You are here: HomeNews2017 01 10Article 499724

REVEALED: Gov't to pay Wontumi US$1bn judgement debt

Read Comments Comments (136)

• Justice lover 7 years ago

Eeeeei, the world is a small place ooo. Plagiarised speech, 1 billion dollars judgement debt., what is next?
    Ebubo ba.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

same old sh--------------------

• ADANKO 7 years ago

Who is the JUDGE who made this ruling ???? Is it a joke ??? $1 billion ???? Wontumi is a rogue who has destroying our land with connivance of his GREEDY CHINESE bastards. Ghana paaaaaa !

• Anokwa 3tw3 y3d3 papaapa 7 years ago

this will never happen as long as NPP is in power unlike stupid ndc

• Otsibu Darko 7 years ago

And some stupid bastard of a judge sides with him-$1 billion, I don't think an individual has been awarded such a hefty sum in a law suit in an advanced country; Ghana has gone to the dogs and this particular judge must be c ...

• PIMP MASTER 7 years ago

If that happens, there will be a coup in Ghana, just like the overthrow of Busia and his friends.

• Socrates 7 years ago

Akufo has started take strategy of paying his huge debts. This is opipipeepee of wayome. Let try we will go rampage till military seized power

• Adu Phillips .Toronto 7 years ago

Yesooo No wonder he said Ghana is open for business again. Oya chop it's your time and we are watching from far.

Zoobie- Zoobie , BB, Aponkye, Socrates, ######, ADANKO, SORPONG and many other names are been used by this stupid NDC man. He keeps changing names to make comments on one article. Mr idiot,stop using different names to make c ...

• Kojo 7 years ago

You kwraa cant u stop ths stupid thing and comment on your own

• Akyire twa, Animu twa! 7 years ago

The era of p/ndc has come to an end. Try any nonsense and you will see your stand and know that there's MAJORITY who will cut you into sizes!

• SARPONG 7 years ago

I don't believe this story. When was this judgement rendered and at what Court and who is the Judge?

• DusTY-FooT-pHiloSophER 7 years ago

Well, Sarpong, it's coming from kasapafmonline.com, one of NPP's trusted news media.

Isn't someone from NPP through the judges using Wontumi as a smoke screen to get such an award--if what suggesting is right, fishy it seems, there's no smoke without fire--$1 billion as an individual award, God help mother Gh ...

• BlackMan5 7 years ago

"Coming events cast their shadows."

First there was this incitement to violence before the elections. Then there was this plagiarism. Violent occupation of certain state-run organizations has followed which that irresponsi ...

Isn't someone from NPP through the judges using Wontumi as a smoke screen to get such an award--if what ur suggesting is right, fishy it seems, there's no smoke without fire--$1 billion as an individual award, God help mother ...

• Dragon 7 years ago

oh.....How has my country got so many foolish people like this man here. Please God give men like this sense to reason properly.

you are not justice lover for you'll never say this. why did ndc and mahama target wuntumi in the first place? if npp targets mahama's brother today, will you be happy? let's condemn what is not good as mahama didnt do the ri ...

• Yaw Buor 7 years ago

Mahama and his brother billionaire must sell their loot to pay Chairman Wontumi.

• Zoobie-Zoobie 7 years ago

Ghana bieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

• JAY 7 years ago

Why 1billion dollars?how did the courts arrive at this amount?

• Obenfo 7 years ago

This incidence took place as far back as 2013, but just two days after NPP gaining power, the Nation owes Wontumi US$2 billion judgement debt.

Wow! This really confirms the old adage that, "If you have to sell your old G ...

• Yaw - usa 7 years ago

So sad.

• Efya 7 years ago

Hmmm !!!
    Preparing the grounds to loot. Woyome part 2 in the making. Asem oooooooo !!!!
    As for me, i had always known NPP were worse off when it comes to corruption.

• ibn abudu @ NPP FOUNDING MEMBER@YYZ 7 years ago

ITS MERE FABRICATIONS CAN'T BE POSSIBLE , I WILL RATHER STAY FOREVER AWAY FROM POLITICS _ ITS A JOKE & COOKED UP STORY TO TARNISH MY PRESIDENT . WE WAI--------------------------T TO SEE

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

NPP will not be INCOMPETENT. NPP will not be corrupt. NPP will not steal. NPP will not waste our resources. NPP will not be tribal. NPP will never be anything like the NDC. NPP is HOLY. NPP will be good for all. I advise ever ...

• Adu Phillips (Toronto) 7 years ago

Chop chop time. Enjoy time will tell.

• Yaw - usa 7 years ago

Same wine in a different bottle. Wow. That's crazy. When will this stop?

• Sunkwa. 7 years ago

All are in politics for their personal gain. When they used scheme like this to rob the nation.the economy will suffer further while handful enjoy. Refuse to jail them means you will do same.

• ADANKO 7 years ago

We are gonna pay a rogue $1 billion after destroying our lands with galamsey????????????>>>???

• Kojo B 7 years ago

Fake story. Only gullible people will believe. Do you guys know what US$1 b is?

• pen robbery 7 years ago

Is the company a foreign company? How do u pay dollars to local company. Fake story and

• Adu Phillips (Toronto) 7 years ago

Galamsey and cocaine business is going to be booming again this four years ahead. Whiles the coke is their trade mark they need to fight the galamsey starting from Kyebi which is not possible.

• ABA 7 years ago

NDC YOUR LIES AND PROPAGANDA IS TOO EARLY.WHO WILL BELIEVE THIS LIES. MAKE YOUR LIES A BIT BELIEVABLE. WHO WILL BELIEVE THIS TRASH, ONLY NDC SUPPORTERS AND KOKU ANYIDOHU FUNS. SHAME ON NDC FAKE MACHINE. THIS WILL NOT WORK. AL ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

BUT NPP OWNS GHANAWEB. WHY ARE YOU ACCUSING NDC?

• serwaa aka Mrs Jasikan 7 years ago

Tell ghanaweb to sue.

• Dr 7 years ago

New wine in old wine skin

• Bobby, Denmark 7 years ago

JOY didn't say that. Stupid lies from ghanaweb.

• Kwaku kyeretwie 7 years ago

Yes Kribua Asante Kotoko coming together to tell the whole world that Jesus is alive . The NDC came to destroy business through burning ? Wow we will pinch down NDC for years to come. We are going to teach the school children ...

• BENONY TONY AMEKUDZI. ESQ 7 years ago

TO RESPECTFULLY DARE TO ASK, WHICH COURT GAVE THE JUDGMENT? WHO WAS THE JUDGE WHO ADJUDICATED THE M? AND WHEN ? COULD SOMEBODY BE ? THAT FORMER JUSTICE DERRY WAS SITTING ON THIS CASE BEFORE THE ANAS STORY AND WHEN WAS CASE DI ...

• Incompetent BABIES 7 years ago

NDCpropaganda

• KANAWU KASABA 7 years ago

There is free lunch as Americans say.

There is opportunity cost for foolishness and having a govt of brute idiots in charge of a country

• King 7 years ago

NPP should try something STUPID by paying this money they will then see that what is good for the goose is good for the gander fooooools
    We are waiting and watching you with an eagle eye
    TWEAAAAAA UNCILISE illiterate ruli ...

• Yaw Mensah 7 years ago

As a matter of fact, I can reasonably believe that there was a cause of action to be taken against Wontumi and his likes. Through their activites of galamsey they have destroyed lives if not generations. Now the so called cou ...

• JOHN 7 years ago

DONT WORRY AT ALL. THE NEXT ONE IS A JUDGEMENT DEBT FOR ALL THE THREE TIMES CAMPAIGN MONEY NA ADDO LOST

• ROGUE LAWYER 7 years ago

now Ghanaians are going to see the truth , why some were preaching all die be die, and others doing all human and animal sakawa rituals for power.

• JOHN 7 years ago

I MEAN THE CASE BETWEEN WONTUMI AND IBRAHIM?. I HOPE IBRAHIM WILL NOT ABANDON THIS CASE. AS SOON AS THIS MONEY IS PAID TO WONTUMI, IBRAHIM SHOULD ENSURE HE GETS ALL FROM THE BUSH BASTARD

• Kwame Danso 7 years ago

Wontumi was involved in illegal mining (galamsey).All other galamseyers are being chased out by the govt. for destroying our lands. Some have their equipments confiscated by the state. NOW Wontumi has become a legal galamseye ...

• Nii 7 years ago

This can't be true. Even I hate peoples who are doing galamsey because they don't think about our future they destroy our land because of man made money.

• sbc 7 years ago

Too many idiotic readers on Ghanaweb! Barely has the NPP started work and foolish fabricated lies to tarnish the image of the great NPP are already flowing in for idiotic ndc followers to get something to yap about!

• concerned citizen. 7 years ago

You are that idiot. Learn manners and know how to talk. Did you have a good training at all? Find out the truth before you begin to insult woate anaa.

• Razak seini 7 years ago

Sorry mr osei, curses don't work just by the powers of the tongue. There shld be a cause b4 effect. Now was he or was he not into galamsay? If yes.. Negative energy. Are all the equipment his n registered in his name n not a ...

• Augustine, Monrovia 7 years ago

Ei! 1bilion dollars!!! Wonkyenni time

• Rasta 7 years ago

The plan to loot the nation has began. Property owning democrats have arrived. They accused Woyomi of chopping 51m ghc. Now wontumi to chop 1 billion.hmmm Asem beba dabi. Let them not dare! Ghanaians will rise up In full forc ...

• THE VOICE 7 years ago

THIS BILL IS NDC,SECURITY APPARATUS IBRAHIM MAHAMA AND JUDAS DRAMANI MAHAMMAH BILL IT NOT GHANA BILL WE ARE TOO POOR TO AFFORD THIS BILL.LET US REMOVE INDEMNITY CLAUSE.

• ######## 7 years ago

WHERE IS THAT SMELLY GUY CALLED MARTIN AMIDU? THERE IS A JOB FOR HIM TO DO.

• Yussif 7 years ago

This can not be charged on the state,those who carried out the attack re known and I believe re still alive,an independent investigation commitee should be set up to get all the details,they should be made to pay the money th ...

• BERNARD 7 years ago

INCREASE YOUR LIBIDO WHILES ENHANCING YOUR SEXUAL PERFORMANCE WITH MORE ENERGY AND STAMINA. USE VITAL 5 WITH MULTI MACA ( save your marriage ).0572174551
    *1. Multi-Maca + VITAL 5 have a special property which enhances energy ...

• Obibini 7 years ago

poor journalism, where is the court ruling ?

• Mawuli in Ho 7 years ago

Foolish people. You set fire to someone's 300 excavators and you expect what? NPP must pay him his money.
    Foolish NDC who will never come back to power.

• Concerned 7 years ago

If the story is true those who gave the order and those who carried it out should personally pay for it not me and you as tax payers

• Kojo B 7 years ago

300 excavators cannot cost $1b. Believe me this story is a fake planted by NDC rats

• Jackson 7 years ago

watch out for business time, cocaine dealers are back. now u see de amount they r paying to wontumi as debt as3m b3 ba dabi

• Ghanaba KK 7 years ago

Hmmmmm Ghana.
    Wonkye nni...........
    That is why they fought for power.
    Watch it.

• Kwaku 7 years ago

All these news are just to prepare the grounds for massive looting by NPP thieves

• nana asenso 7 years ago

The incident happened alright when a camouflaged team was put up to harass known enemies in galamsey business of which Wontumi was one. Meanwhile, the President's own brother was deep neck in galamsey. But to believe this sto ...

• Papa 7 years ago

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA GHANAIANS WILL REGRET IT.

then Ghana must cease to exit

• S. K. A 7 years ago

Eiiiii, the people start awwwww Ghana Hummmm. $1bn? Awwww. God save us.

• GEORGE OSEI 7 years ago

Eiiiiiih! These people are back with their diabolical plans just to loot this country again ooooo! You shall no them by their fruit. Hmmmmmm

• ****** 7 years ago

Foolish Ghanaians will always be deceived by the Npp.

• G. K. Berko 7 years ago

Assuming the story is true and Wontumi won the case to be compensated for equipment and business loss, there is no way that loss plus any associated expense and restitution could amount to that much money.

I hope the adve ...

• MAN 7 years ago

THESE NPP NOW. THEY STARTED.

• Killer 7 years ago

Before next year Ghana will go back to1983.

• Big Boy 7 years ago

If NPP wants to give Wontumi US$1bn, it should just go ahead and do it.

• becareful NPP 7 years ago

What stupidity is this.Nana be very very Careful otherwise there is serious danger for you and country. Plse call Mahama and his aids to defend the cases otherwise throw away the docket.

• Kwaku bonsom 7 years ago

Eii what shows he and the lawyers have parthner to do this .... create look and share is too early

I don't understand why the court waited until this time before passing judgment?
    Sometimes our judiciary should be bold in their duties whether the case involve government in power or not.

• Victor A. Young 7 years ago

This is a horrible story. How can the NDC subject people to such brutality by destroying their business property and turn around saying they are aiming at boosting local or Ghanaian-owned businesses? This is the kind of wicke ...

• IBM 7 years ago

I was thinking you will make reference to wayome's issues too...we should present accurate issues but not selective.....are u please trying to please tell us that, the npp targeted ndc members who are rich

So Nana Addo is going to give Wontumi $1 billion as a thank you share for helping NPP back to POWER in the name of judgement debt ?????

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

NPP will not be INCOMPETENT (the president's speech). NPP will not be corrupt. NPP will not steal. NPP will not be tribal. NPP will not waste our resources. NPP will not be anything like the NDC. NPP will be HOLY. NPP will be ...

• truth 7 years ago

They have just started, not even a week in office and the looting has begun.

• 0554892108 7 years ago

BECOME A FLIGHT ATTENDANT(AIR HOSTESS) WITH A MAJOR AIRLINE IN THE WORLD, WORK IN FLIGHT AS YOU FLY TO DESTINATIONS AND GET PAID.

Applicants will receive admission from our partner school in Canada on protocol for the flig ...

• Ghana First 7 years ago

This is just the beginning of the lot and share in NPP. When was the judgment given? Which court presided over the case? Why was it not brought to the public until now? Ghanaians are no longer going to seat down and allow few ...

• Paa Kwasi 7 years ago

We never heard of this case , if any, against the state. Why now? Is it a carefully designed strategy to milk the nation? The President must protect our national purse!

• Edem 7 years ago

It's a hoax.people wake up and stop believing all you read

• P Djamgbe 7 years ago

Really? If it is npp it is a hoax. If you people could say the incompetence displayed on the very first day was also a hoax you would. You guys have four years to do whatever you want, but remember these four years will come ...

Even Anglogold Ashanti combined with Goldfields Ghana have less than 100 excavators. Looting galore, do he pay tax. Eiii Ghana.

• Lucky-Ny 7 years ago

Welcome to the Club.

• Sam 7 years ago

How can it be $1B. When wayomi 51M nearly brought Ggana to standstill. If nana Addo's administration pays that whopping amount then that will be the end of his reign. Wontumi may have a genuine case but the cost involved have ...

• Joel 7 years ago

Can this corrupt government make these nation well with these government debt

• Adams nj 7 years ago

This is jux the beginning using false n fake means to recover all money they spent for Champaign for the past years as they only know how to steal....more are coming like kakai ...

• Kofi Kyei 7 years ago

Fake news.

• Big bro 7 years ago

Eiiii NPP....less than 48 hours in office...Bamm 1 billion dollars...Dammm

• Nana Addo Dankwua 7 years ago

The competent plagiarist with his team of crooks.
    So this is the NPP's definition of fighting corruption?
    NPP, NDC the value is the ssame. They are all bunch of criminals.
    Create, loot and share at its best.

• Samuel 7 years ago

I don't understand the story or news item. Has the issue gone to court and has Judgment been given or delivered already? Is it the new government that should be responsible if judgement has been given or the task force indivi ...

• Samuel 7 years ago

The amount is even in US$ as in US$1 billion and not Ghana cedi.

• AMA 7 years ago

Ghanaians will look for Mahama but it wil be too late . Here we go ... woyome 11million dollars . Yday NPP said MPs need official cars . That's 300 land cruisers . Asem begins !

• Nii Addo 7 years ago

They have started the mastery. Ghanaians will be told that it was from the court and not the Govt. These are crafts designed by these people and their govt in power to draw huge amounts from the state coffers. God help Ghana

• Amidini 7 years ago

NPP dubious ways to steal govt funds

• Ksure 7 years ago

If a government intended to bring peace, justice, jobs, equality and harmony among its citizenry intentionally employed diabolical means to suppress people and kill their businesses because they belong to the opposition party ...

• Naa 7 years ago

IS which INSANE JUDGE ORDERED SUCH AMOUNT. THEN THEY SCREAM TEACHERS ARE NOT PAID WELL,NURSES SAME. FOOLS.

• Kofi Mensah 7 years ago

WONTUMI IS A CROOK.STAY AWAY FROM NPP,FOLKS.
    HIS NEW NAME SHOULD BE WOYOWOMTUMI.
    HERE COMES THE MONEY FOR THE ONE DISTRICT,ONE FACTORY THE PARTY PROMISED.
    WHICH GOVT HAS TO PAY THIS MONEY?
    THEY WANT TO EMPLOY THE UNEMPLO ...

• adu hayford 7 years ago

Wontumi your money is 2 Much oooooo?

• Addae 7 years ago

Corruption will be empowered under the chief plagiarist

• jacob 7 years ago

Is he God to curse another person? This Yeboah paaaaa. Narrow minded. Eiii African n curse mentality. Any curse is has no impact on d other. Stupid thinking.

• KIM 7 years ago

i said the professional stealers will come and collapse ghana.

• bubeto 7 years ago

So wuntumi was seriously campaigning for the npp because of his pocket. Or this is a new strategy of lot and share . I don't want to believe this is true.

• Koo 7 years ago

Never. If they pay this, then we will know that NPP has just come to steal. Do they know what1 billion is?

• JTETTY 7 years ago

Hahahaaaaa teasing Woyo Woyo Woyome
    $1bn judgement debt

• Kobby 7 years ago

500 excavator ? this must be the largest gold mine in the world.

• Stone Man 7 years ago

The mother of all LOOT AND SHARE had just begun 3 days after taking office.

• BOMBOCRAT 7 years ago

AKUFFO ADDO AND HIS NPP ARE UP TO THEIR ART AND SKILLS IN THIEVERY. HOW DID THEY COME OUT OF THAT 1 BILLION CEDIS FOR THEIR CHAIRMAN? TAX PAYERS MONEY IS BEING GIVEN TO THEMSELVES USING TRICKS LIKE THAT. THEY ARE GOING TO SHA ...

• MR. TRUTH 7 years ago

Is too early to begin from Wontumi. Eii ! now party members must chop-chop.

• K. Baah 7 years ago

Eih Ghana, even Goldfields can't boasts of 500 excavators left alone an illegal galamsey company. Hmm 3 years is too much for npp to exit.

• anane 7 years ago

How can u put salt into an excavator engine just to destroy it because he is not your party member foolish mahama this idiot should be hanged to serve as deterrent to other politicians

• Mess 7 years ago

They need to pay

• Ghana Warrior 7 years ago

No major mining operation in Ghana uses 500 excavators. What a bogus claim and attempt to steal taxpayers monies. This nation will never change especially when a political party has foolish and uneducated regional chairman li ...

• Jo Alaa 7 years ago

Even President Obama has not gotten properties worth a billion dollars how come Wontumi, an illiterate regional chairman of NPP. This is indeed the beginning of Gargantuan Create Loot and Share, GCLS. In any case when was the ...

• menz 7 years ago

That Judge is a fool. how can you ruled this useless case with 1bn dollars.
    The Judge is mad if is true

• Pusiga Naaba 7 years ago

THIS IS ONE OF THE NUMEROUS TRAP SET BY NDC. LOOK AT THE TIMIMG OF THE VERDICT. NOT GIVEN UNTIL THE NDC WAS OUT.WATCH OUT NANA. AT MOST BASED ON THE GOOD WORK THAT WONTUMI DID FOR THE NPP DONT PAY HIM THIS COLLOSSAL AMOUNT. A ...

• Ernest Adorkor nxtopapa 7 years ago

This can't be true. But if it comes out to be the truth, then the TUMB shall talk in 2020

• unknown 7 years ago

can you guys authenticate what you are saying

• Teiko Tagoe 7 years ago

Here we go again. Where is citizen's vigilante. Martin another job coming up for you. Oh Ghana. Poor Ghana.

• Patrick-Aiyinasi ellembelle 7 years ago

This story is hoax, if indeed this story is true it would have been in the public domain for discussion. Its a propaganda by the NDC. Pres. Nana Addo will not dole out such money for judgement debt...

• ghana man 7 years ago

Oh ghana web , fake story , you guys are beginning to loose respect. If another sensible web comes up you will loose out

• Nii 7 years ago

Check the source of the article. GhanaWeb is not responsible for this article

• Allan 7 years ago

Nana will not dare give that money to else womtumi, hell will break loose and the outcome of it will be serious

• North 7 years ago

Where is Citizen Vigilante Martin Amidu? We are all eyes and ears.

• isaac 7 years ago

The plans loot and milk this nation has just been hatched ,akufo add keeps on saying that he is going to make sure the public purse is protected yet he is putting his own people there (blood relations ,like ken ofori atta who ...

• STEVE 7 years ago

PAY THAT MONEY TO THE BUFFON AND THE REIGN OF THE AKUFO-ADDO AND THE NPP WILL COME TO AN END.

• Steven 7 years ago

That would have been an early exit for H.E Nana Addo and the NPP Government
    Please pay him the $1billion dollars.