPS

• GHANA 7 years ago

Who really advised our president to commit troops to the Gambia?. There are about a half million Ghanaians in that country, there is a full area in Banjul call Ghana town, there r Ghanaian born children speaking fante but had ...

• Akamai 7 years ago

• BIG OTI 7 years ago

Idy Amin yahaya jammey magic man.that is your name now .u are no more president so come join us to do sea work.we need chief cook come cook for us time is going we are waiting for you bad man.also we need that woman.your vice ...

• Lucky-Ny 7 years ago

I fully support you Mr President. Hu ha, go get the asshole.

• YEBOPOWER 7 years ago

Are these troops combat ready? Are they combat tested? Do they have battlefield experience? These are the questions NPP must ask themselves before sending these security men to Gambia. What is the exit strategy? Do we have on ...

• amicus curiae 7 years ago

Current presidents of Ghana,Nigeria and Senegal are a disgrace to the sub region...i cry for my country and just can't understand why the rush to use force in the Gambia.where are the wise people that we need in leadership an ...

• Samuel kuffour US 7 years ago

ECOWAS is good .Gambia people will be happy including ,Ghanaian old settlers in Gambia .There are a lot of Ghana. That's Yahya must go.Abongo thank u .Gambia is not his property ,fool.

• Amin 7 years ago

They can't defeat yahaya jamel

• VETERAN,BRITISH ARMY 7 years ago

HE MUST GO AFTER 22YRS.IF HE ONLY LOVES HIS PEOPLE AND COUNTRY HE WOULD HAVE VACATED THE PRESIDENTIAL SEAT LONG TIME.KICK HIM OUT BEFORE HE STARTS TERRORIZING INNOCENT CIVILIANS.

• Bigg 7 years ago

Eiii Ghana government. Putting our official letterheads online is not a good security move.

• xxxxxxxxxx 7 years ago

black voodoo spiritualist black magic from o244908520 Indian money rituals protection position job looking contact the grand master black Ghanaian Indian in here for holidays to help

• Nana A 7 years ago

It is un necessary intervention. If they country's parliament has extended jammeh stay why should other countries get involved. The Gambia constitution allows that . We have our own problems we should deal with our problems ...

• Joseph Mahama 7 years ago

It's time Akan soldiers to do their work by joining the forces of Nigerians to Gambia.

• Gaga 7 years ago

Nonsense, Yaya Jameh says ecowas should con bonce Gambian judges and other judges from West Africa to heat the case but Ecowas wants to use force

• Joseph Mahama 7 years ago

Nana Addo should let Ghanaians go and fight forgetting Boko Haram will be monitoring the country involved for future attack

• chelo 7 years ago

What a war like president we now have.

• Wawa 7 years ago

Go after that fool

• We must love peace 7 years ago

I think we will be inviting bad terrorists who may be supporters of Jammeh, to our Ghana. It is wrong for Ghana to send poor Ghanaians to fight any persons in West Africa. We must love peace. I will suggest that amicable talk ...

Whuch kind of journalism is this displaying HIGH SOURCE DOCUMENTE from office of the President with signatures.

• ... 7 years ago

THEY ARE JOBLESS NOW

• Clifford 7 years ago

Ayittey Namibia. No drunkard soldier from the barracks would get back himself in a Coup de tat.

• Henry Donkor 7 years ago

Jammeh has become a "Spoilt Child" because Gambians pampered him for far too long. For 22 years he had ruled with impunity with no regard to the constitution of the country.how could he decide arbitrarily to take the nation f ...

• Poku 7 years ago

This is a very commendable decision made by ECOWAS. Unlike in past when African presidents would not endorse an African Union or ECoWAS military intervention to chase out their rogue counterparts because they imagined themsel ...

• asem 7 years ago

this letter is too wordy

• Kobena Agyeman 7 years ago

Is this murdering goose the last despot in West Africa? Let's root the region of these idiots. Their time is up.

Finally ECOWAS is showing some muscle. Whatever the cost, let's root this killer out. Democracy for West Afri ...

• Kay Canada 7 years ago

This fucken bitchass Yahaya Jameh must be hanged like Gaddafi when they manage to capture him alive. This war will lead to his execution serving as justice for 31 Ghanaians he murdered. Go Ghana finish that dumbass monster. A ...

• Osei Mensah 7 years ago

We all know that national patapaa party (npp) is not a responsible party. It is a completely a lawless party. So l was surprised when akuffo addo hypocritically said 'npp is a party of rule of law'. Is it taking over public ...

• Aduanaba Yaw,Bronx 7 years ago

Look at that idiot too.We are civilized that why we own Ghana.Fool.

• JARA 7 years ago

nana shd not have committed himself to these. nana look.at lybia, liberia etc. there is regret on the way. hmmmmmmmm... there is still room for peaceful dialogue . thrugh gambian constitution . gambian court is a dissapointm ...

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

These greedy and corrupt fools have under developed so many countries in Africa. Enough is enough. Well done ECOWAS!!!!

• Ghana Man 7 years ago

The stupidity of Nana All Die Be Die is coming to play here...

• Ekow Samuel. 7 years ago

The only thing that we pray is to save the the lives ,the children and the adult and no matter what they have to is to let him step down for the save of the country immediatly for not takeing a time of distroying anything i ...

• Sly 7 years ago

they will not go and fight boko haram foolish

• Anomy 7 years ago

Single out this boko haram thief and execute him

• Dan 7 years ago

Can't u people make comments without insults ?

• francis 7 years ago

yahaya should be kill

• nkrumah 7 years ago

he must go cos e seat isnt for him alone

• RSM Ahmed Adams 7 years ago

Ghanaian troops shouldn't trust the Nigerian troops. Just like their police force they don't exhibit good professionalism any time they are deployed outside Nigeria. They were in Cambodia, Bosnia, Kosovan, Liberia and other p ...

• Akosua K 7 years ago

Combat team indeed. Where was he when the Gambians slaughtered 30 Ghanaian men when he was the foreign minister? He did nothing, and said nothing not even to their families here back home. Now, the same Ghanaian people have v ...

• sule 7 years ago

I think Ghana should have considered evacuation of our citizens first since Ghanaians in Gambia are uncountable