You are here: HomeNews2017 01 11Article 500163

Ghana's Finance Minister designate dumps SUV for Toyota Camry

Read Comments Comments (107)

• araba 7 years ago

WE HOPE THAT HE WILL REJECT FUEL ALLOCATION AND SERVICING OF HIS VEHICLE WILL NOT BE BORNED BY THE GOVERNMENT

• Akyire twa, Animu twa! 7 years ago

Think like a reasonable person. Avuuu!

• nanny 7 years ago

kwasia you think we are all fools like your family members. go and deceive your fellow npp members useless gabby. i thought he will go for bicycle instead. nonesense

• king 7 years ago

Awww such a foolish entity did this action happened in ndc or u think u gowing to decide for us. Foolish u start puttn on ur thinkn cup ohkk. Some one hu can afford himself an suv going for a camry u dont see this to be come ...

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

don't trust the cheaters

parochial and inward

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

Have you just realized this in OUR country.
    Is this the first time?

• $aint Ghfuo: Black Excellence !!! 7 years ago

That way when he milks the national purse. No one will suspect.him...seeing, minister wei die3 )n p3 sika ooo muahahahahaaaaaaa

• araba 7 years ago

KWASIA THAT WILL MEAN THAT HE IS ALL OUT TO SUPPORT NANA ADDO. ABOA BI

And what are you doing as your part to help Ghana? Avuukoklo!

• Obibs 7 years ago

Nonsense. His refusal to use an SUV is a message to other govt departments abiut his intentions to be frugal with the nation's money. If the finance minister is happy to use a camry how dare his subordinates demand SUVs. That ...

• Delali Kwasi Brempong 7 years ago

Araba. I don't get your comment. Do you have a problem with the man been reasonable and wanting to help mother Ghana. Why will you not give him fuel because he chose a lesser car. Should I assume your knowledge of cars is lim ...

• ..AGBESI KWESI 7 years ago

Mahama is so heartless, wicked and corrupt that he wouldn’t blink stealing from a helpless orphan. His request to maintain his official bungalow is a ploy to court public sympathy. He is creating the impression that he did ...

• KWAME NPP SUPPORTER 7 years ago

very good move we can now see Ghana will progress

• Ken 7 years ago

Ghana will be dry soon.

• Tony 7 years ago

Look at another Fool.... Ken I guess you've no elderly in your house right? Villager... respect adult and you will grow old.

• Mahama banana Republic 7 years ago

After NDC robbers left nothing to steal.

Are you one of NDC fools soldiers?

• gunns 7 years ago

I wish all the ministers will follow his steps .. God bless him

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

by a Finance Minister.

but err Who and WHat (for) is the penny -pinching Finanace Minister trying to save?

I mean won't he prefer the "Chelsea Tractor" befitting his status?

By your name I can predict your face.
    And by your face I can imagine how you think.

Supporters of nation wreckers. I guess you lack discipline too like your Mahama.

Ken's move shames NDC thievery hence NDC sick hea ...

• junior k 7 years ago

Kwasea kwa.You think his choice of car would have any positive impact on our economy errrh? Muppet.Think about fulfilling your outrageous promises and stop that child play.

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Hahahaaaaa, he dumps SUV for Sedan,Camry to fool some fools,some ignorant people,he will use the Camry in Accra but when travelling to Kyebi for funeral or to any other place he will use the SUV to say the road is bad.

The ...

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

Did you write

"to say the road is bad"

It should read, to ameliorate the discomfort of driving on neglected roads in the Eastern Region.

How about that to describe the deplorable roads in the Eastern Region

change going nowhere

• Tony 7 years ago

Zoobie I'm surprised at you, I don't think you are on your rightful mind... the only sense you can talk is someone is a fool. Don't you think we need to encourage this for Ministers to use less resources? So now who is a FOOL ...

Yes he did that to fool NDC fool soldiers like you.

You guys will never get wise.
    Ken is a patriot unlike your Mahama who wants to steal veep bungalow.

Sour losers.

• Han 7 years ago

Good move

• JOHN 7 years ago

OUR EYES ARE WIDE OPEN

• Papa 7 years ago

WHO CARES? HE SHOULD NOT EVEN TALK THE CAMRY AT ALL.

Good people of Ghana are talking here. Avuuu!

HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

• Yaa 7 years ago

Good!

• Odikro 7 years ago

Even nincompoops like Kofi Adams and all the NDC whores were using crossovers, SUVs and V8s. They copied Cuba in many ways but failed to copy the types of cars Cuban revolutionary ministers use. I saw one (I was there) using ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Another ignorant one called Odikro,"SUVs and V8s"don't you know that all V8 cars are SUVs,do you think V8 is a name of a car,do you know that some of the Camrys can be more expensive than some SUVs?

There is nothing wrong ...

• Hamid 7 years ago

Obviously, you are the ignorant one. NOT all V8 cars are SUV's. There are many sedans that are V8 as well. e.g. the Porsche Panamera Turbo S,some variants of Mercedes Benz,e.t.c. V8 only refers to the engine and not the type ...

• CORNEY 7 years ago

Get lost,Porsche cars are sport cars,SUV simply means Sports Utility Vehicle.
    I know V8 is just the engine and I'm not saying that because I see people drive it, I have it myself, so get lost once again, I didn't compare Cam ...

• THE CRUSADER 7 years ago

This is what Ghana and Africa needs and not the show off.This is very kind of you putting the poor at heart,may God grant you the promises that go with it unto your party too for your modesty and decipline.

• kb 7 years ago

He wants us to look the other way so that they can loot the state. We are watching you people

• Ghana Ba. 7 years ago

It is good to use less economic vehicle but please consider your safety and where salon car could go. Your life is precious so don't be too economical Mr Ofori Atta.

• Ansah Owusu - Tafo 7 years ago

diversion of workers pension money to Databank

• Abena 7 years ago

At least they will get fat interest on them

• BENTLEY 7 years ago

MORE OF THOSE-ITS JUST UNIMAGINABLE HOW A POOR COUNTRY LIKE OURS COULD BUY EXPENSIVE V8 LANDCRUISERS/PATROLS FOR ALL SENIOR PUPLIC OFFICE HOLDERS???

• Bob 7 years ago

Has he paid the 2 million dollar loan taken from Prudential bank?

• Indiica 7 years ago

I hope the rest will follow suit

• Yaa Nkosuo 7 years ago

Pa.....what?

• kpodo 7 years ago

Shame NDC

• say it loud 7 years ago

May Allah bless this man. Hope others will make a similar move. This is true service to the nation

• KWAKU 7 years ago

THIS MAN, THE FINANCE MINISTER DESIGNATE, MUST DEFINITELY HAVE PLENTY OF SUVS OF HIS OWN IF WHAT I HAVE BEEN TOLD IS ANYTHING TO GO BY AND YET, HE DIDN'T SAY HE IS ACCUSTOMED AND USED TO DRIVING IN BIG CARS SO HE WILL INSIST ...

• DEAR 7 years ago

ALL MINISTERS SHOULD USE TOYOTA CAMRY.

• Amidini 7 years ago

Unfortunate and immature statement from Gabby Asare. Tell us how npp will fulfill his numerous promises not what type of cars your ministers will use.

• DEAR 7 years ago

A PRACTICE SHOULD BE APPLIED TO THE EFFECT THAT ALL MINISTERS USE TOYOTA CAMRY.

• asibobi 7 years ago

He should reject his salary as Mr. Dofour did during president Attah Mills time.

• Komla 7 years ago

Ken is a very great man..and am sure He wouldnt have put this out by himself..had it not been done by Gabby. KEn is humble chap...

• Ann 7 years ago

Are you sure? Do you really know him or you are just presuming because he is soft spoken

• Peter K 7 years ago

Yeah Komla,you have a point. I've lived in Australia for almost twenty years now and one of my best friends used to work with him in Data Bank in those days and he speaks so highly of Ken. Good name truly they say is better t ...

• balablaba 7 years ago

Dont be surprise if he doesnt wanna use it cuz some of them have these cars in their homes.Good move Mr minister.we the hustlers can buy SUV how much more you.Serve ghana with all your heart and God you bless your whole famil ...

• Talking drums 7 years ago

I Hope he will never use a V8 since he want to save Ghana and all those who will be appointed by Akufo Addo will use Toyota Camry.
    We are Watching.

• Odza The Fireman 7 years ago

The Toyota Camry is of various capacities. We have the v4, v6, and v8. The v4 being the commonest. President Mahama used a Camry so Ofori Atta's gesture is nothing new. What we need to do is to Check the capacity. You may fin ...

• Adjoa 7 years ago

What is the big deal about this. Some salon car engines are bigger than SUVs , moreover there are ppl who naturally don't like SUVs

• Stephen 7 years ago

How much is this Toyota Camry? Populism aaa kwa

• OKOFO 7 years ago

To be more prudent why don't he reject the state car and use his own one? Gabby this is no news. Is the state going to buy a new car of his choice instead of using what was being used by ex finance minister and is this not ex ...

• Sappey-Agboh -Tsiame-Alagbokope. 7 years ago

Okofo thanks for pointing out the obvious. To me this is just a red herring and cheap politics. Some SUVs have only 2.5 litre engines. My Audi A4 also has a 2.5 litre V6 turbo-charged engine. This luxury Toyota Camry is likel ...

• calistus 7 years ago

Most camry in Ghana is 2.4 L v4 in the us u can get a camry which is v6 3.5L.That is theaximum you can get.

• Masugare 7 years ago

Cammon! Let's stop the politics and give praise when it's due. Let's be realistic here and face fact. Tell me which of the 4×4 V8 cars used by the ministers of the previous government had an engine capacity less than that of ...

• KB 7 years ago

Msteeeew, some didnt recieve salaries and also used thier own cars, yet we didnt see foko, is not about displaying populist gestures, but your ability to manage the economy that matters

• Sam, Bern 7 years ago

Hypocrisy of all time. Dump it in public and go for it under the dark

• ibrahim 7 years ago

stop this nonsense, let's see your action and stop all this stupid tweets

• BOAT 7 years ago

ITS A POPULIST ACTION

• Lamb 7 years ago

This is a very bold and good step taken.
    an indication of fiscal discipline.
    It's my wish other Ministers toe similar lines.

• Grandpa Asti 7 years ago

This sounds good on the ears. Politically & economically, it's a wise decision. However, I want to find out if he has been offered any official vehicle for him to reject since he has just been nominated? Oh, well I forgot we ...

• calistus 7 years ago

I will have.gone.in for an e class or 5 series.I think that car is a toyota avalon

• Rayo 7 years ago

Why not accepting a bicycle which could help to save the economy instead. My twenty -two years old daughter drives an SUV which is v8. Who are you trying to fool? What a shameful move? It's not a smart idea.

• jennifer 7 years ago

This is another front,you better rides bycile, you people are not fooling any body, hypocrisy at best, shame

• Kakaminamor 7 years ago

Walking is better for his health.And who care is he even walk naked on the street! Foolish man!!!

• CASCARA 7 years ago

If true, this one move, though not especially significant, is better than giving out gifts of cars and houses to individuals at a time the nation is embroiled in economic hardship! It will only take on a measure of significan ...

• xxxxxxxxxx 7 years ago

indian black ghanaian spiritualistt call for allo244908520 spiritual help
    all spiritual help black magic money,,protection work getting selling contract

• fair lady 7 years ago

For how long? pls don't throw dust into our eyes.

• PEKI TUMU 7 years ago

Will the government help this Institute stabilize and grow by making a grant toit

• brito 7 years ago

Cheap propaganda, npp,we know how noisy and cheap yoiu are

• Mr Bond 7 years ago

The use our money to buy Toyota and Toyota use our money to built brand new factory in Mexico and you don't do common bolt for Toyota and these fools abandon their own to buy foreign.We'll see 2020 is on the way.Enemies of th ...

• as 7 years ago

Look you guys should stop that . The guy owns a bank and has his cash already.Ken has more than 10 suvs so if he wants one he will use his. The wife too is a prof in Medicine.Ask the medical students at Korlebu they will tel ...

• Conscience 7 years ago

Hahaha! save this stupid propaganda for later. Is this news? I thought he opted for a trotro or better still walk to work. NPP is soo useless I can't think far. No wonder they can't write a common speech for their rebel leade ...

• Koo 7 years ago

What is this show-off? Advise his to walk then. that is when we'll believe he is on our side and doing what we expect of him.

• Lonely 7 years ago

Who proposed the SUV to him? was it President Mahama again or president Akufo Addo? What about the other Npp members who might have accepted it? Ghana
    ians can forget their political change, not today not tomorrow.

• junior k 7 years ago

Why has the npp all of a sudden become self centered errrh.It beats my imagination.Were you not in power from 2000 to 2008,so during that period,which cars were you people using?

• SoulJah 7 years ago

So he saved Ghana money or what? This is bull nonetheless...

• Kwami US 7 years ago

Why is that the Neo Plagiarist Party is quick at discussing booties: houses, cars, emoluments, appointments etc instead of drawing stratstrategies that could help solve pressing issues like the economy, job creation, and the ...

• Masugare 7 years ago

My goodness! Kwami if you live in the US then I reckon you suppose to know better than the average Ghanaian. Please don't spew your ignorance in public. How long has the NPP been in office? Be realistic. I reckon if the NDC g ...

• Zapatista 7 years ago

I believe you will travel in that camry to Wa, Bolga, Sampa etc when you are on official assignment. We live to see.

• Jason 7 years ago

Ken Ofori Atta is already a successful business man, we need people like this in government. He has proven to have astute knowledge when it comes to finance, he is here to help build Ghana. Passing up expensive vehicles is ju ...

• Wise 7 years ago

The SUV is to protect your own life in terms of speed and rough roads. Think before rejecting something protective just to get public applause.

• ANANSE KWAKU 7 years ago

Good move...but use the SUV when you're traveling outside Accra (for meetings, conferences, etc)...see what I mean?

This is total nonsense. He is not yet given the nord. What makes him think he will be given? This is garbage from Gabby.

• Nana Addo 7 years ago

Who cares about this he can even drive an aboboyaaa I don't care. Reduction in corporate taxes, utility bills, fuel are my topmost priority

• Ike 7 years ago

I don't think is good for us to insult one another

• Garu 7 years ago

NPP 419

• kw 7 years ago

Dr Kwabena Duffour didn't use state vehicle and didn't receive any salary when he was the finance minister so Gabby shd.give us a break.

• jennifer 7 years ago

Hypocrisy, fake dude, tell Ghanaian you take okada instead, ,you can't fool Ghana,shame on you,

• Obuobi Ofei 7 years ago

Frugality in governance in Ghana will bring patriotism in Ghanaians

• Mike 7 years ago

Not good enough. All ministers and mps should use their own cars with slight increases in their salaries to compensate for transportation. They are called to serve the people and not the other way around. That may also cause ...

• PY 7 years ago

He made enough money off Sahara oil etc in the previous npp govt.

• Dana 7 years ago

Who cares, why not ride a camel, to save us fuel

• Komme 7 years ago

Please this is no news. Dr Kwabena Duffour served for four years without taking salary from government under NDC.

• Minister 7 years ago

who buys fuel when a church send you?