You are here: HomeNews2017 01 11Article 500197

Second batch of appointees: Akufo-Addo creates new ministries

Read Comments Comments (147)

• BB 7 years ago

All good and competent. I can see the deputies will be for the youths .

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

change, what kind

• DEAR 7 years ago

YOU CAMPAIGNED THAT YOU WERE GOING TO OBSERVE FISCAL DISCIPLINE BUT YOU HAVE STARTED WASTING MONEY ON UNNECESSARY MINISTRIES.

PLEASE, DISBAND THESE PROPOSED MINISTRIES.

WE WANT A LEAN GOVERNMENT.

• They Say They Say 7 years ago

Why can't they put 8 and 9 into 7 ? These Ghanaians love waste. Do you need a whole ministry to initiate more regions? Wow. So much for big change. Where my ace economist on this?

• imani 7 years ago

The ministries of transports, roads, and railways can all be under one ministry. That is waste of Ghana resources and money.

Secondly, we don't need t create more regions like Nigeria. That is absurd.

• Big Ben 7 years ago

Here we go again, folks!! (A) First of all, Ghana doesn't need another REGION. Most of the existing regions are small anyway and why WASTE money and time to create more? (B) Even if we need another region or regions, does tha ...

• Sam Adjei-Kwabi 7 years ago

The Akans in the Volta region should be given a separate region; they are not the same and they have nothing in common.
    This is a move to reduce the world banking system of the Anlos and the Ayigbes.

• Sinclear 7 years ago

RELAX EVERYONE LET NANA WORK O

• AGBELI GHANABA 7 years ago

HMMMMMMMMMMMM

• NPP GURU, GHANAIANS ARE NOT SERIOUS 7 years ago

THE IDEA BEHIND CREATING ALOT OF MINISTRIES IS TO ASK EACH MINISTRY TO
    TO GIVE HIM $5,000.000 DOLLARS TO SETTLE ALL HIS CAMPAIGN DEBITS. DWARF PRESIDENT.

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

COMPETENT TEAM A, NANA TOO WISE UNLIKE A DEAD GOAT WHO PICK JUST LIKE PICKING

• AGYEMANG 7 years ago

Wise yet can't find someone to write him a speech. poor you

value?

• Sinclear 7 years ago

SO YOU ALL RELAX FOLKS

• Awonore Bolga 7 years ago

Idey be keke, Nana is very sensible president, Nana Addo God will guide you, they told us you are anti Northerners, we believed but you have prove us wrong, your Govt is Northerners govt so we will never let you down ,Allah w ...

• killer 7 years ago

He hasn't done anything yet so stop kissing his arse

• John Salifu 7 years ago

These same people who for some reason did not see all the mess with putting money on a plane to Brazil to be taxed by that country to add to their revenue - wasting Ghana's money. They defended it with their very soul that th ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

Tell you what Ghana debt will be quadruple:dumsor will be back,.Akuffo Addo will bankrupt the nation .

• GEORGE 7 years ago

How can you appoint nearly half of the ministers from only your region? Habaaa Nana, this one de3 na Akyem family government.

change

• Jay 7 years ago

So B/A, ER, WR, GA, CR and AR are all just one region right? .... Besides, the constitution says at least 70% of them should be MP's so count the MP's from all the regions and do the math... You'll know it's only logical to h ...

• Dessie 7 years ago

I don't see logic in here: larger regions ,large population,more constituencies and therefore more MPs that is why Ghana electoral system is bad small region has little say:let us abolish populate vote and go electoral vote s ...

• Nana Kuffuor. Abeka 7 years ago

We'll Bawumia says there are many Togolese on our voters register. Interestingly, Nana appointed one Togolese into his cabinet; Jean Pierre Amewu.

• Ayitevi 7 years ago

"There are many" that means not all, so dont be a fool, even volta we are lucky to have post because where are the MPs to chose from? They are all rotting in opposition hahaha

• Tkn 7 years ago

Thank you.

• Dessie 7 years ago

You are a fool: if not voltarianswho would have been teaching us at school.The have served the nation on educational side..Gibe them credit I am Akan but they have help us in education all around the country..why Ghanaians yo ...

• BBC NEWS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 7 years ago

THAT STUPID POWER AND RAILWAY MINISTRY SHOULD BE THROWN AWAY, BRING IN COMPETENT MINISTRY THAT WILL SEND GHANA FORWARD, JOHN JINAPOR WAS THERE JUST TO CHOP MONEY

• DR TRUTH 7 years ago

AMEWU WAS THE GALLANT VOLTARIAN WHO SPEARHEADED THE 'OPERATION BORDER FORCE' WHICH PREVENTED FOREIGN TOGOLESE NATIONALS ON GHANA ELECTORAL LIST TO CROSS BORDER AND VOTE

• Mike from Ho. 7 years ago

GhanaWeb is being economical about the truth. Is it only TWO NEW MINISTRIES? I think it is more than that. Tell us the truth please. I counted FOUR NEW ONES.

• kwame 7 years ago

VAGABONS IN POWER.COCAIN SQUAD.

same old story

• 4 Year Old 7 years ago

Dan Botwe, Osei Akoto....Again? It's the same old guys and nothing more

• Dessieyoinjaven't seen anything yet 7 years ago

You haven't seen anything yet more bad policies underway

• Makamaka 7 years ago

This one too is from where?so sollaed competent government. Now the hot potato is I. Your hands and you're already goofing and duplicating.
    Ministry for Railway Development can Go under transport
    ministry for sanitation and ...

Kokofu train station

• SMART FREMPAH, UK 7 years ago

@Zoobie-Zoobie, are you working? Looks like this your first home (Ghanaweb). You guys should leave Nana to do what he wanted to do. If he has to listen to you he will end up being a failed president.

• AGYEMANG 7 years ago

I lough enter Nana Ado 1 constituency 1 million. So you now know Nana must be left to do his own job? so "mun tie obiaa"?

These are all part of the competencialogies?

Maybe that's their way of creating jobs. Very interesting.

• Concerned 7 years ago

Emphasis. It shows how important the railway is to the development of the country. It can transform the country

• Jay 7 years ago

I live in china and you should see the importance of trains. It's far better than cars. As compared to flights the tickets are also cheaper. It takes a train less than 3 hours to cover a distance from like Accra to Kumasi and ...

• Kwame yaw owusu apooooooooo Dwarf 7 years ago

look at another idiot so Ghana is only Accra and Kumasi??? what an imbicile Akan

• ghanaman 7 years ago

This is the surest signal yet of greater things to come. Proof of the understanding the current government has of the tasks ahead of is provided by the thoroughness of the approach adopted in re-crafting the ministerial portf ...

• GEORGE 7 years ago

You are right, good things for your Ashanti/Akyem government. Check the names of the ministers

recycled

COMPETENCE INSTEAD OF REGIONAL OR ETHNIC/TRIBAL BALANCE.

WE SAW MORE PEEPE AND AYIGBE NAMES THAN THE PREDOMINANT AKAN POPULATION IN OUR COUNTRY. WELL, THAT IS NOT THE REASON FOR NANA'S CHOICES. HE ESTEEMS THAT COMPETENCE ...

• Abdul 7 years ago

Indeed Akans party, lessons to my fellow northerners!!!!!!!

• klu 7 years ago

getting better.experienced people.we will fight them if they dont deliver.no more jokes.

• Man 7 years ago

THE SO-CALLED COMPETENT GOVT IS CREATING THESE UNNECESSARY MINISTRIES. I WON'T BE SURPRISED TO HAVE 60 MINISTRIES. GHANAIANS ARE DOOMED!

• TT 7 years ago

I thought Nana said the ministers are too much and that he will reduce the number...Oh Nana!!

• Ernest De love 7 years ago

ask ooooo ask am even surprise self he is already confuse ooo criticising Mahama Now you are creating more waiting tax payers money

• ekow 7 years ago

It would have been a good ideas to cut government size...but look what he is coming up with.....what change did we voted for

• Norgbedzie, Ketu 7 years ago

Why separate ministries for transport, railways,& roads & highways ? Why a whole ministry of monitoring & evaluation, & then regional reorganization ?. Monitoring & evaluation unit should have been under the Senior Minister. ...

• Konfanko 7 years ago

I bet the Evaluation Minister is an overarching ministry where all the others will report to! Hmmmm. Don't we have Contract evaluation and Quality assurance offices in all departments and ministries? What does the Audit ...

• BaabaUS 7 years ago

Good people but too many ministers. I disagree with the new ministries. Why do you create a whole new ministry to create regions? Besides, why do we need more regions? By the time this is over, every city in Ghana will be ...

• Konfanko 7 years ago

Seriously but you have made me laugh, hahahahahaaa

• Kofi malabo 7 years ago

Oooh Nana ,now remaining your children's Ministries.

I wonder oooo.

• Kotakopia 7 years ago

Do we need a permanent Ministry for creating regions? Absolute overkill!!!!

• gari, usa 7 years ago

So where are the northerners?

We are taking the Northerners to the yet to be created CHOP-BARS and to the Cocoa plantations in Ashanti, Brong and the Western regions, where they will better serve....going back to their roots.Northerners are not born to ru ...

To sam Adjei Keabi
    But at least all what you mentioned are still better than, cocaine dealing, visa connection, bank frauds, land dispute, certificates buying, ugly looking with long teeth, cowards and imbicile eating from t ...

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

Ask greedy Mahama

• STEVE 7 years ago

USELESS. The current ministries in my opinion should be reduced, so why add more to it to increase funding from the state wealth, when that money could be put to a more better use? Brains gone to the dogs.

• romeo 7 years ago

My good old preside pls where is sports ministry

• SK4 7 years ago

These are nonsense from minister s from dwarf president

• Brainstorm 7 years ago

Unnecessary Ministries with duplication here and there; Chief of Staff, Senior Minister and Ministry in charge of Monitoring/Evaluation have basically the same duty.
    Job for the boys!!!

• AGYEMANG 7 years ago

Also minister of railways, failed in advance/ I pity Ghanaians

• Konfanko 7 years ago

In the first place do we have railways in Ghana for which there is a whole ministry? This is really dumb! Is railways not part of transportation?

Before it is all over, Ghana is going to have Ministry for Taxis and Tro ...

• Teahiabuah 7 years ago

Minster for Water (and rivers), please sack all Chinese illegal mining that have destroyed and killed our great rivers. Where is River Birim now? Look at the fates of Rivers Pra, Anum, Owere and others>

• Brofo 7 years ago

(7) Minister for Transport - Kwaku Ofori Asiamah

(8) Minister for Railways Development - Hon. Joe Nana Ghartey

(9) Minister for Roads and Highways – Kwesi Amoako Arthur

• Concerned 7 years ago

Ask yourself how many miles of rail tracks have been built in the last 30 years. Think of the cost of a goat and yams in the north and compare it prices in the south and it would give you an idea of how important railway is t ...

• P V OBENG JNR 7 years ago

More ministers is waist of money, there is no need to create ministers again.what kind of change is this?Nana President please open your eyes well,in your campaign message you told us former government has spoiled the economy ...

• Sahh 7 years ago

The black with black sense

• LD 7 years ago

Thanks Nana

• JAY 7 years ago

I am surprised MR AYIKOI OTOO was not given any the ministerial positions

• Kaleao KO... 7 years ago

Ashanti kingdom , pls be prepared for your disintegration soonest.

• Atuu 7 years ago

I know dey will preform

• P V OBENG JNR 7 years ago

WHAT A FANIPAUSE CHANGE.EIIIIII NKOKORAFOO WO ABANMU..

• Nas Yaro 7 years ago

Yes Akan party

• AGBELI GHANABA 7 years ago

NO DOUGHT. NPP FOR AKANS.

Zoobie- Zoobie , BB, Aponkye, Socrates, BBC news, #######, DEAR and many other names are been used by this stupid NDC man. He keeps changing names to make comments on one article. Mr idiot,stop using different names to make c ...

• MBK 7 years ago

See what is the work of Audit Service in the country, the railway ministry is senseless idea, it can be sector under transport or roads and Highways.... Ghanaians should expect more of this meaningless ideas from this admin ...

• Albert 7 years ago

The mess has started. Hmmm, funny Ministries have been created. Ministry for monitoring and evaluation and there is a Senior Minister to monitor Ministers.

• Danny Boy, Tema 7 years ago

Note that the Law says 50% f Ministers should come from Parliament. Minority open your eyes before Akufo Addo outwit you guys.

• Edward 7 years ago

About 7 of these ministers are from EASTERN REGION

• Akwes 7 years ago

Sammy Owuku minister for Tema station
    'Anthony Karbo minister for Ashaman lorry station.

• Theo anang 7 years ago

Nana we expect you to cut down on irrelevant cost but you are adding more in the name of "CAMPAIGN PROMISE'

• Nii Joromi 7 years ago

Why these useless and dumb ministries? The money spent on these stupid ministries can provide water and better schools for the poor rural folk.

• Naa Nana 7 years ago

We will also going to have Deputies and special assistance for each ministries p333333.
    Wasteful change indeed. Full of Pensioners with dead brains.

• john 7 years ago

No new idea

• be a citizen not spectators 7 years ago

Confusion galore.. We are watching

• Paa Joe 7 years ago

WHAT HAS THE CREATION OF NEW REGIONS GOT TO DO WITH ECONOMIC DIFFICULTIES AND CHALLENGES FACING THE NATION.

LASTLY, OPAYIN PTRESIDENT, YOU ARE INBDEED CALLED TO APPOINT SERVING MINISTERS FROM ALL REGIONS IN THE COUNTRY.

Where is Dr. Letsa in the akan mafia????

• Niibi 7 years ago

Where is the lean cabinet

• Nukpe 7 years ago

So only Peter Amewu the only Voltarian making Akufo-Addo ministerial list.
    Where is Dr. Letsa, the faithful Npp team leader in Ho??.
    Serve him right, you can never please the akyeam mafias

• Senior citizen.BS Germany. 7 years ago

Iam particularly concerned with the nomination of Hon Atta Akyia as one of the appointees of President Nana Akuffo Addo and wish to extend my commendation to the president and at the same time congratulate Hon Atta Akyia fo ...

• KOJO AYEW 7 years ago

It laudable that railways has been given recognition now.

It should not be Acc

• KOJO AYEW 7 years ago

It laudable that railways has been given recognition now.

It should not be Accra to Tema; Takoradi to Sekondi.

It should network Ghana. It is the cheapeast means of transport.

LET IT WORK.

• Blaque Marque 7 years ago

Finally, a sensible comment on this subject. I can assure you Kojo Ayew, that your wish of a total network is alive and well, and will swing into motion soon. The new Ministry for Railways will allow for the sector to be acco ...

• T'pau 7 years ago

A national railway network is undoubtedly vital. The major challenge I see, is linking the proposed northern network with the existing southern lines with Kumasi as the node. The location of Kumasi station would require lots ...

• Eric ababio 7 years ago

Intact the President is really working best wishes to him

• NAGODE 7 years ago

Old drug dealer's in branded New bottles.

• Oheneba Otu 7 years ago

The blind politicisns will never see absolute change coming with this list of apointees...Prz..Nana Mmmo

• fool 7 years ago

Hmmm just the beginning.

• AGBELI 7 years ago

omg. so this NANA PRESiDENT Thinks its only the ASHANTIES/AKANS voted for him/npp. So he choose to have his so call ministers from the Ashanti/akan only. Soon its 2020,

• jagadu 7 years ago

We do not need these many ministries. This same old shit from these politicians. creating jobs for their cronies. What is the sense of separating Railways from Transport and making it a ministry. You can have the minister for ...

• Abena 7 years ago

Railways can be part of the transport ministry

• Kwami US 7 years ago

What is the educational background and expertise of Dan Botwe to be tasked to handle the ministry of evaluation and monitoring? Public Policy, Public Administration, Governance or what? What is the use of the ministry of reg ...

• oblilitics 7 years ago

Amazing! Good to have a ministry of monitoring and evaluation but what happens to the ministry of regional reorganisation after the regions have been successfully reorganised? It would have been better if a ministry like that ...

• Haruna 7 years ago

so far no Dagomba/Nanumba. we gave you a lot of votes and about 7 constituencies. we must be recognized in your cabinet, not just ministerial appointments. on all our whatsapp platforms people are anxious

• lito 7 years ago

The idea that Ghanaians voted for him doesn't mean he's infallible
    We are watching. Four years is not far away. Let's c what's comes out from his blabbing

• Kwame Boahene 7 years ago

This is very-very sad! I was thinking the exact opposition regarding to what the new president has done/proposed. Can somebody explain to Ghanaians why we have more ministries than the United States of America? I thought the ...

• ken 7 years ago

limited minded ndc people,when are u going to stop this childish things, just look at where nana will take u to there is a reason why he has appointing them

• Ernest De love 7 years ago

stop that nonsense what do u know is it not Nana who criticize numerous ministers now what is he doing adding more nonsense

• Akuffo Addo A BIG JOKE 7 years ago

Everything is in shambles.

• xxxxxxxxxx 7 years ago

indian black ghanaian spiritualistt call for allo244908520 spiritual help
    all spiritual help black magic money,,protection work getting selling contract

• Fish man 7 years ago

Job for the men and therefore creation of more ministries to make all happy cos some of the big men will not take deputy positions

• Kakalu 7 years ago

Ministry of Regional Reorganization - absolutely unnecessary? What happens after the regions have been created?

Already 25 ministries - youth, sports, food & agric, etc are yet to come !!!!!!

• Kakalu 7 years ago

Amewu is from VR

• Mama U 7 years ago

Western Region Minster for Railways is our reward, upon all our massively vote

• Aseda-U.S. 7 years ago

Am disappointed in U Nana Addo. Why soo many minitries? Waste of Tax payers money.

• Pelicles 7 years ago

Nana, instead of setting up small government in order to have a lot of cash to spur growth, you are rather creating more ministries, meaning more expenses. I am a cost conscious person who always love to minimize cost. Our pr ...

• INNO 7 years ago

Sanitation can b under local gov't, railway can b under transport regional dat n dat cld b under local gov't. This oldman said power ministry to sovlve our power problem was senseless hmm

• OBSERVER 7 years ago

Too many ministries resulting in waste of money. The US is much bigger than Ghana in size and economy and yet they have only 15 cabinet positions. Some of the positions do not need to be cabinet positions but can work under ...

• Blaque Marque 7 years ago

True that!!!

• Ewe Nation 7 years ago

Tribal gov't full of kwasea ugly tribesmen appointees.I hope this govt fails bigtime or its overthrown before idt does a lot of damage to our Ewe homeland.

• pocket lawyer 7 years ago

Ministry of what????

• Bunjabal Muaz Yakubu 7 years ago

Why all the appointees are all Christians except Hajjia, pls balance the equation.

• Dessie 7 years ago

Oh gimmicks always amazes me: copy and pasted what look like Mahama name on all billboards around NPP news papers and their social media website on this residence issue but it is silly argument

• Kobby 7 years ago

Funny,This Ada again!!!!!! .During Kufuor's era of dumsor,the man who lack clues clues to solve the problem and was always lying has been made the minister of water resources.How many regions are they going to create to just ...

• Tsatsebi 7 years ago

We campaigned hard for him to win so he must reward us with redundant ministries and jobs. It is our turn to chop, chop Ghana.

• Commitment 7 years ago

very very suprise. to see what is happenig. so politicians are taking as for granted. hmmm all the noise for change is creating jobs for the elephant family. so politicians is that how the game look like. and you potray it di ...

• Freedom and justice 7 years ago

Too many cooks spoil the broil

• Blackheart 7 years ago

Creating jobs for his looter gang.posterity will judge our choice leadership.Promise is
    comfort to a fool

Appointing them like their funerals..these maggot old zombies.

• Kofi Peprah 7 years ago

Minister for Railways, Minister for Transport, Minister for Roads and Highways!! Paying three people to do a job that could be done by an individual!! Black Africa, we have a long way to go!!

• BH 7 years ago

ONLY AKANS ARE EDUCATED IN GHANA TRIBALISTIC AKAN PEOPLE;GHANA IS FOR ALL GHANAIANS OTHER TRIBES ARE ALSO EDUCATED AND HAS DEGREES AND CAN ALSO BECOME MINISTERS

• Maa juu 7 years ago

Nana thanks a lot for thinking about sanitation in Ghana. Sanitation officers have been under slavery for years. God bless you

• Maa j 7 years ago

Nana God bless you for thinking about sanitation in ghana. Sanitation officers have been under slavery for years.

• pkirks 7 years ago

All akans?

• tamiyowu 7 years ago

nonses very stupid

• Ed 7 years ago

Jobs for the boys

• nana addict 7 years ago

It left with cocaine ministry, invisible ministry n toll n toilet ministry. Broken economy n hv created more ministries. How stupid can this npp president be. More jobs for the old akyim empty brains with sharp teeth mafias. ...

• akwesi 7 years ago

we need one more very important ministry. That is the ministry of prayer camp and prophecy affair and the designated minister is Owusu Bempah

• james 7 years ago

confuse copy copy president.

• osei bash Derrick 7 years ago

the new ministerial position which have been created by,the new government is very good. ndc give us a break